Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭pablo128

Can see the point of not expecting to keep a house indefinitely without paying your mortgage but this method of repossession is pretty repugnant.

And pretty shocking to see our own Gardai standing idly by while loyalist thugs operate like that.

And not only that but it's just going to unleash extreme reactions like last night.

If you could provide some evidence that those lads were loyalists that would be great.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,986 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

JCJCJC wrote: »
    The cost of the security, which could include the vans, dogs, 24-hour presence etc will all come off the bottom line as collection costs, so ultimately the three former occupiers could pay for the whole lot from any money left over from a sale when the loan is taken off the sale proceeds, therefore the baseball bat artists mightn’t have done them as big a favour as they thought.

it's probably unlikely they would ever get that money in practice surely?

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

eagle eye wrote: »
    Do you remember when the banks took out loans and couldn't repay them?
    If the national banks went bust, you'd need to reply on foreign banks for loans and mortgages.

But why would a foreign bank loan you anything when the national bank went bust for doing just that?

KBC isn't a national Irish bank, however, so your point is not relevant in this case.
    why were these people in Falsk Roscommon evicted? had they borrowed money during the boom for something and couldn't pay it back?

they didn't pay their mortgage is too simple, there must be a story of how they go to that point...
    It seems the house & farm was put against a remortgage to expand the farm, and said farm was in the family for generations.

It's alleged that a "2020 white paper" for farming encouraged farmers to expand, and if this is true, there'll be more farm evictions in the coming months/years. How these will be handled, after the events today, shall be interesting.
    tigerboon wrote: »
    If that's the case fair enough. The issue is hiring loyalist goons to do their dirty work. Are you ok with scum, who hate us southerners, being paid to assault our citizens? Have you no shame?
    It seems there are Facebook pages out there who will track down those who evict people, to intimidate them, their family, etc. So apart from sheriffs, there are no eviction companies in Ireland.
    So the banks have looked for security organisations from the north to evict people, as there are such eviction companies in the UK that are therefore being used.
    You evict them like human beings and if they refuse to leave then you get the IRISH police to remove them. These thugs assaulted the evictees and they were suitably taught a lesson. Whoever hired this firm of loyalist scum knew exactly of their methods and hired them on this basis. Just desserts.
    First off, they're called Garda Síochána, not Irish police. Or more commonly referred to as the Gardai.
    Secondly, the bank can wait many months to get a sheriff to evict them. The Garda do not evict people.
    Thirdly, they were evicted because they didn't leave when told to do so by the Irish court.
    hired in individuals, members of a private security firm, were attacked, however, i would find it hard to believe or except that a private security firm could be considered "the state," especially officials of the state.
    Said security firm was acting on behalf of the bank who had gotten an eviction order from the Irish court.

=-=

This eviction, and the high profile eviction in Dublin both used a Northern Irish security firm to evict people. It'll be interesting to see how future evictions are handled, as it seems that people don't understand that if you can't pay, leave the house when you're told to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭JCJCJC

It obviously depends on the figures, outstanding loan vs sale proceeds. If the borrowers have other assets the bank can go after those too for any remaining balance. That retired Garda in his early sixties would have received a substantial retirement gratuity at retirement, think about that.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

pablo128 wrote: »
    If you could provide some evidence that those lads were loyalists that would be great.
    It'll be interesting if they turn out to be people with republican "ties".

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

agreed, however we need to change from the use of private hire goons. if the gardai can't do it, then some sort of other state force should be set up. they can act in relation to all matters of civilian enforcement. but the reliance on hired goons needs to go.

At the "hired goons" stage, it has already been in court, you have lost. fi fa and all that,

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭keavebm

pablo128 wrote:

If you read the whole thread yoy would know. Start from page one and work your way up then you will know

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

Why would it be unlikely? It's a cost associated with repossession. The bank won't take on that expense. They'll take what's owed, plus costs of repossession out of the price of the sale, and if there's anything left, it'll go to the former owners. The bank don't care how little that is as long as they have their pound of flesh.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

the_syco wrote: »

Honestly I wouldn't think they would do.

From watching the video and seeing how the person said they were British, combined with their appearance (he was somewhat round and had the sort of moustache you'd associate with a traditional DUP voter) I doubt hed have had the intelligence to conduct such a deception

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭0cp71eyxkb94qf

If the national banks went bust, you'd need to reply on foreign banks for loans and mortgages.

But why would a foreign bank loan you anything when the national bank went bust for doing just that?

KBC isn't a national Irish bank, however, so your point is not relevant in this case.

It seems the house & farm was put against a remortgage to expand the farm, and said farm was in the family for generations.

It's alleged that a "2020 white paper" for farming encouraged farmers to expand, and if this is true, there'll be more farm evictions in the coming months/years. How these will be handled, after the events today, shall be interesting.

It seems there are Facebook pages out there who will track down those who evict people, to intimidate them, their family, etc. So apart from sheriffs, there are no eviction companies in Ireland.
    So the banks have looked for security organisations from the north to evict people, as there are such eviction companies in the UK that are therefore being used.

First off, they're called Garda Síochána, not Irish police. Or more commonly referred to as the Gardai.
    Secondly, the bank can wait many months to get a sheriff to evict them. The Garda do not evict people.
    Thirdly, they were evicted because they didn't leave when told to do so by the Irish court.

