If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef Plan Movement (READ OP BEFORE POSTING)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,721 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

At present, bord bia are coming across as lazy and incompetent. They're getting 6 million of OUR money and another 46 million of state money to promote our food abroad. They are not delivering for us. How long more should we continue to fund them when they are not doing their job properly?

These are the kind of questions that need to be asked. How can we say Bord Bia are doing a good job, when we have nobody else to compare them to? Branding could be a huge thing for Irish Beef, especially if we could claim to have the lowest carbon footprint of all the EU countries.

By the way, what does 'Sign Up' mean? Does being on the Whatsapp group count or do you have to pay the €10?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

At present, bord bia are coming across as lazy and incompetent. They're getting 6 million of OUR money and another 46 million of state money to promote our food abroad. They are not delivering for us. How long more should we continue to fund them when they are not doing their job properly?

These are the kind of questions that need to be asked. How can we say Bord Bia are doing a good job, when we have nobody else to compare them to? Branding could be a huge thing for Irish Beef, especially if we could claim to have the lowest carbon footprint of all the EU countries.

By the way, what does 'Sign Up' mean? Does being on the Whatsapp group count or do you have to pay the €10?
    Pay the €10 as far as I’m aware. That’s where they are getting their membership numbers from, not WhatsApp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

wrangler wrote: »
    TITANIUM. wrote: »
    So it's already working.
    Are you part of the movement? If you were I suppose you would know that all current members were instructed last week to send FOI requests to both the department and through their local TD's. I sent off a dose of emails Saturday night. 1 replied.

That's like the dealers story on the journal today about one of the speakers claiming to have met the department and neglecting to mention the fact that he was with IFA livestock commitee at the time.
    I'd guarantee you that the meeting with the Dept late last night as reported on Agriland had more to do with what Creed does than public servants having to delete numerous Emails every morning.
    It took a long time for ICSA to get credibility from the powers that be, this crowd'll be the same.
    If I was to carry on like that, claiming credit for IFA for everything, I wouldn't be long getting the wrath of posters against the establishment here.
    Fair play rangler you got there before me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

That's like the dealers story on the journal today about one of the speakers claiming to have met the department and neglecting to mention the fact that he was with IFA livestock commitee at the time.

No that's not like the dealers story today. You have a fierce habit of quoting a post and then going off in a complete tangent altogether. You point may be valid but has nothing to do with my post.
    P.s. I throw in a few common rangler quotes for entertainment purposes.
    "GET REAL, GET A LIFE, IN MY DAY, PRETTY SAD REALLY".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,664 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

No that's not like the dealers story today. You have a fierce habit of quoting a post and then going off in a complete tangent altogether. You point may be valid but has nothing to do with my post.
    P.s. I throw in a few common rangler quotes for entertainment purposes.
    "GET REAL, GET A LIFE, IN MY DAY, PRETTY SAD REALLY".

You said ''it's already working'', no funny emoji, no exclamation marks so I thought you were actually serious.
    They've done nothing yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

You said ''it's already working'', no funny emoji, no exclamation marks so I thought you were actually serious.
    They've done nothing yet
    Tbh, you're right there, wrangler.

Atm, they're all things to all beef farmers so they're going to attract a wide support and the fee for joining is low so little lost.

But, in the next few months, they're going to have to prioritise where they are going to target for maximum effect. Then lads that aren't going to benefit straight away are going to start questioning if they should continue to support them without getting an immediate benefit and a fair number will drop off their support list.

And they are going to have to raise more finance because a lobbying group isn't cheap to run if it's going to be a long term project rather than a knee jerk reaction to the current situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

They've done nothing yet

How do you know it wasnt pressure from the BPM that got creed to release the names? Then again it could have been the scouting Ireland visit to the department 🀣

Atm, they're all things to all beef farmers so they're going to attract a wide support and the fee for joining is low so little lost.

But, in the next few months, they're going to have to prioritise where they are going to target for maximum effect. Then lads that aren't going to benefit straight away are going to start questioning if they should continue to support them without getting an immediate benefit and a fair number will drop off their support list.

And they are going to have to raise more finance because a lobbying group isn't cheap to run if it's going to be a long term project rather than a knee jerk reaction to the current situation.

The ''plan'' is very idealistic and anything that's not idealistic is on IFAs Christmas list anyway.
    Their success depends on the physical support of the farmers, the age profile at the meetings reflects a lot of younger farmers, so who knows maybe they will move.
    I actually expected more innovation in IFA commitees by now with all the graduates that's farming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

I got the same thing at the meeting I went to. All grievances were given support. An 85 point plan is a bit daft surely they should try and focus on few key objectives. It's fuelled by angry about the moment I would wonder how sustainable that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

agree or disagree about it but a plan is better than no plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

How do you know it wasnt pressure from the BPM that got creed to release the names? Then again it could have been the scouting Ireland visit to the department 🀣

He knows god damn well thats why!!!!
    So the boys set up camp...........
    Creed ****s himself..........
    He buckles under the pressure of a sit in.........
    It took the French government a few million worth of damage to be done for them to pull plant on their idea.
    Beep beep beep beep (bad ring tone)☺

IFA JOE: Michael. Hows tricks. ****e weather.

