Premiership football support.....I just don't understand the point?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

Its really going to blow your mind when you find out some people support American football teams...

I don't understand that either.....but all the more power to them

Not against anybody supporting sports teams in the UK or US

Just could never understand what the fascination with support went.

Honestly couldn't care if people support Man United or the NY Giants

I'm not a New Yorker or Manc..... I don't understand why one would support them

Nothing wrong with it......maybe I'm just an outdated dinosaur... I don't know

Each to their own I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,682 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

DS86DS wrote: »
    Look.... before anybody here is seeking to rip me a new A-hole

I just said.....loads of people around me follow the Premiership and have for a long time

I just don't understand it though.......what about Man United and Chelsea is so fascinating?

I mean if I were a native born Manc or Cockney......I'd be supporting them like I support Dublin in football and hurling.

But why support Man United or Chelsea?........ I just don't get it

For me .......sport taps into that caveman tribal instinct and hence I support Dublin and Ireland ....both Dublin and Ireland mean something to me

But as I'm not a Manchester local........MUFC though I'll admit they are a great sports team....they mean nothing with me

I'm just curious.... because I can't find any logic to it

I used to go to see St. Pat's in Inchicore

Ah jaysus.....maybe I'm just a grumpy cretin this morning and the lot of you are best ignoring me.

But I can see myself supporting the Dubs in Crocker or St. Pat's in Inchicore .....,. I just don't understand why I'd support a team that I've never had any affiliation with.

The team you follow is the one that was successful when you were 10 years old.

I think it all boils down to tribalism in the end. Some people also find following a premier league team to be a useful social crutch (not limited to the premier league obviously)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

I'd be like the OP, The only two teams I support are Wexford GAA and the Irish soccer team. I follow football in general and watch premier league games every weekend but just found it impossible to build a bond with a team, connection just wasn't there.

To be honest a lot of the people that say they follow an english team are just following the crowd and deep down couldn't really care. It's a bit sad really. Even my friends who are Liverpool/Man U mad if either team lose a big game they're fine afterwards laughing and joking. They're not from these places so they just forget about it easily afterwards. Not saying all are like this but I see it often enough.

I've laughed and joked with Mayo and Kerry fans recently after All Ireland Finals, maybe people just react in different ways and don't let sport rule their life?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

The team you follow is the one that was successful when you were 10 years old.

I think it all boils down to tribalism in the end. Some people also find following a premier league team to be a useful social crutch (not limited to the premier league obviously)

Not necessarily, I was 14 before my team won anything and I'd been going the game 8 years be then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

I think most people don't choose to support English teams, it just happens from a young age. A parent or older sibling supports them so you follow suit.

As a supporter of the team you may go to the city to watch a match, you may enjoy the city and return on a frequent basis. If someone has been to a city twenty times would you class that as having an affinity with a city?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

Nokotan wrote: »
    I've laughed and joked with Mayo and Kerry fans recently after All Ireland Finals, maybe people just react in different ways and don't let sport rule their life?

Be careful about how you pick your words though..... Culchies can be rather sensitive about the Dubs raising the Sam for the millionth time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Nokotan wrote: »

Yeah that's true, but even when they win their reactions are subdued. Point I was trying to make is that the majority of people who follow English football teams don't have anywhere near the same passion or connection with said team as people who follow teams from where they are from. With a few exceptions obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,956 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Isn't it quite obvious ?

People who love soccer and the closest big league is in England, Its only semi professional here , so England is the closest professional league ,

So people who love the game want to support a team , its at more emotional and fun if you support a team than just watching any game weekly ,
    Its human nature to get more thrills if you emotionally connect to something and tribalism is part of it also you feel like your part of something bigger,

Its basically human nature,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

Why do people watch US TV shows like The Wire or The Sopranos. Shows to me are an extension of primary identity. The only shows I watch are Ros Na Run and Fair City.

