Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018/2019 Part Two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Neville repeating the majority of what I and others have been saying on sky, I’d imagine he’s a lot more clued in than your blow-in fan. Publicly calling Woodward and co naive and implying cluelessness at the top level

This is the same Neville who before Newcastle had a little TV meltdown calling it a disgrace the manager would be sacked.

Neville doesn't know what he wants. He's at his worst critically and in his job, when talking about United.

Your forgetting the rest of his quote there btw, calling them clueless and naive for giving him a new contract knowing this was his third season and this would happen. Not what Neville himself was saying earlier in the season, during the summer or towards the end of last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Neville repeating the majority of what I and others have been saying on sky, I’d imagine he’s a lot more clued in than your blow-in fan. Publicly calling Woodward and co naive and implying cluelessness at the top level

Neville was made to look foolish by Souness on Sky after the City defeat. Three times he was asked directly does he think Jose is getting the best out these players and his answer was "I don't know". Souness gave him the run around on live tv and the usual authority Neville speaks with was nowhere to be seen.

Just because you can find one ex player who shares your opinion that doesn't validate it. Rio and Scholes have being laying into Jose for weeks. Plus Nevilles knowledge on managing a football side isn't exactly what I'd call the gold standard given his Valencia stint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Being a good or bad manager can have absolutely no relation to your ability to read a football game and form an opinion.

Neville knows his football. I’m not surprised he didn’t answer that question, how long is a piece of string, is the 6th place manager getting the best out of the team that averaged 5th the last 5 years, who knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Being a good or bad manager can have absolutely no relation to your ability to read a football game and form an opinion.

Neville knows his football. I’m not surprised he didn’t answer that question, how long is a piece of string, is the 6th place manager getting the best out of the team that averaged 5th the last 5 years, who knows.
    Hr isnt getting as much out of that squad as pssible.Simple as. I dont know how anyone can still believe mourinho is any good for utd. Its a ****ing shambles. Sanchez was never going to be the rw needed. If mata is played, he makes auch a difference,like wes hoolahan for ireland. He was able to pass the bloody ball. .

Jardim in the morning would be a good xmas presnt for yous lot, cut your losses on mourinho ,no point flogging a dead horse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Our best hope is that this is a watershed moment, it could have been even worse but for some sloppy Liverpool play in the final third.

The fixture list looks ok for the next few weeks so the gap to the top 4 should close. A few signings are needed in defence, on the wings and central midfield with leaders. Rashford and Martial are strikers and shouldn’t be playing out the wings.

Jose could do better but he needs support in the market after Christmas. If we don’t improve the team, we will be in a fight for a Europa Cup spot at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,911 ✭✭✭doc_17

ParkRunner wrote: »
    Our best hope is that this is a watershed moment, it could have been even worse but for some sloppy Liverpool play in the final third.

The fixture list looks ok for the next few weeks so the gap to the top 4 should close. A few signings are needed in defence, on the wings and central midfield with leaders. Rashford and Martial are strikers and shouldn’t be playing out the wings.

Jose could do better but he needs support in the market after Christmas. If we don’t improve the team, we will be in a fight for a Europa Cup spot at best

Jose should be sacked and no further support should be given to him. He’s poison and a great club like Utd can do far better than give him more money to waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,886 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Liverpool fan here, I can’t believe there aren’t riots outside OT to have Jose removed. His team selection is bizarre to say the least, he buys centre backs and refuses to play them. Leaves Rashford and Martial on the bench half the time.

I texted a United friend of mine this morning, it’s the only time either of us texts, I couldn’t get over his response, still thinks Jose can turn it around

While I would agree with a lot of your opinions on the club at the moment I believe that there is a risk that you are letting José away with a lot in the above. He should be doing better with the team and has responded very badly to the issues at boardroom, playing players he clearly doesn't fancy out of spite and pretty much sabotaging the team which is also inexcusable.

I think the reason I'm so apathetic to the club at the moment is because there's just not one area that I'd be optimistic about. It's obviously gotten to the stage where he can't turn it around without literally an entire new squad. Pogba's friends are Rashford, Martial and Lingard seemingly and they are the only inkling of bright lights at the club so it's not a salvageable situation. But the club have created this situation by giving him the contract and not backing him and it's now in the situation where absolutely everyone's reputation is suffering for it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,901 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Neville's (and Carragher) rise as a pundit shows how poor Sky were at presenting analysis. They were always too kind due to the fact they pay so much money for TV they can never present the 'product' in a bad light. They went down this new route and it is still half arsed imo.

Yet no matter what, the people running the club must be held up as the people to blame. Northcroft recently wrote Ed believed United could just spend and that ability would see them right. That is a terrible plan and a good example of what they have done wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,572 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

ParkRunner wrote: »

That's the thing though, it's not a watershed moment at all. It's exactly what we've been looking at for months now. We're not even best of the rest mow and that's the most worrying thing, surely the board can see what is now pretty much every supporter sees on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,955 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

DM_7 wrote: »
    Neville's (and Carragher) rise as a pundit shows how poor Sky were at presenting analysis. They were always too kind due to the fact they pay so much money for TV they can never present the 'product' in a bad light. They went down this new route and it is still half arsed imo.

Yet no matter what, the people running the club must be held up as the people to blame. Northcroft recently wrote Ed believed United could just spend and that ability would see them right. That is a terrible plan and a good example of what they have done wrong.

