Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man (69) attempts to legally reduce his age

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Zorya wrote: »
    What struck me about that case, which only barely glanced off my attention to be honest, as it is more amusing and pathetic than anything, was that the women being sued found it extremely difficult to get legal representation in Vancouver, because of the nature of the case.

"All of which cited lack of expertise in human rights proceedings, or fear of offending the transgender lobby, or both"

A sentence which is true if all of the firms cited lack of expertise in human rights proceedings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

His argument is that his 'biological age' is much younger than his on-paper age.

If you know someone that smokes 20 per day, frequents donought shops frequently, only drinks coffee, only exercises one arm etc
    You could in all fairness, add 10yrs to their age, or similararly remove 10yrs from their date of expiry.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

lets say this man was diagnosed with a narcissistic personality disorder and the only way for him to feel good and happy in himself was if the rest of the world viewed him as a younger version of himself, in that circumstance, I can't see a valid argument against him being allowed to legally change his age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

RayCun wrote: »
    "All of which cited lack of expertise in human rights proceedings, or fear of offending the transgender lobby, or both"

A sentence which is true if all of the firms cited lack of expertise in human rights proceedings.

Yeah, I'd say it was their lack of expertise in human rights proceedings alright. Because that's what lots of law firms in major cities do - they stay inexpert at certain aspects of legal proceedings. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Yeah, I'd say it was their lack of expertise in human rights proceedings alright. Because that's what lots of law firms in major cities do - they stay inexpert at certain aspects of legal proceedings. :rolleyes:

er, yes, that is what a lot of firms do, they specialise in criminal law, or property law, or ...

But I'm sure the Post Millenial is providing fair and balanced reporting here. They have a brand to protect, after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

er, yes, that is what a lot of firms do, they specialise in criminal law, or property law, or ...

But I'm sure the Post Millenial is providing fair and balanced reporting here. They have a brand to protect, after all.

While you're absolutely right in saying that is exactly what a lot of firms do, I don't think you can deny that more likely than not a good number of the firms contacted simply just didn't want the case because of the hassle and negative publicity that would no doubt follow.

I'd say for cases like these the best bet would be some non-profit organisation, similarly to what happened with the gay cake nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

antodeco wrote: »
    PM sent!

Disappoint level 10 coming up.

...Sends dickpic, gets one back...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Meh we can’t discriminate against what people identify as. If we acknowledge the wrong gender we should acknowledge the wrong age

Disappoint level 10 coming up.

...Sends dickpic, gets one back...

well....apparently being a 17 year old girl doesn't necessarily exclude one from having a dick....

Or so I'm told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Meh we can’t discriminate against what people identify as. If we acknowledge the wrong gender we should acknowledge the wrong age

Height/ size will be next.

5" Stumpy lads rejected from the Gardai, can start identifying as a 6'4" Kerry yokel and march straight into Templemore.
    Their trousers might have to be turned up a bit

Yeah but age can be clearly established by counting the amount of time elapsed between birth and now!!!

The Economist - Least Biased
    https://www.economist.com/briefing/2018/10/27/when-one-persons-right-is-anothers-obligation

Vancouver Sun - Left Centre Bias
    https://vancouversun.com/news/local-news/b-c-transgender-woman-denied-brazilian-wax-job-withdraws-human-rights-complaint

Damn. Everyone's a Nazi now :(

wexie wrote: »
    Yeah but age can be clearly established by counting the amount of time elapsed between birth and now!!!

What is this ''time'' you speak of? Is it not a white patriarchal construct whereby calendar date has been calculated oppressively from the birth of an arbitrary prophet and IMPOSED upon the rest of civilisation? You torment me with your concept of ''time'', tyrant, and as for your use of the autocratic word amount...who gets to define amount?! You? White man? Pah! :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

That first one is chilling.

I don't care what you "identify" as - a naked bloke with tackle out asking a ten year old girl about using a tampon is NOT okay!

Not being funny but sex can be determined by looking at what’s between your legs. You’re physically either man or woman. Emotionally/mentally that may differ and I have no issue whatsoever with that, but the same goes for age.

Do I need to go back and add sarcasm tags?

:D sorry

That first one is chilling.

I don't care what you "identify" as - a naked bloke with tackle out asking a ten year old girl about using a tampon is NOT okay!

that is very disturbing indeed :(

Very. I read not long back about a young girl who endured a very serious sexual assault and was referred to counselling.

