Would you live in a residential park home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

In swift passing my eyes recently caught glimpse of a story of a young couple driven out by the latest fires in california, they lived in a mobile home park, and the article said their home and land cost them $420,000.

Four hundred and twenty thousand dollars. tenor.gif?itemid=5685618

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

if the government did announce one of these being built I could see certain TD's giving out because it's simply not good enough.

Zorya wrote: »
    In swift passing my eyes recently caught glimpse of a story of a young couple driven out by the latest fires in california, they lived in a mobile home park, and the article said their home and land cost them $420,000.

Four hundred and twenty thousand dollars.

And? Not sure what your point is?

Graces7 wrote: »

Four hundred and twenty thousand dollars.

And? Not sure what your point is?

Just that it's rather a lot of money for a mobile home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,284 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I could see any austerity TD's such a Claire Daly, Paul Murphy, etc say that these mobile homes(what ever you want to call them) aren't good enough and people deserve a proper house.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

You know what he means. There are perfectly acceptable alternatives to bricks and mortar homes "trailers" (for want of a better word) being one.

Eoghan Murphy tomorrow says that we've bought 2,000 of them and they'll be ready to move in Friday - huge chunk of the alleged homeless crisis solved.

That O'Broian **** from Sinn Fein will be getting a protest up before the press release has been read out.

It is obvious what is going on, there is no housing "crisis" - there is an increasing number of people who refuse to contribute a cent but demand to live in the city centre, meaning that those who work in said CC have to commute long distances.

There isn't a demand simply for "shelter" or "housing" - there's a demand for 4 bed semis next to mammy. For free (before the pedants geg in - if we give you 200 quid a month gratis for rent, the house is free to you).

And to the OP - yeah I would live in one. A relative lives in San Bernadino and lives on a "seniors ranch" and they are all trailers, the photos are better than my house!

I could see any austerity TD's such a Claire Daly, Paul Murphy, etc say that these mobile homes(what ever you want to call them) aren't good enough and people deserve a proper house.

Oh ok. And they have lived there rather than in a b and b? Well, OK . ! Given the choice of this or a car to live in?

Just that it's rather a lot of money for a mobile home.

and the land?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Cleopatra_

Four hundred and twenty thousand dollars. tenor.gif?itemid=5685618

Jaysus, you could see why living in a trailer is the only option if it costs that much money. I wouldn't even be able to afford the trailer! Between that and my medication costs for CF I'd be absolutely fecked in the US. Feeling very glad to live in Europe.

and the land?

My issue would not really be the cabin - I am thinking of selling up and buying a wooden build on more land, that doesn't bother me. It is the park aspect that I would not like - I like to live isolated. Buying land at that kind of price to squish in beside other people in mobile homes seem pretty expensive to me, but maybe it's not in California.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,284 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Oh ok. And they have lived there rather than in a b and b? Well, OK . ! Given the choice of this or a car to live in?

Well from my understanding they want a house or an apartment in a certain area.
    They'd know of they'd accept anything else they wouldn't get what they wanted.
    Now some people would be delighted with one of these homes but some would kick up a fuss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,669 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Trailer Park Boys Andy Bo Bandy as a neighbour hell yeah I would

Cleopatra_ wrote: »
    Jaysus, you could see why living in a trailer is the only option if it costs that much money. I wouldn't even be able to afford the trailer! Between that and my medication costs for CF I'd be absolutely fecked in the US. Feeling very glad to live in Europe.

Yes. How much are the actual block houses? How the hell do people afford to live there? That was what I thought too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Back in the 1970s, both Dublin Corporation and Dublin County Council built more primitive versions of these. I specifically remember one on Nutgrove Avenue in Rathfarnham. There's apartments on the site now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭NSAman

Yes. How much are the actual block houses? How the hell do people afford to live there? That was what I thought too.

It’s California, its expensive.

Hence why California has many people moving out of it. Between the Taxes, the cost of housing and the influx of people into the State both legal and illegal, the cost of living there is out of control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,863 ✭✭✭touts

You can't be putting the welfare class in things like that. That would be cruel and a violation of their human right to a 4 bed detached house with half an acre of land for whatever hobby they happen to claim to have.

Now if you are stupid enough to work and pay tax. Well the way things are going that's all you'll be able to afford in a few years and sure isn't that good enough for you for doing a silly thing like working.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

touts wrote: »
    You can't be putting the welfare class in things like that. That would be cruel and a violation of their human right to a 4 bed detached house with half an acre of land for whatever hobby they happen to claim to have.

Now if you are stupid enough to work and pay tax. Well the way things are going that's all you'll be able to afford in a few years and sure isn't that good enough for you for doing a silly thing like working.

Top level saracasm sir!

Worrying is that Paul Murphy has taken notes for his next election leaflet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

my friend put up a log cabin in his back garden a few weeks ago, used ground screws for the foundations, you can have a 2/3 bed residential log cabin, up in about a week, all in I would say (i.e fully fitted out etc.) Being timber built they are environmentally friends, rapid build time. Built off site, so they fly up. You use the same insulation material in them as block built houses obviously, this idiotic notion that they are cold or hard to heat, is laughable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I do expect the connotations with travellers plays a big part in it.

