Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

tuxy wrote: »
    IMO most counties are nicer to live in than Dublin. The only problem with these counties is lack of jobs but that's another bonus for Cash!

But less of a bonus for the locals!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Amirani wrote: »
    Having 7 kids in a developed world country is never responsible.

Miriam O'Callaghan has eight children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

This was nearly 50 years ago. Things were different. The generation before that would be lucky to have 2 bedrooms. My father was also not dependent on the state to feed and clothe us.

Well said.

It was an impertinent remark that you should not have had to deal with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Miriam O'Callaghan has eight children.

Also at the tax payers expense! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

A poor dog was shot this evening in an incident in Longford involving the ethnic group. Cop shot the dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

B00MSTICK wrote: »
    To follow on from this in a completely different (and less humorous) way

Remember Martin Ward, the traveller that was on RTE's "The Cutting Edge"?
    He's gay and a LGBTQ+ activist and was given praise for appearing on the show with many saying he would be a great spokesman for Travellers etc.

The thing is, Martin Warde is pretty much the needle in the Traveller haystack:

1. Education
    57% of male and 54% of females travellers don't progress past primary school.
    ~8% go on to do the leaving cert.

Martin is one of the ~1% that will get a 3rd level education.
    This is the single biggest issue IMO.

2. Employment
    ~80% of Traveller's are unemployed.
    Given the change in the times (being a tinker is no longer a viable career) and the rise of skilled jobs, this is clearly linked to education.

I believe after finishing the leaving cert Martin traveled to the UK where he gained extensive bar-management experience. I imagine he came back to Ireland to study. I'm under no illusion he'd find it harder to get a job here because of his name and the discrimination it brings with it.

3. Nomadic (or not)
    The title of the Irish times piece is just this "I am a Traveller who does not travel"

As mentioned above I doubt he lived in a caravan or travelled around much while he was working in England and am pretty sure he doesn't now that he is in NUIG. I also get the feeling his parents weren't quite so nomadic if he managed to complete the junior and leaving cert.

4. Family/Environment
    From what I can tell Martin has no family of his own as of yet, he isnt married either AFAIK.
    Almost a third of Irish travellers in the 15-29 age group are married compared to ~6% in the settled community.
    More than 1 in 4 Irish Traveller households had 6 or more persons.

5. Religion/Sexuality
    Not sure which (if any) religions Martin believes in but the majority of Travellers would be staunch Catholics. I can't imagine being gay in the travelling community is a barrel of laugh so fair play to Martin on that count and continuing to build acceptance. I'm hoping his parents are open/accepting of it too and he has a good relationship with them.

6. Horses/Animals (none?)
    While Martin was working in the UK or now that he is in college I doubt he had any equine pals around.

7. Other
    Unfortunately many travellers are involved in crime, yet he doesn't seem to have gone down that path. He doesn't drink much. He doesn't post call out videos. He doesn't even sound like the majority of travellers I've spoken with or heard speaking.
    If he had a different surname he probably wouldn't be discriminated against anymore than a settled person.

Taking all this into account - he's doesn't really fit into the traveller stereotype at all.
    He is essentially a traveller that does not follow their typical traits or "traveller culture"

If we had a few generations of Travellers like him would we see as much discrimination at all?

I think that so far I've been very fair, or against Traveller culture. But throughout this thread I've seen this sectarian anti Catholic crap crop up several times. Me and my wife are regular mass goers. We live our lives responsibly and without demanding hand outs.

I'm settled and take my religion seriously. I pay my own way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

A poor dog was shot this evening in an incident in Longford involving the ethnic group. Cop shot the dog.

Eskimos and huskie dog was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Fann Linn wrote: »
    But less of a bonus for the locals!

There you are in Ballaghadreen...
    Thinking shît cant get any worse...

There’s a video on the Longford leaders Facebook page. Scroll down 2 or 3 news stories/death notices and you’ll see it. Is this today’s shooting?

I think that so far I've been very fair, or against Traveller culture. But throughout this thread I've seen this sectarian anti Catholic crap crop up several times. Me and my wife are regular mass goers. We live our lives responsibly and without demanding hand outs.

I'm settled and take my religion seriously. I pay my own way.

