Sean O'Rourke Today Show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭dball

Miriam just introduce a band - her words were " i have 5 strapping young men here .............."
    If it were Sean o rourke and it was a girl band and he came out with I've 5 fit young women here - we would never hear the end of it!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,704 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Miriam clearly not a fan of ‘Callan’s Kicks’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,730 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Miriam clearly not a fan of ‘Callan’s Kicks’.

You could feel it, couldn't you! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Thirteen year old "embarassed by her mother" .... earthshattering!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,708 ✭✭✭serfboard

Good discussion on the show today about Eamonn De Valera - OK, so it was Sean's RTE colleague David McCullough plugging a book he has just written, but it was actually quite informative IMO, and worth podcasting for anyone who missed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

fionn davenport discussing adventure holidays now ...loves the sound of his own voice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,936 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

fionn davenport discussing adventure holidays now ...loves the sound of his own voice

Adventure holidays....I thought we were all struggling?

€900 for aU2 ticket....I thought we were all struggling.

Lad from Clare going to all four U2 shows.... I thought we were all struggling.

Outcry that the Spice Girls are not including Dublin in their tour...I thought we were all struggling.

Thousands flying out to ‘Vegas’ to see a lad having his ass kicked....I thought we were all struggling.

Westlife (that great band ) selling out Croker......I thought we were all struggling.

Full employment but still a huge welfare bill..... :pac: maybe some of us are struggling:cool:

What’s goin’ on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

Adventure holidays....I thought we were all struggling?

€900 for aU2 ticket....I thought we were all struggling.

Lad from Clare going to all four U2 shows.... I thought we were all struggling.

Outcry that the Spice Girls are not including Dublin in their tour...I thought we were all struggling.

Thousands flying out to ‘Vegas’ to see a lad having his ass kicked....I thought we were all struggling.

Westlife (that great band ) selling out Croker......I thought we were all struggling.

Full employment but still a huge welfare bill..... :pac: maybe some of us are struggling:cool:

What’s goin’ on?

Ah for fecks sake ... won't we be dead for years ;)

Callan57 wrote: »
    Ah for fecks sake ... won't we be dead for years ;)

We will Callan , sure enough.

But here’s the thing, we don’t have to keep saying “We’re struggling” at the same time.

No problem with spending the moolah, but don’t come the ‘auld soldier’ all the time.

Like Lookit, you hear this crap that ‘ aaah Jaysus rural Ireland is dead’ but horse up Garth Brookes in Croker for a week and it would be sold out in seconds.

Most from rural Ireland

Don’t be putting on the poor mouth all the fcuking time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

dball wrote: »
    Miriam just introduce a band - her words were " i have 5 strapping young men here .............."
    If it were Sean o rourke and it was a girl band and he came out with I've 5 fit young women here - we would never hear the end of it!"

What were they strapping ?:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Why is SOR rattling on about Maurice McCabe. Why is he prempting the tv documentary this evening ?. Must be eff all happening.
    McCabe shouldn't be referred to as a whistle blower, he was a good upstanding garda simple as that,others would do well to act like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Why is SOR rattling on about Maurice McCabe. Why is he prempting the tv documentary this evening ?. Must be eff all happening.
    McCabe shouldn't be referred to as a whistle blower, he was a good upstanding garda simple as that,others would do well to act like him.

Typical RTE MO. Whenever there's something new on it's plastered all over every show. They'll be doing a post Mortem on it from Wed to Fri.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,659 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Texter on Minister Mary Mitchell O Connor: "I am levitating with rage"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,353 ✭✭✭✭elperello

He was doing a promo for the documentary this evening.
    I expect it will be worth watching.

I think they mean whistle blower as a compliment.
    Agree that all Gardai should take a leaf from his book.

Although I wouldn't be a fan of his at all, Gregory Campbell played a stormer on the programme this morning.

Basically his message was that, on the Brexit deal, cool heads are needed now and the deal needs to be examined in detail.

Sean was the one getting frustrated when Gregory refused to rise to any bait he was being thrown.

Worth podcasting if you want to hear how even an experienced interviewer like Sean can be disarmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

Ailbhe Smith says 2 to 8 % of rape allegations are false allegations, and yet Ailbhe says that we should still believe ALL women as most women are genuine and wouldn't lie. Completely contradicting herself. So what does she think should happen to all the men in those 2 to 8 %, they should just burn because they are men? The core of the justice system is supposed to be that you never find an innocent person guilty, why did Sean not push her on this point?

Ailbhe says that we should still believe ALL women as most women are genuine and wouldn't lie.
    If you were to take that statement in isolation, it sounds ridiculous, as if to insinuate that women are not human beings and are therefore incapable of lying.

However, I think the point is that in rape cases, women risk much more by making the allegations - putting themselves through the minute inspection and stress of a trial, where very personal aspects of their lives (such as the clothing they wear) is subject to intense scrutiny.

She was not, as far as I heard, advocating that there should be no trials at all, and that every allegation of rape should be taken as proven without the need for a trial, although I agree that Sean should have pushed her for a bit more clarity on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,224 ✭✭✭alaimacerc

Ailbhe Smith says 2 to 8 % of rape allegations are false allegations, and yet Ailbhe says that we should still believe ALL women as most women are genuine and wouldn't lie. Completely contradicting herself. So what does she think should happen to all the men in those 2 to 8 %, they should just burn because they are men? The core of the justice system is supposed to be that you never find an innocent person guilty, why did Sean not push her on this point?

