Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2018/2019 Part Two

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

City losing isn't great news is it

Ah it'll be grand, don't be giving anyone an excuse to say we'd rather our local rivals win.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,625 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

I don't care who wins the title when its not United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,507 ✭✭✭Quandary

yabadabado wrote: »

Don't say that!!

If Utd don't win the league I couldn't care less who wins it as long as it's not them, never them :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

AidoEirE wrote: »
    Your talking to a brick wall there when it comes to Pogba and Bangkok. Pretty sure most posters here have gone throw the same cycle of conversation with him like you have.
    Nothing wrong with it, Bangkok is himself and likes the player, just any reasoning goes out the window.
    Keeps the thread getting full at least even though its a recycled garbage.

I just find it funny that after the game the talk quickly changes to pogba instead of the 11 that played.

We should be talking about the performamce of Rashford and Dalot.

Instead we get this merry go round of pogba, which will then goes to jose and the circle of man utd life in board continues

It only goes like that when posters say he has been rubbish for 2.5 years which is itself rubbish.

He has had some excellent games, very good games, very poor games and atrocious games.

He also plays in a team thats no1 aim is defence and then attack when it should be the other way around considering the players we have.

Not just pogba, but why are most of our attacking players struggling, lukaku sanchez lingard rashford, martial as well is scoring a few goals but goes missing a lot in games. Thats down to how we set up under the manager

yabadabado wrote: »

Anyone but Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭xtal191

First competitive match I went to was the Arsenal match when Ruud missed the peno and it all kicked off after, ****ing sick after that match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

bangkok wrote: »
    It only goes like that when posters say he has been rubbish for 2.5 years which is itself rubbish.

He has had some excellent games, very good games, very poor games and atrocious games.

He also plays in a team thats no1 aim is defence and then attack when it should be the other way around considering the players we have.

Not just pogba, but why are most of our attacking players struggling, lukaku sanchez lingard rashford, martial as well is scoring a few goals but goes missing a lot in games. Thats down to how we set up under the manager

Im not getting into this merry go round with you bud, but all the players youve mentioned are all attackers. Pogba's job is to feed them which he does poorly. Takes way to many touches and when looses the ball doesnt track back.

Look at Herrera today, perfect example, recieved a ball, one touch passed it forward. No messing about like pogba does with to many touches which hinders the runs made.

If pogba quit the hollywood passes, one touch turn and pass, because the runners are there as shown a lot more the last two ganes since he's dropped, then we wouldnt be having this back and forth.

Pogbas best games, which he has had, has been when he quickly moves the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

xtal191 wrote: »
    First competitive match I went to was the Arsenal match when Ruud missed the peno and it all kicked off after, ****ing sick after that match

I see clips of that and remember watching and still keown annoys me evertime i see him on motd for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,459 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Quandary wrote: »
    Don't say that!!

If Utd don't win the league I couldn't care less who wins it as long as it's not them, never them :)

It's not only that, you want other teams with a chance for top four to lose as often as they can. E.g. Chelsea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,822 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

When your father is a 60 plus year old Man City fan who is getting in serious payback for your childhood celebrations, yes, yes it is :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭bennyineire

bangkok wrote: »
    Anyone but Liverpool

Anyone from Manchester would not say that but then again is there actually any Manchester United fans from Manchester ? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Weepsie wrote: »
    I think I can answer the Sanchez one. He was gick before joining united. He was not very good for 6 months at arsenal. Hed played about 200 games in 3 seasons. He didn't have a proper pre season about 3 seasons in a row because he was always in a competition.

That's very hard to sustain for any athlete.

He looked jaded , and it was a mistake to sign him to be honest.

Hindsight is 20/20. Not too many in here saying this back in January.

Anyone from Manchester would not say that but then again is there actually any Manchester United fans from Manchester ? :confused:

Yes. Yes there is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,742 ✭✭✭bassy

Thats cause city have no history in regards to liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭clubberlang12

Couples of things from today........even taking into context the opposition.

Jones/Smalling are limited players in different ways! How many times this season have we seen Smalling misplace a simple pass terribly out of play. It's not even that he has misread a run by the player he is passing towards, he just lacks technique. He is also pretty negative regarding bringing the ball forward from the back and his default play is to play it backwards. Rojo in the little time he had showed far more forward instinctive play. Jones always looks to have a mistake or a slip at a costly moment in him. I must have lost his footing at least 4 or 5 times, and was rolled far too easier by Kamara for one of their chances.

Thought Dalot did really well. Excellent forward play and support down the wing and defensively he made some timely tackles/blocks. He got caught on the wrong foot a couple of times but considering his lack of appearances, a very positive display. I also don't think he seems to stand off his opponent a much as Valencia who will often let them walk him backwards into the area. Some fantastic crosses sent in. Thought Young had a good enough game too.

Herrera was very positive. Quick, simply play......backed up with a lot of energy and movement. Made a difference. Thought Matic had a good game. I just thought that our forward play was more dispersed and varied today. Pogba receives so much of the ball that our forward play is nearly restricted to how he dictates the play. Without him there, we seemed to move it around differently. We also seemed to build up the play somewhat better, i think Pogba looks for the hollywood pass too much, when sometimes he would be better off giving a quicker pass and moving forward himself with the direction of play. He needs to get in the box more.

