Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

That was my thought exactly.
    I don't know maybe there is no stigma there?
    Most of the people in the UK outside of NI would not know the difference between a traveller accent or any other Irish accent.

Have you ever lived and worked in Britain ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭Gravelly

That was my thought exactly.
    I don't know maybe there is no stigma there?
    Most of the people in the UK outside of NI, would not know the difference between a traveller accent or any other Irish accent.

:D:D:D

This is the most random ever. Traveller guy genuinely seems lovely ha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Why do some people feel the need to film every waking moment of their lives?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,980 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Why do some people feel the need to film every waking moment of their lives?

In busy traffic? Usually to ensure you are not incorrect found liable for something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

tuxy wrote: »
    In busy traffic? Usually to ensure you are not incorrect found liable for something.

Or is it to post ****e on youtube for attention like that lad?

If you can get that kind of view count there is money to be made. So clearly an audience for such videos.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

I have some sympthy for her. Banks walked off with billions of tax payers money. Bankers and politicians retired on huge pensions backed by government. No bank director charged with negilance but hey it's crucial that we prosecute shoplifters like cash . Crucial

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,079 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Bobtheman wrote: »
    I have some sympthy for her. Banks walked off with billions of tax payers money. Bankers and politicians retired on huge pensions backed by government. No bank director charged with negilance but hey it's crucial that we prosecute shoplifters like cash . Crucial

That doesn't make a lot of sense.
    I wouldn't have much sympathy for her. She made her own decisions and she never contributed a cent towards the general pot.
    I'd have sympathy for workers on poor wages who are struggling yet not robbing.
    Why not compare her to them rather than deflect with the banking stuff? We all know what they did but some of them were found guilty though not enough were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,729 ✭✭✭AllForIt

That is the Underclass, surely ?

Well yes you may be right but to me an underclass is one that is somehow subjugated and/or ppl who live in abject poverty who maybe find it impossible to lift themselves up to a higher social level of wealth though no fault of their own but due to the geographical place they live, political situation etc. I prefer the term lower-working-class because that to me defines ppl to have every opportunity to better themselves for example travelers but choose not to do say because of their 'culture' or indeed in the 'settled' community, ppl who live on the dole all their lives and do so because they live in a community who behave the same way, again, as part of their social demographic 'culture'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Bobtheman wrote: »
    I don't. I lost my job in 2008. At the time my rent was €460 a month and I had a loan of €50 a week to pay back. I couldn't get fuel or rent allowance as I was living in shared accommodation. I lost a lot of weight because I couldn't afford food. It was a really sh!t and stressful time but I never resorted to stealing €300 of anything from anyone.

No one seems to question WHY she was made homeless. The odds are stacked against landlords. You cannot just evict someone, even non paying tenants. It takes about a year to get rid of people like that. Even if a landlord wants to sell, they have to give three months notice. There has to be more to the story of how a mother of 7 ended up sleeping in a Garda station.

There was an old TV report on her from when she only had 6 childers. Her and the husband were explaining that they had been given their eviction notice and the process had been ongoing for a few months. So it did take her old landlord months(maybe 12) to evict her.
    I guess which not much left to do they just had to have another child before becoming homeless.

There is a huge sense of entitlement in this country from the benefits class. I remember a woman who rang the Niall Boylan show around December last year. She was complaining that herself, her husband and three kids had been living in a hotel for 9 months and it was ridiculous etc etc. She said she found out she was going to be given a house that the council were doing up and she went around to see it. She didn't want it because she didn't like the area, it was too small and the garden wasn't big enough and she felt like she shouldn't have to take it. The bang of entitlement coming off her was unreal. She was giving out that if she didn't accept this house she would be moved down the list and it was unfair as the house was too small :eek:

She rang two times, on both the evening and afternoon show. In fairness to Niall he pushed her about personal responsibility and asked why wasn't her husband working. Turns out he hadn't worked in years and when pressed further she clammed up and said she didn't want to talk about her personal situation, lol. Niall rightly called her out on it and said if she was going to go on radio and claim the government weren't taking care of her, then she has to have full disclosure.

During the two shows, someone who knew her contacted the radio station and said she was currently pregnant. When Niall asked her about this she got off pretty sharpish. Who in their right mind gets pregnant when they already have three kids and are living in a hotel? She obviously thought she was going to become the new Erica Fleming but got shot down.

