Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

Graces7 wrote: »
    wonder what you would make of the Amish

That's actually gold!!! The Amish literally have the opposite reputation of Travellers. Hard working and non violent. Try again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Cessna_Pilot

Not sure how often the Amish get raided like this...

https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/100k-camper-van-seized-as-cab-raid-halting-site-in-crackdown-on-gangs-suspected-of-involvement-in-burglaries-37577293.html

Surprised to see the Indo actually stating it's part of investigations into Traveller burglary gangs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Not sure how often the Amish get raided like this...

https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/100k-camper-van-seized-as-cab-raid-halting-site-in-crackdown-on-gangs-suspected-of-involvement-in-burglaries-37577293.html

Surprised to see the Indo actually stating it's part of investigations into Traveller burglary gangs.

That’s because people are rejecting the lamestream media.

Seriously, Graces barking up the wrong barn with that comparison. It's on par with the settled people often dumping their gick in Traveller sites. Too bad we'll get the same old sick and tired excuse when she's challenged on it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Your main para; all that you are objecting to is that they do not conform to YOUR ideas, and why should they? They are a different ethnic minority.

I'm not suggesting that they should conform to "my ideas." I'm saying that they should conform to the laws of Irish society and the norms of civilized life in the 21st century. Numerous minority groups in the country, including Poles, Latvians, Lithuanians, and others, have integrated well and live peacefully alongside Irish people. Being an alleged "ethnic minority" doesn't excuse the kind of behavior frequently associated with Travellers.
    Education can always be resumed later in life and frankly is not the be all and end all of life.

A child who receives a spotty education through primary level due to constant relocation and shifting around, and then is taken out of school entirely, is unlikely to resume her education later in life -- especially if she marries in her teens and gets pregnant. No surprise then that the last census found only 167 Travellers in the entire country with a third-level qualification.

Education is vitally important to any young person growing up today. Good luck finding a job without even a Junior Cert to your name.
    Are irish folk innocent of the crimes you list?

As I noted before, the "settled people do it too" argument doesn't hold much water. Criminality, feuding, violence, and extreme antisocial behavior is far more prevalent in Traveller communities than in settled communities.

As pacifists and conscientious objectors, the Amish avoid all violence, including even verbal expressions of anger. They live within the law and respect non-Amish. The complete opposite of Travellers, in short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

They are a different ethnic minority.

Imagine believing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

dan1895 wrote: »
    Are they seriously being compared to the Amish?

I have experience of both travellers and Amish. The comparison is ridiculous, deluded, and absolutely absurd. It's a clutch at a straw that missed the mark by a country mile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭Cessna_Pilot

That is highly disrespectful towards the Amish, who I believe don't consider themselves or aren't considered an "ethnic minority".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭torres9kop

I used to live in an area of Dublin with a population of 10k. Of those 10k there was 35 travellers. My friend who is a garda in the area told me that 95% of the crime and anti social behaviour was caused by the 35 Travellers.
    Wake up and smell the coffee please politicly correct people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,597 ✭✭✭dan1895

Omackeral wrote: »
    Seriously, Graces barking up the wrong barn with that comparison. It's on par with the settled people often dumping their gick in Traveller sites. Too bad we'll get the same old sick and tired excuse when she's challenged on it...

'Tis a fine pool but sur 'tis no barn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Your main para; all that you are objecting to is that they do not conform to YOUR ideas, and why should they? They are a different ethnic minority. So yes, wilfully misunderstood. And if others were treated in eg schools as traveller kids often are? Sure they would leave. Education can always be resumed later in life and frankly is not the be all and end all of life.

In my years here I have had more serious problems with non-travellers than with travellers. And I mean serious. eg assault. Far more.
    and equal great kindness and help from both groups.

Very interesting point. I think there's more than a small degree of merit in what you're saying.

If we're honest, our own (country folk, settled people) way of living at times leaves a lot to be desired. We put our elderly into old folks homes and let them there to live out their last days surrounded by strangers to whom they are nothing more than a job. We spend our entire lives racing around while others get rich off the backs of our hard work and pay taxes to line crooked gardaí and politicians pockets, all the while a stranger (again) raises our kids for us.

Very often the most important things are put in the background.

Maybe there is something we can learn from these people. Maybe they do have some kind of a point.

Its far from ideal and if someone wants to live outside of our system I'm all for it.

