Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you like to attend a housing protest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,040 ✭✭✭optogirl

If it walks like nonsense and quacks like nonsense....

On my way to work at the end of the first 2 hour plus commute of the day I pass graffiti by the Four Courts - "Take Back The City".

From whom ? It's that kind of sub "Occupy Wall Street" chip on their shoulder, entitled **** that puts normal people off.

Last protest I had the misfortune to have to travel on the LUAS with some of the "protestors". I decided to play "entitled" bingo of sorted. 7 stop journey ? 12 "but we're/I'm ENTITLED to .....".

Nonsense pure and simple. You want a house ? Rent You can't afford rent ? Get a job.

You need short term assistance to help pay for it ? We'll help.

You've never worked, pop our kids like Pez for us to feed and think you're entitled ? Second word for you is "off".

Oh please - you honestly think that the only people concerned about housing in this country are those that aren't working? As long as you have a job housing isn't an issue? I wish to f*** that was true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

VinLieger wrote: »
    "What do we want?"....."NOW"

"When do we want it?......"NOW!"

"Whats the solution?"......."NOW"

I see the op getting asked what are you protesting for, shouts a slogan smiles smugly. Ok so what are your solutions, curls up in a ball on the ground rocking back and forth mumbling slogan.

Step back people this person is having a brain aneurysm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I’d rather be fired into space than attend a protest with Paul Murphy roaring through a megaphone about revolution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

I'd definitely go to a protest if there was a chance of joining the Guards on a baton charge, crack some lower class peoples heads open.

I say, that protester was frightfully rude getting blood splatter on my monocle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭McGrath5

I suspect once these people get their free house, they go away quietly into the night ie Erica Fleming.

As previous posters said, if it highlighted the plight of working people paying stupid rent, I think it would be worthwhile but somehow I suspect this is not what any protest will be about.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

The job their paid to do for start.

Try reading the link.

You clearly have no solutions to offer. Could you not just answer the poster's question of what exactly you're protesting for the government to do? Do you have any idea what the protest will be supporting or are you just going to block bridges for a fun day out?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

McGrath5 wrote: »
    I suspect once these people get their free house, they go away quietly into the night ie Erica Fleming.

As previous posters said, if it highlighted the plight of working people paying stupid rent, I think it would be worthwhile but somehow I suspect this is not what any protest will be about.

What makes you think she went away quietly ? She's there, stirring **** online.

When she wants a new kitchen or the kid is 300 points short of getting in to college - we'll hear from her publicly again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,950 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

emo72 wrote: »
    Slagging Margaret cash is a cheap shot. She hasn't the sense to articulate what she wants, and she's silly to be claiming the government does nothing, when it's obviously helping her loads. As a tax payer who supports her and I get relatively nothing in return, I don't begrudge her. It's the price of society that we live in.

We need more houses and we need the government to do more.

Problem is it’s not just her. Wasn’t the other poster girl of the “homeless” living in terrible situations exposed to have turned down housing because it wasn’t to her liking.

This is the problem, these people are choosing to be “homeless”, it’s the modern day “pop out a few sprogs” amd get bumped up the housing list.

I know lads who are contracted in to do maintenance on social houses and it’s a joke the way essentially free houses are abused and destroyed. We hear calls for councils to make vacant houses available, if the degenerates would stop destroying them they would be available for use.

I’m Not saying there are no homeless, but it’s not at the scale that’s been reported, people are abusing the situation and that has to stop. People who are building their lifestyle about being intentionally unemployed need to lower their expectations regarding their standards of living. Tax payers are fed up with this **** !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,950 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I sat in my gp Surgury one day waiting to be seen having taken two hours off work and pay my €60 for the experience.

Woman talking to a friend openly across the waiting room in front of about 12 people.

How’s things going?
    Great, we’re just back from a week in Spain it was lovely. We try to go twice a year if we can because the weather is so bad here.
    Is himself working ?
    No, we’d loose too many benefits, he does a few days for cash on the side.
    Are you still living in xxx?
    Yea, €12/week wed be mad to ever move, we’re there 10 years now it’s great.
    Are you waiting long?
    About 45mimutes, if it wasn’t for the free under 6’s I wouldn’t wait about so long, it’s a disgrace.

This was an open conversation for everyone to hear, this is what is wrong with the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,750 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Slagging Margaret cash is a cheap shot. She hasn't the sense to articulate what she wants, and she's silly to be claiming the government does nothing, when it's obviously helping her loads. As a tax payer who supports her and I get relatively nothing in return, I don't begrudge her. It's the price of society that we live in.

We need more houses and we need the government to do more.

well that's all well, good and fairminded

but she's held up as some working class hero and has been emboldened to freely spout ignorant graceless shoite from some lofty parapet..

she and her ilk can do one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

On matters housing, Dublin city council have passed a motion to allow families to build log cabins in back garden.
    Just get back to me when it’s free houses for all so I can stop paying my mortgage like a sucker.