Different people like different things SHOCKER

Congrats on figuring that out OP.

i dont think the point was about watching it and enjoying it it was about following one particular team with a great passion.

i love watching the premiership as a product but i would not be able to passionately support a team from Liverpool any more than i could one from barcalona or new york, because i'm not from any of those places, i dont have any connection to them as such.

mind you good luck to them each to their own and all that.

i was once in the pub with a mate of mine who claims to be a big Liverpool fan ( never been to liverpool) he shouted at another fella in the pub that he was ''manc filth'' , the other chap was also from mayo, in turn called my friend a ''scouse ****''. they then started chanting at each other in bad put on english accents which were both more cockney then northern.
    the chants were all grossly offensive.
    this is the kind of carry on that i feel is taking it too far.

Annd9 wrote: »
    In my experience people who watch the premiership as opposed to the league of Ireland claim it's about entertainment , when questioned if they then support Brazil instead of Ireland it suddenly becomes about passion .

Why cant it be about both?

Supporting your nations sporting endeavors is different from being a fan of a sport.

Im not a boxing fan but roll on the Olympics and I'll cheer on Paddy Barnes and katie taylor or whoever, doesn't mean i have to give a **** about the current heavy weight champions though does it?

farmchoice wrote: »
    i dont think the point was about watching it and enjoying it it was about following one particular team with a great passion.

i love watching the premiership as a product but i would not be able to passionately support a team from Liverpool any more than i could one from barcalona or new york, because i'm not from any of those places, i dont have any connection to them as such.

i was once in the pub with a mate of mine who claims to be a big Liverpool fan ( never been to liverpool) he shouted at another fella in the pub that he was ''manc filth'' , the other chap was also from mayo, in turn called my friend a ''scouse ****''. they then started chanting at each other in bad put on english accents which were both more cockney then northern.

You probably shouldn't go the pub any more if you are so delicate.

my point was about the absurdity of Irish people disparaging each other by shouting slurs at each other because they supported different english teams and doing so in put on English accents and trying to rise each other by mocking the deaths of player from one english club and supporters from another.
    i wasn't personally offended, although i was disappointed in the people involved as i thought they should have had more sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

There's few things cringier than Irish people referring to themselves or others as scousers or mancs.

Irish Liverpool fans are an odd breed. If you slag off the city of London to an Arsenal/Spurs fan or the city of Manchester to a United fan they tend to just shrug their shoulders. Say anything negative about the city of Liverpool to an LFC fan and they're on the defensive straight away. A lot of them genuinely think that supporting Liverpool makes them different to other football fans and that they're part of some sort of special football family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,956 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Wow iv never heard of people in a pub acting like at*eholes before !!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Billy Mays wrote: »
    There's few things cringier than Irish people referring to themselves or others as scousers or mancs.

Irish Liverpool fans are an odd breed. If you slag off the city of London to an Arsenal/Spurs fan or the city of Manchester to a United fan they tend to just shrug their shoulders. Say anything negative about the city of Liverpool to an LFC fan and they're on the defensive straight away. A lot of them genuinely think that supporting Liverpool makes them different to other football fans and that they're part of some sort of special football family.

Agreed, I've had a plastic red here tell me "hey we're all Scousers".

Told him to f**k off as Clondalkin was nowhere near the Pier Head!

my point was about the absurdity of Irish people disparaging each other by shouting slurs at each other because they supported different english teams and doing so in put on English accents and trying to rise each other by mocking the deaths of player from one english club and supporters from another.
    i wasn't personally offended, although i was disappointed in the people involved as i thought they should have had more sense.

But if they were calling each other abusive slurs and being disparaging because their local parish teams were playing each other, that would be ok though right?

Wow iv never heard of people in a pub acting like at*eholes before !!!

and if ever there is a thread about d''o people behave like assholes in pubs and should they be allowed '' then ill quote my story in it and we can debate if its a good thing or a bad thing.

the point i was making was about the strange phenomenon of people form Ireland supporting english clubs to a degree that might be considered by some (me), as excessive.

