Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Really enjoyed the Andy Lee podcast, an interesting guy to listen to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Plenty of good content coming out the lads recently.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Wasn't expecting an hour long pod on the O'Neill departure.

Fair play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Nice bonus for the way home after swiping the Lee one straight to the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,234 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Patww79 wrote: »
    Nice bonus for the way home after swiping the Lee one straight to the bin.

Andy is a total gent and fascinating to listen to.
    That pod was an excellent one.

Andy is a total gent and fascinating to listen to.
    That pod was an excellent one.

He may be the nicest man on the planet but he's always talking about boxing isn't he? So I've never heard him for even a minute.

No I’d say less that 30% of the podcast is about boxing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,784 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

No I’d say less that 30% of the podcast is about boxing.

Interesting. Like the poster above I generally avoid him because of my lack of interest in boxing. I’ll give it a listen to.

You should give him a try. I'm not a big follower of boxing but Andy Lee is always reliably one of their best guests.

He's a really classy and articulate guy and there's something very engaging in how he tells stories; the man has charisma.

I don't want to sound too OTT, but when he is a guest I'm often amazed by how much I give a sh!t about whatever it is he happens to be talking about.

It just sounds like he's giving you no bullsh! t and there's something so sweet about hearing an expert breaking down technicalities and intricacies of a sport and keeping you engaged throughout. Honestly, Andy Lee is a brilliant guest.

Arghus wrote: »
    You should give him a try. I'm not a big follower of boxing but Andy Lee is always reliably one of their best guests.

He's a really classy and articulate guy and there's something very engaging in how he tells stories; the man has charisma.

I don't want to sound too OTT, but when he is a guest I'm often amazed by how much I give a sh!t about whatever it is he happens to be talking about.

It just sounds like he's giving you no bullsh! t and there's something so sweet about hearing an expert breaking down technicalities and intricacies of a sport and keeping you engaged throughout. Honestly, Andy Lee is a brilliant guest.

I've a huge lack of interest in boxing so I wouldn't care who was talking about it or what they were saying. What does he talk about outside of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,047 ✭✭✭deisedude

I've a huge lack of interest in boxing so I wouldn't care who was talking about it or what they were saying. What does he talk about outside of it?

The most interesting part was talking about his traveller heritage and marrying a woman outside of this community and how travellers and settled communities both need to work to get along better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I am the same no interest in it at all, he actually almost makes the sport interesting.

He fantastic, gives a real insight in a relatable way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

I've zero interest in boxing but found the Andy Lee conversation very interesting and I might actually buy his book as a result.

I noticed Eoin at least was actually "off" yesterday! Fair play to them to reacting with a bonus pod. That really does build the loyalty to them.

There's very little on actual boxing, more about his relationships with his trainers. His time living in Detroit in his trainer Manny Steward's house, being at his death bed etc.

Then completely outside of boxing it's about his upbringing as a traveller, his marriage to a Posh south side Dubliner , trips to the theatre and classical music concerts when they were going out (very funny).

He also gets into traveller culture and he is very self critical of it in parts but he offer solutions too.

Andy is real fascinating, articulate and intelligent guy. I love listening to him (not just about boxing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Andy Lee for president. He's a credit to his culture, he's the best representative of the travelling culture in ireland. I've been a huge fan of his for years, was sickened for him when the Thomond Park fight fell through but unfortunately he just never caught fire with Joe public in Ireland during his heyday.

dulux99 wrote: »
    Andy Lee for president. He's a credit to his culture, he's the best representative of the travelling culture in ireland. I've been a huge fan of his for years, was sickened for him when the Thomond Park fight fell through but unfortunately he just never caught fire with Joe public in Ireland during his heyday.

I think he once again came across as a sound individual during the interview yesterday. He was able to talk about issues that are hot-topics right now - relations between the settled commubity and the travelling community - and try to at least give perspective to both side of the divide.

What he has to say is worthwhile because he's had feet in both camps in his life and I never felt that he was doing so just to inflate his profile or score easy points with people. I think his desire to not be seen as a spokesman or an activist, in fact to stress the point that he wasn't trying to be seen as either, was very refreshing. It made me sad in a way that people who can give an honest nuanced view of something often get drowned out in debates.

Also, if his anecdote about Peter Casey was in any way true, then he's an even bigger chancer than I thought he was: a cynical opportunist out to make a name for himself.

Definitely doesn't sound like my cup of tea even outside the boxing.

On another note, Ken was in fine form with his Dunfermline rant today. Never imagined he'd have been a Kenny backer.

Definitely doesn't sound like my cup of tea even outside the boxing.

On another note, Ken was in fine form with his Dunfermline rant today. Never imagined he'd have been a Kenny backer.

You should give the interview a go and see what you think. Boxing is only one of the many things they touch upon.

If you listen and think no thanks, then fair enough, but I don't think making your mind up totally before you listen to a word he has to say is the way to approach it IMO. If you ask me all you are doing is missing out on an interesting interview with a great guest. It's a free country, but I'd give it a shot

There's a lot of people who post here and we all don't agree on everything, but very few of us seem to have negative stuff to say about Andy Lee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Catching up with one of the football podcasts with Richie following the Ireland game.

Only second captains would give you footballing analysis that would include a sh*t parish priest, a french president, nationalism and the roles that independent thought and patriotism play in being a fan..

Enjoyed Richie's take on the documentary premiere. You can see clearly see that that era still holds a special place in those lads hearts. Easy to see in that context why the likes of Richie would see the senior side in such poor light these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

Early pod alert, new football pod out now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭Onecoolcookie

Have two tickets for the Thursday night Live show that I need to swap for Saturday - any interest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,436 ✭✭✭Beersmith

So with so much to talk about they didn't even touch on the boca/river game nor the premier league at the weekend! Very strange. There should be no constraints on the time they spend. This episode was only 50min. Very disappointing they don't go on for longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,795 ✭✭✭dulux99

Beersmith wrote: »
    So with so much to talk about they didn't even touch on the boca/river game nor the premier league at the weekend! Very strange. There should be no constraints on the time they spend. This episode was only 50min. Very disappointing they don't go on for longer.

They alluded to it and it sounded to me like they're going to cover it during the week. I'm sometimes critical of them in that regard but I would say in fairness they were up against it today as they said they had to go to the Stephen Kenny press conference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

Only listened to the first podcast but Ken was in rare form today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Only listened to the first podcast but Ken was in rare form today.

I'm going to listen to it in the morning but if Ken's says anything that isn't getting Kenny into the 21s for a couple of years is a good idea then I shall call him a click batey mo fo.

I doubt he will care, but by gum I'll do it.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,746 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

"I remember him looking like he was about to transform into a werewolf, with his shirt hanging out of his trousers, sweat, just this ferocious gleam in his eye"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Best performance by Ken in a long time today in the football pod. Brilliant, absolutely brilliant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,221 ✭✭✭jones

Two great podcasts yesterday hitting great form at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

"I remember him looking like he was about to transform into a werewolf, with his shirt hanging out of his trousers, sweat, just this ferocious gleam in his eye"

*Not sure if Ken Kratz or Ken Early*