Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,243 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

He identifies as centre left.
    He believes in all people being equal.
    He is Anti Establishment....you know...like what Sinn Fein were trying to be before they got all woke in a spectacular misjudgment as typified by their own campaign.

All the vitriol and hyperbole in the world won't change Peter Caseys result and Sinn Feins result.

He did in 2 weeks what Sinn Fein have been trying to do for decades.

So what? What has SF got to do with Casey?

I don't want to change Casey's result. I am delighted that the 23% of people who have prejudices are now out in the open.
    They have always been there and available for any egotist who cannot find a party to take him to exploit.
    The joke is on those on this bandwagon.

To my dying day I will have respect for those in the campaign who didn't follow him into cheap rabblerousing.

If you think that a typo is ironic you're obviously triggered that you fall into the thick as a ditch category, unless you genuinely believe someone who can operate a smart phone can't spell thick, in which case you're probably not self aware enough to have been triggered.

You sound triggered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,538 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

So Tubridy is nice to the globalist, open borders hack who wants everyone vegan and who has never worked in her life; a complete intellectual charlatan for a group of people that don't have Irish interests in mind, yet he tries to play the tough lad on Casey?

she has never worked in her life? are you sure about that? hasn't she been working to implement human rights all over the world for years.

Casey came out of that mess well.

He's doing what Trump does in relation to media:

1: Say something true or what is seen to be true in a hilarious way.
    2: Get the left/the media to freak the fùck out over it.
    3: Hold your position, let them make an arse of themselves, and let people see how much of a freak these people are.
    4: More people come over to your position/agree with you.

and he has failed at it all.

Case in point:

https://twitter.com/Donal_OKeeffe/status/1058505518854094848

He will gain in popularity after this and if he follows the above pattern, he'll do even better.

80% of the population voting for other candidates in the presidential election suggests to me at least, that this is unlikely.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    How can the Travellers be both ‘untouchable ‘ and the highest per capita population in prison.

Contradictory, no?

It's like them bloody immigrants. Simultaneously not working yet somehow taking our jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Jesus, it's like being in a school debate. :rolleyes:

Hit the ignore button if you wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,224 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

He identifies as centre left.
    He believes in all people being equal.
    He is Anti Establishment....you know...like what Sinn Fein were trying to be before they got all woke in a spectacular misjudgment as typified by their own campaign.

All the vitriol and hyperbole in the world won't change Peter Caseys result and Sinn Feins result.

He did in 2 weeks what Sinn Fein have been trying to do for decades.

His big idea is to run the country as if it was a company. Is that centre left?

His handlers might advise him to get some new anecdotes. The 80 year old woman waiting for a hip replacement and the student having to travel 90 minutes to university have been wheeled out too often. I wonder what business model would give the student affordable accommodation near to UCD.

You did, you also prior to the election stated you would like to see Casey in prison. Again you can't back up your claims of hate speech. Nothing more than your opinion.

Show me where I called him a 'racist' then. (cue: more rants about me being tiresome and a huffy exit no doubt)

I do think those who indulge in hate speech should go to prison. That is my opinion too.

You are just giving an 'opinion' even though you seem to be carried away on delusions of it being some sort of creed or truth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

Oddly enough I seem to recall the Shinners weren't cheerleading Tubridy and RTE when he tried to ambush and corner Gerry Adams. Tubs also failed in that attempt. Tubridy is not able to take people down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,068 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

So what? What has SF got to do with Casey?

I don't want to change Casey's result. I am delighted that the 23% of people who have prejudices are now out in the open.
    They have always been there and available for any egotist who cannot find a party to take him to exploit.
    The joke is on those on this bandwagon.

To my dying day I will have respect for those in the campaign who didn't follow him into cheap rabblerousing.

His vote tended to come mostly from SF and FF voters, reflecting the strong rural working-class support of both.

Oddly enough I seem to recall the Shinners weren't cheerleading Tubridy and RTE when he tried to ambush and corner Gerry Adams. Tubs also failed in that attempt. Tubridy is not able to take people down.

Who is cheerleading Tubridy?
    Tubridy just did what he does most weeks.

I do think those who indulge in hate speech should go to prison. That is my opinion too.

Kill all Travellers. - Hate speech.

Travellers camp on other people's land. - Not hate speech. That might be a generalisation but it's not enough to land you in prison and if it was, the walls would be bursting at the seams.

Danzy wrote: »
    His vote tended to come mostly from SF and FF voters, reflecting the strong rural working-class support of both.

And neither party want him or those who would vote for him I would imagine.

If they did you would hear FF and SF politicians spouting the same hate speech and generalising that he does.

Show me where I called him a 'racist' then. (cue: more rants about me being tiresome and a huffy exit no doubt)

You are just giving an 'opinion' even though you seem to be carried away on delusions of it being some sort of creed or truth.
    You have circa 700 posts on this thread alone, you think I'm going to pick out every post where you described Casey as racist not happening. How did the guards deal with your compliant about Casey? Has he a court date yet?

Omackeral wrote: »
    Kill all Travellers. - Hate speech.