You mention Amish folk. There are definitely parallels. Religion and family being so important. Living outside of the mainstream system.

However, they keep themselves to themselves.

And here's where the whole thing collapses on its ar*e. They can fund their own existence. Without resorting to crime or years spent living off the taxpayer. In a day and age with mass production, CNC technology, automation, orbital welding can travellers really do the same with their pots and pans and sharpening shears and chainsaws for farmers?

Some people on here have called for them to integrate into our own society. I would actually be all for them doing the whole 'travelling' thing. But the onus is on them to make it work.

The rest of us owe them nothing. And that's the bottom line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,895 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Your main para; all that you are objecting to is that they do not conform to YOUR ideas, and why should they? They are a different ethnic minority.

A bit of wasting typing time, this being a post from Grace who is pretty obvious in her motives - more pregnant women doing the Church's service, but we *do* have the rule of law in Ireland, and if it were enforced, leaving school early and getting 'married' before 18 could be applied to Travelers as well as any others, to the betterment of all involved.

If a 14 year old ends up pregnant in the US, someone goes to Jail. Should be the same thing in Ireland.

Fortunately with legal, safe abortion now available in Ireland, young women might be able to turn the tide of Traveler abuse on their own. I have hope, anyway. Such brutal society they might not be able to avail themselves of it but we can hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Comparing travellers to the Amish is this seasons settled people dumping rubbish in halting sites.

I can't find any Amish call-out videos on YouTube. Can someone help me?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,256 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Your main para; all that you are objecting to is that they do not conform to YOUR ideas, and why should they? They are a different ethnic minority. So yes, wilfully misunderstood. And if others were treated in eg schools as traveller kids often are? Sure they would leave. Education can always be resumed later in life and frankly is not the be all and end all of life.

In my years here I have had more serious problems with non-travellers than with travellers. And I mean serious. eg assault. Far more.
    and equal great kindness and help from both groups.

Well done on such a idiotic post.The final sentence is icing on the cake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

all that you are objecting to is that they do not conform to YOUR ideas, and why should they? They are a different ethnic minority.

Their ideas persistently impinge on the quality of life of anyone who, not by choice, has dealings with them.

Being a different ethnic minority is no excuse to ignore the old and sensible maxim - 'when in Rome... etc.

Other ethnic minorites can do it, by and large, and they face a much larger culture shock when they arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

I hear they make their own slash hooks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,780 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

'I call thee out, English'

'Here's a wooden bucket I made, so go sh1te in it'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,100 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

€100K camper van seized as CAB raid halting site in crackdown on gangs suspected of involvement in burglaries
    Two people were arrested following the searches

Independent.ie can reveal that of the five bays raided at the halting site, all had “brand new top-of-the-range caravans and vans”, even though all the owners are claiming social welfare.

I'm sure if CAB raided a different halting site every week they would find numerous examples like the one in the article above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    €100K camper van seized as CAB raid halting site in crackdown on gangs suspected of involvement in burglaries

Independent.ie can reveal that of the five bays raided at the halting site, all had “brand new top-of-the-range caravans and vans”, even though all the owners are claiming social welfare.

I'm sure if CAB raided a different halting site every week they would find numerous examples like the one in the article above

Que the usual 'all travellers are really sound go out and have a pint with them' suspects like Grace gormdubhgorm and cohorts 😴

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

Your main para; all that you are objecting to is that they do not conform to YOUR ideas, and why should they?

That's actually hilarious coming from you, seeing as you are probably the most intolerant person on the whole of Boards to other peoples life choices.

You seem to be under some warped impression that your feelings on how someone lives their life is superior to their own when it comes to "settled" people, so why should it be any different for travellers?
    You are such a hypocrite.

These Travellers all have top-of-the-range caravans and vehicles that the poor fool of a working taxpayer could only dream of owning. A €100,000 camper van? Gardai also seized around £3,500 in cash and a Rolex watch from the site.

It just shows how much we're being taken for a ride when all these Travellers are getting social welfare as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭hurler32

torres9kop wrote: »
    I used to live in an area of Dublin with a population of 10k. Of those 10k there was 35 travellers. My friend who is a garda in the area told me that 95% of the crime and anti social behaviour was caused by the 35 Travellers.
    Wake up and smell the coffee please politicly correct people.

You can replicate that all over the country and at present birth rates the 35 will become 200 plus very quickly ....all on social welfare train .

