Throw away the key

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    The poor young girl it's horrendous for her . And he should have got more time for the trauma he caused her father . Imagine hearing your daughter on the phone fleeing for her life and he is in Spain
    My heart goes out to her and her family and this guy will do this again if he is released .

Your heart,along with the hearts of most reasonable people who have followed this case,and the other activities of the convict...however,the one person who most certainly avoided any possibility of recognising the presence of a heart,decided to play safe when sentencing...keep the oul Judicial Boat stable...steady as she goes.

Fiat Justicia,eruat caelum or somesuch sturdy motto...this innocent Spanish family's heavens did indeed fall,but Irish "Justice" has prevailed...we can all be proud :mad:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,295 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Being shot would be an early release for such a c unt

He should be made do hard Labour in prison every day until he dies

Lights on half 3am
    Work from 4am 11.3pm each day
    Hard Labour-something monotonous but useful

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

How much would it cost to have him tortured and slowly killed in prison , just wondering now there's a GoFund me page Id contribute too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,616 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

Does anyone know the reason dangerous criminals like this guy and larry murphy do a handful of years in prison while countries like the USA will imprison these pieces of $hit for a long time?

im pretty sure the majority of the Irish population would be in favor of 30 year sentences for people like that.

is it lack of prison space or what?

pgj2015 wrote: »
    Does anyone know the reason dangerous criminals like this guy and larry murphy do a handful of years in prison while countries like the USA will imprison these pieces of $hit for a long time?

im pretty sure the majority of the Irish population would be in favor of 30 year sentences for people like that.

Judge Martin Nolan and arseholes Like him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

M.Cribben wrote: »
    How soon could he be released? 1/3 off 14 years if he behaves himself in jail = between 9 and 10 years imprisonment. Could be out before he's 35. He's lived most of his life in foster homes, institutions, and homelessness. Jail isn't exactly going to scare or rehabilitate him. Then what happens after his 3 years supervision?

He’ll never get 1/3 off his sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Chop his dick off!!

Will probably have his own guard, or put in solitary for his own safety, or safety from others.

:(

To the Spainish Students, we are not all like this cowardly bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,917 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Seriously do not understand how a judge can say the guy is basically a nut case and will never change then hands out a sentence that will likely have him out doing exactly the same thing in a lot less years than the sentence
    This was a brutal attack, rape is bad enough but he went way beyond that. Nobody but a mentally unstable or psychopathic person could do what he did

Should be sentenced for life.
    Curious how a doctor found him sane after a request from his brother.

Roll on a decade (or less) and this guy will be back in court after actually killing someone. Happened too many times already in cases like this.
    The guy was not right from when he was a kid - to hell with a bad childhood.

We have to feed & water this CNUT for the next 14 years, leave him his belt and laces when you put him in the cell lads and make sure the fixings on the light fitting are sturdy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 112 ✭✭Jameswhalley

pgj2015 wrote: »

American policy is to build the prison spaces and put them away for a long time

He'd be serving 30 years or life without parole in the US

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

The privileged judge who lives in a nice big house in a leafy part of south Dublin no doubt with Garda security for life, and no fear of ever being impacted by these scumbags passes sentence.... meanwhile back in the real world the ordinary citizens thinks WTF and fears for the day scum like this are set free again.
    I think the jury (ordinary Joe soap) should set sentence, not an elite judge.........
    Not enough prison space...borrow some money build more...I'll happily pay more tax to keep such scum locked away indefinitely. That or outsource his incarceration to a **** hole prison somewhere fecking awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭jaxxx

14 years. And that perfectly describes how f***ing pathetic the "justice" system in this country really is. That monster should never be allowed to see the light of day again.

screamer wrote: »
    Not enough prison space...borrow some money build more...I'll happily pay more tax to keep such scum locked away indefinitely. That or outsource his incarceration to a **** hole prison somewhere fecking awful.

That's one thing I would happily pay more taxes for to make my life safer (and probably most people would)

Who decided it was safe to let Larry Murphy out

The cnutt didn't cooperate one bit in prison

He should have been up before a parole board and they decide right you're not reformed ,back you go to your cell.