Never? I seem to recall Blackstone's Ratio as being 10:1, not infinite. So I don't know if the coiner of that rubric would have been as overwrought in his distress about that 2-8% of cases as you appear to be.

Mind you, for traffic offence purposes, the "reasonable" element of "reasonable doubt" seems to be entirely absent, so pick your optimal number of guilty men (sic!) going unpunished to taste, I guess.

serfboard wrote: »
    Although I wouldn't be a fan of his at all, Gregory Campbell played a stormer on the programme this morning.

Basically his message was that, on the Brexit deal, cool heads are needed now and the deal needs to be examined in detail.

Sean was the one getting frustrated when Gregory refused to rise to any bait he was being thrown.

Worth podcasting if you want to hear how even an experienced interviewer like Sean can be disarmed.

You can maybe forgive Sean for not having seen that one coming.

"Which looper from the DUP do we have on this morning, then, trotting out their loopy version of BrExit?"

"Gregory Campbell."

"Ah, so loopier than the average DUP bear, then."

Good discussion on the show today about Eamonn De Valera - OK, so it was Sean's RTE colleague David McCullough plugging a book he has just written, but it was actually quite informative IMO, and worth podcasting for anyone who missed it.

Concur, was a very good piece. McCullough clearly knows his stuff -- you'd hope he did, having banged out two tomes on the subject -- and it wasn't just the "I'm here to plug the book, available in all good stores" puff piece as an interview, either.

alaimacerc wrote: »
    Concur, was a very good piece. McCullough clearly knows his stuff -- you'd hope he did, having banged out two tomes on the subject -- and it wasn't just the "I'm here to plug the book, available in all good stores" puff piece as an interview, either.

He should stick to the writing,so, as he is piss-poor as a presenter, in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,094 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Tis their culture, boss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Sean like a dog with a bone in this interview. Asking same question over and over, almost paxman like.

For those who didn't hear, Sean was interviewing Mary Lou McDonald about why Sinn Fein aren't taking up their seats in Westminster.

He then went on to ask her repeatedly about Maria Cahill.

Thought it was a good, combative interview, but Mary Lou was well able for him.

That's why she was "elected" President of Sinn Fein.

For those who didn't hear, Sean was interviewing Mary Lou McDonald about why Sinn Fein aren't taking up their seats in Westminster.

He then went on to ask her repeatedly about Maria Cahill.

Thought it was a good, combative interview, but Mary Lou was well able for him.

That's why she was "elected" President of Sinn Fein.

Should be very simple, they were elected on the basis they wouldn’t take up their seats, so that should be game set and match surely.

And I am not a SF supporter.

Should be very simple, they were elected on the basis they wouldn’t take up their seats, so that should be game set and match surely.

Neither am I, but it annoys me every time I hear this crap from the "Dublin establishment" (I first heard Olivia O'Leary saying it, then it spread to other media, and now we have Leo chipping in).

Three points:

1. If Nationalists wanted MPs to take their seats they could have voted for the SDLP.

2. The number of seats they hold (7) is not going to make a dam bit of difference to the House Of Commons vote on the deal, since (according to PBH on drivetime yesterday), the gap on the deal is currently 170.

And if the deal does not go through, the whole place will be in chaos anyway, and it won't matter whether the DUP are propping up the Tories or not.

3. "Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake". The worse Brexit is, the more likely a United Ireland is in the medium term, when people in the North realise that their politicians/MPs are insane.

We already see this with the Farmers Union, who as well as making pronouncements, have taken a seat in the Seanad. Of course, for making those pronouncements, they were criticised by the DUP, which is not going to turn out well for them the next time they go looking for farmers votes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,730 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Neither am I, but it annoys me every time I hear this crap from the "Dublin establishment" (I first heard Olivia O'Leary saying it, then it spread to other media, and now we have Leo chipping in).

Three points:

1. If Nationalists wanted MPs to take their seats they could have voted for the SDLP.

2. The number of seats they hold (7) is not going to make a dam bit of difference to the House Of Commons vote on the deal, since (according to PBH on drivetime yesterday), the gap on the deal is currently 170.

And if the deal does not go through, the whole place will be in chaos anyway, and it won't matter whether the DUP are propping up the Tories or not.

3. "Never interrupt your enemy when he is making a mistake". The worse Brexit is, the more likely a United Ireland is in the medium term, when people in the North realise that their politicians/MPs are insane.

We already see this with the Farmers Union, who as well as making pronouncements, have taken a seat in the Seanad. Of course, for making those pronouncements, they were criticised by the DUP, which is not going to turn out well for them the next time they go looking for farmers votes.

I thought her challenge to FF and FG to run candidates and then let's see them taking an oath of allegiance, was note perfect to be honest. Can you imagine grassroots FF in particular signing off on that?

Aaaaah..... end of thread I’m afraid....

Big trouble in Little China.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭Pintman Paddy Losty

You going soft on the shinners Brendan? You must be going a bit daft in your old age. Won't be long now til your in a home wearing adult nappies this poster would opine.

Fair is fair Paddy, I’m a lad who looks at the big picture, and to accuse SF of not taking their seats doesn’t understand the scenario.

Right or wrong it’s what they do.

Adult nappies mightened be a bad option by the way, saves a lad getting out of the cot to strain the spuds.... do you know any hefty nurses who might be looking for a handy number ?
    Sluice the cluster with the with the wet rag an stuff?