I though Mata orchestrated things very well. He really needs to operate more centrally and when he gets on the ball, as much as i can give out about him out wide, he can link and create things so well. It's a pity Pogba can't seem to operate in a midfield 2 as i would love to see him and Mata link quicker play together. Thought Lingard was a bit too quiet. He drifts in and out of games too much sometimes and his strength seems to be in a counter attacking system.

Thought Rashford was positive today. Did well a number of times and while a bit lucky with his goal he deserved it overall. His final phase of action can still disappoint and i think his decision making needs to be better. It's a pity Martial was injured as i think he would have enjoyed this game. Lukaku was honest today. Worked hard and his confidence seems to be creeping upwards. Scoring for the second game in a row will help him.

Interesting to see what team is played during the week and next weekend. I think Pogba will start midweek. but unless he puts in a performance, he could be relegated to the bench against Liverpool. I really think Mata needs a run of games more central to see if he can sustain his form. Whether Pogba fit into that puzzle I'm not too sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

Drumpot wrote: »
    Beno is at his first game. Delighted for anybody getting a good united win on their first visit

My one and only was in ‘88, at home to Derby county.
    4-1 win ,Brian McClair hat trick, nice to see Peter Shilton in goal for County.

Two best on the pitch imo were Viv Anderson and Gordon Strachan both of whom Fergie got shot of shortly after iirc!

Even though I was a Liverpool fan I enjoyed the match, ( my first soccer match) maybe because I wasn’t to foresee what a pain in the ass Utd under Fergie were to become😄!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,327 ✭✭✭paulbok

ARE there any Liverpool fans in their own thread?
    #obsessed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

paulbok wrote: »
    ARE there any Liverpool fans in their own thread?
    #obsessed

You think it's bad now, what will it be like if we lose next Sunday? Still, at least people will be able to get away with saying what ever they want if we do because that's acceptable around these parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,617 ✭✭✭jaykay74

A paddy complains about not enough united fans from their own locality not to mention that this is an irish board where 99% will be irish anyway :rolleyes::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

jaykay74 wrote: »
    A paddy complains about not enough united fans from their own locality not to mention that this is an irish board where 99% will be irish anyway :rolleyes::pac:
    Embarrassing stuff from him to be fair

A poor attempt,....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

Embarrassing stuff from him to be fair

A poor attempt,....

Every time Time I see a post of yours I want to start binge watching Nolan’s Batman trilogy.... Can’t see it ever being surpassed as the greatest comic book trilogy of all time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,319 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Drumpot wrote: »
    Every time Time I see a post of yours I want to start binge watching Nolan’s Batman trilogy.... Can’t see it ever being surpassed as the greatest comic book trilogy of all time....

Captain America. Winter soldier. Cival war.

Will accept no counter on this.

#teamCap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,558 ✭✭✭Unearthly

#teamCap

The 1st one is a bit crap to the rest.

Dark knight ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,625 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

#teamCap

Kind of a trilogy, kinda not. The first one is its own stand alone but the second and third only work when you take the greater movie universe into consideration so by that it's far more than a trilogy.

Even without that it's still Nolan's trilogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Ah lads I am completely on board with Nolans Batman trilogy but Winter Soldier is as perfect as the Dark Knight. Civil War is better than Dark Knight Rises. I’d put Batman Begins ahead of First Avenger so I can’t call a clear winner.

What really sells both trilogies is the music. The Winter Soldier music is amazing.

https://youtu.be/7jpnBs0DkXg

Here's one from IGN

Star wars main line (so not rogue one or solo) vs rocky (including creed movies) .

Ep1 vs Rocky etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

#teamCap

I reall enjoy the marvel stuff for what it is but it’s safe and quite generic. I suppose I’ve never had an “OMFG” that was truly amazing moment like I had in TDK. Never come out of a movie I had ridiculously high expectations going in and had those expectations blown to smitherines like TDK.

Also the story arc is beautifully done, the villains are superb and it’s a real
    Unique (realistic) take on comic book movies that works so well.

God I sound like the movie snobs I hate! I also enjoyed the aliens predator movies. Clicks heels together, “I am not a movie snob” ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,949 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I forget Civil War is part of Cap's films. I just think off it moreso as a sequel to Avengers Age of Ultron.

GSPfan wrote: »
    Ah lads I am completely on board with Nolans Batman trilogy but Winter Soldier is as perfect as the Dark Knight. Civil War is better than Dark Knight Rises. I’d put Batman Begins ahead of First Avenger so I can’t call a clear winner.

What really sells both trilogies is the music. The Winter Soldier music is amazing.

https://youtu.be/7jpnBs0DkXg
    civil war wins it on the bicep shot alone! :-D

pjohnson wrote: »
    I forget Civil War is part of Cap's films. I just think off it moreso as a sequel to Avengers Age of Ultron.

Man age of ultron sucked. Had so much promise. Ultron was so menacing... Until he ended every line with a joke.

But yeah, I get that. Feels very much an avengers movie.

Oh winter soldier had the lift scene too. Bad freaking ass.