Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018/2019 Part Two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Here's one from IGN

Star wars main line (so not rogue one or solo) vs rocky (including creed movies) .

Ep1 vs Rocky etc...

Oh god, here goes. Film for film I’d go....

Rocky
    Rocky 2
    Rocky 3
    Rocky 4
    Empire Strikes Back
    Return of the Jedi
    Force Awakens
    The Last Jedi (Haven’t seen Creed 2 yet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,319 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

GSPfan wrote: »

Rocky
    Rocky 2
    Rocky 3
    Rocky 4
    Empire Strikes Back
    Return of the Jedi
    Force Awakens

IGN went creed 2 over last jedi for 5-3, rest the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,949 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I think a lot of the praise Dark Knight gets is mainly due to Ledgers Joker which was so damn amazing. Certainly the best a "villain" has been in a comic book movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Rocky
    Rocky 2
    Rocky 3
    Rocky 4
    Empire Strikes Back
    Return of the Jedi
    Force Awakens

Not sure I’d agree with the numeric list but rogue one is well above TFA and TLJ for me. Also, the older I get the more I enjoy ANH.

Have to watch rocky movies again to make a fair comparison. Went to creed 2 and enjoyed it. It’s rocky 4 remade but really enjoyable for what it is.

Man age of ultron sucked. Had so much promise. Ultron was so menacing... Until he ended every line with a joke.

But yeah, I get that. Feels very much an avengers movie.

Oh winter soldier had the lift scene too. Bad freaking ass.

Vision was the only good to come from Age of Ultron really.

pjohnson wrote: »
    I think a lot of the praise Dark Knight gets is mainly due to Ledgers Joker which was so damn amazing. Certainly the best a "villain" has been in a comic book movie.

Agreed, There was chaos when he was announced as joker , made his performance all the more impressive.

The twist at the end (hostages as baddies, baddies as hostages) gave me
    Goosebumps at the time. I’d loved the movie as it was and that was like the happy ending moment. And then our hero flees for his life at the end, He lives long enough to see himself become the villain.

Liam Neeson being the baddy in one was also deadly. A real unconventional baddy that actually trains Wayne, what’s not to love!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Off topic but Jose has confirmed that Pereira and Pogba will start against Valencia

Drumpot wrote: »
    Not sure I’d agree with the numeric list but rogue one is well above TFA and TLJ for me. Also, the older I get the more I enjoy ANH.

Have to watch rocky movies again to make a fair comparison. Went to creed 2 and enjoyed it. It’s rocky 4 remade but really enjoyable for what it is.
    they excluded rogue one and solo as they are not main line (in their opinion). You could make the same kind of argument for creeds though. Maybe they are more of a continuations of the main line than the anthology titles.

astradave wrote: »
    Off topic but Jose has confirmed that Pereira and Pogba will start against Valencia

Interesting.... Very interesting.

Yep agreed. The visual of him hanging out of the window of a cop car is stunning.

I love Nolans Batman but there is some jarring production elements that break all 3 films up that don’t sit well with me.

The Gotham in Begins is noticeably different to Dark Knight. The lack of any Joker related mentions in Dark Knight Rises is also disappointing. The Dark Knight Rises almost feels like it should be the sequel to Begins.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Rocky
    Rocky 2
    Rocky 3
    Rocky 4
    Empire Strikes Back
    Return of the Jedi
    Force Awakens

Make it harder on yourself and put it in order of how they came out :)

Read this as “I hate to interrupt the united fan forum discussing completely unrelated movie stuff to bring up man united news but.....” :pac:

Make it harder on yourself and put it in order of how they came out :)

Defo couldn’t do that.

I’d say out of all the Rocky films and Star Wars I would put Rocky 2 as the best of them all. That film after you watch number 1 is just so good.

Yep agreed. The visual of him hanging out of the window of a cop car is stunning.

I love Nolans Batman but there is some jarring production elements that break all 3 films up that don’t sit well with me.

The Gotham in Begins is noticeably different to Dark Knight. The lack of any Joker related mentions in Dark Knight Rises is also disappointing. The Dark Knight Rises almost feels like it should be the sequel to Begins.
    The unstoppable force vs. immovable object scene is the standout for me. Reveals the true brilliance of his plan(s) throughout!

To be honest none of the movies mentioned come close to the all time greatest and most perfect movie series of all time......

Back to the Future.

I don’t know why I thought Pereira might be getting limited chances cause he’s one of the youngsters being “poisoned” by Pogba! Interesting to see how they react to the chance to play. Do they prove Jose right or fight their corner and battle to grab a spot in the team.

Maybe Jose’s methods aren’t nice to watch and maybe they do cause issues but I certainly like the thought of our manager challenging the players on multiple levels.

To be honest none of the movies mentioned come close to the all time greatest and most perfect movie series of all time......

Back to the Future.

1487057440669.gif

The unstoppable force vs. immovable object scene is the standout for me. Reveals the true brilliance of his plan(s) throughout!

Yeh, there are so many brilliant moments. I mean even when the joker meets the big bosses in the kitchen and he just trolls them for listening to the tv and calls it totally (that the Asian lad will sell them out). Joker goes from a joke to “the villain Gotham deserves”. God I think I will watch that today ....

I’m 36 and a half. Not that old!

I don’t know why I thought Pereira might be getting limited chances cause he’s one of the youngsters being “poisoned” by Pogba! Interesting to see how they react to the chance to play. Do they prove Jose right or fight their corner and battle to grab a spot in the team.

Maybe Jose’s methods aren’t nice to watch and maybe they do cause issues but I certainly like the thought of our manager challenging the players on multiple levels.

Well seems that Pereira is working hard in training anyways

https://twitter.com/AdamSMarshall/status/1071480082936553474?s=09

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

What do ye reckon about Batman up front with captain america just off him? :)

Yeh, there are so many brilliant moments. I mean even when the joker meets the big bosses in the kitchen and he just trolls them for listening to the tv and calls it totally (that the Asian lad will sell them out). Joker goes from a joke to “the villain Gotham deserves”. God I think I will watch that today ....

I watched Dark Knight and Dark Knight Rises last Sunday as it was on Sky back to back. I find it hard to not watch them when they are on.

At least we know how to stop ye lot bickering at each other now :pac:

I’m 36 and a half. Not that old!

anigif_enhanced-1878-1411529799-3.gif?downsize=715:*&output-format=auto&output-quality=auto

Back to the Future.

Such a classic. I remember going to see teen wolf for my birthday. Was released about half a year before BTTF. And at the end where it says “to be continued” , as a child it felt like it was decades before back to the future 2. Was only 4 years!

Jose is leaving it way too late to salvage the contract situation with Perreira I think. He should have been thrown in a lot more than what he has.

bangkok wrote: »
    What do ye reckon about Batman up front with captain america just off him? :)

Cap wouldn’t stand for Pogbas work ethic....:pac:

Quicksilver beside him box to box be grand. Wolverine holding midfield.

Depends if it’s “happier” wolvie from the x men movies or dark wolvie from his final two standalone movies. You don’t want to mis tackle wolvie from “Logan” or people will die horrible deaths!

Weepsie wrote: »
    The Dark Knight had somebody from Renford Rejects and somebody from Dream Team, so (a) it is the best of the films mentioned and (b) perfectly on topic.

I thought you meant the comedy “the dream team” with Michael Keaton. Loved that !