Graces7 wrote: » wonder what you would make of the Amish
Cessna_Pilot wrote: » Not sure how often the Amish get raided like this...https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/100k-camper-van-seized-as-cab-raid-halting-site-in-crackdown-on-gangs-suspected-of-involvement-in-burglaries-37577293.html Surprised to see the Indo actually stating it's part of investigations into Traveller burglary gangs.
Cessna_Pilot wrote: » Not sure how often the Amish get raided like this...https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/100k-camper-van-seized-as-cab-raid-halting-site-in-crackdown-on-gangs-suspected-of-involvement-in-burglaries-37577293.html
Graces7 wrote: » Your main para; all that you are objecting to is that they do not conform to YOUR ideas, and why should they? They are a different ethnic minority.
Education can always be resumed later in life and frankly is not the be all and end all of life.
Are irish folk innocent of the crimes you list?
wonder what you would make of the Amish
Graces7 wrote: » They are a different ethnic minority.
dan1895 wrote: » Are they seriously being compared to the Amish?
Graces7 wrote: » . wonder what you would make of the Amish
Omackeral wrote: » Seriously, Graces barking up the wrong barn with that comparison. It's on par with the settled people often dumping their gick in Traveller sites. Too bad we'll get the same old sick and tired excuse when she's challenged on it...
Graces7 wrote: » Your main para; all that you are objecting to is that they do not conform to YOUR ideas, and why should they? They are a different ethnic minority. So yes, wilfully misunderstood. And if others were treated in eg schools as traveller kids often are? Sure they would leave. Education can always be resumed later in life and frankly is not the be all and end all of life. Are irish folk innocent of the crimes you list? In my years here I have had more serious problems with non-travellers than with travellers. And I mean serious. eg assault. Far more. and equal great kindness and help from both groups.wonder what you would make of the Amish
Graces7 wrote: » all that you are objecting to is that they do not conform to YOUR ideas, and why should they? They are a different ethnic minority.
Rex Tasteless Gutter wrote: » I can't find any Amish call-out videos on YouTube. Can someone help me?
KrustyUCC wrote: » €100K camper van seized as CAB raid halting site in crackdown on gangs suspected of involvement in burglaries Two people were arrested following the searches Independent.ie can reveal that of the five bays raided at the halting site, all had “brand new top-of-the-range caravans and vans”, even though all the owners are claiming social welfare.https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/100k-camper-van-seized-as-cab-raid-halting-site-in-crackdown-on-gangs-suspected-of-involvement-in-burglaries-37577293.html I'm sure if CAB raided a different halting site every week they would find numerous examples like the one in the article above
Graces7 wrote: » Your main para; all that you are objecting to is that they do not conform to YOUR ideas, and why should they?
torres9kop wrote: » I used to live in an area of Dublin with a population of 10k. Of those 10k there was 35 travellers. My friend who is a garda in the area told me that 95% of the crime and anti social behaviour was caused by the 35 Travellers. Wake up and smell the coffee please politicly correct people.
KrustyUCC wrote: » I'm sure if CAB raided a different halting site every week they would find numerous examples like the one in the article above
Graces7 wrote: » They are a different ethnic minority. So yes, wilfully misunderstood. And if others were treated in eg schools as traveller kids often are? Sure they would leave.
tayto lover wrote: » The answer is in the story. The Garda seized weapons and took 64 of them to court in fairness. The Judge let them off ????
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Why is it telling? The non-travellers are the larger majority so they are the ones the position of power, government, media etc etc. The as a result of this superior level of influence the onus should be on non-travellers.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » I can give you many reasons. Get to know them and take away your fear factor which is implied in your second sentence, for a start. Then you can gradually change mindsets on both sides through the natural course of interaction and sharing postive aspects of culture. Also if settled people/non-travellers got to know travellers better the law abiding travellers can be differeniatited from the criminal element. Plus then the law abiding travellers would be more inclined to help the policing of the criminal element as more trust develops. Plus as the travellers get more integrated and accepted by the larger Irish community it will lead to the travellers realising the value of education so there will be less disadvantaged/and/or criminal elements in the traveller community as a result.
Gravelly wrote: » Comparing travellers to the Amish is this seasons settled people dumping rubbish in halting sites.
baldbear wrote: » The amish are a grand bunch of lads. You never hear of them closing down towns due to feuds & the armed response unit having to appear during funerals to avoid violence. Traveller culture has a problem. There is a macho culture there that needs to be addressed from within there own community. It might take some strong women to come together to address it. But will it happen?
Mad_maxx wrote: » If travellers lived like the amish, I would have zero objection to their chosen lifestyle, the amish have outdated customs but they don't live off other people, travellers want to be different but want us to pay for it. Sod that for a game of soldiers
mcmoustache wrote: » People just don't like anti-social behaviour and theft.