Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

listermint wrote: »
    This thread has descended in to the who's who of grievances.

Travellers, boooo travellers
    Muslims , boooo hssss Muslims.
    Social welfare recipients, boo layout abouts.
    Sinnfein , ha look at the shinners they must be going mad.
    FG FF , left liberals
    Leo, look at him being all pc. Boo pc.

If none of this as actually rings bells as being far right . Then i actually don't know what is wrong with posters.

Everyone is a target here . And there's a real core of posters that are aiming their hatred at anyone they don't like.

The thead is utter lunacy and it has all the negative bile that you've had in after hours over the years.

Bile, negativity , unbridled anger , hatred.

Actually it's pretty disgusting and depressing in equal measure. Frankly I don't actually get how people have any happiness in their lives if this is the negative crap they subscribe to.

Confirmation Bias..

You’re just seeing the extremes.

There are plenty of posters on here that have reasonable and rational views.

It seems to be the only thing you guys have to fall back on. Play the extreme card even though no one said anything but the truth..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,102 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Rennaws wrote: »
    Confirmation Bias..

You’re just seeing the extremes.

There are plenty of posters on here that have reasonable and rational views.

It seems to be the only thing you guys have to fall back on. Play the extreme card even though no one said anything but the truth..

What posters. Everytime I've asked for solutions to issues people raise they literally change the goalposts

No solutions just bile.

There is no confirmation bias I'm reading all the posts.

Then they double down on the rethoric.

In fact it's usually everyone else's fault. That's what people void of solutions use as a stick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,242 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Apologies, it's been over 2 years since I even considered looking at legislation again. Funny that it's an amendment to the Act i quoted but isn't contained within it. I digress.

And yes, again, you are right that there are no special exemptions, but the law and the implementation of the law aren't always the same. I had been involved in numerous cases where we tried to move on illegally camped travellers, only to be told by higher up to get a statement of complaint or an order for removal from the council before doing anything. You won't see that written down anywhere, but that was the process.

Ah, so it was anecdote and not legislation.

Thanks for clearing that up.
    The law applies equally to all- that it is not being implemented is the fault of those who administer the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

But here's the problem.

There is no opinions being expressed. It's just constant bile.

If you want actually opinions by all means have a discussion. Talk about problems and discuss solutions. This thread isn't that. In fact is it even a thread.

It shows how you view discourse if you trot out lines like safe space. Does it make you feel the big lad. Because there's a few big lads on here who are showing up the extent of their ability to have a discussion.

So go on tell us what's with the bile. Give us some actual opinion and if you want.. why not try give some solutions that's what we have boards for.

I wasn't going to respond to you but you claim my posts contain 'bile' . I believe my post count is roughly 120 so should be easy enough for you . Quote away.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

Hopefully as a result of this very "interesting Presidential" election the expenses associated with the Presidency are audited independently at the earliest opportunity.

Higgins promised that we would be given information regarding the expenses but someone completely independent should be examining the accounts to see are we getting value for money.

I also think the salary for the job should come to no more than 50,000 euros, this is more than enough for a not very taxing job which has free accomodation as a perk.

I think President Higgins should do his bit for the homeless and allow a traveller family move into his family home while he is comfortable in the Aras until 2025, would it accommodate Margaret Cash and her family. There must be many empty rooms in the Aras too that could surely accomodate single homeless men, President Higgins said he was going to do wonderful things in his next tenure so lets start with small steps first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

What posters. Everytime I've asked for solutions to issues people raise they literally change the goalposts

No solutions just bile.

There is no confirmation bias I'm reading all the posts.

Then they double down on the rethoric.

In fact it's usually everyone else's fault. That's what people void of solutions use as a stick.

Give us solutions so. Thanks.

Guessing none

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

tretorn wrote: »
    What is the current situation with the houses in Tipperary.

Are they ready to be occupied and lying there empty.

Would any insurance company insure them if they are unoccupied.

perhapse a FOI to tip county council would answer your question.
    Homeless my arse.

Hey out and pay your own way in life.

not viable for some for various reasons.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,624 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Ah, so it was anecdote and not legislation.

