Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunchtime Live with Ciara Kelly [Mod warning post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Apparently you’re not allowed have an opinion on anything these days unless you heard or saw the show in question no matter how widely reported the contents of said show are in other media/social media outlets.

This paragraph very well describes why exactly I think your critism is rubbish and just nasty digs.

I would criticize people for something they said or wrote only if I read or heard a comment myself or if there was very detailed recap of it. I guess that is the main difference between you and me. I like to know what I am talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

meeeeh wrote: »
    This paragraph very well describes why exactly I think your critism is rubbish and just nasty digs.

I would criticize people for something they said or wrote only if I read or heard a comment myself or if there was very detailed recap of it. I guess that is the main difference between you and me. I like to know what I am talking about.

And again post part of what I said to dissolve and dilute the context.

By way of example, if one reads a report of an interview in a paper but one didn't actually hear the interview, can one not comment on said interview? You seem to suggest as much above in bold, but when I do that (as highlighted in red below, which is just one instance of when I've said such a thing BTW) and comment it's apparently not acceptable. Funny that. Double standards?

And - as you very well know - after you cried about me not listening to the item in question many moons ago I took the time to listen back to the whole show in question and then comment again having listened fully to the item in question. But even then that wasn't enough.

Re. "nasty digs"....you're the one who resorts to personal comments all the time. You have called me "cowardly" (ironic really when you refuse to answer many questions) and in the last couple of days called those who dared to criticise Ciara "bitter little men" - aimed specifically at me as it was a quoted reply to a post of mine, but also to many of the male contributors to this thread. Rather ironic again. And this considering you've repeatedly said you're ignoring me and not replying to me anymore! At least we can take you at your word on that.

You appear to have a number of MO's when it comes to being faced with a question you don't like:
    • Resort to personal comments (which you have frequently done)
    • Attempt to deflect or avoid the question completely with some sort of "I don't have an opinion on it because I didn't hear it" type comment, which you're now attempting to row back from by adding in "unless I've read about" which is fine for you but no others - "equality" :rolleyes:
    • Throw out a "I'm putting you on ignore" OR "I'm not responding to you anymore" type comment as a way of avoiding the question, which you don't actually stick to
    • use the deliberately misquote or partially quote tactic to misrepresent a point I've made
    Not an exhaustive list btw.

Not in denial about anything. I’ve repeatedly - and clearly have to again - said:
    (A) that I don’t listen to the show out of choice
    (B) yes, I have caught snippets/segments of the show in public places - I didn’t realise you can only comment on the show if you’re at home or at work? :rolleyes:
    (C) I have - out of choice, freely and voluntarily - listened to the show or parts of the show both live and on the listen back feature. I have posted re. that show’s content concurrent to the live broadcast or at the time of listening back. I once dared to comment on a segment of the show without hearing it but having read the entire day’s posts on the content of said show and was castigated by a certain poster for doing so. To appease her, I listened back to the show but unsure without checking if I revised my opinion. Apparently you’re not allowed have an opinion on anything these days unless you heard or saw the show in question no matter how widely reported the contents of said show are in other media/social media outlets.

You seem to be insinuating or implying that I’m listening and pretending not to be? I assure you I’m not. If I were, my post count (a fascination for some apparently) would likely be considerably higher. I often go days and indeed weeks without commenting on it here; if I were a daily listener I’d be commenting daily as I’m sure she would give me plenty of material to comment on.

I could give more examples, but I'm off to walk my dogs. I use this time to listen to podcasts mainly, but who knows, I may listen back to one of Ciara's shows today. Genuine question: is there any show in particular from the past week I should listen to/any you'd recommend? I'm asking as I'm always willing to give anyone a chance to change my opinion of them.

Christ this post actually seems slightly obsessive. I have no intention of changing any opinions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Christ this post actually seems slightly obsessive. I have no intention of changing any opinions.

Entirely predictable response. I didn’t ask you to change any opinion btw, not once, ever.

But nice personal attack and comment once again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

Jaysus would yous ever take it to pm - it's tiresome reading.

• Subscribers Posts: 43,086 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

wow... that was some major disdain shown to her listeners

"there a wall of texts..... blah blah blah..... feminists" and laughs it off ???

wtf

I found it funny. Why do people think they are entitled respect for nonsense they text?

And before people lose their mind, I caught only the end of item but as much as I know of the initative it's a bit nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,302 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

sydthebeat wrote:
    "there a wall of texts..... blah blah blah..... feminists" and laughs it off ???