Not only the fact that people will refuse to accept that accommodation because, "I'm not a bleedin' knacker!", but because if you were to run one of these parks your heart would likely be broken trying to maintain order.

Caravan parks for holidaying is one thing, but for residential all it takes is one animal who dumps their sh1t all over the place to turn the place into a dump overnight. And then trying to legally evict them is not easy. See how difficult it is to shift travellers off illegally-occupied public land? Now imagine they're actually paying you to stay there legally. Everyone else in the park would have left before you manage to evict the scumbag.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    my friend put up a log cabin in his back garden a few weeks ago, used ground screws for the foundations, you can have a 2/3 bed residential log cabin, up in about a week, all in I would say (i.e fully fitted out etc.) Being timber built they are environmentally friends, rapid build time. Built off site, so they fly up. You use the same insulation material in them as block built houses obviously, this idiotic notion that they are cold or hard to heat, is laughable!

Only issue I see here is that your friend actually worked for himself to get this done. Now add in LA costs and consultants fees etc...etc...etc... and this 20K build becomes a 200K build.

Well from my understanding they want a house or an apartment in a certain area.
    They'd know of they'd accept anything else they wouldn't get what they wanted.
    Now some people would be delighted with one of these homes but some would kick up a fuss.

well tough! I was delighted as I found the demountable in a place I dearly wanted to live and no one wanted it .. serendipity ...

I suppose Paul Murphy and his ilk egg them on to get a "real house"? eejit. Clearly they are not desperate enough?

I saw online about a man who had at his own cost put up several demountables/prefabs and was renting them to homeless men on a temporary basis and helping them to make the bridge between homeless and homed and working. They worked at the maintenance etc. Cannot find it but was impressed..

The place I was renting was a fire/death trap with an abusive owner and neighbours from h*** and there was nowhere else ... I am far from ready even at nearly 80, for "sheltered accommodation" and would have slept in my small car if needed.

The private rental situation now is dire . I have a safe roof, with the council and a perfect place for me. Not a standard house

And yes I would have taken a trailer.

As a pensioner and thus on welfare I find that rather offensive. Happy with a demountable and would have tried for a trailer.

seamus wrote: »
    I do expect the connotations with travellers plays a big part in it.

Not only the fact that people will refuse to accept that accommodation because, "I'm not a bleedin' knacker!", but because if you were to run one of these parks your heart would likely be broken trying to maintain order.

Caravan parks for holidaying is one thing, but for residential all it takes is one animal who dumps their sh1t all over the place to turn the place into a dump overnight. And then trying to legally evict them is not easy. See how difficult it is to shift travellers off illegally-occupied public land? Now imagine they're actually paying you to stay there legally. Everyone else in the park would have left before you manage to evict the scumbag.

We are talking about properly managed sites, with rules and managers etc.

Hard to get into as references etc would be needed.

Not what you are visualising at all

We are talking about properly managed sites, with rules and managers etc.

Hard to get into as references etc would be needed.

Not what you are visualising at all

Unfortunately Graces7, the problem is that rules are not enforced. Properly managed sites are few and far between in Ireland as HOA's have no real teeth to enforce codes/penalties in law (like they do in the USA).

I commend you for your independence at almost 80 and think that options such as those you outlined above would work well IF sites had the ability to fine and remove trouble makers, alas that won't happen in Ireland. It is a shame as many of the Trailer parks here in the states DO have decent communities.

It does work both ways where you have terrible HOAs... so it can be an awful situation for people who are stuck in a park, being fined by HOA's who are power hungry..... It is not an easy fix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

As a pensioner and thus on welfare I find that rather offensive. Happy with a demountable and would have tried for a trailer.
    You have stated in the past you aren't Irish native and on disability?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

NSAman wrote: »
    Unfortunately Graces7, the problem is that rules are not enforced. Properly managed sites are few and far between in Ireland as HOA's have no real teeth to enforce codes/penalties in law (like they do in the USA).
    This is basically it. And it's the same in other spheres, such as a renting an apartment.

It used to be the case that if someone took the piss, you could take the piss right back and nothing would happen.

Someone not paying the rent, turn off their water.
    Been dumping their rubbish all over the park and not paying their fees? You hitch your jeep to their caravan and drag the fncking thing out onto the main road at 50mph.

I'm not saying it's right that a service provider could do these things, but at the least they felt like they had an avenue for enforcing the rules and stopping the piss takers.

Now it's unbalanced. If someone takes the piss and you go the brute force route, you could be financially ruined when they sue you.
    If you go the "correct" route, issue notices, go to court, get injunctions, etc etc, then you could also be financially ruined because these things take years.

So for these kinds of services, it's kind of lose-lose for the provider. You have to hope you don't get an asshole tenant. Or if you do, that he'll have the good grace to leave when evicted. If he doesn't leave when evicted, then you may as well start thinking about declaring bankruptcy.

There is no good reason why faster mechanisms cannot exist where service providers can physically enforce their rules within a week or two, while still being fair to the service user.

I'd love one for a couple of years and move it around Europe every few months. Long term would probably be grand as well.

There's a very famous reddit post by a lad who built a bunker under his property and sold. He'd been living there for ages. Genius really.