Her parents wanted a female counsellor as she was so scared to be around men, even family members. She was assigned a "self identified transwoman" - 6 foot plus, tattoos and brick sh**house build. She was terrified.

This was in the UK - horrifying.

Very. I read not long back about a young girl who ensured a very serious sexual assault and was referred to counselling.

Her parents wanted a female counsellor as she was so scared to be around men, even family members. She was assigned a "self identified transwoman" - 6 foot plus, tattoos and brick sh**house build. She was terrified.

This was in the UK - horrifying.

.....And then the parents could flip the lid and end up facing a potential lawsuit for discrimination....

Madness, I'm all for letting people live their lives the way they want and if some man feels that he should have been a woman I'll quite happily try to be polite about it.

But a law that flatout states they become women for all intents and purposes and questioning this leaves you open to sanctions for discrimination is (in my humble opinion) very very wrong and is going to lead to (more) serious issues.

.....And then the parents could flip the lid and end up facing a potential lawsuit for discrimination....

Madness, I'm all for letting people live their lives the way they want and if some man feels that he should have been a woman I'll quite happily try to be polite about it.

But a law that flatout states they become women for all intents and purposes and questioning this leaves you open to sanctions for discrimination is (in my humble opinion) very very wrong and is going to lead to (more) serious issues.

It's already happened - a male prisoner identifies as a woman, goes to a women's prison and assaults inmates. It will get worse.

I am a staunch ally of the LGBT community, and genuinely trans people are in my reckoning, horrified by the crap they are seeing around gender. People who have gone through surgeries, medical and psychiatric treatment etc to become the sex they should have been born - lumped in with some lunatic sort who believes there are 73 genders and you can swop from one to t'other daily!

It's insanity. Now there's the white UK writer who got a 400k award meant for "black writers" because he "feels black" and this fruit loop who wants to legally be younger! When will someone say "ENOUGH!!!" ???

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

This head case is seeking attention.
    He was born in 1949.

That this is news across the world makes me sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

imme wrote: »
    This head case is seeking attention.
    He was born in 1949.

That this is news across the world makes me sad.
    is it the blatant hypocrisy that makes you sad?

Where's the hypocrisy ?????

• Registered Users Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

There is already a trans woman in Canada who has been on a years long legal vendetta against a rape crisis center who declined to hire them as a counselor citing the needs of their female patients for female only caregivers. I mean, the center and the women who use it are respectfully saying no but they feel entitled to bulldoze their way in there anyway. Where does this mentality come from?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Remember this lady identified as black. There was a thread on it a while ago and a mod come in and said she's suffering from a)mental illness or b) she's a con artist. End of story. Then shut the thing down because people had the audacity to question that and bring up the obvious question of if a man can identify as a woman, then what's to say this white woman can't identify as a black woman.

150612092018-rachel-dolezal-split-exlarge-169.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,112 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Remember this lady identified as black. There was a thread on it a while ago and a mod come in and said she's suffering from a)mental illness or b) she's a con artist. End of story. Then shut the thing down because people had the audacity to question that and bring up the obvious question of if a man can identify as a woman, then what's to say this white woman can't identify as a black woman.

150612092018-rachel-dolezal-split-exlarge-169.jpg

There's been another guy in the news this week for this too. His parents are Irish in fact but he identifies as black and has even take roles and places intended for black men (he's an actor)

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2018/11/04/white-actor-identifies-black-criticised-winning-place-scheme/

ceadaoin. wrote: »
    There's been another guy in the news this week for this too. His parents are Irish in fact but he identifies as black and has even take roles and spots on panels intended for black men (he's an actor)

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2018/11/04/white-actor-identifies-black-criticised-winning-place-scheme/

Read that the other day - utterly bat crap crazy.

I mean, the center and the women who use it are respectfully saying no but they feel entitled to bulldoze their way in there anyway. Where does this mentality come from?

Because the law says they can....
    Where does this mentality come from?

Yeah I don't understand either, it's very very odd.

Just passing thoughts on why, not wanting to be lambasted for having them - but there is significant co-morbidity between transgenderism (and likely other trans things like trans-ageism etc) and mental health issues, so some of this bullying - because that is effectively what it is - may be related to general mental health problems.
    Some of it may be vexatious cranks looking for notoriety, like this Tinder Man wanting to be declared younger.
    And some of it may be a new form of strange misogyny. It's coming largely from biological males after all. This Tinder chap, with his attitudes towards women, wouldn't rank very highly either on any noble, gentlemanly scale.