Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

stevielink wrote: »
    yep. clever one that. My direct line to Drew Harris seems to be faulty at the moment. The ongoing investigation however may uncover what actually happened and was supposed to happen

The Gardai have a twitter account. Couldn't be easier to start there and ask them.

A hypothetical law question is no issue to an ongoing investigation.

There's a legal forum here on boards. I'm sure there's a few lawyers there.

Failing all that, if you really don't want to check the books or the site yourself, pick a random lawyer and ring them for advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 stevielink

Your opinion is that something is against the law and that the stance you're taking when refusing to actually check if it is.

Why won't you go and fact check your opinion? Youre already online.

no. my query is whether or not security guards are allowed to manhandle physically a person or persons and whether a Garda is allowed to stand idly by.

I have been unable to find online anything specific in relation to either of these questions as to whether it is allowed or not.

As a landlord myself who had tenants overstaying by 9 months in the past, there's nothing more I would have loved to have done than to hire a security firm to physically throw them out. Even when we were legally allowed to evict them, there's no way I would have physically thrown them out, despite wanting to

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

As a landlord myself who had tenants overstaying by 9 months in the past, there's nothing more I would have loved to have done than to hire a security firm to physically throw them out. Even when we were legally allowed to evict them, there's no way I would have physically thrown them out, despite wanting to

I suspect you would need a court order to go down that route.

They didn't just hire a security firm to come kick them out . They got a court order saying they had to leave and acted on that.

This was the end of a long process. Not the beginning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Cupatae wrote: »
    You re like a robot man, worried about nothing but banks and revenue, i wonder if it was your family on the receiving end would you be so understanding. I highly doubt it, im glad the majority of people dont share your point of view.
    People who are struggling to pay their mortgage due to falling on hard times but who engage with their creditor and pay what they can... do not get evicted. People should stop buying into the populist bollox that someone who is doing their best will still get turfed out. Don't be so gullible and so determined to believe that the business is always bad and the customer is always put upon.

People who don't pay a thing, don't engage with the financial institution, and ignore REAMS of reminders, are the ones who get evicted. And when they're availing of a service but not paying towards it, something has to give.

If it was a family member, I would think the same. And do you actually know the majority of society feel the same way as you, or is it just something you want to believe?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,168 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

For any here of a farming background I bet I can offer a description of the guy at the centre of this and I bet that description will remind people of someone they know.
    Hell it might be themselves. :D

This guy is the kind of guy that the local contractor is chasing on Christmas Eve for the money he owes him for silage cut in May and June.
    There is always an excuse, milk is not paying as well or payment was delayed for some reason, the two year olds didn't make as much as he thought, he lost a few animals the last while, he had vets bills, etc.

Maybe the contractor never gets his money and so a new contractor does the work next year.
    Before long no contractor in the area will touch him as word gets around.

The lads that painted his sheds don't get paid.

The lads that put in the new yard haven't been paid.

And you will always find a history for people like this when it comes to these guys paying their bills.

The only way he ended up with such high penalties from revenue was he ignored them and they thought he was taking the p***.

Why did he owe a quarry 15k?

But it seems some people actually consider this type of guy to be someone to be supported and hell even lauded for sticking it to the banks.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

jmayo wrote: »

Why did he owe a quarry 15k?

It's all the banks and FF/FG's fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 stevielink

They didn't just hire a security firm to come kick them out . They got a court order saying they had to leave and acted on that.

This was the end of a long process. Not the beginning.

i know all of that. (been through some of it myself).
    In my case, the tenants left themselves after 9 months however we were told that if they didnt leave the following would have to happen:
    RTB termination order followed by court order, followed by engaging the services of the sheriff (though i didn't realise at the time it was the sheriff). I was told that if it came to them not leaving after all of that, the sheriff would have to get Gardai and Social services on the day of eviction. Nothing was ever mentioned to me about physically pushing them out of the property, and it was my understanding that on foot of the court order, the Guards would intervene if the sheriff couldnt talk them out.
    We were thankfully nowhere near that stage, but that was how I was told it was to work.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    It's all the banks and FF/FG's fault.
    And anyone not willing to swallow the bulls1t narrative is automatically in thrall to the banks apparently.

I don't give a sh1t about the banks, I give a sh1t about the truth, and about the way people who won't pay their way should be given a free pass according to some.

i know all of that. (been through some of it myself).
    In my case, the tenants left themselves after 9 months however we were told that if they didnt leave the following would have to happen:
    RTB termination order followed by court order, followed by engaging the services of the sheriff (though i didn't realise at the time it was the sheriff). I was told that if it came to them not leaving after all of that, the sheriff would have to get Gardai and Social services on the day of eviction. Nothing was ever mentioned to me about physically pushing them out of the property, and it was my understanding that on foot of the court order, the Guards would intervene if the sheriff couldnt talk them out.
    We were thankfully nowhere near that stage, but that was how I was told it was to work.

Glad it worked out for you. It must have been pretty stressful.

What surprised me with this Strokestown situation was the number that were used to evict the guys. It's obvious from the number of guys used to evict them that they expected issues and they obviously expected issues if they left 8 of them on duty guarding the farm. No commercial entity wastes resources on services unless they believe it was necessary.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Naos

Cupatae wrote: »
    i wonder if it was your family on the receiving end would you be so understanding. I highly doubt it, im glad the majority of people dont share your point of view.