Instead they just let him out.

A life sentence for rape is actually an option judges can avail of. I don't know if many people know that. Usually you would assume it's only for murder but you can get it for attempted murder and rape too. I wonder what type of rape it takes for that to be enacted because this was especially despicable. Also falsely imprisoned the poor girl. A truly heinous crime from this toe-rag.

All revenge fantasies won't come to pass though, he'll be parked offside with all the other disgusting fcuks and they'll probably share stories of their conquests in relative safety. Beasts is all they are. I'm a prison officer and I couldn't work near that piece of sh*t.

It's crimes like this that bring to the fore that there should be minimum sentences taking in to account all the parts of the offence and feck off with concurrent sentences.
    But the judiciary will be the judiciary and god forbid the people tell them how crimes should be punished.
    Who's that other judge that literally pardons everyone that comes before them with a sob story.
    Remembering a case from a few years ago where a rapist got off scott free if he paid some money...I mean ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

A life sentence for rape was an option for the judge. with all the previous violent convictions it would seem fair and would mean on release(on licence) if he even looked sideways he could be put back in jail without another court case. This would be the most effective way to safeguard potential future victims. I would love some mechanism for the judge to explain why a life sentence was not applied. I hope the DPP appeals the sentence, even if it risks a lesser sentence with the court of appeal

If you can turn up to court with 200 convictions under your belt and still get away with it then there is something wrong.
    This guy would literally have to commit another serious offence to even be considered for jail - and for sure he will
    Meanwhile in other news another granny jailed for not paying the TV licence...

Are judges not unaccountable for any sentence?

Look at this guy
    https://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/irish-news/convicted-rapist-sent-back-to-jail-over-crimes-while-on-suspended-sentence-37088580.html

10 year suspended sentence reinstated because of continuing to be a naughty boy but then gets 4 years suspended. Bad childhood crap. My god you couldn't make this stuff up.
    Ignored conditions set on him, but he can be reformed but still a risk to the community - see ya in 4 years time!

Undoubtedly for the safety of society this person needs to be put somewhere away from the rest of us. For a long time.

It's still not going to look well in 20 or 30 years time when the history of how Ireland treated mentally disturbed people is written that such a person is essentially given an entirely criminal conviction rather than some sort of mental health sentence that can protect society equally as much but can also acknowledge that there were huge mental issues that need assistance. It will probably be a cause of some international human rights case against Ireland in the future.

And as much as this will annoy the "Hang them all" brigade, perhaps if this individual had mental health and other help earlier on in life this young lady could have been spared his savagery? The doctor who released him should be under investigation as well. Mental health resources for children and teenagers in Ireland today are all but non-existent so while the outrage is understandable here today, other innocents will suffer in the future because of the neglect of so many mentally unwell kids today. But that would cost money, so let's just ignore it...

Unfortunately some people can not be saved except thru a lobotomy - this case in point.
    This is not average mental problems, it is a completely deranged mind that maybe only drugs making him a cabbage would work then needs full time supervision to make sure he is taking the drugs.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

The poor girl. What an ordeal. Its the stuff of nightmares, where her thinking was that she had to get out in one try or she'd be killed.

Apparently he told her he'd cut the paws off household pets? And that he had no empathy for anyone/thing since he was 10? Wonder if that was true. Also the brother rang Gardai and asked for him to be taken In, but they couldn't because he'd been assessed and had no reason to take him in.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 7,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Double post

Triple post :o

Ok Hannibal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

Absolute monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,131 ✭✭✭malinheader

Animals like these should never be allowed to enter society again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭MikeyTaylor

Animals like these should never be allowed to enter society again.

I know, simply raping someone is bad enough but literally hammering them is sickening.

Ok Hannibal

There was an echo :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 301 ✭✭puppieperson1

We need a colleseum and we need to send these creeps into the centre and then let them fight for their lives against russian special forces & paid mercanries and of course we could pay per view or hold it in croker can you imagine the residents complaining !!1