TBF. I dont think that was very bigoted.
    Its a fact. They're big into the Catholicism

• Closed Accounts Posts: 327 ✭✭Raheem Euro

There’s a video on the Longford leaders Facebook page. Scroll down 2 or 3 news stories/death notices and you’ll see it. Is this today’s shooting?

I saw the video alright. Unlucky ricochet caught him in the foot.

TBF. I dont think that was very bigoted.
    Its a fact. They're big into the Catholicism

And the point is what exactly? That Catholicism is the reason Margaret Cash is a sponger? Its ridiculous.

More the hypocrisy of staunch Catholics making a living from fraud and theft?

the point is very clearly related to his being openly gay, which catholic cultureand norms doesnt exactly make any easier.

More the hypocrisy of staunch Catholics making a living from fraud and theft?

Utter b*ll****. I've lived my life a Catholic as do many more.

No Catholic I know goes on with that crap.

I don't remember seeing a Traveller at mass either.

Stop trying to cloak your sectarianism over something else

the point is very clearly related to his being openly gay, which catholic cultureand norms doesnt exactly make any easier.

It's another thread for another day.

Suffice to say those of us who live outside of the Dublin-centric libzani zone hold our religion dear and don't need it dragged through the gutter.

As bad as Cash is I've yet to see her drag religion into this

lol what a bizzarre tangent

If you look back through the thread it's clear some folk have been itching to go off on an anti Catholic rant. It's been brought up several times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭Demonique

Even if the parents are decent hard working people who can feed and clothe all seven?

Yes because the world is overpopulated

It's another thread for another day.

Suffice to say those of us who live outside of the Dublin-centric libzani zone hold our religion dear and don't need it dragged through the gutter.

As bad as Cash is I've yet to see her drag religion into this

So you continue to adhere to a religion where paedophilia was covered up? Fecking lol

i'm still trying to figure out how she managed to carry €300 worth of stuff from Penneys. She should get herself a job as a brickies labourer.

After seven kids her lady garden is probably loose enough to stash all the clothes

Demonique wrote: »
    So you continue to adhere to a religion where paedophilia was covered up? Fecking lol

I drifted away from my religion through the last few years.

Bigots like you who blame all of us for the actions of a minority are the reason I proposed to my wife, got married and went back to going to mass once (or more) times a week.

I'm not going to be told by some knuckledragging anti Catholic racist (of which many have contributed to this thread) how I should live my life.

Anyway. There's a chemist nearby selling blue hair dye on discount you might be interested in.

Utter b*ll****. I've lived my life a Catholic as do many more.

No Catholic I know goes on with that crap.

I don't remember seeing a Traveller at mass either.

Stop trying to cloak your sectarianism over something else

Sectarianism? Ah heor

Demonique wrote: »

Must be a pretty sad existence being under 30 and having spent your life being oppressed by the Catholic Church 😴

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Satanist

U ok hun?

Must be a pretty sad existence being under 30 and having spent your life being oppressed by the Catholic Church 😴

You in the right thread?

Sectarianism? Ah heor

We've a thread here about a degenerate sponger who as far as I'm aware has never mentioned her religion.

Yet several posters have brought her religious ideas (?) into it.

Ya it's not sectarian in any way 😂

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Perhaps religion has been mentioned too frequently on this thread. But you have to admit travellers not using contraception and voting no to repealing the 8th is based on their strong catholic beliefs. This then leads to them having far more children than they can afford to support.

I drifted away from my religion through the last few years.

Bigots like you who blame all of us for the actions of a minority are the reason I proposed to my wife, got married and went back to going to mass once (or more) times a week.

I'm not going to be told by some knuckledragging anti Catholic racist (of which many have contributed to this thread) how I should live my life.

Anyway. There's a chemist nearby selling blue hair dye on discount you might be interested in.

catholicism not a race fyi

you proposed to your wife because of negative reaction to institutional cover up of child abuse?

hmmmmm

We've a thread here about a degenerate sponger who as far as I'm aware has never mentioned her religion.

Yet several posters have brought her religious ideas (?) into it.

Ya it's not sectarian in any way 😂

I dont think she's actually mentioned she's a degenerate sponger either, yet here we are.

She actually gives degenerate spongers a bad name.

You're very sensitive about the Catholicism bit.