CREED: Hows Joeeeen. Tis Minister Creed to you young man. Not a bother on me. Shocking bad alright, tis the time of year to be at it sure. What up?

IFA JOE: The auld list there Mick. Ya know the auld list for the factories that were over trimming. You are going to release those arent ya?

CREED: ahemmm MINISTER. I wont say it again! Sure they are all it amac. But we have agreed to release a few names to cool the jets abit.

IFA JOE: Sorry Mick.

CREED: Why are ya asking Joe?

IFA JOE: Do ya mind waiting till tomorrow Mick...I mean Minister...to publicly agree to release the names for the idiots that got caught.

CREED: Why Joe?

IFA JOE: well we are thinking of having a sit in sorta peaceful protest and it will look good for the IFA if we come out smelling of roses.

CREED: Sound Joe will do that. You'll think me again sure.

IFA JOE: Thanks Mick. That should put those beef plan boyos squarely back in their box.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

What will happen if prices rise (for some random external reason) in the next few weeks/months? Will the movement fade away?

It took the French government a few million worth of damage to be done for them to pull plant on their idea.

CREED: Hows Joeeeen. Tis Minister Creed to you young man. Not a bother on me. Shocking bad alright, tis the time of year to be at it sure. What up?

IFA JOE: The auld list there Mick. Ya know the auld list for the factories that were over trimming. You are going to release those arent ya?

CREED: ahemmm MINISTER. I wont say it again! Sure they are all it amac. But we have agreed to release a few names to cool the jets abit.

IFA JOE: Do ya mind waiting till tomorrow Mick...I mean Minister...to publicly agree to release the names for the idiots that got caught.

IFA JOE: well we are thinking of having a sit in sorta peaceful protest and it will look good for the IFA if we come out smelling of roses.

IFA JOE: Thanks Mick. That should put those beef plan boyos squarely back in their box.

Nice fairy tale for Christmas, but did you hear the one about Hugh Doyle in Claremorris..... best ever.

Important meeting for Corley not to bother going to....discussing IFAs beef plan even, I believe he missed a good few meetings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

What will happen if prices rise (for some random external reason) in the next few weeks/months? Will the movement fade away?

but Im sure they will rise a bit. But this time next year if we dont do something it'll be the same conversation we will be having again. I think the beef plan has come about as every year people are thinking sure next year will be different and eventually farmers have said right enough is enough plus Id say there are some farmers to there neck in debt over whats going on.
    With the last few years and the weather conditions and the added poor prices it all has to add up. The part time farmer like myself that is lucky to have a job will hang in there. There are people out there trying to make a full time living out of this crack to support there families

Nice fairy tale for Christmas, but did you hear the one about Hugh Doyle in Claremorris..... best ever.

Important meeting for Corley not to bother going to....discussing IFAs beef plan even, I believe he missed a good few meetings.

Fairy tale my hole.🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

I've spoken to a few lads I know and nearly all are making changes. Most are dropping numbers. It's the full time lads that are worst hit.

Fairy tale my hole.��������������

You wanted coverage on the IFJ and boy you got it :D:D:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I've spoken to a few lads I know and nearly all are making changes. Most are dropping numbers. It's the full time lads that are worst hit.

Any supply system that doesn't leave enough margin for all stages in the system is under pressure. Either some stages disappear or convert to other stages or the system collapses.

We're not at that point yet but we're getting there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,175 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Different fairy tale.

12-24 hours earlier

Brr Brr Brrr......Joe's phone rings.

Joe as he wakes up: emm ahh what going on Who is that

Creed: Joe wake the F@@K up

Joe: Micheal what happening have we another Beef or Milk scandal

Creed: FFS Joe who's the smart ar5e

Joe: What Micheal what are you on about

Creed: What the F@@King meaning of these FOI request

Joe: Haaa what FOI requests

Creed: Sombody has put in FOI requests and I will now have to name the the processors respsonsible for talking a bit of mince off the the carcasses

Joe: what.....

Creed: Joe wake the f@@k up you have to gather afew lads and make it like it is the IFA that have got the infromation out this

Joe: ahh

Its is hard to know who is responsible for the details of the processors going to be named. But why have the IFA upped there game....is it the BPM.

But I think the FOI requests have as much to play in it as Joe's and the boys publicity stunt. I would not have taught about it but the FOI requests would have forced the naming anyway IMO.