Typical elitist attitude. :D
    On my way to work at the end of the first 2 hour plus commute of the day I pass graffiti by the Four Courts - "Take Back The City".

From whom?

A representative from the movement stopped me a few weeks ago looking for support. Spoke to the lady for a few minutes and don't understand what their plan of action is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭BuboBubo

Is Margaret Cash attending?

That’s all I need to know about this nonsense.

Just get back to me when it’s free houses for all so I can stop paying my mortgage like a sucker.

Going to start my own protest outside Bank of Ireland. Fcuk this mortgage paying sh1te. I want a free house too. Oh, and a paid day off work for my weekday protest.

Anyone with me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭emo72

lawred2 wrote: »
    well that's all well, good and fairminded

but she's held up as some working class hero and has been emboldened to freely spout ignorant graceless shoite from some lofty parapet..

she and her ilk can do one

Yes. She is. But I'm not fooled by her. Are you? Let her shout away. What harm, it's only idiots that would get exercised by her. I don't wish her any malice, tough job being a traveler with 5? Kids and dodgy husband. She's enough going on. Maybe it's a distraction from her ****ty personal life, and being a poster girl for homelessness is nice.

We still need more houses though. And lots of them.

BuboBubo wrote: »
    Going to start my own protest outside Bank of Ireland. Fcuk this mortgage paying sh1te. I want a free house too. Oh, and a paid day off work for my weekday protest.

Anyone with me?

Where are all these free houses so many posters seem to think are being handed out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

optogirl wrote: »
    Where are all these free houses so many posters seem to think are being handed out?

Maybe you should ask Erica "The free windows in my free home in my preferred Dublin location are drafty" Fleming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

VinLieger wrote: »
    "What do we want?"....."NOW"

"When do we want it?......"NOW!"

"Whats the solution?"......."NOW"

What do we want to pay for ........ "NOWT"

Yes. She is. But I'm not fooled by her. Are you? Let her shout away. What harm, it's only idiots that would get exercised by her. I don't wish her any malice, tough job being a traveler with 5? Kids and dodgy husband. She's enough going on. Maybe it's a distraction from her ****ty personal life, and being a poster girl for homelessness is nice.

We still need more houses though. And lots of them.

well actually her and her ilk's loud megaphone shouting tends to result in government policy leaning towards their demands...

so while you might not be fooled - government policy seems to heed their bullsh!t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,403 ✭✭✭emo72

lawred2 wrote: »
    well actually her and her ilk's loud megaphone shouting tends to result in government policy leaning towards their demands...

so while you might not be fooled - government policy seems to heed their bullsh!t

We need more houses anyway. Whatever concentrates the governments mind doesn't really matter. The houses are needed. Whether it's informed debate or megaphone protests that get them to that realisation, does it really matter? Anyway I'm sure you're like me, a job to do! Enjoy the day mate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

We need more houses anyway. Whatever concentrates the governments mind doesn't really matter. The houses are needed. Whether it's informed debate or megaphone protests that get them to that realisation, does it really matter? Anyway I'm sure you're like me, a job to do! Enjoy the day mate!

Yeah we need more money to do everything we want.

Doesn’t really work that way.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

BuboBubo wrote: »

Anyone with me?

I'm starting a protest against timber companies because they are not making splinter free picket sticks.

Want to join up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭gwalk

Round them all up and direct them to a Job centre or recruitment agency

gwalk wrote: »

Be like waving fire at zombies that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

gwalk wrote: »

Alternatively, tell them protesting constitutes work and none of them will bother turning up.

Do none of you know anyone who is trapped in the unsustainable rental sector? Are all of those people lazy good for nothings who just aren't working hard enough? The old 'get a job' trope is just not applicable for the vast majority of people in this country, many of whom are facing rent hike after rent hike and cannot get a mortgage. 'Work harder'? So...more than 40 hours a week? To hell with my children eh?

I'm sure plenty of us do

I do not believe for one second that this "Raise the Roof" crowd give a toss about such people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Baby01032012

I guess we don’t see the OP post again given the responses to date 😀

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

I have nothing but sympathy for working people trapped in the rental sector. This protest and the people behind this movement do not given a toss about these people. They are only interested in supporting people looking for free houses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭griffin100

#RaiseTheRoof recently held a housing protest in Dublin, about 10K attended.

It was held on a wednesday. I assume if that was on a saturday it could be well in excess of that number.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/up-to-10-000-attend-rally-demanding-end-to-housing-crisis-1.3650140%3fmode=amp

So would you attend another protest?
    Time to put the goverment under proper pressure.

A Fine Gael led government is not going to be put under any pressure by people who can spend their wednesdays protesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

I wouldn't join the protest, but I'd be more than happy to man the water cannons that broke it up.

I am one. Been renting for 11 years. The only way I'm buying ? Lottery win.

The people behind Raise the Roof, Take Back the City, Apollo House etc etc could not give two miniscule f***s about struggling working people.

They're professional protestors who just want to be seen as relevant. cf. also, AAA/PBP/Coppinger/Murphy/Post Boy Barrett etc.