Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,221 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Dude I saw the effort you have gone to defend that lad that put the loaf of bread on his head, sad stuff. You a fan of SF? Not surprised you're raging at Casey terrible result for SF. As for belief, I'd say the cops were in fits laughing at your groups indignation about Casey.

SF were on a hiding to nothing from the moment they announced their candidate.

I said at the time she was the wrong candidate and I certainly wouldn't be voting for her.

Make of that what you will. You can probably spin it with another web of lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

:D:D
    You have no idea how the complaint was formulated or presented or what was cited.

We know you will never believe it was done. So what?

Of course if it makes you feel better I'll believe you. But the cops don't give a shiny one, they laughed at you and the rest of your group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Didn't watch it, knew it was going to be a hatchet job. Looking at Twitter this morning, WOW! RTE are getting hammered for it. Search #PeterCasey or #LateLate and you can barely find a thing that still goes against Casey.

The political media establishment are very, very, very worried. They are panicking.

i'm sure they are.

not!
    Omackeral wrote: »
    end of the road would be up in arms at that I'd say.

why would i? if it's warrented and within the rules then i'm not going to have a problem with it.
    The United Nations document. They're trying to centralize and make migration a human right. Link to the document:

https://refugeesmigrants.un.org/sites/default/files/180713_agreed_outcome_global_compact_for_migration.pdf

International cooperation: The Global Compact is a non-legally binding cooperative framework that recognizes that no State can address migration on its own due to the inherently transnational nature of the phenomenon. It requires international, regional and bilateral cooperation and dialogue. Its authority rests on its consensual nature, credibility, collective
    ownership, joint implementation, follow-up and review.

National sovereignty: The Global Compact reaffirms the sovereign right of States to determine their national migration policy and their prerogative to govern migration within their jurisdiction, in conformity with international law. Within their sovereign jurisdiction, States may distinguish between regular and irregular migration status, including as they determine their legislative and policy measures for the implementation of the Global Compact, taking into account different national realities, policies, priorities and requirements for entry, residence and work, in accordance with international law.

People like Mary Robinson are moving towards centralizing the movement of people across different countries. So when I say, open borders and globalism, that is completely true.

the words "non-legally binding cooperative framework" say it all. it means countries don't have to sign up to it. therefore whatever the UN wishes to do, is only a wish.
    I think everyone agrees that Casey himself isn't an impressive political candidate and that the protest vote for him wasn't going to unseat Michael D. He was a shoe-in and was always going to be. What he has done, though, is put a crack in the wall of consensus around the travelling community. That they're all grand lads and lassies, nothing to see here, move along. Last night's Late Late was yet another attempt to shut down the dissenting voices.

I hope this isn't going to go away because the existing policies in this country have given us the travelling community as they are today. People who operate outside the law and face no consequences for their actions.

well no, he actually hasn't done any such thing, as nobody ever said all travelers are grand.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

SF were on a hiding to nothing from the moment they announced their candidate.

I said at the time she was the wrong candidate and I certainly wouldn't be voting for her.

Make of that what you will. You can probably spin it with another web of lies.

What web of lies dude? You claim Casey is racist and engaged in hate speech when asked to back it up you disappear or deflect. A tactic you use constantly. Anyway you're back to being tedious i'm bored.
    I will leave you with this though. Casey was never going to get elected the vast majority who voted for him knew this, he highlighted something that resonates with people right across the social/ political spectrum. He shown a light where certain members of society don't want a light shown. Your dismissive attitude and behaviour towards people with a differing opinion to you is amusing. Keep up the good work for SF.

Hate speech is speech that attacks a person or group on the basis of attributes such as race, religion, ethnic origin, national origin, sex, disability, sexual orientation, or gender identity.

The very definition of what Casey did.

''Attacks''. Would ya go on out of that. He made an observation when asked a question, even if it was generalised or indeed incorrect. Anyway, here's what he said which goes against what you're claiming. For the 403rd time, I give you the man's hate filled words;

''Everyone should be treated equally and the State should not discriminate against anybody.''

-Peter Casey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

I never called him a 'rascist'. So you can forget that one.

And I said that generalised comments about a community is 'hate speech' imo.

Ah well, that's your opinion, interesting article here from a few years ago.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/viewpoints/analysis/laws-against-hate-speech-muzzles-freedom-of-expression-366836.html

Blaaz wrote: »
    Why are you saying gaurds shouldn't investigate complaints??