It amazing also that the rag ran a bit this this week about dairy beef bulls. The truth is more than likely somewhere in between.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

That walking cu!t can feck off if he's going to butter up a story for the camera. All he sees is dairy cows and Notting else. Thick pr!ck thinks that all of us have a lovely dry block of land all in the one lump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Different fairy tale.

12-24 hours earlier

Brr Brr Brrr......Joe's phone rings.

Joe as he wakes up: emm ahh what going on Who is that

Creed: Joe wake the F@@K up

Joe: Micheal what happening have we another Beef or Milk scandal

Creed: FFS Joe who's the smart ar5e

Joe: What Micheal what are you on about

Creed: What the F@@King meaning of these FOI request

Joe: Haaa what FOI requests

Creed: Sombody has put in FOI requests and I will now have to name the the processors respsonsible for talking a bit of mince off the the carcasses

Joe: what.....

Creed: Joe wake the f@@k up you have to gather afew lads and make it like it is the IFA that have got the infromation out this

Joe: ahh

Its is hard to know who is responsible for the details of the processors going to be named. But why have the IFA upped there game....is it the BPM.

But I think the FOI requests have as much to play in it as Joe's and the boys publicity stunt. I would not have taught about it but the FOI requests would have forced the naming anyway IMO.

It amazing also that the rag ran a bit this this week about dairy beef bulls. The truth is more than likely somewhere in between.

The boys are afraid of loosing some of the gravy sub from the factory and now with the big kill for the Christmas trade over and time to look the big fella trying to piss the highest,

They've done nothing about beef price yet,, I know guys that have gone to two or three meetings, they think they're better than IFA , Beef price is THE issue at the moment and they're ignoring it.
    They'll probably wait till after Christmas now, sure everyone knows'' the price always rises after Christmas'' ......at least that's what beef farmers bar stool experts used to tell me after I'd waste three weeks on factory gates :D

I'm totally lost. Can't follow half the posts on here.

Bass's ringtone attempt was better than mine.☺Tis ok Patsy. Now ya know how we feel when we send R grade cattle to the factory and they kill out at O=. Be-fuvking-wildered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,331 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Who would take the credit for the price rise? Ifa or the beef plan movement?

whelan2 wrote: »

Probably wouldn't matter if it came, as long as groups were well financed. I met some politicians on a local issue yesterday, not farming related, probably should've just emailed off our wish list instead. :D:D:D:D:D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

whelan2 wrote: »

Both. Naturally. And both will say the other did nothing

Bass's ringtone attempt was better than mine.☺Tis ok Patsy. Now ya know how we feel when we send R grade cattle to the factory and they kill out at O=. Be-fuvking-wildered.

Why don't you turn these guys on them if you're so sure somethings not right.
    Or are you afraid that cattle really are disimproving

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057937691&utm_source=sponsored_thread&utm_medium=forumview&utm_campaign=2057937691&utm_content=thread_title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,067 ✭✭✭White Clover

That's a very negative if not condescending post Buford.
    At the meeting that I attended on Wednesday night, there wasn't a mention of ifa or any other farm organisation, no negativity, we don't need it. The only people here posting negative stuff are mad ifa. I have never engaged in ifa bashing on here but I do believe that they and bord bia are just not cutting it anymore. Current beef prices and farmer sentiment are testament to this.

The weekly kill at present is around 40000. History tells us that when the kill goes under 30000, beef price improves significantly.
    We need to get 10 to 15 thousand cattle weekly out of the factories hands. They and bord bia have proved that they are incapable of marketing this beef and returning a meaningful price to farmers when the kill goes over 30000.
    A man spoke at the meeting, he told us that he has an order for 1250 cattle per week for a start from a client in china. The factories here wont sell him the beef. He also has contacts in thialand and vietnam looking for irish prime beef.
    Another person spoke of the demand for Irish beef from the continent and they can't get it either.
    Another person spoke about the demand for veal on the continent.
    And it was also revealed how dismal bord bia has performed in the UK.

It cant be denied that there is a cosy cartel going on here between retailers and factories, they are collaborating to deny others the opportunity to develop alternative markets for our beef and in my view bord bia are implicit in this too by their sheer failure to do what they are paid to do.

Teagasc have been exposed badly here too, why have we not seen any trials or promotion of veal production?

The people supposed to be leading us, ifa, bord bia and Teagasc have all let us down and shown us all how weak they all are.

It is known that there is enough value in a carcass to pass back a meaningful and profitable margin to the producer.
    In my view, we are on the cusp of change, farmers have had enough of others profiteering from their work. All we want is our fair share for the work we have done.

I would ask everyone reading this to get behind this movement, As it stands, farmers dealing individually with factories has not worked. We need to get control of a significant portion of the kill in order to get those supposed to be marketing our beef to sit up and take notice.
    "United we stand, divided we fall"