Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Satanist

How come, out of over 300k so few are willing to stand up and speak publically?

Official Ireland only deems RTE, The Irish Times, and a few carefully selected others as being worthy of that voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

can we all just agree on one thing

tubs is a bellend

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

Anyone catch Tubridy try to threaten and intimidate Casey??

"if I lose control, you'll know about it."

What a statement from TV host to his guest. Twitter caught wind of it anyway, Tubridy making a fool of himself again acting the hardman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

How come, out of over 300k so few are willing to stand up and speak publically?

Because most people don’t have a national platform. Obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Felt for Casey. He had tubs interrupting him every moment to break his stride. Also the plants in the crowd. He was getting rushed and interupted. Yet stood his ground on his comments. I'd like to see him as taosiach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,242 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

You are defending the travellers constantly.

Fine - that's your issue.

I want to know now what you say to the many terrified elderly people down the country tonight (never mind the middle aged) that are in their own homes frightened they will be broken it to, beaten up, robbed or killed while you and people like you constantly defend this group.

Tell us what you have to say to them?

You like coming across all morally righteous.

I know where my morals and sympathy lie - and it's not with the perpetrators.

Not once did I defend anyone who preys on the vulnerable. Not once. And your desperation to see me as a defender of that speaks volumes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭shady acres

the ethnic status of travelers isn't going to change. they are an ethnic minority. no amount of nashing of teeth and pounding the keyboard will change that.

wrong
    my gf is a traveller
    are you saying she is different to me,

don't be afraid to answer i'm here all night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Not once did I defend anyone who preys on the vulnerable. Not once. And your desperation to see me as a defender of that speaks volumes.

So do you condem those gangs that attack elderly isolated people?

What a statement from TV host to his guest. Twitter caught wind of it anyway, Tubridy making a fool of himself again acting the hardman.

Tubridy couldn't disguise his contempt, which undermined the credibility of the interview. Casey was up against it, and coped admirably in the face of open hostility from presenter & audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Actually, in the context of that interview, he said that because he had lost control, while Casey was never a slick salesman, he handled himself impressively.

Now, I say impressively, he clearly isn't part of the well oiled PR/Comminications Clinic type Irish politician with the matching PR/Communications Clinic questions, but nonetheless, if I'm honest I wouldn't have been able to handle that pressure with as much dignity as Casey did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,323 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

You can't bring yourself to criticise the group mostly responsible.

Now is your chance. Address it to the travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Felt for Casey. He had tubs interrupting him every moment to break his stride. Also the plants in the crowd. He was getting rushed and interupted. Yet stood his ground on his comments. I'd like to see him as taosiach

The problem with interviewing Casey is that he doesn't finish any of his sentences so its hard to figure out what the hell he is trying to say.

Actually, in the context of that interview, he said that because he had lost control, while Casey was never a slick salesman, he handled himself impressively.

Now, I say impressively, he clearly isn't part of the well oiled PR/Comminications Clinic type Irish politician with the matching PR/Communications Clinic questions, but nonetheless, if I'm honest I wouldn't have been able to handle that pressure with as much dignity as Casey did.

I'd probably referred to the people in the audience as bowzeys when they kept shouting across me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,778 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »

People invited along to ask questions. For balance given what Casey has stirred up. And not at all unusual for the programme.

He was interrupted as he wouldn't give answers. No idea what welfare he would cut as promised. He actually said he'd increase pensions and has no idea what he's doing. No idea whether he'd start a party or whether Fianna Fail would let him in (answer - they won't and have already said so). No idea which councils nominated him and where he'd stand. In fact he may put himself up in four constituencies (pretty sure that's illegal) and some other incoherent nonsense.

As an interviewer when you have a shambolic brain fighting to work in front of you it's best just to give up. Tubridy did well to persevere.

I think he done well, I wouldn't have been able to handle it either. Very few people would have. He's not even a good speaker and still done okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Shame on Turbidy, RTE and the Travellers.

Peter Casey GOAT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Yup. He wouldn't say that to 'darling' John Connors.

I'll agree with you there.

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    People invited along to ask questions. For balance given what Casey has stirred up. And not at all unusual for the programme.

He was interrupted as he wouldn't give answers. No idea what welfare he would cut as promised. He actually said he'd increase pensions and has no idea what he's doing. No idea whether he'd start a party or whether Fianna Fail would let him in (answer - they won't and have already said so). No idea which councils nominated him and where he'd stand. In fact he may put himself up in four constituencies (pretty sure that's illegal) and some other incoherent nonsense.

As an interviewer when you have a shambolic brain fighting to work in front of you it's best just to give up. Tubridy did well to persevere.

Well it was hostile and tubs wasn't in control

You can't bring yourself to criticise the group mostly responsible.

Now is your chance. Address it to the travellers.

How many times do you need me to say, 'the traveller community' have issues?

Casey and his idiotic ramblings isn't going to make people safer in their beds. All Casey will do is ignite.

When Ryan Tubridy (nice and all as he seems) becomes a moral and social vocal mouthpiece for the average Joe Soap I die a little inside.

don't worry everybody is disgusted by him

Yup. He wouldn't say that to 'darling' John Connors.

I'll agree with you there.
    Lets not forget John Connors was given free reign by Tubridy to call Gardai scum on national TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I have to watch it back, did Tubridy slip in a veiled threat to Casey? He said to him you will know if I am losing it!
    Jesus Christ, how can someone pretend to conduct a normal interview when they have that under their bonnet.
    I have never seen someone interview someone like that. What a disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,338 ✭✭✭✭jm08

wrong
    my gf is a traveller
    are you saying she is different to me,

don't be afraid to answer i'm here all night

Being a traveller and being Irish are not mutually exclusive. From what I understand people assumed their origins were from the time of the famine which isn't actually correct and they have spent the last 30 years trying to correct that piece of misinformation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,323 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

How many times do you need me to say, 'the traveller community' have issues?

Finally.

This is progress.

And who are responsible for these "issues" (what a polite way to describe theft, extortion, 'hidings' and tax evasion btw)?

Tubridy couldn't disguise his contempt, which undermined the credibility of the interview. Casey was up against it, and coped admirably in the face of open hostility from presenter & audience.

alpha male casey made his money by hard graft
    beta male tubridy robbed his money from the irish citizens through threat of imprisonment

pay your rte tubridy and darcy licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

RTE were looking for a real hatchet job there. Tubridy was really poor tonight. He lacks that killer instinct in interviews. Whomever he is quizzing.

Gaybo could have gotten Casey to drive a juggernaut into a wall without him noticing. Ryan didn’t even try give him enough rope. He panicked and almost asked him to please put it around his neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,778 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

I can only assume that anyone impressed by Casey tonight has dipped into the sherry cabinet. But hey, it takes all sorts.
    Am signing off, enjoy your weekends.

I have to watch it back, did Tubridy slip in a veiled threat to Casey? He said to him you will know if I am losing it!
    Jesus Christ, how can someone pretend to conduct a normal interview when they have that under their bonnet.

Casey tried to get him to shut down the girl in the audience, by telling him 'he was losing it', I'm no fan of Tubridy but I'd have told Casey the exact same thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Seriously what would he do, fire one of his jelly beans at him?

The weird thing is that David McWilliams was on shortly before, basically saying that society is going to **** because it's being run in a unsustainable way that is forcing the working men and women to carry the can for everything. Obviously the traveller "issue" wasn't part of it but there were many parallels that could be drawn between the two guests. Tubridy is incapable of seeing this, or is unwilling to see it.

nobody cares about david mcwilliams
    WE WANT CASEY