Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taken Down [RTE]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,780 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Having lived in oz,u.s and driven through some dodgy ex soviet states, the cops here are saints in comparison.

A number of inquiries have probably said different.

McCabe case was an eye opener
    to name one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Seems to be. At the start of this year the Irish Times had this factoid: '432 people had been in the system for five years or more.'

Like many things in the country it's a mess.

Off topic but the vast majority of the long stayers are applicants who have been repeatedly told no and they take multiple legal challenges against the decisions.

acting is horrendous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

lookr wrote: »
    Don't agree with the cynicism here. So far I'm pretty engaged and the production value is better than usual for Irish TV.

People often say this. Tell me exactly what you mean by it please.

Very possible:

432 people had been in the system for five years of more
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/q-a-what-is-direct-provision-1.3373747

Its shocking stuff. A money pit. Basically other countries destroy their country and its up to 'the racist West' to pick up the pieces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Cakes and Ale

Anyone else think the stairs in the centre were brought back in from 'The Clinic'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

A number of inquiries have probably said different.

McCabe case was an eye opener
    to name one

Never said there wasnt corruption with the police here,im not an apoligist for the garda. Merely citing my personal experiences with authoritarian-gun toting-power trippers in u.s and oz, and policing in azerbaijan etc was an entrepreneurial activity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Off topic but the vast majority of the long stayers are applicants who have been repeatedly told no and they take multiple legal challenges against the decisions.

Correct. This is the reason, repeated appeals and facilitated by those with an agenda.

There is an agenda now been driven, to just do away with any immigration/asylum process at all.Treat everyone as if they are genuine when the opposite is the case. Open borders,yaay.
    We already have a blind eye system in place anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

As I suspected this seems like more liberal feminist/asylum seeker propaganda. The reality is we are overflowing with fraudulent asylum seekers and those turned down spend years exhausting the appeal process and we rarely deport any of them.

Most of the tweets so far are liberals feigning outrage about direct provision.

Anyone else think the stairs in the centre were brought back in from 'The Clinic'?

And also Aidos budgie from Love/Hate?? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Couldn't watch much of this due to the amateur dramatics level of acting.

Absolute ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

Yer man queing for food was worse than Pat short... Terrible...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 lookr

People often say this. Tell me exactly what you mean by it please.

Is that a sincere question? I'm referring to the quality of the cinematography, lighting, soundtrack, locations, editing etc. This is a fairly polished production despite the fact that the budget can't have been particularly high.

Correct. This is the reason, repeated appeals and facilitated by those with an agenda.

There is an agenda now been driven, to just do away with any immigration/asylum process at all.Treat everyone as if they are genuine when the opposite is the case. Open borders,yaay.
    We already have a blind eye system in place anyway.
    I believe this programme is part of that agenda. The writer is a high ranking member and former election candidate for Sinn Fein. Google Joanne Spain. Mary Lou and co are shilling it on twitter along with the open borders liberals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,146 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

I’m stuck on the same scene over and over on the “player”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,260 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

As I suspected this seems like more liberal feminist/asylum seeker propaganda. The reality is we are overflowing with fraudulent asylum seekers and those turned down spend years exhausting the appeal process and we rarely deport any of them.

Most of the tweets so far are liberals feigning outrage about direct provision.

That, like the final season of House of Cards, would seem to be the point.. Social and Liberal commentary in the guise of prime time entertainment.

It's actually shocking how quickly people in this country have adopted this Americanised shyte in the last few years.

I believe this programme is part of that agenda. The writer is a high ranking member and former election candidate for Sinn Fein. Google Joanne Spain. Mary Lou and co are shilling it on twitter along with the open borders liberals.

Haha Sinn Fein attenpting to reinvent themselves as colour blind is comical given their past/present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,630 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Haven't watched this yet but reading the opinions here reminds me a lot of the thoughts of the opening episode of Love/Hate on here! :D

EDIT: Here we go: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055969028

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,043 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

ParkRunner wrote: »
    I’m stuck on the same scene over and over on the “player”.

Same here. The scene where she asks to see the pics on her sons phone.

Typical RTÉ player performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,146 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

Same here. The scene where she asks to see the pics on her sons phone.

Typical RTÉ player performance

That one exactly. Kind of want a Burger King burger tho!

Only first episode, hopefully it picks up though as it expands into other urban locations.

Haha Sinn Fein attenpting to reinvent themselves as colour blind is comical given their past/present

They are all about affirmative action these days. Only a woman candidate could be selected in Tipperary to run in the next General election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,276 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Only first episode, hopefully it picks up though as it expands into other urban locations.

Yes otherwise it will be like the kidnap scene from Fair City.

They are all about affirmative action these days. Only a woman candidate could be selected in Tipperary to run in the next General election.

Yea but protect paedophile/rapists within their ranks, they are as hypocritical as the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,679 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Yer man queing for food was worse than Pat short... Terrible...

He's a friend of mine the actor, thought he was ****e

The lead female cop was pretty good. Liked her in love hate too.

writer deserves a good run - so will watch again. Could be the awkward 2nd album.

No harm that character dying - couldn't understand him.

The previews these days - just after show are a disgrace, spoiler alert of its own show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

I thought it was well written, good first episode. If they are looking for Flora, they should check the fridge.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    That, like the final season of House of Cards, would seem to be the point.. Social and Liberal commentary in the guise of prime time entertainment.

It's actually shocking how quickly people in this country have adopted this Americanised shyte in the last few years.
    I hate how the Irish Left has started to just copy the American Left, despite the massive differences in culture, history, demographics etc basically everything. American social and liberal commentary has no relevance to this country.

Yet these dangerous idiots are already at it talking about privilege and people of colour, and laughable irrelevant ****e they see on CNN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I never watched Love/Hate so looking forward to getting in on this from the start later

Gleeson compared it to The Wire on Darcy last night :)