Neville and Carragher can not say 100% how they feel, Its sky they have guidelines, United are the team who make sky the most money so they will never be allowed go to town on them ,

Perfect example last Monday they done the combined United/Liverpool 11., Gary had Pogba and Bailley in it, two guys who don't start at the moment for United, He couldn't even argue why and he was laughing himself,

The reason was obvious to make this weekends game close , they need United players in the combined 11 to big it up ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Green&Red wrote: »
    Liverpool fan here, I can’t believe there aren’t riots outside OT to have Jose removed. His team selection is bizarre to say the least, he buys centre backs and refuses to play them. Leaves Rashford and Martial on the bench half the time.

I texted a United friend of mine this morning, it’s the only time either of us texts, I couldn’t get over his response, still thinks Jose can turn it around

No idea where people keep pulling this notion from.

What do United fans make of Lingard ?

He seems like he always put in his shift on the pitch and is a good player but as an opposing fan he seems very childish with all the off the field video's he puts up ,

Im not sure if its just what football is now but all the video's doing stupid litte dances and playing patter cake with Pogba all the time just seems wrong , Comes across like a teenager and not a very mature one, Isn't he like 26 ?

Just wondering how United fans see him ,

Again he looks a good player when iv seen him ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

PSG it is.

Should be fun.

He seems like he always put in his shift on the pitch and is a good player but as an opposing fan he seems very childish with all the off the field video's he puts up ,

Im not sure if its just what football is now but all the video's doing stupid litte dances and playing patter cake with Pogba all the time just seems wrong , Comes across like a teenager and not a very mature one, Isn't he like 26 ?

Honestly he looks like he cares when he plays and he performs more often than not so as much as I think the dancing is childish and cringey I would put him near the bottom of the list of players who I have an issue with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

We are out of the Champions League with that draw.

PSG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Well might as well sack Jose send Ed back to commercial side of things and get a new dof now cause we ain't getting through

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Mbappe v phil jones. Cant wait

He's good but I think lack of games at the top level until he was 23 or so hampered him. Makes the wrong decision after good work an awful lot. Is capable of great play and terrible play within seconds of each other. He got the opportunity under LVG and along with Rashford is the only one that really took it.

I can see what Jose is doing by getting as many of the lads who would play for the badge and not themselves in the team. The problem is that Pogba is friends with all of them seemingly.

GSPfan wrote: »
    Honestly he looks like he cares when he plays and he performs more often than not so as much as I think the dancing is childish and cringey I would put him near the bottom of the list of players who I have an issue with.

To be fair even as a Liverpool fan anytime iv seen him even if he hasn't had a great time he has put in a shift, But the whole dancing and patter cake at 26 just rubs me up wrong,

bangkok wrote: »
    Mbappe v phil jones. Cant wait

If only. It'll likely be Smalling. How on earth giving him a new contract seemed like a good idea...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭xabi

PSG it is.

Should be fun.

Have they improved since the group stages? Because I thought Liverpool were lucky to have such a poor side in their group.

To be fair even as a Liverpool fan anytime iv seen him even if he hasn't had a great time he has put in a shift, But the whole dancing and patter cake at 26 just rubs me up wrong,

Not to make too much of a deal about race but as a pale Irish white guy I don’t understand any of the dancing regardless of age or context. The black lads love their dancing and hand shakes etc. so I’ve just put it down as something I don’t understand and it bothers me less and less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Rossi IRL wrote: »

PSG

Think ya could have substituted PSG for any of the other 5 teams and we were going to be out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

xabi wrote: »
    Have they improved since the group stages? Because I thought Liverpool were lucky to have such a poor side in their group.

If you thought PSG were poor, imagine what utd are lol

We will get hammered, it will be a painful watch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭xabi

Headshot wrote: »
    If you thought PSG were poor, imagine what utd are lol

We will get hammered, it will be a painful watch

I dont think they are poor, it was a subtle dig at posters here saying that at the time :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Liam O wrote: »
    He's good but I think lack of games at the top level until he was 23 or so hampered him. Makes the wrong decision after good work an awful lot. Is capable of great play and terrible play within seconds of each other. He got the opportunity under LVG and along with Rashford is the only one that really took it.

I can see what Jose is doing by getting as many of the lads who would play for the badge and not themselves in the team. The problem is that Pogba is friends with all of them seemingly.

Is this a problem though, would you rather Pogba not be friends with his team mates? This Pogba situation is getting blow out or proportion. Yes him and Jose are not on great terms but you'd swear Pogba is leading some inward mutiny of players at OT to turn on the manager. There is no evidence to suggest that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,092 ✭✭✭✭Zeek12

Rossi IRL wrote: »

PSG

I think I'd rather face someone like PSG.

Better to go out against a big gun......than to get outplayed and eliminated by a so-so team like Sevilla

Not to make too much of a deal about race but as a pale Irish white guy I don’t understand any of the dancing regardless of age or context. The black lads love their dancing and hand shakes etc. so I’ve just put it down as something I don’t understand and it bothers me less and less.

Do they really ? What other " black lads" do you see dancing at the top end of football ?

At Liverpool I can only think of Firmino who does a dance when he scores and he's not black ,

Lingard and Pogba seem to be dancing and playing patter cake every day in the changing room ,
    Neither does it when they score , or do they ?

xabi wrote: »

Your point being that we are in with a chance?

No chance mate. Neymar and Mbappe are going to ruin us. It’ll be entertaining for all the wrong reasons. The bus will be parked in the hope a Fellaini header can nick us a goal.