They should investigate every complaint no matter how spurious and not laugh at people...what's point in having a police force if you'll just want them to ignore complaints from those you disagree with

I didn't say that at all. I used the words straight away for a reason. It's hardly on the upper scale of criminal enterprise is it? I'm sure they filled out the necessary paperwork though and definitely didn't think it was a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,560 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Find me one post where I called Casey a 'racist' or withdraw the accusation. You seem very ready to lie.

We (the group that made the complaint) received a call from the Gardai to say they are investigating the complaint.
    Rather than expect anything to be done, it was more important to log the complaint.

The guards are probably still rolling on the ground laughing.
    You keep giving Francie. Hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

''Attacks''. Would ya go on out of that. He made an observation when asked a question, even if it was generalised or indeed incorrect. Anyway, here's what he said which goes against what you're claiming. For the 403rd time, I give you the man's hate filled words;

''Everyone should be treated equally and the State should not discriminate against anybody.''

-Peter Casey

I think at this stage what he actually said doesn't matter to people, just what they can be offended at

i'm sure they are.

not!

Sick banter bro, really caught me with that NOT at the end!

The guards are probably still rolling on the ground laughing.
    You keep giving Francie. Hilarious.

It's ''the group'' I find funniest. Who else would be in that? Maybe his Mam to humour him, a John Connors fan and then one or two from here perhaps :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,141 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It doesn't matter that Casey is unpolished in media performances, because that is what they are, performances. It is his message however garbled that is important. People have been silenced up to his arrival on the scene, now they feel they may after all have a voice at last.

The fact that he was a bit muddled was kinda fun, and I reckon he is winding up everyone with talk of the P Park, joining FF and becoming Teeshock and so on, but his primary message still stands. Travellers are NOT a different race, they are Irish with an often nasty sub culture, but that is all.

In fact by gaining ethnic status Travellers have further corralled themselves into a corner with labels galore. At the end of the day they are Irish and really should abide by the rules that all the rest of us have to observe day in day out.

Casey is also a champion for those out working paying into the SW fund. Pensioners Disabled and Carers excepted, most people working are fed up of the long term unemployed cohort who appear to have everything handed to them, whilst those out working and paying for it get absolutely nothing apart from Child Benefit and an under six MC.

Think about the equality there. Or lack thereof. That is the message I am getting from Casey anyway. About bloody time too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,311 ✭✭✭MFPM

tretorn wrote: »
    Mass immigration of people who dont belong in a western democracy where everyone has equal rights is doomed to fail. These people dont belong here and will never belong here while they hang onto their feudal beliefs and way of life.

Look at France and see what has happened there, look at Germany and envisage what it will be like in ten years. Look at the Netherlands where Muslims are becoming very strident and causing even this most liberal of all countries to move to the right.Look at Sweden, the same effect there.

Do we really want all these problems in twenty years time.

At least you don't aim your bigotry just at Travellers....Interesting findings to contradict your nonsense here....

% of people who would be willing to have Muslims or Jews in your family..

Netherlands right at the top of the Tree - 88% Muslims - 96% Jews
    Germany - 55%- 69%
    Sweden - 81% - 92%

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/religion-and-beliefs/stark-east-west-european-differences-on-attitudes-religion-and-identity-1.3680854

What web of lies dude? You claim Casey is racist and engaged in hate speech when asked to back it up you disappear or deflect. A tactic you use constantly. Anyway you're back to being tedious i'm bored.

I know you guys have difficulty comprehending stuff, so i will leave this here again. It is more than adequately explained here that what Casey engaged in was 'hate speech'. Read it slowly.
    Hate speech is speech that attacks a person or group on the basis of attributes such as race, religion, ethnic origin, national origin, sex, disability, sexual orientation, or gender identity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭shady acres

It's ''the group'' I find funniest. Who else would be in that? Maybe his Mam to humour him, a John Connors fan and then one or two from here perhaps :P

it's not funny at all
    they have their best detectives on the case

-Peter Casey

Why are you so huffy about it being called 'hate speech'?

You hate travellers, man up and say it. There is no redemption for them in any of the ranting on here that I can see.

I know you guys have difficulty comprehending stuff. Read it slowly.

Do you find replies like this make people more willing to take you seriously?
    All I can see is someone who has zero respect for anyone that has a different opinion than themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,311 ✭✭✭MFPM

He identifies as centre left.
    He believes in all people being equal.
    He is Anti Establishment....you know...like what Sinn Fein were trying to be before they got all woke in a spectacular misjudgment as typified by their own campaign.

All the vitriol and hyperbole in the world won't change Peter Caseys result and Sinn Feins result.

