Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread 4.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭troyzer

The FAI are such a bag of ****e compared to tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭Dave_The_Sheep

No need for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭Mookie Blaylock

There's a tweet floating around of an incident in the Macau Formula 3 race today....
    Edit got it ..have a look.. viewer discretion etc

https://twitter.com/heraldsunsport/status/1064089412349452288?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I hope IBF isn't watching.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,828 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I hope IBF isn't watching.

Suddenly a one score game out of absolutely nowhere.

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Suddenly a one score game out of absolutely nowhere.

The Bucs are a mad team.

All hail Khalil Mack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

All hail Khalil Mack.

That trade is just the absolute epitome of the Raiders. He's an absolute monster.

Should have bought another chromecast. This firestick is a waste of space. Useful for my granny who just wants a netflix machine maybe. Not for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,634 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

Should have bought another chromecast. This firestick is a waste of space. Useful for my granny who just wants a netflix machine maybe. Not for me.

It's very very useful for KODI etc. Also useful if you have amazon Prime and wanna use Amazon Prime Video.

That trade is just the absolute epitome of the Raiders. He's an absolute monster.

The can't even tank correctly :pac:

Used one for IPTV, just for sky sports and that a while back, they're not bad for that + Netflix and Prime Video.

The can't even tank correctly :pac:

If the Bears make the playoffs (highly likely after last night's win), their first round pick next year which Oakland now possess would be at least in the 20s.
    Moreover, the Bears and Raiders swapped first and second rounders in the following draft and the difference between them may not be vast.

TL/DR: The eventual price paid by the Bears for Mack might be feck all.

Unless the Raiders hit a home run in the next two drafts (e.g. New Orleans' draft last year), this is looking like an idiotic trade by them. I don't buy the 'saved money' guff. If you're lucky to have drafted a superstar and he's still in his prime, then you pay up.

If the Bears make the playoffs (highly likely after last night's win), their first round pick next year which Oakland now possess would be at least in the 20s.
    Moreover, the Bears and Raiders swapped first and second rounders in the following draft and the difference between them may not be vast.

TL/DR: The eventual price paid by the Bears for Mack might be feck all.

Unless the Raiders hit a home run in the next two drafts (e.g. New Orleans' draft last year), this is looking like an idiotic trade by them. I don't buy the 'saved money' guff. If you're lucky to have drafted a superstar and he's still in his prime, then you pay up.

Gruden is an awful coach, an awful judge of players and will drive the Raiders into the dirt before receiving a handsome payoff to **** off.

He became a commentator for a reason.

Lads are companies taking the piss with GDPR. Friend ordered a load of shopping to my place from supervalue online, didn't arrive. I called them, with the correct order number, address and phone number. And they wouldn't tell me anything becuase I wasn't the account holder. The ****.

errlloyd wrote: »
    Lads are companies taking the piss with GDPR. Friend ordered a load of shopping to my place from supervalue online, didn't arrive. I called them, with the correct order number, address and phone number. And they wouldn't tell me anything becuase I wasn't the account holder. The ****.

That was more than likely the case before GDPR, usually with stuff like that only the account holder can discuss their account, or someone else with verbal consent of the account holder. At least that's how it used to roll when I was working in a call centre.

There's ridiculously strict fines around giving out customer information without the customer being aware.

errlloyd wrote: »

Yeah, this isn't really new. On the other hand just pretend you are them and it will probably work out fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭DGRulz

Yeah, this isn't really new. On the other hand just pretend you are them and it will probably work out fine.

This. Our Broadband and TV stuff is in my Dad's name but hes never home and tbh he's useless at tech stuff. So when I call them to complain about something I'm DGRulz the senior :pac:. Never had a problem. Only one I won't do for the folks is the bank.

DGRulz wrote: »
    This. Our Broadband and TV stuff is in my Dad's name but hes never home and tbh he's useless at tech stuff. So when I call them to complain about something I'm DGRulz the senior :pac:. Never had a problem. Only one I won't do for the folks is the bank.

