Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Penalty for Refusing Jobpath

• Registered Users Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

I have to admired someone who may have been signing on for years because they are far smarter then me whos working,don't know how they do it,i was unemployed for a while back in 2013 and remember having to prove how many jobs i applied for, and i don't mean this is in a sarcastic way, i generally mean it, i just live to work, just scrape through every week trying to pay the bills.

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Slorpo

splinter65 wrote: »
    How would being employed somewhere stop him from applying for a job somewhere else?

Just an educated guess. If he had taken the night shift job he wouldn't be applying to as many jobs, could very easily have missed the opportunity that he did get in the end.

He did the right thing as he's much better off now

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Slorpo

I still can’t see how 2 one hour meetings a week with Seetec/TN hamper anyone from finding a job themselves. It’s just a question of showing up and cooperating. What harm can it be if your going to be employed again in a few weeks?

I was living with my brother at the time and I know it was demotivating to him. Might be the opposite effect for others.

If you're trying to do something to the best of your ability, and you have to report your failure twice a week and explain yourself (when there's nothing to explain) , that's not helpful and will more than likely get you very down. If they had been doing something productive for him it would have been a different story but they weren't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 597 ✭✭✭clfy39tzve8njq

Unfortunately there are some people who are and always will be unemployable. This could range from cute hoorism to undiagnosed mental health issues.

Not to mention bone idle laziness. I often see post on this site about how difficult it is to get disability allowance. Well tis some joke the scobes that I know are on it.
    Young fellas that never worked a day in their life. I'd love to know how they get on it.
    There's almost full employment now so anyone that bloody wants to work has a job.

• Registered Users Posts: 211 ✭✭Johnnycanyon

Ninthlife wrote: »
    They use your PPS number to see what employment you are registered for. No super sleuthing really. Employer could also just pass details on instead of being annoyed

The fact that they are a private company who forged my name on a contract that I refused to sign does not give them the right to use my pps number.. They contacted my employer with the sole purpose of getting commission from SW (tax payers money)for a job I got myself.As my employer did not know who they were he refused to give out any information about me and told them to contact me directly.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭trixiebust

teddyhead wrote: »
    So nobody can answer the opening question about how you opt out of being coerced into a private agency(job path) that is actually screwing the tax payer ?

What a worthless site.

Oh,they probably could have if it was circa 2011/12.

But now, because RTE keep telling us that the country has recovered, all you get here is that if you're unemployed, you are some sort of a waster & not worthy of their time. Unless it's for a sarky comment.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,379 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Ginger83 wrote: »
    There’s nothing demeaning in being helped find work. What IS demeaning is queuing up every week to collect your dole money in your local post Office.

You can get it paid directly into your bank....no queuing necessary.
    No. You can't.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭Ginger83

Sardonicat wrote: »
    No. You can't.

Covered already

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,066 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Slorpo wrote: »
    It's unfit for purpose, this company doesn't give a damn about your qualifications and background, if you're a medical doctor and a job comes up in a sweet shop, they'll badger you into applying.

If it gets people of unemployment benefits and reduces the costs to the taxpayers it is very much fit for purpose. It is not a careers guidance service for heaven’s sake, no matter how much you’d like it to be.

king2 wrote: »
    I have been selected for the Atrocity known as Jobpath for the second time and I am considering refusing to participate. Has anyone here refused it before and if so how was their payment affected. DSP will not give a straight answer saying penalties are at the discretion of the Case Officer and can be anything from a reduction to complete cessation of payment.

You are basically telling them you have no interest in finding a job if you do that, so you’d want to have a really good reason to convince the case officer not to penalize you for refusing to go.

The obvious argument for not going would be to show you case officer that you have been applying all the stuff they pointed out to you the first time around and therefore it would not made a difference to your situation if you were not to attend.

SFC1895 wrote: »
    Another thread started by a subhuman sponger
    Who knew the ubermenschen would bother with boards?