Said security firm was acting on behalf of the bank who had gotten an eviction order from the Irish court.

=-=

This eviction, and the high profile eviction in Dublin both used a Northern Irish security firm to evict people. It'll be interesting to see how future evictions are handled, as it seems that people don't understand that if you can't pay, leave the house when you're told to do so.

I'm well aware theyre called Garda Síochána I just had to dumb it down for a few people. I was merely pointing out that our irish police force should have the duty as opposed to hiring scum to carry out these types of evictions.

I appreciate that you probably have very little going on in your life and boards offers you that little opportunity to correct someone and you probably get off on seeing people get evicted like this. I pity ye.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,638 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Fair enough, I changed it to alleged as that's the rumour that's going around, including people from the area.

I assume the reason for your objection here is purely down to a trenchant dedication to the truth of course. :)

The paramilitary thing (even if they were either side) isn't really the main issue. It's simply not a great idea to have this kind of unregulated heavies approach to a sensitive issue like this. I agree that people need to understand that you can't refuse to pay a mortgage indefinitely but this isn't the way to handle it and things are going to get quite hot now in the current political climate.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,984 ✭✭✭mikeym

Im sure those lads would spit on the tricolour if they seen one.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,007 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'm sure KBC aren't employing 'heavies' themselves, its more they are employing a private security or repossession firm, and KBC have no control over who a private firm hires.

To say "KBC are bringing in loyalist paramilitaries to evict people" is a mistruth.

keavebm wrote: »
    If you read the whole thread yoy would know. Start from page one and work your way up then you will know

I have read and contributed to the thread from the start. All you have done is rant and rave. You wouldn't answer the one question put to you and now your trying to give a smart arse reply to a question I asked another poster.

Anyone else got any proof these lads were loyalists?

The amount of kids in here making stupid comments about mortgage payments when they live with their mammies.

These people had genuine money issues in relation to the non payment of the mortgage.

No one wants to default on a mortgage payment.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,007 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Apparently one had a Protestant moustache.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

How will Brexit impact these incursions of Loyalists from NI. Will the backstop affect future Loyalist-IRA clashes?

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

Patww79 wrote:
    But getting the likes of that to come into our country to force people out? They should have been chopped up the minute they came near the property.

Apparently they were fairly well chopped up last early this morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,772 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I have read and contributed to the thread from the start. All you have done is rant and rave. You wouldn't answer the one question put to you and now your trying to give a smart arse reply to a question I asked another poster.

Any proof they weren't?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭blueythebear

mikeym wrote: »
    The amount of kids in here making stupid comments about mortgage payments when they live with their mammies.

These people had genuine money issues in relation to the non payment of the mortgage.

No one wants to default on a mortgage payment.

It's all well and good to say that nobody wants to default on their mortgage but what is the Bank to do when someone defaults on their mortgage repayments ?

The bank here will have gone through the MARP process, gone through the Court process, followed by the Sheriffs Office. Do you know how long that takes ? That's years. This has been coming for a long time and the borrower has had plenty of time to come to an arrangement with the Bank but has not done so.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭JCJCJC

keavebm wrote: »

Their private political view is completely irrelevant. The fact that one of them identified as British as a riposte to someone attempting to insult him for being Irish is also irrelevant. Anyone living in Northern Ireland is entitled to identify as British. The fact that people from Northern Ireland were employed to to a task in the Republic is perfectly legitimate under EU freedom of movement. The role of the Gardaí at a repossession is to prevent a breach of the peace, not to carry out the actual eviction. A court messenger carries out the eviction on the direction of the County Sheriff, based on a court order. The court messenger may ask the creditor to provide security, if peaceful possession is not given. The security company is acting on the authority of the County Sheriff who in turn is acting on a Court Order. That’s how it works.

Fann Linn wrote: »
    Any proof they weren't?

I'm not the one claiming they're loyalists.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭onlyme!

some evidence

It's all well and good to say that nobody wants to default on their mortgage but what is the Bank to do when someone defaults on their mortgage repayments ?

The bank here will have gone through the MARP process, gone through the Court process, followed by the Sheriffs Office. Do you know how long that takes ? That's years. This has been coming for a long time and the borrower has had plenty of time to come to an arrangement with the Bank but has not done so.

Not every bank takes a sympathetic approach to those who cant or dont want to pay.

• Registered Users Posts: 278 ✭✭chasmcb

NIMAN wrote: »
    Apparently one had a Protestant moustache.

The 'tache my father wore.

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Dank Janniels

Thats that fitzmaurice elected for eternity!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,986 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

=-=

they actually do understand it. however, when in general (forget about this particular bank) banks have not been seen to have been punished where they have been wreckless, then it's not surprising people will decide what is good for the goose is good for the gander. it's not right, but it is what it is .

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,754 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

banks can never mislend, grand Im glad we got that sorted

• Registered Users Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

mikeym wrote: »
    Not every bank takes a sympathetic approach to those who cant or dont want to pay.

What do you suggest ?

a hug because you don't want to pay ?

• Registered Users Posts: 861 ✭✭✭Sean.3516

New to the thread. In my opinion if you fail to pay your mortgage under the terms of whatever your arrangement was with the bank. They have the right to evict you. Banks have every right to unload unpreforming loans. As far as I can see, a serious crime took place in Roscommon and 8 people were assaulted doing their jobs. I don’t give a damn what their political background was before they worked for KBC.