And how would you feel if it was your family he owed the €18k too? What if your family couldn't afford to pay their mortgage because they didn't get paid?
    He stated he was British

These guys could be ex-UDF, ex-paramilitaries, thugs etc. but to be fair, if someone calls pretty much any Irish person English, they immediately retort with "I'm Irish". Rightly or wrongly, I'd strongly suggest this was the case here. He said it in a response to being called Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,187 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

People who are struggling to pay their mortgage due to falling on hard times but who engage with their creditor and pay what they can... do not get evicted. People should stop buying into the populist bollox that someone who is doing their best will still get turfed out. Don't be so gullible and so determined to believe that the business is always bad and the customer is always put upon.

People who don't pay a thing, don't engage with the financial institution, and ignore REAMS of reminders, are the ones who get evicted. And when they're availing of a service but not paying towards it, something has to give.

+++++100%

• Registered Users Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Mike9832 wrote: »
    And our Gardaí impersonating the Police Academy

Could you imagine the Polish letting Germans come in to do that

More like German Nazi s.

If anybody does not know that the lad from the UDA hit squad was leaving a marker card by identifying himself as British to these people to stoke tensions then they have no experience of these scum and how they operate.

This case would not have had a thread but for the bank employing these scum.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Billcarson

BREAKING NEWS...

The elderly farmers and their sister are back in the house in Roscommon.

The eviction was possibly not lawful. The "court order" was questionable.

The family received legal advice.

The family have said to the media that they will not be making any statements.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

tipptom wrote: »
    More like German Nazi s.

If anybody does not know that the lad from the UDA hit squad was leaving a marker card by identifying himself as British to these people to stoke tensions then they have no experience of these scum and how they operate.

This case would not have had a thread but for the bank employing these scum.
    Are we certain the bank employed them. I thought it would be the Sheriff who appoints the bailiffs?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Billcarson wrote: »
    BREAKING NEWS...

The 50 year old ?

gctest50 wrote: »
    The 50 year old ?
    50 to 65 are those ages that are elderly when it suits, and "still young" in other situations where it suits.

gctest50 wrote: »
    The 50 year old ?

Sickens you doesn't it. Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Can we change the subject of the thread to provide some context rather than condemn an unfortunately named town in Roscommon?

• Registered Users Posts: 37,860 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

50 to 65 are those ages that are elderly when it suits, and "still young" in other situations where it suits.

Which is the 50 year old? I didn't hear anything about any 50 year old.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Effects wrote: »
    Don't pay your mortgage, you lose your house. Is that too simplistic?

Don't pay your debts, you lose your business and your investment. Is that too simplistic?

The rulebook on how debts should be handled was ripped up and thrown away the minute the Irish state forced its taxpayers to cover the debts of the banker-developer axis.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,619 ✭✭✭Feisar

Did ya see the ould buck on Ireland's Fittest Families? He was as hard as a coffin nail. Probably smoked turf during "The Emergency"!

First they came for the socialists...

Where is it being reported that they are being allowed back in? Not seeing it reported anywhere bar a post here atm.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

BREAKING NEWS...

Source for them having been able to get back into the house? The story yesterday didn't make it clear whether the attack had actually been successful in driving the 'security' goons from the property.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

Source for them having been able to get back into the house? The story yesterday didn't make it clear whether the attack had actually been successful in driving the 'security' goons from the property.

Seems the be from the "call for an Irish revolution" Facebook page. Hope the legal advice is from a professional and not Ben Gilroy

caff wrote: »
    Seems the be from the "call for an Irish revolution" Facebook page. Hope the legal advice is from a professional and not Ben Gilroy

Yes that was it

• Registered Users Posts: 29,027 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

seamus wrote: »
    The problem here is that if you were to use Gardai, how would that look?

What would that do for the public impression of the Gardai if they were to be seen "dragging old people out of their homes before Xmas!". What would it do for their morale.

I agree that companies shouldn't resort to having to hire people to enforce their right to a court-ordered settlement.

This should be the function of a specific agency attached to the courts whose job it is to take possession of a property, forcefully evicting residents where necessary.

The UK have them, and it's a horrible job that should never be required, but the fact that people will ignore high court orders is what makes it necessary.

But this agency doesn't exist, so unfortunately private companies DO need to hire thugs to evict people from the company's property.

If you want to direct your protest somewhere, ask the Government why private citizens have to pay to enforce legal orders and why the state isn't doing it for them?

as far as i understand evictions in the uk are contracted to private companies now. unless that has changed again.
    if it comes to a choice between the gardai and some private company then the gardai will always be the better option, even if it does mean an immage problem for them.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,759 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

BREAKING NEWS...

I can't talk about the legality of the eviction but how in the name of God was the court order questionable?

Just out of curiosity, where are you getting the above information? Is it in the media?

Edit. I see that the Liberal.ie are saying that the family are back in the house.

No elderly people were evicted so how can elderly people be "back in"

as far as i understand evictions in the uk are contracted to private companies now. unless that has changed again.
    if it comes to a choice between the gardai and some private company then the gardai will always be the better option, even if it does mean an immage problem for them.

So instead of a private company evicting someone (though why anyone has an issue with this I don't know, it's an issue between a private company and its customer) , the Gardai should do the bidding of a private company looking to recover debts? And your ok with that?

Or is it just so rent a mobs can line up and chant at the Gardai for having nothing better to be doing and asking them are they proud of themselves?