Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Ken talking about the Ballon D'or ceremony was some much needed light relief after hearing about the Aaron Hernandez case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Sorry if this has been asked before guys but does anyone have hassle with the world service on pocketcasts? Only recently moved over to pocketcasts and the podcasts don't show up instantly when they're uploaded for me. Usually when they go up on the patron page they'd be on my old app fairly instantly but doesn't seem to be the case with pocketcasts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Never an issue for me and I've always used Pocket Casts (as much of a pain in the hole as it is at the moment).

Ken talking about the Ballon D'or ceremony was some much needed light relief after hearing about the Aaron Hernandez case.

decent podcast 5 or 6 parter about that -

gladiator aaron hernandez and football inc

(maybe that was mentioned on the 2nd captains - apols if was)

Cienciano wrote: »
    The whole "football man" and "I wouldn't listen to anything ken early said" is from Ken saying Pep is a great manager and the Dunphy and Giles saying he's rubbish. Similar to the stance they took with Ronaldo. Well, Giles definitely, tbh I'm not 100% on Dunphy but he normally agrees with Giles on these things.

But we're not football men and haven't played the game at the highest level, we wouldn't understand.

those eejits (Dunphy, Giles et al) tend to stick to their guns long after their stance has been proven to be ridiculous.

it was beyond a joke with Ronaldo until they finally grudgingly admitted he was a bit of a player.

they seem to prefer average players who are "good honest pros".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

glasso wrote: »
    those eejits (Dunphy, Giles et al) tend to stick to their guns long after their stance has been proven to be ridiculous.

it was beyond a joke with Ronaldo until they finally grudgingly are he was a bit of a player.

Ken said Real should get rid of Ronaldo 4 years ago. Among his many dodgy calls this is the worst.

decent podcast 5 or 6 parter about that -

gladiator aaron hernandez and football inc

(maybe that was mentioned on the 2nd captains - apols if was)

Yeah that was the pod they covered on yesterday's show. I had listened to Gladiator over the last few weeks and to be honest the second captains review of it was basically taking all the juicy bits and cramming it into one interview. If someone listens to gladiator on the back of the second captains segment, I can't imagine it'll do much for you.

dulux99 wrote: »
    Yeah that was the pod they covered on yesterday's show. I had listened to Gladiator over the last few weeks and to be honest the second captains review of it was basically taking all the juicy bits and cramming it into one interview. If someone listens to gladiator on the back of the second captains segment, I can't imagine it'll do much for you.

I didn't think the last couple of episodes where they tried to link the murder to his football that injuries that good tbh.

Me either. Nor did I like the "woe is him he was ashamed of being gay the poor thing" narritive

In general it was a decent at best podcast. Wouldn't go out of my way to recommend it to someone.

did only say that it was decent :)

started off well enough with the early stuff with his dad etc.

but did defo go downhill with the concussion / brain stuff - not done convincingly and the way it was presented was boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭Raoul

Me either. Nor did I like the "woe is him he was ashamed of being gay the poor thing" narritive

Why didn't you like that narrative?

I also agree with the poster above. They basically took all the main points from the 6 part series and put it into 15 min or so.

I still think it would be a good listen. It is a very intriguing case.

Also, his brain was extremely deformed:
    23CTE1-master768.jpg
    A normal 28 year old on top and his on the bottom.

It might not explain the murders but it still is shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

it was beyond a joke with Ronaldo until they finally grudgingly admitted he was a bit of a player.

I remember Dunphy had his all time Ireland XI in a newspaper. He actually had Kevin Doyle up front. Hard working striker rather than record goalscorer Robbie Keane. In fairness to Dunphy, that was few years ago and he'd probably laugh at it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭deisedude

Raoul wrote: »

I also agree with the poster above. They basically took all the main points from the 6 part series and put it into 15 min or so.

I still think it would be a good listen. It is a very intriguing case.

Also, his brain was extremely deformed:
    23CTE1-master768.jpg
    A normal 28 year old on top and his on the bottom.