The fact that they are a private company who forged my name on a contract that I refused to sign does not give them the right to use my pps number.

Right so you have evidence of of a criminal offense and you need to report it to the Garda. Have you done this or are just blowing hot air?

teddyhead wrote: »
    So nobody can answer the opening question about how you opt out of being coerced into a private agency(job path) that is actually screwing the tax payer ?

What a worthless site.

Oh you mean as opposed to individuals who screw the taxpayers who claim benefits without making a genuine effort to find a job.... self entertainment strikes again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

teddyhead wrote:

Well your not paying tax so no worries

trixiebust wrote:
    But now, because RTE keep telling us that the country has recovered, all you get here is that if you're unemployed, you are some sort of a waster & not worthy of their time. Unless it's for a sarky comment.

Loads of jobs out there. Just people not wanting to work

I must say I find the tread interesting...

I have never been unemployed in Ireland, but I’m going through it here in Switzerland right now and seems to be much more difficult!

- First off, your employer has to confirm that you did not loose your job through any fault of your own. The employer is required to complete a questionnaire and provide a reference letter. So poor performance reviews, poor time keeping etc could stuff you up.

- Once on benefits, you are assigned to a case officer who normally has about 25 people to control, so they have plenty of time to check up on you. Each month you need to produce a report detailing the jobs you applied for within your profession, jobs outside your area of training that you could do, cold calls you made and networking events you took part in. This is reviewed and followed up by your case officer. Bad feedback from an application, such as you were not presentable at an interview for instance would cause you great problems.

- At the start you don’t have to accept a job outside your profession, outside one hours travel from home and with a salary of less than 80% of your previous salary. As time goes on this expands until you get to a point where you are required to accept any job with any salary within a two and a half hour traveling distance of home each way.

- Benefits last for about two years at a rate of 70% - 80% of your previous salary and after that there is nothing. If you are unable to support yourself there after you become a social case, meaning you will receive financial support according to your needs as they see fit (no specific entitlement) and you are required to pay it back once you find a job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Copy and paste job here as I posted it in the wrong thread..

The problem with Jobpath is its all about full-time employment.

Earn €20/hr in a part time job? Nope must get full time job earning €10/hour.

The thing that pisses me off is that they don't class part time work as employment.

I was working 3 part time jobs at one point. But as far as they are concerned I have been long term unemployed since 2009 as that was when I last had a 9-5, 40 hour/ week job.

I still work part time and am on this bloody thing. Yes it may be good for people that have done zero work in years, but to be told that bursting your balls trying to juggle 3 part time jobs "is not good enough" is fecking insulting.

prinzeugen wrote: »
    Copy and paste job here as I posted it in the wrong thread..

The problem with Jobpath is its all about full-time employment.

Earn €20/hr in a part time job? Nope must get full time job earning €10/hour.

The thing that pisses me off is that they don't class part time work as employment.

I was working 3 part time jobs at one point. But as far as they are concerned I have been long term unemployed since 2009 as that was when I last had a 9-5, 40 hour/ week job.

I still work part time and am on this bloody thing. Yes it may be good for people that have done zero work in years, but to be told that bursting your balls trying to juggle 3 part time jobs "is not good enough" is fecking insulting.
    I presume you are not longer signing on? If that is the case tell to f*** off. You no longer have any obligation to attend there, despite what they might say.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

I feel JobPath type schemes would be much more successful if they included treatment for depression. Whether this be therapy or medication or group exercise or whatever.

I think many people don't realise what appears to be a lack of motivation is actually depression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Maybe some are depressed but there are many who are just unemployable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

Maybe some are depressed but there are many who are just unemployable.

Yes I think that's true too.

Or at least, they are unemployable in their current state.

Can that state be repaired so they can be employed in some capacity?

For example, a security guard by himself at night probably doesn't need to be very good at socialising etc. He just needs to be able to put on the uniform, turn up, and stay awake. (I know nothing about security, but hopefully you get my meaning). So if he can't work with people for whatever reason, maybe this sort of job could be a possibility.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Its more of a lack of work ethic though. Can that be learned after a certain stage in a person's life? You could send them out to work as a security person but getting them to stay is another matter entirely.