I am including this story to show the naysayers that yes I know it's not only Travellers that play the system and yes, I'm just as disgusted at settled people who claim the poor mouth without any sense of personal responsibility. The difference between Travellers and settled people is that up to 90% of Travellers are unemployed, while the overall rate of unemployment is 5%. Settled people take the p!ss but Travellers are far more likely to do so while supplementing their benefits by stealing from Pennys or robbing old people or tradesman (although if they rob your tools you can buy them back at bargain prices at the Sunday market) :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,507 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    I don't. I lost my job in 2008. At the time my rent was €460 a month and I had a loan of €50 a week to pay back. I couldn't get fuel or rent allowance as I was living in shared accommodation. I lost a lot of weight because I couldn't afford food. It was a really sh!t and stressful time but I never resorted to stealing €300 of anything from anyone.

No one seems to question WHY she was made homeless. The odds are stacked against landlords. You cannot just evict someone, even non paying tenants. It takes about a year to get rid of people like that. Even if a landlord wants to sell, they have to give three months notice. There has to be more to the story of how a mother of 7 ended up sleeping in a Garda station.

Her cynical ploy of exploiting her kids in a Garda station removes any sympathy she should get.
    She also does not seem very thankful when people do try to help her.
    The way she says the council are doing nothing for her, when it is not true, shows what her character is like.
    Hand on hip and confrontational.
    Traveller or non-traveller the woman is a right wagon, no matter how you look at it.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭bigroad

I remember hearing her on an interview say the landlord was selling the house and that was the reason she was evicted.
    If that is true then she would of had time to find another place.
    So it's either didn't bother or didn't pay the small rent she had to pay.
    We are not hearing the full story.

Her cynical ploy of exploiting her kids in a Garda station removes any sympathy she should get.
    She also does not seem very thankful when people do try to help her.
    The way she says the council are doing nothing for her, when it is not true, shows what her character is like.
    Hand on hip and confrontational.
    Traveller or non-traveller the woman is a right wagon, no matter how you look at it.
    Yet she claims that the government are robbing her :rolleyes:

There was an old TV report on her from when she only had 6 childers. Her and the husband were explaining that they had been given their eviction notice and the process had been ongoing for a few months. So it did take her old landlord months(maybe 12) to evict her.
    I guess which not much left to do they just had to have another child before becoming homeless.
    So they knew for months they were being evicted. They weren't paying rent so could've saved up for a deposit on a new place. Either they didn't want to go into private rented accommodation or they couldn't get a reference from their old landlord. Either case is self inflected yet it's still the government's fault.

What do we do with people like this apart from giving them forever homes that law abiding, tax paying people can't afford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

AllForIt wrote: »
    Working Class to me describes ones social demographic background, not literally that one works. In any case I used the term lower-working-class, the class below Working Class, which is to me the social demographic at the near bottom of the social scale and I'd say that describes ppl who either don't work, have no intention of working, have no prospects for work, etc.
    I think "working class" should only be used to describe people who work. That's why the term was coined. It referred to people who slogged damn hard doing extremely tough manual labour for a very meagre wage.

In my opinion the word "working" should not be part of any description of freeloaders. Even lower working class implies some degree of work.

Underclass - I don't know about that term either as it's unfair on people who genuinely need social supports.

I think just go with freeloaders, sponges, scroungers or leeches. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

There is a huge sense of entitlement in this country from the benefits class. I remember a woman who rang the Niall Boylan show around December last year. She was complaining that herself, her husband and three kids had been living in a hotel for 9 months and it was ridiculous etc etc. She said she found out she was going to be given a house that the council were doing up and she went around to see it. She didn't want it because she didn't like the area, it was too small and the garden wasn't big enough and she felt like she shouldn't have to take it. The bang of entitlement coming off her was unreal. She was giving out that if she didn't accept this house she would be moved down the list and it was unfair as the house was too small :eek:

She rang two times, on both the evening and afternoon show. In fairness to Niall he pushed her about personal responsibility and asked why wasn't her husband working. Turns out he hadn't worked in years and when pressed further she clammed up and said she didn't want to talk about her personal situation, lol. Niall rightly called her out on it and said if she was going to go on radio and claim the government weren't taking care of her, then she has to have full disclosure.

During the two shows, someone who knew her contacted the radio station and said she was currently pregnant. When Niall asked her about this she got off pretty sharpish. Who in their right mind gets pregnant when they already have three kids and are living in a hotel? She obviously thought she was going to become the new Erica Fleming but got shot down.

I am including this story to show the naysayers that yes I know it's not only Travellers that play the system and yes, I'm just as disgusted at settled people who claim the poor mouth without any sense of personal responsibility. The difference between Travellers and settled people is that up to 90% of Travellers are unemployed, while the overall rate of unemployment is 5%. Settled people take the p!ss but Travellers are far more likely to do so while supplementing their benefits by stealing from Pennys or robbing old people or tradesman (although if they rob your tools you can buy them back at bargain prices at the Sunday market) :rolleyes:

How is that surprising?