He did in 2 weeks what Sinn Fein have been trying to do for decades.
    He identifies as centre left.
    He believes in all people being equal.

So what, Bertie Ahearn identified as a Socialist, Paschal Donohoe claims to be centrist yet is clearly neoliberal in thought and practice.

He clearly doesn't believe in equality if he did he wouldn't have identified to sets of broadly vulnerable people in order to boost a sinking election campaign.

If he's so concerned about 'welfare' why didn't he call out corporate welfare, the tax incentives for REITs etc....he's a charlatan and a particularly incoherent one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,865 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Why are you so huffy about it being called 'hate speech'?

You hate travellers, man up and say it. There is no redemption for them in any of the ranting on here that I can see.

Are you sure it isn't a "micro aggression"?

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Just watched the interview for the first time there..

The traveler lady in the middle looked constantly confused bless her..

I hope she’s figure out whatever was puzzling her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    What? Lost an election by the greatest margin in the Republic’s 97 year history?

I love this.
    On the one hand, and not you in particular Seathrun66, ridiculing Casey and his voters, talking about how little of the electorate actually voted for him because of the low turnout. But then in the next breath, talk about this magnificent win by Michael D., and a win by such an historic margin!
    It doesn't add up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,865 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Rennaws wrote: »
    Just watched the interview for the first time there..

The traveler lady in the middle looked constantly confused bless her..

I hope she’s figure out whatever was puzzling her.

She's trying to figure out what her culture is.

Glazers Out!

I love this.
    On the one hand, and not you in particular Seathrun66, ridiculing Casey and his voters, talking about how little of the electorate actually voted for him because of the low turnout. But then in the next breath, talk about this magnificent win by Michael D., and a win by such an historic margin!
    It doesn't add up!

I believe it was the worst turnout for a presidential election. I guess they are basing it on percentage as opposed to number of voters for MDH. Sure everything can be made look better with percentages.

Well from looking at some rather disturbing videos on this and other threads, together with last night's contribution from Pavee Point, I can say with some certainty that there is nothing wrong with their shouty mouthy voices anyway, usually just repeating the same shyte over and over again with nothing useful to say.

Bullies often do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

He did in 2 weeks what Sinn Fein have been trying to do for decades.

So true..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

I know you guys have difficulty comprehending stuff, so i will leave this here again. It is more than adequately explained here that what Casey engaged in was 'hate speech'. Read it slowly.

Is that the Wikipedia definition?

Blaaz wrote: »

Wouldn't suprise me tbh...the gaurds are usually just trash people.anyway

Good afternoon Mr Connors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Idbatterim wrote: »
    “You'd have us living in a backwater. Your devisive comments are as transparent as the solutions you offer for the gripes you come up with.” We live in a backwater. Boil motives, raw sewage discharged into the sea, joke infrastructure , housing crisis. A justice system that can’t lock anyone up! Lol! All areas that needed / need more investment, we do however have one world class area, the welfare spend.

Fair play to Casey for calling it as it is. But you need someone in there very articulate and with some nous, if this whole rotten to the core state , is to be taken to task ...

casey had no solutions for the couple of issues he mentioned. he was unable to answer any of the questions put to him in relation to the couple of issues he mentioned, and the mostly opinion only other statements.
    Idbatterim wrote: »
    Leo the liar must have been on the red line to his propaganda mates in RTÉ, telling them to try and bury Casey! Probably told them there’ll be a license fee hike forthcoming if they do a good job!

LOL. he was yeah.
    It must hurt that this has taken all the spotlight away from Sinn Féin, eh?

no, because sf have way more political potential then the likes of casey ever will. a lot of the stuff thrown at sf are allegations whereas what is being said in opposition to casey is accurate, as shown by casey himself even if he doesn't realise it.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Do you find replies like this make people more willing to take you seriously?
    All I can see is someone who has zero respect for anyone that has a different opinion than themselves.

Poster has to be in the media, or the Establishment somewhere. That's what they are doing and have been doing for a long time.

They are bricking it now a bit I think. And hopefully the steam won't go out of this. Sadly if the media give Casey no traction at all it will be a hard road for him and those of us who would dearly love to have our voices heard at last.

I am not one for conspiracy theories, but honestly I am baffled at the fact that Casey is the ONLY ONE who has put his head above the parapet. And look what happened. Democracy how are ya.

That's a bit of a concern.

no, because sf have way more political potential then the likes of casey ever will. a lot of the stuff thrown at sf are allegations whereas what is being said in opposition to casey is accurate, as shown by casey himself even if he doesn't realise it.
    There is no way you wrote this with a straight face.