Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,242 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Not really a fan of Casey but this is a little bit of a setup.

In general, the whole traveller debate in Ireland is crying out for a reasoned debate about the glaring disproportionate social issues in the travelling community, the bogus ethnic designation and how the avoidance of said honest discussion actually condemns future traveller generations to a future of social issues and marginalization

As it stands though, the debate is colonized by the familiar political extremes.

It isn't going to be sorted on prime time chat shows nor by this idiot. I have never called a politician an 'idiot' btw. It's a first for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Tubridy out of order here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

He just waffled ffs. Jesus, do 23% want this man running a country?

TBH, I agree with you Francie. He is waffling.

Fair play to him though for highlighting important issues though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Ryan is an absolute arse altogether. He thinks he is making a fool out of Casey but it's just not working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭leestone

Well done time to put the light on this “minority” and show them for the bull they spout
    Travelers contribute nothing to this country in any form expect take take take and play the victim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

It isn't going to be sorted on prime time chat shows nor by this idiot. I have never called a politician an 'idiot' btw. It's a first for me.

I'd agree, as a left leaning Liberal that I don't particularly like him but he's the wrong person making some valid points in the wrong way if that makes sense.

Ryan is an absolute arse altogether. He thinks he is making a fool out of Casey but it's just not working.

Tubridy had great help tonight. I cannot believe this guy has any credibility left tbh.

He just waffled ffs. Jesus, do 23% want this man running a country?

No. We want respect from our fellow citizens. We want our fellow citizens to contribute to the running of our country. We want all citizens held accountable for their situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

People were so desperate to have something done about travellers they would have voted for anyone who queried the ethnic status.
    That’s the reality that needs to be faced up to.
    And putting a traveller ucd graduate working in Pavee point isn’t going to change things.
    I wonder how many travellers are employed in Pavee point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,603 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

He doesnt know which councils nominated him!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭dense

Poor Tubs, he loves travellers and the Clintons but despises Casey.

Soft boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,072 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

Jesus that was way worse a set up that I could have imagined.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

RTE impartial and balanced in carefully hand-picking two university educated travellers, which is completely unreflective of vast majority.

And they could barely string a sentence together. What are the uneducated ones like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,536 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Have we ever seen such a loaded interview in all the years of watching this f##ked up, nepotist ridden, insular, waste of taxpayers cash, embarrassment of a State Broadcaster than this!!!! When you consider that this show has interviewed some shower of gangsters over the years!!!

I'd agree, as a left leaning Liberal that I don't particularly like him but he's the wrong person making some valid points in the wrong way if that makes sense.

No problem saying the issues need to be talked about. But this guy is just divisive, ignorant, self aggrandising and short of several marbles tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

This guy is a clown.

Hard to believe so many people fell for it.

Interview with Casey was a sham and farce, thankfully it all backfired on Tubs and his audience plants.

Jesus that was way worse a set up that I could have imagined.

I'd love to know how many questions he fired at Casey versus every other guest or even politician he has interviewed.

He's all Gay Byrne interviewing Annie Murphy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭shady acres

tubridy 0 1 casey

Phoebas wrote: »
    This guy is a clown.

He was hired by RTE, we'd no choice in the matter!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Casey is being gifted open goals here but he doesn't even realise he's in a game.

He should have, very legitimately, played up his hometown when talking about racism and discrimination. How about reminding the establishment audience that his fellow Derrymen were systematically and brutally murdered, oppressed and pissed upon by
    another establishment... that's not a million miles from the one he faces now?

He's well travelled, he probably knows well how aboriginals in Australia were treated, the way things went in America over the years, as real discrimination. A couple of handpicked students in the audience is all he's up against here. And he struggles.

Tubridy asked about cuts... How about the working families of Ireland not being forced to pay for RTE under threat of prison?

I don't mind Peter Casey, he injected a bit of an anti- establishment shot into the farce that is the presidential race but if he had any notions, he's sadly lacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,893 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I haven't seen this but I take it we'll see articles in the paper saying viewers praise Ryan for his interview and include a few Tweets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Phoebas wrote: »
    This guy is a clown.

Nobody cares that he's a clown, and people didn't fall for anything. He had no great plan.

He made a statement and didn't back down against the outraged leftist mob. That's why people voted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Have to laugh at Tubridy with his hard man with the tough questions act. Backfired hugely.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

Well we were right total ambush by Tub and RTE, not sure how that worked for them thought Peter done okay considering he had a load of travellers roaring abuse at him.

Have to laugh at Tubridy with his hard man with the tough questions act. Backfired hugely.

Casey: Have you lost control of this?
    Turbidy: You'd know if I'd lost control.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 163 ✭✭shady acres

peter casey is as honest as the day is long

tubridy should be locked up in a mental asylum,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Ryan has the audacity to rib Casey on tax when his own lilly livered gombeen self availed of the artist's exemption for his JFK book. If I was Casey I'd have done my research and ripped him a new arsehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,068 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

No problem saying the issues need to be talked about. But this guy is just divisive, ignorant, self aggrandising and short of several marbles tbh.

Is he joining Labour 😉