Thanks for clearing that up.
    The law applies equally to all- that it is not being implemented is the fault of those who administer the law.

I was giving my experience with it, call it anecdotal if you wish. Ever involved in the moving of travellers who were illegally camped?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

perhapse a FOI to tip county council would answer your question.

not viable for some for various reasons.

Still waiting for your link eotr.

Not trying to be condescending. I'm trying to comprehend why people are so negative. I couldn't fathom being that way.

Jesus it's like why bring the world down a few notches.

There's no need for it. So what is it that makes people do it.

We all have families would you want your kids going around with this sort of bile outlook on life

I wouldn't. No thanks which is why I question people on it. And why I respond to posters that subscribe to it.

If one person stops and says actually yeah he might have a point there's no need for this unadulterated anger at everything. Then I've at least impacted someone for a minute.

Have you any idea how much you project your anger ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

But here's the problem.

There is no opinions being expressed. It's just constant bile.

If you want actually opinions by all means have a discussion. Talk about problems and discuss solutions. This thread isn't that. In fact is it even a thread.

It shows how you view discourse if you trot out lines like safe space. Does it make you feel the big lad. Because there's a few big lads on here who are showing up the extent of their ability to have a discussion.

So go on tell us what's with the bile. Give us some actual opinion and if you want.. why not try give some solutions that's what we have boards for.

The lack of self awareness in this post is breathtaking, honestly.

Give us solutions so. Thanks.

Guessing none

Solutions to what specifically.

The only thing I've raised is that Casey was selling people air and that if they have problems with how he countries run then its better and more impactful to discuss with councillors and TDs.

So yeah I give solutions.

Over to you . And please not more rethoric we've enough if that.

Have you any idea how much you project your anger ?

Obviously I don't because I don't have anger.

I think your might confuse perplexing with anger.

Do you only reserve your discourse for minority groups or is everyone a target?

The Act disagrees with you.

He cannot hide behind 'it is just my opinion'.

You've a former serving Garda telling you that your claim is total and utter bollox and you still won't budge. Can't decide if you're arrogant or ignorant or both. The little sycophant who thanked it is somehow even worse! Deluded the pair of ya.

givyjoe wrote: »
    The lack of self awareness in this post is breathtaking, honestly.

Oh I'm very self aware .

Frankly it's one of the reasons I call out irrational people in the internet.

It really feels like alot of people on the thread would rather have minority groups wiped away than understand what's needed to help them get out of the cycle they are stuck in.

Imaginative

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

Oh I'm very self aware .

Frankly it's one of the reasons I call out irrational people in the internet.

It really feels like alot of people on the thread would rather have minority groups wiped away than understand what's needed to help them get out of the cycle they are stuck in.

Imaginative

So you admit they are stuck in a cycle?
    What would that be and why?

nullzero wrote: »
    Xenophobia is the correct term

xenophobia (noun)

Dislike of or prejudice against people from other countries.

Probably shouldn't have to point out why it's not xenophobia...

Btw that's Oxford Dictionary's definition so hopefully that's good enough for anybody that's looking to dispute.

Omackeral wrote: »
    You've a former serving Garda telling you that your claim is total and utter bollox and you still won't budge. Can't decide if you're arrogant or ignorant or both. The little sycophant who thanked it is somehow even worse! Deluded the pair of ya.

The former serving Garda came up rather short on his knowledge of the law. Did you miss that?

I was giving my experience with it, call it anecdotal if you wish. Ever involved in the moving of travellers who were illegally camped?

I was, as it happens, and that is why I, not a BA in Policing, know that there are no special provisions under the legislation for travellers.

But who else but travellers arrives on holidays somewhere without making provision for accommodation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

The former serving Garda came up rather short on his knowledge of the law. Did you miss that?

He was correct on procedure though. A direction is required to remove people camped on private land. The lack of consent has to be established.

tretorn wrote: »
    The travellers are supposed to go to Coolquay, The Ward

4k.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

no, no, casey's statement isn't valid. he stated that all travelers are illegally camping on other people's land
    if he had said "some travelers camp illegaly on land they don't own" then his statement would be valid because some do. however he didn't, ergo his statement is invalid..

