If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Ruth Coppinger holds up thong in Dail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

SusieBlue wrote: »
    Its not funny

In your opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,029 ✭✭✭SusieBlue

As is attacking the poster not the post but it's been allowed to go on for some.

Report any posts you feel are crossing the line. That has nothing to do with the issue I was talking about, and my point remains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 RiseitekiMind

It really does show the intellectual level of some. And as for those that thanked it ...

Ohhh watch out lads its the "Thank Police". Orwell warned me of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

It really does show the intellectual level of some. And as for those that thanked it ...

When all else fails it always comes back to personal insults..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Report any posts you feel are crossing the line. That has nothing to do with the issue I was talking about, and my point remains.

As pointless an excercise as that is, I have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,166 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Its not funny, its just annoying and derails the thread.

I bothered to take the time to reply to a someones post, and instead of replying to the point I made, he took one word out of context to suit his own position and to make a joke.
    That's a really immature way to conduct yourself during a debate on a serious issue, and if you can't see anything wrong with that, I can't help you.

Its poor forum etiquette.

Don't talk to me about poor etiquette, the amount of nonsense spouted on this thread about conviction rates and rape not being worthwhile to report etc. The cadre of people spouting it have no problem insulting people and thanking each others posts. Injecting a little levity is not poor etiquette, you need to get over yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Front of today's Irish Mirror could have been subtitled "These People Will Never Hold A Job".

Weren’t you on here this morning saying you had gotten everything arseways as you’d done “some reading overnight” and changed your mind? I don’t think you know what you’re on about tbh. Women = bad Men = good, seems to be the sum total of most of your comments. And while that may be true sometimes, it’s a philosophy that tends to punctuate most of your arguments on every thread across the site no matter what.

About this case, yes.

The idiots protesting though are just that, idiots.

And so what if I prefer men to women ? Big deal.

°°°°°

I've reported this as it's another example of pointed insults being directed from your cadre of like minded posters. It would be nice to see action taken on it.
    I wonder if you conduct yourself with such disdain for others in your life away from the Internet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

About this case, yes.

Fair play to you for looking into it and changing your mind.

From reading your post this morning you seem to agree that went down here wasn't right, so what's your reason for feeling the protesters are idiots? The slippy slope you were referring to previously about limiting the evidence the defence can provide?

About this case, yes.

You can prefer whoever the hell you want, it makes no odds to me.
    Most people tend to see situations objectively, but your posts are absolutely littered with bias. And frankly, I find them a little pathetic and sad.

RWCNT wrote: »

From reading your post this morning you seem to agree that went down here wasn't right, so what's your reason for feeling the protesters are idiots?

I would hazard a guess that it’s because they were mostly women.

Prefers men and wants to stick up for men, complains about being personally attacked.

Women out protesting in order to support other women, calls them all jobless idiots.

Makes sense.....

°°°°°

Could you define poor forum etiquette please?
    The reaso being that you have thanked and replied in agreement with a post that openly insulted people and now you're making accusations.
    Is etiquette something that should be adhered to by some people and ignored by others (you for example)?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Boards a bit buggy of late. Lots of duplicate posts and now I see some of my best posts have disappeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,065 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

nullzero wrote: »
    The reaso being that you have thanked and replied in agreement with a post that openly insulted people and now you're making accusations.
    Is etiquette something that should be adhered to by some people and ignored by others (you for example)?

quoting a post and chopping out part of it to change its meaning. That is poor etiquette and also against the rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,065 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

doylefe wrote: »
    Boards a bit buggy of late. Lots of duplicate posts and now I see some of my best posts have disappeared.

Humanity is much poorer for it i'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

doylefe wrote: »

Taking into account the calibre of your contributions to this thread, I really want to see what you consider to be your best posts. Please try to remember and repost.

I didn’t make any accusations, I made a guess based on posts previously made by that person.
    Making observations based on posting history isn’t against the rules.

If you have a problem with my ‘etiquette’ please just report the posts, I don’t answer to you and don’t have to explain myself to you, you aren’t some higher authority on the matter.

RWCNT wrote: »

From reading your post this morning you seem to agree that went down here wasn't right, so what's your reason for feeling the protesters are idiots?

Because they are coming at this from as incorrect a perspective as anyone saying "all women ask for it". They're holding signs up talking about "victim blaming" - the lad was found not guilty, there was no victim in this case. If you make an accusation against someone then absolutely you should be questioned in court.

Worryingly there are some people, groups etc (probably some posters on here) who think we should believe every single woman when she says she has been raped. It's a very sad fact that the way the world is moving on (e.g. with #MeToo and people losing their livelihoods due to allegations made on social media) that there are women who will have a consensual experience and for whatever reason say they were raped. I've seen it happen. It's not common but neither is unheard of.