Jim2007 wrote: »
    Right so you have evidence of of a criminal offense and you need to report it to the Garda. Have you done this or are just blowing hot air?
    I sure do! And there is being something done about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

I sure do! And there is being something done about it.

Is it Jeff Rudd that’s sorting it out for you? You really need to read the thread here on boards about Jeff. It’s very funny but kinda sad too. Jeff is not quite a Walter Mitty because he’s actually very very cute but his delusions of grandeur are a sight to behold nonetheless.

Here’s the thread
    https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057766783/89

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭n!ghtmancometh

Mr.H wrote: »

That's bollocks, the vast vast majority of people don't want to exist on 198 a week. Also, have you been personally looking for these "loads of jobs" lately? my younger sister has a degree and good work history and struggled to get anything full time, job she got now is ft only til January.

Also, Jobopath is a scam paid for by the taxpayer. I was referred to them a few years ago and all they ever did was change the fonts on my CV or try to get me to apply for unsuitable jobs (I have arthritis in my knees and hands) like construction site operative etc.

I eventually found a job myself, and they hounded me for weeks looking for my new employers details so they could claim a payment off the state for finding me the job, even though they had 0 to do with me getting it, I didn't even use their crappy CV!

Two of the companies that run the scheme for €84 million of taxpayer money (Working Links and Seetec) were accused of scamming the UK government whilst running a similar scheme over there.

https://www.walesonline.co.uk/news/wales-news/working-links-accused-engaging-systemic-2031388

https://beastrabban.wordpress.com/2015/02/23/private-eye-on-allegations-of-fraud-at-seetec/

Is it Jeff Rudd that’s sorting it out for you? You really need to read the thread here on boards about Jeff. It’s very funny but kinda sad too. Jeff is not quite a Walter Mitty because he’s actually very very cute but his delusions of grandeur are a sight to behold nonetheless.

Here’s the thread
    https://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057766783/89
    Its not but I will check it out ,thanks.

That's bollocks, the vast vast majority of people don't want to exist on 198 a week. Also, have you been personally looking for these "loads of jobs" lately? my younger sister has a degree and good work history and struggled to get anything full time, job she got now is ft only til January.

As i said i was recently looking to hire a couple of people myself and it was very difficult to get people that actually wanted to work.

There is a difference. Between available jobs and defined careers where you wont take just anything. I mean ffs if you really didnt want 198 a week you would actually just take anything. I did because i have responsibilities. I know many others who did the same. Once you are working even in a job you dont want, at least your not unemployed and just watching jeremy kyle every day. While working you can still look for a more suitable job. Too many lazy people who wont do decent jobs that are actually available.

Is there a lot of jobs out there? Yes there is. There really is. In fact all you have to do is check indeed and you see loads going up every day. Lets test the theory, what town/city do you live in?

• Registered Users Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Corca Baiscinn

There is actually a lot of jobs out there right now. I mean A LOT. I am constantly looking for staff and I am constantly approached for new jobs.

I find that its more to do with the fact some people dont want to work in certain locations, or dont want certain jobs because they think they are above them

It's not as simple as that, many employers will not take on somebody they deem overqualified even if that person is wiling do so the job as they feel the person wil move on as soon as something better turns up.

People not wanting to work in certain locations is totally logical imo if they can't afford to. Anyone from outside of Dublin at the minute for eg would need to be offered one heck of a salary to be able to afford to move there and pay rent. It accounts for a lot of the shortages in low-paid jobs, for eg care-staff and even substitute teachers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Literally the most unhelpful thing you can say to someone who's looking for a job. It took me several months to find one - and 'Jobpath' proved more of a hindrance than a help.

Bull. I said it already that I was unemployed for a long time. I was just going about my job search wrong. If someone is failing to find work then they need help!