I see the bots have been busy over night :):) have ye no lives ?

Did Casey not say Travellers camp illegally ? rather than All or Some ?

if so then your usual pedantic statement is ergo invalid :pac::pac:

If you disagree then i suggest you head down dunsink lane or labra park and have a look at the many illegal sites if you dare :D:D

Tis gas the lads here defending travellers and thier lifestyle letting on they have traveller gfs boyfriends or family members when in reality they have never come withing a slashhooks distance of a actually traveller

in reality the the overwhelming vast majority of travellers are involved to some degree and there is a tiny minority who are not. thier lifestyle (not culture ) is not compatible with being a law abiding citizen of any western country.

casey is a hypocrite who has never faced the valid problems with traveller criminality the raised and tuberty is a talent less spineless waste of a suit if hot a neck or chin who walked into the family business in rte and deserves no attention what so ever.

now bots do your worst :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭goat2

I am glad P Casey is entering politics, and I can see him getting in on first go, will be good for all

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

Klonker wrote: »
    I'm voting Renua in next General Election as long as they drop the anti abortion and they actually have a candidate in my constituency (Fingal). I can't vote for any of the main parties again.
    I voted Independent last time and Renua number 2. Neither got in but nearly 3 years later I am happy with my choice. I won't be taken in by any more lies and ****e from the main parties. My issue with Renua next time would be, they were disorganised last time, they seem to have even less organisation and members at the moment.

I think we may have better options though in the Local and European Elections. More chance for free speaking and less establishment stuff.
    The next election though is looking like more FF/FG. Probably why Casey is calling out Fianna Fail and saying he wants them to change.

Obviously I don't because I don't have anger.

I think your might confuse perplexing with anger.

Do you only reserve your discourse for minority groups or is everyone a target?

Discourse ? I’m not sure what you mean. I’ll discuss most things if they’re of interest..

If you mean do I reserve my disdain for travelers I’d probably have to say no.

I have equal disdain for all the wasters on dole / disability / fraudulent claims etc.

You know the type. Like to wear tracksuits and pyjamas, suffer from kleptomania and have an allergy to work.. travelers are, for the most part, included in that..

Of course there are decent travelers I just haven’t met any. And it goes without saying that I’ve no issue with people on any kind of welfare who genuinely need it.

As a nation we should look after our old, our young and and our sick.

Edward M wrote: »
    So you admit they are stuck in a cycle?
    What would that be and why?

Admit ?

Have you been following my posts.

Of course they are stuck in a cycle. They can't get employment because people already have bias against them this thread is evidence of it. They turn to criminality because of this. It's an easy transition from zero opportunities to criminality.

The cycle can only be breached through community lead local youth work. Which needs proper funding and not through funding spokes groups like pavee point.

People need to feel their life is worth something. Anyone of us who had that level of self worth would probably be in the same positions in life.

I wouldn't want to be identifiable once I opened my mouth and judged straight away.

How do you think we break this cycle ?

How in the name of God does Tubridy get to trouser almost 500,00 thousand a year.

This puts him on a par with medical consultants with years of specialist training behind them and jobs that carry huge personal responnsibility.

Tubridy was disgraceful last night, he is completely inane on both Radio and TV so who or what is his salary benchmarked against.

Discourse ? I’m not sure what you mean. I’ll discuss most things if they’re of interest..

If you mean do I reserve my disdain for travelers I’d probably have to say no.

I have equal disdain for all the wasters on dole / disability / fraudulent claims etc.

You know the type. Like to wear tracksuits and pyjamas, suffer from kleptomania and have an allergy to work.. travelers are, for the most part, included in that..

Of course there are decent travelers I just haven’t met any. And it goes without saying that I’ve no issue with people on any kind of welfare who genuinely need it.

As a nation we should look after our old, our young and and our sick.

Good

Then allow your posts to reflect your views more accurately because they have come across that way.

People need alot more clarity on their thoughts they come across as a machine gun of anger at everything and everyone.

So what are your solutions for welfare fraud and other points you noted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭MFPM

They have 0 TDs

Redmond is Independent , left Renua 2016.

You're quite right, I had forgotten that.