I was tempted to make a complaint that they were sexist because they didn't believe my name was Katie.

'Curling team sorry for drunk incident'

http://www.skysports.com/share/11558774

Of all the sports you'd expect to see drunken antics... curling would not be high on anybody's list I'd say :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Curling is actually precisely the kind of sport I'd imagine is full of complete p1ssheads. :pac:

Neil3030 wrote: »
    Curling is actually precisely the kind of sport I'd imagine is full of complete p1ssheads. :pac:

Yup. What the feck else is there to do.

Looking likely that Martin O'Neill is getting the door today... interesting times ahead if that's the case... Stephen Kenny for the top job

He hasn't been great but he's not the real problem; Delaney is. This is him just trying to save himself.

Having said that, I agree that Stephen Kenny should have the top job. Bring in more LOI players. Try to moneyball the **** out of it. Do something different even if it ends in failure.

troyzer wrote: »
    He hasn't been great but he's not the real problem; Delaney is. This is him just trying to save himself.

Having said that, I agree that Stephen Kenny should have the top job. Bring in more LOI players. Try to moneyball the **** out of it. Do something different even if it ends in failure.

Bringing in LOI players is going to do absolutely sweet f all other than appease people who protest against the lack of them in the squad. 90% of LOI players are lads who were over in England and didn't make it.

I'm not sure Kenny would be the right call at all. He's only coached once outside of Ireland's semi-pro/barely pro leagues, and that was in Dunfermline where they were relegated in his first season in charge and he was sacked.

Bringing in LOI players is going to do absolutely sweet f all other than appease people who protest against the lack of them in the squad. 90% of LOI players are lads who were over in England and didn't make it.

I'm not sure Kenny would be the right call at all. He's only coached once outside of Ireland's semi-pro/barely pro leagues, and that was in Dunfermline where they were relegated in his first season in charge and he was sacked.

What is there to lose by trying something different and picking players who we have more control over and access to?

The strategy of sending players to England as kids and picking them for the Ireland squad is dying and so is picking Irish eligible kids from overseas.

The old ways are no longer working, try something new. I'd rather see Kenny fail spectacularly by losing 6-0 against Greece by trying something new than by plodding along and allowing Irish soccer to continue to decline.

I wonder how things would have turned out if the Dublin Dons had happened.

troyzer wrote: »
    What is there to lose by trying something different and picking players who we have more control over and access to?

The strategy of sending players to England as kids and picking them for the Ireland squad is dying and so is picking Irish eligible kids from overseas.

The old ways are no longer working, try something new. I'd rather see Kenny fail spectacularly by losing 6-0 against Greece by trying something new than by plodding along and allowing Irish soccer to continue to decline.

Control and access isn't really an issue in soccer compared to rugby. The majority of the top nations in the world don't have regular access to their players or any control over them because players from their national league are a minority, or non-existent, and that's even countries with a proper professional league. Brazil, Argentina,

Replace players playing professional football to a high standard in England with players playing in a league where most of the players are only semi-professional and the training standards aren't anywhere close to English clubs, and Irish football will completely tank as we start to lose games even more frequently.

Management and the team aren't the issue here. It's the organisation, and how it's been ran for the past couple of decades without change. The LOI is struggling, teams are struggling financially. They're trying to wind down traditional teams that have produced a lot of Ireland's top talent (St Kevin's, Home Farm, Belvedere) by trying to push the LOI academies as a priority without listening to it's members.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,306 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

so martin and roy are gone....

who wants this poison chalice ?? whos the contemporary version of Trappatoni? whats Louis Van Gaal up to these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,813 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

sydthebeat wrote: »
    so martin and roy are gone....

who wants this poison chalice ?? whos the contemporary version of Trappatoni? whats Louis Van Gaal up to these days?
    They're well out of it. The failures are happening long before the players are called up to the Irish squad.