Travellers are robbing people who have less than them at this stage !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,968 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Would love to see that happen. They could do with bringing some folks from ISPCA to each raid as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,904 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

They are a different ethnic minority. So yes, wilfully misunderstood. And if others were treated in eg schools as traveller kids often are? Sure they would leave.

Your post was overall ridiculous, but I'd like to focus on the bit regarding travellers leaving school.

There was one traveller in my class. He joined in 5th class and going by his size, we all assumed he was older than us. We all got on with him as he was generally a nice guy. He never wanted to learn though. Always in trouble for not doing his homework. Had poor attendance. And when in class, was always looking for reasons to get out. His favourite trick was to break pens so that he had to go and spend the whole class in the bathroom washing ink from his hands. And no, he didn't have constant bad fortune with the integrity of his pens. He left some time in 2nd year and I assume it was when he turned 16.

I didn't stay in contact but I have see him around our town from time to time. He did work though. He spent at least a few years as a janitor/groundskeeper for a local supermarket so he actually paid taxes. He is one of very few positive experiences I've had with travellers. But positive is a relative term here. He is merely one of the better travellers. He disrupted plenty of classes in school that he took from my learning.

He didn't drop out of school because he was treated badly or differently. He dropped out because he didn't want to be there. We were all treated the same. He just chose not to learn because he didn't see the point.

tl;dr Graces7, stop making stuff up. It doesn't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,227 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

The answer is in the story.
    The Garda seized weapons and took 64 of them to court in fairness.
    The Judge let them off ????

Have to come back to this.
    For every Garda arrest or case brought against a traveller there is many multiples of cases where they do absolutely nothing.
    Frog ward was a case in point where they didn't move on warrants for his arrest for incidents including attacking a garda.
    Why is it telling? The non-travellers are the larger majority so they are the ones the position of power, government, media etc etc.
    The as a result of this superior level of influence the onus should be on non-travellers.
    I can give you many reasons.

Get to know them and take away your fear factor which is implied in your second sentence, for a start.
    Then you can gradually change mindsets on both sides through the natural course of interaction and sharing postive aspects of culture.

Also if settled people/non-travellers got to know travellers better the law abiding travellers can be differeniatited from the criminal element.
    Plus then the law abiding travellers would be more inclined to help the policing of the criminal element as more trust develops.

Plus as the travellers get more integrated and accepted by the larger Irish community it will lead to the travellers realising the value of education so there will be less disadvantaged/and/or criminal elements in the traveller community as a result.

Jaysus you do talk some shyte.

Your whole argument and excusitory shyte boils down to
    "It is always someone elses fault".

They aren't fooking kids you know, they are grown adults.
    Thus they are responsible for their own actions.
    I know, that concept responsibility is probably alien to your type.

BTW are you by any chance related to that American lad that decided to go visit some Indian islands recently ? :rolleyes:

You have the same mindset.
    Gravelly wrote: »
    Comparing travellers to the Amish is this seasons settled people dumping rubbish in halting sites.

Well do they both ride on horse powered traps/sulkies/wagons.
    Although I don't think Harrison Ford has made any movies about staying on a traveller halting site.

And this was the same guy that they previously seized a load of money from and had been involved in welfare fraud. :rolleyes:

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

baldbear wrote: »
    The amish are a grand bunch of lads. You never hear of them closing down towns due to feuds & the armed response unit having to appear during funerals to avoid violence. Traveller culture has a problem. There is a macho culture there that needs to be addressed from within there own community. It might take some strong women to come together to address it. But will it happen?

If travellers lived like the amish, I would have zero objection to their chosen lifestyle, the amish have outdated customs but they don't live off other people, travellers want to be different but want us to pay for it.

Sod that for a game of soldiers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭CrankyHaus

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    If travellers lived like the amish, I would have zero objection to their chosen lifestyle, the amish have outdated customs but they don't live off other people, travellers want to be different but want us to pay for it.

We actually have some Amish here in Ireland. They live down in Wexford I think. They were on the radio last year.

Needless to say their spokesman described no racism against them, advanced no need for legal special status and sought nothing from Irish society but the freedom to follow their own way of life in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Mad_maxx wrote: »

This is the thing. If a bunch of Amish moved into some area down the country, people would be suspicious at first but once they realised that they weren't being robbed, they would have no problem with them. People just don't like anti-social behaviour and theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

People just don't like anti-social behaviour and theft.

They will just have to get used to it.