Women = good /men = bad

How is it not illegal to create jobs for one sex only?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Dick Swiveller

I found it funny. Why do people think they are entitled respect for nonsense they text?

And before people lose their mind, I caught only the end of item but as much as I know of the initative it's a bit nonsense.

What was the discussion about?

Stoolcup wrote: »
    What was the discussion about?

Financing women only posts in higher education or something similar. The news broke yesterday and I think there is a thread about it somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,198 ✭✭✭buckfasterer

There's a defence barrister for alleged rapists coming on later. That has car crash written all over it. Wonder will the barrister get a word in at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

There's a defence barrister for alleged rapists coming on later. That has car crash written all over it. Wonder will the barrister get a word in at all.

Yes,so long as they're female.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭Uncharted

I found it funny.

Wow. You surprise us.

Uncharted wrote: »
    Wow. You surprise us.

I have a rule that anyone mentioning feminists, snowflakes, mansplaining and similar nonsense is in an idiot. They will state the same nonsense anyway: hating men, what about bin men... The more intelligent ones will mention that teaching profession is dominated by women but you can guess with about 90% accuracy what will be in a text mentioning feminists. So you can just skip reading and state that there are loads of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,733 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I have a rule that anyone mentioning feminists, snowflakes, mansplaining and similar nonsense is in an idiot.

That says more about you than the people you're criticising.
    Some people have ideas and opinions I disagree with, it doesn't make them idiots nor do I even feel they should be perceived that way.
    Modern "gender politics" has become incredibly oppositional and aggressive mostly aimed at the epitome of evil, white men.
    As a white man who grew up being thought to be respectful of women and people of other backgrounds like most Irish white males of my age I find it extremely offensive to be portrayed as part of some cabal of privileged misogynistic racist and or homophobic group of evil white males.
    Does this make me an idiot?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Uncharted wrote: »
    Wow. You surprise us.

I have a rule that anyone mentioning feminists, snowflakes, mansplaining and similar nonsense is in an idiot. They will state the same nonsense anyway: hating men, what about bin men... The more intelligent ones will mention that teaching profession is dominated by women but you can guess with about 90% accuracy what will be in a text mentioning feminists. So you can just skip reading and state that there are loads of them.

does not compute
    error .exe

nullzero wrote: »
    As a white man who grew up being thought to be respectful of women and people of other backgrounds like most Irish white males of my age I find it extremely offensive to be portrayed as part of some cabal of privileged misogynistic racist and or homophobic group of evil white males.
    Does this make me an idiot?
    Oh so the subject of conversation was that, it was not financing female only posts. Apologies then.

Or are doing exactly what I pointed out, dragging out exactly the same, predictable arguments to any discussion that involves women? And yea that would be idiotic.

well called caller car crash joe duffy rage from her here

lol blah blah forget presumption of innocence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Interview is not going her way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

This is atrocious, she's like a dog with a bone, but this guy is doing my head in too bloody flitting around the questions.

Give up Ciara get him off, you're making holy show of yourself (more than usual).

pathetic she is been wupped

the sun would have a better grasp on this than this presenter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 137 ✭✭5555555555

Hysterical Ciara Kelly getting schooled by a barrister right now.

°°°°°

5555555555 wrote: »
    Hysterical Ciara Kelly getting schooled by a barrister right now.

I've never heard such a load of uninformed hysterical nonsense on the radio.
    She should be sacked on the spot for that mess of an interview.
    Facts and reason are no match for Ciara Kelly's righteous indignation.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I found him infuriating to listen to being honest. He was dancing around saying why he thought the style of underwear represents evidence.

°°°°°

Oh so the subject of conversation was that, it was not financing female only posts. Apologies then.

Or are doing exactly what I pointed out, dragging out exactly the same, predictable arguments to any discussion that involves women? And yea that would be idiotic.

In my eyes women are equal, and deserve to be judged on merit. Do you feel that makes me an idiot?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,480 ✭✭✭Kamili

She's skipping reading out the texts on that piece - wonder if there were complaints about her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭greenpilot

Now she won't read out any texts....ha. I wonder why!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Schnooks

Now that was funny. She wasn't able to force her opinion on that barrister and kept using a sarcastic tone and trying to talk over him. He called her out on her inaccurate statements and made her look a bit stupid, cue outrage and shouting from Kelly.

Seriously unprofessional, acting like a petulant child. Of course no texts were read out after, but she did have to mention that "many" were supportive of herself of course :-)