Travellers 'are just' camp on other people's land. - Not hate speech.

In your opinion, it isn't - if it is a 'generalisation'(which it was) then it is done to exploit prejudice and hate that he knew exists = hate speech.

If they did you would hear FF and SF politicians spouting the same hate speech and generalising that he does.
    Peter Casey obliterated the Sinn Fein candidate even in border areas. I'm not surprised you are so worried.

In fairness Tubs should have asked Sinn Fein for advice. Lots of ambush experience with those lads.

Few weasely words here;
    What Casey said was racial disrimination, what a lot of his supporters said was racist.

Racist comment no longer confines itself to race, ethnicity is also factored in.

You or I do not get to define ethnicity, we give our legislators that power.

More or less saying it here too with a crap joke that fell flat.
    I see the guy on the Ryanair flight says he 'is not racist'.

Can he be our next Prez? Get your bets on now! Just sayin.

You have circa 700 posts on this thread alone, you think I'm going to pick out every post where you described Casey as racist not happening. How did the guards deal with your compliant about Casey? Has he a court date yet?

Find me one post where I called Casey a 'racist' or withdraw the accusation. You seem very ready to lie.

We (the group that made the complaint) received a call from the Gardai to say they are investigating the complaint.
    Rather than expect anything to be done, it was more important to log the complaint.

In your opinion, it isn't - if it is a 'generalisation'(which it was) then it is done to exploit prejudice and hate that he knew exists = hate speech.

Well yeah... and the whole fact that it's not hate speech.

We (the group that made the complaint) received a call from the Gardai to say they are investigating the complaint.
    Rather than expect anything to be done, it was more important to log the complaint.

Ah, you probably get the concept of the protest vote so. Good stuff. I'd say the coppers filed that one straight away for you and ''your group'' and definitely didn't laugh their holes off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,068 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

It also reflected a class divide between bith parties and the Working Class.

That is a concern for both long term, regardless of Casey or his views.

Find me one post where I called Casey a 'racist' or withdraw the accusation. You seem very ready to lie.

Not withdrawing anything dude, so you're part of a group complaint Pavee Point prehaps?
    I totally believe they rang you back. lol

Few weasely words here;

More or less saying it here too with a crap joke that fell flat.

Racial Discrimination is recognised as an offence against ethnicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,624 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

In your opinion it is. Would it not be a fact that his comments resonated with over 340k people in Ireland? Are you denying that Travellers are involved in crime? Their population to prison population ratio would indicate they are more likely to commit crime. Hate Speech is illegal, and rightly so, but he's not telling people what to believe, he made a comment which in itself is not racist. If he was telling everything that this is what they should believe, yes, that's hate speech, but he answered a question honestly with his own opinion, one which a lot of people agree with.

And I don't agree with comments like them not having options due to x, y or z. They don't have options because they don't want them. In my experience that is, again both professional and personal.

No doubt there are some fine Travellers out there who integrate with society and are trying to better themselves, but we won't see the effects of that for years to come. But you have to admit there is still a large volume of Travellers who don't want to integrate because it's more lucrative to be a criminal.

Casey may not be the spokesperson we need to get the views of the working class across, but he's the only one with balls to make these comments which do reflect the views of quite a lot of people in Ireland. And he's right. Pulling up on the side of the road or camping on peoples property is just that, and it's illegal, but it's allowed because of this protected status. You or I wouldn't get away with it.

And on the topic of sweeping generalisations, wouldn't calling everyone who voted for Casey bigoted or racist be the same? Maybe people don't agree with everything he's said and instead voted for him because everyone else didn't have anything to agree with?

Well yeah... and the whole fact that it's not hate speech.
    Hate speech is speech that attacks a person or group on the basis of attributes such as race, religion, ethnic origin, national origin, sex, disability, sexual orientation, or gender identity.

The very definition of what Casey did.

Not withdrawing anything dude, so you're part of a group complaint Pavee Point prehaps?
    I totally believe they rang you back. lol

You think I expected you to 'believe me'?? :D:D:D:D

In fairness Tubs should have asked Sinn Fein for advice. Lots of ambush experience with those lads.
    Indeed. They were well able to ambush poor Paul Quinn and proceeded to break every bone in his body and beat him to death. Nobody ever convicted and his poor parents broken hearted, they see his killers every day in the local village.

The Sinn Fein "equality" agenda in action. Many of those involved in that evil are still high up in Sinn Fein. So they can spare us the woe is me act. You would think butter wouldn't melt listening to them....:rolleyes:

I can tell you for a fact they don't Investigate bs based on nothing but someone's opinion .

You think I expected you to 'believe me'?? :D:D:D:D

Dude I saw the effort you have gone to defend that lad that put the loaf of bread on his head, sad stuff. You a fan of SF? Not surprised you're raging at Casey terrible result for SF. As for belief, I'd say the cops were in fits laughing at your groups indignation about Casey.

I can tell you for a fact they don't Investigate bs based on nothing but someone's opinion .

:D:D
    You have no idea how the complaint was formulated or presented or what was cited.

We know you will never believe it was done. So what?