But if they were calling each other abusive slurs and being disparaging because their local parish teams were playing each other, that would be ok though right?

well it would make sense,the point i'm making isn't really about the name calling etc, its the context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

It’s an escapism.

Do you have an issue with folks who support a Formula 1 team or driver?

I think the undertone of OP’s post is…why an Irish person supports a British club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

It is just Eastenders/Corrie for boys.

That is all it is. Canteen chat.

If only the football mattered - fine. Grand game and all.

But this childish stuff between managers and who is this player dating and will that other player leave in the summer etc. - just drama for boys. Meaningless if you genuinely like the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,208 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I support Bohemians and Man Utd. Bohs because a relitive of ours played for them and our family grew up a stones throw from Dalymount. United because as a kid I’d just grown up watching them, liked how they played, the ethos of attacking, entertaining football. That said I began supporting them in an era where success wasn’t as prevalent as it has been recently and even just seeing them on tv was a big thrill before satellite/digital was a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Samuel Vimes

DS86DS wrote: »

Sport to me is an extension of primal Identity.......the only two teams I support are Dublin and Ireland

You lost all credibility with statement OP.
    Such an insular existence....there is a big world outside of Dublin and Ireland

It’s an escapism.

Do you have an issue with folks who support a Formula 1 team or driver?

I think the undertone of OP’s post is…why an Irish person supports a British club.

i would if it meant that a grown man dressed head to toe in Ferrari gear started calling another irish man dressed head to toe in Mcclaren gear a litany of abusive names, i would find it very silly juvenile and strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I exclusively support foreign teams, its great.

well it would make sense,the point i'm making isn't really about the name calling etc, its the context.

No it wouldn't grown adults acting like that doesn't make any more or less sense when they argue over english soccer, Irish soccer, gaa or which is better heinz or chef ketchup.

i know, what i'm saying is we are not discussing the shouting and roaring, we are discussing the supporting of sports teams from other countries and the extremes some people take that support to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

It's all about the hype and the atmosphere.

Take any football game and remove the hype, the build up, the impressive stadia, the passionate commentators, the 24/7 media coverage and the chants and cheers of thousands of spectators and you reduce it to it's essence. 22 players kicking a ball around a field. Without the smoke and mirrors it's equivalent to watching a sitcom without the laugh track. It will not have the same psychological impact. Imagine watching Seinfeld without a laugh track? Quality writing delivered by well honed comedians but while being incredibly funny it would just seem weird and off without the implied laughter cues that a laugh track/live audience reaction provides. Go and watch youtube videos of The Big Bang Theory without the canned laughter. It's an awful turgid watch. In football matches, the smoke and mirrors are football's laugh track.

If you took LOI level squads and had them play their matches with the same smoke and mirrors invested in and afforded to PL and Champions League games then the subjective quality of the players themselves become moot but the subjective quality of the football increases psychologically. You'd have a prim and proper host and endless talk with pundits beforehand conveying a sense of importance to the upcoming Cork City v Dundalk match, you'd have Martin Tyler delivering his slick commentary, you'd have dedicated TV channels to Cork City FC and you'd have thousands of fans generating an "event" like atmosphere in an Old Trafford type arena for what is in reality a bunch of full time footballers running around a pitch trying to win a match.

In essence, you would be making a silk purse of a sow's ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

i would if it meant that a grown man dressed head to toe in Ferrari gear started calling another irish man dressed head to toe in Mcclaren gear a litany of abusive names, i would find it very silly juvenile and strange.

Oh I agree, but that does not address the reasoning behind supporting a foreign entity, which I really have no issue with...but OP seems to.

Its really going to blow your mind when you find out some people support American football teams...

They probably celebrate Thanksgiving too.

No big deal, it's just a hobby that makes people feel like they are part of something, even if that something is just a corporation machine designed to suck out their money.

Re the OP, but, I have never seen something in fans as strange as Man Ut fans in the pub chanting with the Manchester accent. That's a whole new level of pathetics. I never heard Barcelona fans down the local chanting with Catelan accent.