It might not explain the murders but it still is shocking.

I've listened to a few episodes and while its good they did cover the highlights pretty well in Second captains

Because I felt like they were trying to get me to feel a lot of sympathy for this guy who was a total scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭IanOBo

Cienciano wrote: »
    I remember Dunphy had his all time Ireland XI in a newspaper. He actually had Kevin Doyle up front. Hard working striker rather than record goalscorer Robbie Keane. In fairness to Dunphy, that was few years ago and he'd probably laugh at it now.

Any links to this XI out of curiosity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,139 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

IanOBo wrote: »
    Any links to this XI out of curiosity?

No, it was about 8 years ago. Either the irish sun or the star.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

For a second there I thought Eoghan was going to drop another 'is it fair to say anyone could have managed that team?' talking about Arsenal today.

Enjoyed tonight but I do feel a bit ripped off for my money. Not sure what I expected though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭iancairns

Enjoyed tonight but I do feel a bit ripped off for my money. Not sure what I expected though.
    What do you mean, have you gone before? Did you expect something more. I've gone last 2 years and always enjoy. Heading again on Sunday.

iancairns wrote: »
    What do you mean, have you gone before? Did you expect something more. I've gone last 2 years and always enjoy. Heading again on Sunday.

Nope, I haven't gone before. As I said, I didn't know what to expect. I think 25 euro is very steep just to be in the presence of a podcast recording. Didn't they give out a second captains annual other years?

Be interested to hear more on this. I've not gone to one before because I just don't think they translate well into seeing them in person. The tv show for instance I always found a bit poor

What do you want to know? Ha.

US Murph was good but they obviously had a topic picked to discuss and kinda clunkily brought it up. Then discussed it. I would have been happier to just have US Murph go on about whatever he wanted randomly. He seemed fairly well oiled.

The two GAA lads were grand. Typical young GAA players. The usual clichés. Nothing against them. Couple of funny bits.

Kellie Anne Harrington was the star of the show. Funny, self aware, confident and interesting. Actually had lots of things to say.

Ken may as well not have been there and was only there when US Murph was. He sat looking extremely uninterested. Left when the other guests were on. And came back for about three minutes at the end.

Yeah so...even though I enjoyed it. I don't know what extra I got out of it compared to listening to the podcast that makes it worth 25 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I haven’t heard them bang on about an annual this year. I assume there is none?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Don't think there was one last year either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

There's quite clearly a lot of people from Cavan who post in this thread a.k.a tight swines.
    Just out of the Friday football show and thought Kerr, Delaney and Dunphy were well worth the few bob.
    All the same, good on the SC lads, they produce some great content consistently at a reasonable price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

Pete Moss wrote: »
    There's quite clearly a lot of people from Cavan who post in this thread a.k.a tight swines.
    Just out of the Friday football show and thought Kerr, Delaney and Dunphy were well worth the few bob.
    All the same, good on the SC lads, they produce some great content consistently at a reasonable price.

They had John Delaney on it with Brian Kerr? No chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭deisedude

Dots1982 wrote: »
    They had John Delaney on it with Brian Kerr? No chance?

Damien Delaney

Pete Moss wrote: »

I don't think 25 is that reasonable. Having said that I think the guests on the show you were at would be a bit more box office than the ones last night.

Also, if you aren't from Dublin, then you also have to pay parking, petrol, and food. So it all adds up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Raoul wrote:
    I don't think 25 is that reasonable. Having said that I think the guests on the show you were at would be a bit more box office than the ones last night.

Raoul wrote:
    Also, if you aren't from Dublin, then you also have to pay parking, petrol, and food. So it all adds up.

I take your point regarding their shows solely in Dublin. That said, they obviously have a good thing going with Liberty Hall and their recordings, so I can't knock them for not going outside of the Pale. Especially given they're doing four in a row.
    Tonight's show was great, though I specifically bought tickets for their football show, so I knew I'd get a decent guest.