If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Would you like to attend a housing protest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

It's ok, you don't need to bow, a simple genuflection will do.

Probably on the college “board”.

Funded by Mammy and Daddy, multiple degrees tells me you’re afraid of the real world and have no clue how it works, hence the free houses for everyone, ever heard of SJWs?

Another bunch who thinks money and houses grow on trees..

Awh you ok hun?

I forgot we’re not allowed express dissatisfaction with things because we’re sad little men:)

Sure what’s the point in general elections and democracy in general?

Just accept things and stop whinging ay:)

I do enjoy your whinging tbh......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭klaaaz

60 million in rent arrears with DCC??

Give over ffs, even a councilor came out this week and told it like it is.

People going homeless to jump the housing list.

Ah mugs yous are, poverty my arse.

You think a poor family has racked up 60m in rent arrears with the DCC? :rolleyes:
    Yes poverty does exist here, there are a million workers(your famous buzzword) struggling every day to feed their families, at least this family has been housed to alleviate poverty. As said, it's a good news story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,682 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Probably on the college “board”.

Nope, work in the private sector.
    Funded by Mammy and Daddy, multiple degrees tells me you’re afraid of the real world and have no clue how it works, hence the free houses for everyone, ever heard of SJWs?

Nope, funded by the state for the first one, like everyone else with a degree, the rest were a mixture of self funded and paid for by employers.
    Again, work in the "real world" not academia. Academia doesn't pay enough to be honest.
    Another bunch who thinks money and houses grow on trees..

Or, someone with an education which includes economics who understands the value in providing proper housing and protections for society.

Nope, funded by the state for the first one, like everyone else with a degree, the rest were a mixture of self funded and paid for by employers.
    Again, work in the "real world" not academia. Academia doesn't pay enough to be honest.

Or, someone with an education which includes economics who understands the value in providing proper housing and protections for society.

Not forgetting as well that academic qualifications may lead to better paid employment which in turn means increased taxation from that employment going to the government and contributing to society as a whole. Yet another sign of the lack of lateral thinking amongst the permanently angry right wing populist begrudgers that seem to be spouting up everywhere.

Yeah ok I believe you:)

Like Paul Murphy and Richard Boyd Barrett, feeling a little guilty about your privileged upbringing so you rebel against “the man”.

Even though without the man you wouldn’t have your “multiple degrees” and your Saturday liquid lunches thinking you’re fantastic.

I bet if social housing was proposed next to your leafy suburb you would be the first out opppsong it.

You people are pathetic.

Not forgetting as well that academic qualifications may lead to better paid employment which in turn means increased taxation from that employment going to the government and contributing to society as a whole. Yet another sign of the lack of lateral thinking amongst the permanently angry right wing populist begrudgers that seem to be spouting up everywhere.

Me and my company I own paid 25k in tax this year.

But I’m just a right wing angry begrudger ay.

Yup, nail on the head there pdr.

Me and my company I own paid 25k in tax this year.

But I’m just a right wing angry begrudger ay.

That's cute. I hope business picks up soon.

Like Paul Murphy and Richard Boyd Barrett, feeling a little guilty about your privileged upbringing so you rebel against “the man”.

Not even a little bit. I loved my upbringing and I'm very grateful for all the help I've had to get to the position I'm in. I'm just not an angry little gammon.

That's cute. I hope business picks up soon.

Business is good because I work hard.

Business is also good for people getting a house for nothing and yourself with multiple degrees funded by tax payers because we work hard.

Can't be that good if your tax contribution is so low?

Not even a little bit. I loved my upbringing and I'm very grateful for all the help I've had to get to the position I'm in. I'm just not an angry little gammon.

Yet you look down on people like me who you said I should enjoy my day in work tomorrow which I hate while you have liquid lunches with friends?

Looking down your nose much?

You’re grateful because you’re in a position of wealth which you had no part in as you admitted.

But you feel some moral obligation to the “homeless”

Can't be that good if your tax contribution is so low?

25k is low??????

Take that plum out of your mouth, you are a snob, enjoy your liquid lunch funded my the bank of mammy and daddy.

Yet you look down on people like me”

I don't think you of all people can play that card Ted. You're frothing at the mouth because some woman got a social housing unit because in your mind she doesn't deserve it.

Why are you looking down on her?

I don't look down on "people like you", I just think you (specifically) are an eejit.

I don't think you of all people can play that card Ted. You're frothing at the mouth because some woman got a social housing unit because in your mind she doesn't deserve it.

Why are you looking down on her?

I don't look down on "people like you", I just think you (specifically) are an eejit.

Point proven right there:)

25k is low??????

Take that plum out of your mouth, you are a snob, enjoy your liquid lunch funded my the bank of mammy and daddy.

So you're paying private sector wages now are you?:confused::confused::confused:

What are you on about now???

Another deflection.

Er, did you read what the poster said? Apart from the primary degree, the others were self funded or paid by his employer. Where are you getting this 'funded by the taxpayer' line? You say you work hard, and I appreciate that, but this anger that emerges from so many of your posts is puzzling as is your eagerness to leap to conclusions about others that they are 'all spongers' etc.

What are you on about now???

Another deflection.

You said you're funding my lunch?

How exactly? Should I keep the receipt for you or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Okay so where is the house you reckon they should move into today.

It's clear the child misses the family pet and mum is trying to reassure her they can get a new pet.

What would you propose - tell a 4 year old "you can never aspire to having a family pet"

Old diesel wrote: »
    Okay so where is the house you reckon they should move into today.

It's clear the child misses the family pet and mum is trying to reassure her they can get a new pet.

What would you propose - tell a 4 year old "you can never aspire to having a family pet"

I doubt that the kid remembers the dog seeing as they’ve been “homeless” over 2 years!

You’ll probably have a meltdown when the cat arrives. This thread is getting very silly......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,761 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

you would be surprised what children remember.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

you would be surprised what children remember.

Also it's entirely possible the dog was with a relative or friend for a period after the family became homeless.

We just dont know and that's a problem with this whole discussion - so many negative assumptions are made about people we don't really know.

We don't know the majority of the close to 10 k homeless so how can we make sweeping negative assumptions about them

Old diesel wrote: »
    Also it's entirely possible the dog was with a relative or friend for a period after the family became homeless.

We just dont know and that's a problem with this whole discussion - so many negative assumptions are made about people we don't really know.

We don't know the majority of the close to 10 k homeless so how can we make sweeping negative assumptions about them

But we can make sweeping negative assumptions about the government without knowing these people’s stories???

Seems fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,761 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

But we can make sweeping negative assumptions about the government without knowing these people’s stories???

Seems fair.

it is fair. the government have a major part to play by giving funding to councils and forcing them to engage in house building. they are not doing that, but are instead spending massive amounts of money on funding people to live in hotels and in private rentals, which we can see is not a sustainible model.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

it is fair. the government have a major part to play by giving funding to councils and forcing them to engage in house building. they are not doing that, but are instead spending massive amounts of money on funding people to live in hotels and in private rentals, which we can see is not a sustainible model.

If the councils wanted to build they could raise their own funding locally with LPT, rates etc and they dont do that.

The government doesnt need to be involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭klaaaz

If the councils wanted to build they could raise their own funding locally with LPT, rates etc and they dont do that.

The government doesnt need to be involved.

If they did that, the usual people will be moaning about massive tax rises. The government of FFG are suppose to govern for the people, not just a select elite.