The overwhelming majority of both the political and media class espouses a left wing redistributive philosophy where those who don't work can and should have what the tax paying stiffs make do with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

Yet she claims that the government are robbing her :rolleyes:

No... The gubberment are

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

Let's prosecute her and leave the real criminal class of bankers and estate agents free to do their business. Vote FG/FF/lab

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    How is that surprising?

The overwhelming majority of both the political and media class espouses a left wing redistributive philosophy where those who don't work can and should have what the tax paying stiffs make do with.
    This is the problem we have with democracy. I'm pretty sure there are people who start out in politics with good intentions but by the time they are in any position of power, they realise they only have a short time there and become more interested in protecting their seat than in rocking the boat. The pension crisis is a case in point. Pensions make up 8 billion of our annual spending, which far exceeds unemployment benefit but no politician is going to touch that as it would mean looking at their own pensions. The president gets a ridiculous pension of €140,000 per year.

Sinn Fein appeal to the benefit class because they "fight their cause". It's easy for them to act like Oprah and promise houses and money to everyone because they will never be the reigning Government and have to actually act on these empty promises.

Attitudes transcend from the top down and if those at the top are taking the p!ss, I'm not surprised that those at the bottom are doing the same. But that's a debate for another thread.

mloc123 wrote: »
    No... The gubberment are
    People who have never worked a day in their lives get stuck in the mindset that the gubberment is a branch of the illuminati with an orchard of money trees that they want to keep for themselves. It's the working and middle class who are stuck in the reality of taxes, bills and family planning who have to suck it up.

This is the problem we have with democracy. I'm pretty sure there are people who start out in politics with good intentions but by the time they are in any position of power, they realise they only have a short time there and become more interested in protecting their seat than in rocking the boat. The pension crisis is a case in point. Pensions make up 8 billion of our annual spending, which far exceeds unemployment benefit but no politician is going to touch that as it would mean looking at their own pensions. The president gets a ridiculous pension of €140,000 per year.

Sinn Fein appeal to the benefit class because they "fight their cause". It's easy for them to act like Oprah and promise houses and money to everyone because they will never be the reigning Government and have to actually act on these empty promises.

Attitudes transcend from the top down and if those at the top are taking the p!ss, I'm not surprised that those at the bottom are doing the same. But that's a debate for another thread.

SF want to upend the entire system so rallying the irresponsible makes sense

Plus a people who need government to wipe their arse are easier to control, SF are all about control like all hard left politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

Plus a people who need government to wipe their arse are easier to control, SF are all about control like all hard left politicians.

Sinn Fein aren’t alone ... Fine Gael seem to be huge fans of the traveller community as well . Fine Gael closed the majority of rural Garda stations which has really helped traveller gangs operate at their leisure in rural Ireland . Also it was Fine Gael who forced special ethnic status for travellers through the dail 2 years ago .

hurler32 wrote: »
    Sinn Fein aren’t alone ... Fine Gael seem to be huge fans of the traveller community as well . Fine Gael closed the majority of rural Garda stations which has really helped traveller gangs operate at their leisure in rural Ireland . Also it was Fine Gael who forced special ethnic status for travellers through the dail 2 years ago .

Legal profession make a lot of money representing travellers, traditionally FG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭paw patrol

I suspect SF don't want to be in government - easier for Mary Lou etc....to sit on the side lines and cheer when things they like pass (marriage, 8th ref) and give out when things they don't like happen without ever having the responsibility of doing anything

paw patrol wrote: »
    I suspect SF don't want to be in government - easier for Mary Lou etc....to sit on the side lines and cheers when things they like pass (marriage, 8th ref) and give out when things they don't like happen without ever having the responsibility of doing anything
    Sinn Fein are like a bunch of angsty teenagers who's political knowledge comes from reading reddit.

If SF were to form the smaller part of a coalition it would be the end of them for 10 - 15 years at least. Finally they would have to answer for some of the parties position on different topics and they just wouldn't have the answers. Also a coalition involving SF would be chaos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭Gravelly

If SF were to form the smaller part of a coalition it would be the end of them for 10 - 15 years at least. Finally they would have to answer for some of the parties position on different topics and they just wouldn't have the answers. Also a coalition involving SF would be chaos.

The question is, are they smart enough to stay out of government, or will greed get the better of them eventually?
    I often wonder would it be a good thing if they got into government in a coalition in order to destroy them. If they were in government on their own, they would bring the country down with them, but as a minor coalition party they probably couldn’t do too much damage.