A lecturer in a previous job I had who looks after sexual health matters once said in her opinion the figures for rapes in England were "over reported" (her words) - and that it was doing great harm to those genuine victims. It has been touched on here about how hard it is to report rape.

Like I said yesterday I know someone who worked with the CPS in the UK and most police stations there now will have a Sexual Assault centre, trained staff etc, they can help. But if it's years after there is really no point going. That sounds harsh but without evidence what can people do ? I have a real problem with people my age claiming abuse in childhood and getting a conviction on nothing - it scares me that I could actually claim to have been abused by a nun, or a teacher and ruin their life as I would be believed.

Oh and anonymity for BOTH accuser and accused until sentencing should be mandatory IMO.

°°°°°

I didn’t make any accusations, I made a guess based on posts previously made by that person.
    Making observations based on posting history isn’t against the rules.

If you have a problem with my ‘etiquette’ please just report the posts, I don’t answer to you and don’t have to explain myself to you, you aren’t some higher authority on the matter.

I didn't raise the spectre of etiquette, you did. I'm simply pointing out your hypocrisy.

This is exhausting. I pointed out that it’s bad manners to selectively quote someone out of context to make a joke.
    That doesn’t make me a hypocrite.
    If you have issues with the moderation of this thread please take it elsewhere as it’s none of my concern.

°°°°°

This is exhausting. I pointed out that it’s bad manners to selectively quote someone out of context to make a joke.
    That doesn’t make me a hypocrite.
    If you have issues with the moderation of this thread please take it elsewhere as it’s none of my concern.

Hang on I didn't mention moderation, you need to take a step back.
    Your etiquette hasn't been great so you are being hypocritical when you criticise other people's etiquette.

Hang on I didn't mention moderation, you need to take a step back.
    Your etiquette hasn't been great so you are being hypocritical when you criticise other people's etiquette.

Seriously, just report posts you have a problem with. If anyone is a hypocrite its you, whinging about personal attacks yet seeing nothing wrong with selective quoting out of context.
    I don't have to explain myself to you any further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Because they are coming at this from as incorrect a perspective as anyone saying "all women ask for it". They're holding signs up talking about "victim blaming" - the lad was found not guilty, there was no victim in this case. If you make an accusation against someone then absolutely you should be questioned in court.

Worryingly there are some people, groups etc (probably some posters on here) who think we should believe every single woman when she says she has been raped. It's a very sad fact that the way the world is moving on (e.g. with #MeToo and people losing their livelihoods due to allegations made on social media) that there are women who will have a consensual experience and for whatever reason say they were raped. I've seen it happen. It's not common but neither is unheard of.

A lecturer in a previous job I had who looks after sexual health matters once said in her opinion the figures for rapes in England were "over reported" (her words) - and that it was doing great harm to those genuine victims. It has been touched on here about how hard it is to report rape.

Like I said yesterday I know someone who worked with the CPS in the UK and most police stations there now will have a Sexual Assault centre, trained staff etc, they can help. But if it's years after there is really no point going. That sounds harsh but without evidence what can people do ? I have a real problem with people my age claiming abuse in childhood and getting a conviction on nothing - it scares me that I could actually claim to have been abused by a nun, or a teacher and ruin their life as I would be believed.

Oh and anonymity for BOTH accuser and accused until sentencing should be mandatory IMO.
    I definitely don’t agree with blindly believing every single woman who accuses a man of raping her, but I genuinely can’t get my head around a jury being instructed to take into consideration her choice of underwear meaning she would consent to sex. If I have sex and happen to wear spanx or granny knickers, does that mean my choice in underwear clearly meant I didn’t plan on having sex therefore it’s rape?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I have two questions.

If a female wear a thong, is she consent to sex?

If you are consent to sex is it acceptable to be rape?

°°°°°

Seriously, just report posts you have a problem with. If anyone is a hypocrite its you, whinging about personal attacks yet seeing nothing wrong with selective quoting out of context.
    I don't have to explain myself to you any further.

Like me or loathe me, I've been consistent.
    I don't want to continue this back and forth but I'm not going to stand for that type of childish retort ("I'm not, you are") and have it sit there as if it were fact.

I never said you needed to explain yourself, but punctuating your post as such doesn't reflect kindly on you.

YFlyer wrote: »
    I have two questions.

If a female wear a thong, is she consent to sex?

If you are consent to sex is it acceptable to be rape?

I have one question,
    What?

I don't want to continue this back and forth

I quite agree, lets leave it there shall we.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I have one question,
    What?

I'm questioning some beliefs that wearing a thong is consent to sex.

Also questioning your morals?