If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

JPCN1 wrote: »
    No its not.

Is it because they are a disproportionate thread to law and order based on their numbers ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,725 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

listermint wrote: »
    I actually dont get the outrage?

ive seen plenty of opinion pieces pro casey.

It feels like there is a bunch of people being selective here. And just like in the US are pretending that they are being surpressed by some closet bogey man.

Oh yeah, its the media again . grrrrr journalists ..

No one is surpressing you, No one is after your thoughts.

I have no particular notions of 'pc' gone mad, but i do see alot of people that are selectively outraged across the board. And need to bloody grow up.

Can you link to half a dozen of the “plenty of opinion pieces pro Casey” in the mainstream media ahead of the election?

The media in Ireland is almost entirely white, middle class and left leaning. Much more so than is reflective of the population as a whole.

For bastions of diversity and equality how many black, disabled, traveller, rural dwelling or right leaning journalists are employed by the paper of note in Ireland, the Irish Times?

The media in Ireland reflect their own biases, nothing more, nothing less. These biases tend to be almost exclusively left wing.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

I don't think Hazel Chu's view on travellers or anything really is in tune with the average Chinese person in Ireland. Certainly Eastern Europeans and Africans, are not in love with the travellers. I'm sure they get plenty of issues with them too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

Bambi wrote: »
    How Jesuitical :P

The takeaway from the whole casey thing is the way the media rounded on him for daring to voice such an opinion and the resulting huge increase in support for him. He had the nerve to weather the storm (not being able to withdraw might have helped :) )and he reaped the rewards for not backing down.

That's what happens when you try to suppress debate. Will they learn the lesson? Will they f**k :D
    Not talking about stuff in the Catholic Church did not work out to well :eek:

Hiding stuff in the Gardai did not work out too well :eek:

Will the Irish establishment ever learn ?:eek:

I don't think Hazel Chu's view on travellers or anything really is in tune with the average Chinese person in Ireland. Certainly Eastern Europeans and Africans, are not in love with the travellers. I'm sure they get plenty of issues with them too.

You want to hear what the Polish lad who mows my laws says!

That's after having three break ins to his van and loads of gear robbed.

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Well supposedly Ciara Kelly, Michael D Higgins, Joan Freeman, Liadh Ní Riada, Sean Gallagher and Gavin Dunne would have no problems with travellers living beside them

I'd love to test that theory with brand new halting sites next door to all of them
    They are ridiculing themselves because nobody believes a word of it !

Jeez, I wonder why we have Traveller threads every two weeks?
    The Politicians are hiding behind political correctness = very handy .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,104 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

blinding wrote: »
    They are ridiculing themselves because nobody believes a word of it !

Absolutely but they will lie and get away with it to remain Politically Correct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Yes or no - a traveller christening is planned for tomorrow in your town, do you go the pub or not ?

Of course ! :D

The front door will be locked but the owner will let locals in the back door

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Of course ! :D

The front door will be locked but the owner will let locals in the back door
    Cute hoors !

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Absolutely but they will lie and get away with it to remain Politically Correct
    And the Media and Political establishment will let them get away with it .

Casey has shone a bright light on our Media and Political establishment . He has done a great service to his Country . Thanks Peter Casey .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,287 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Hahaha what an utter copout!

Copout from your hypothetical situation?!

Do you live in the real world or only in the internet.

I gave you an answer, then you got pissed because it doesnt suit your narrative.

Go dream up some other scenerios that i cant actually attend because im doing other things in my real life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

I gave you an answer, then you got pissed because it doesnt suit your narrative.

Go dream up some other scenerios that i cant actually attend because im doing other things in my real life.

I asked if you’d open your pub while everyone else closed as a point of principal..

So would you ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,287 ✭✭✭✭listermint

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Can you link to half a dozen of the “plenty of opinion pieces pro Casey” in the mainstream media ahead of the election?

The media in Ireland is almost entirely white, middle class and left leaning. Much more so than is reflective of the population as a whole.

For bastions of diversity and equality how many black, disabled, traveller, rural dwelling or right leaning journalists are employed by the paper of note in Ireland, the Irish Times?

The media in Ireland reflect their own biases, nothing more, nothing less. These biases tend to be almost exclusively left wing.

Nice little turn of words there from you.

Il tell you why there was no articles on him 'ahead of the election' because he was a nobody tv dragans den personality.

Then he said some controversial comments, not to impact some mass social change but to rile up a small group of people (your riled, this thread is evidence) Then of course he got lots of articles pro and con his points. Go find them if you want they are all over the place.

This nonsense sells papers. Oooo controversy. Oooo so edgey. It gets clicks and debates and airtime. Thats what the media thrive on. No they dont thrive on supressing hot topics.

anyone that believes that doesnt have a notion as to how the media generates its money.

Suppression, Laughed at lads. Laughed.... at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,286 ✭✭✭givyjoe

Yeah, not a cop out at all. :rolleyes:.

Would you have a problem with a halting site being setup close by to your house?

Rennaws wrote: »
    I asked if you’d open your pub while everyone else closed as a point of principal..

So would you ?

I dont have a bloody pub!

what is with this stupid line of questioning.

Oh yeah you are trying to get a real gotcha moment.

lol this stuff is getting ridiculous

givyjoe wrote: »
    Yeah, not a cop out at all. :rolleyes:.

Would you have a problem with a halting site being setup close by to your house?

There are 2 halting sites beside me,

Lets get a bit factual here.

The first is approx 1km due north. The second is approx 4km due east of that.

So what else do you want to discuss ?

I dont have a bloody pub!

what is with this stupid line of questioning.

It's just a hypothetical question. It's a legitimate style of debate. You could just answer honestly.

Jeez, I wonder why we have Traveller threads every two weeks?

Wait, no stop.

I thought this was new subject matter.

Something people didnt talk about.

Something that Casey raised up and that was being supressed.

now everyone agrees we discuss it all the time.

Which is it, You lads are tripping over your own outrage.

Nice little turn of words there from you.

Il tell you why there was no articles on him 'ahead of the election' because he was a nobody tv dragans den personality.

Then he said some controversial comments, not to impact some mass social change but to rile up a small group of people (your riled, this thread is evidence) Then of course he got lots of articles pro and con his points. Go find them if you want they are all over the place.

This nonsense sells papers. Oooo controversy. Oooo so edgey. It gets clicks and debates and airtime. Thats what the media thrive on. No they dont thrive on supressing hot topics.

anyone that believes that doesnt have a notion as to how the media generates its money.

Suppression, Laughed at lads. Laughed.... at.

There really are no words for the insanity of that, really - none.

Omackeral wrote: »
    It's a hypothetical question. It's a legitimate style of debate. You could just answer honestly.

Hypotheical questions are utterly moronic.

If i said yeah of course id open 'my' pub, Then youd be all like 'your a liar' 'go pull the other one you big liar'

If i said i dont have a pub , then you call me a copout.

So i say, Go back to the school yard because that is the level of debate your bringing.

There really are no words for the insanity of that, really - none.

Which part?

The Media loves controversial topics?

Or the part where Casey spoke about a controversial topic in order to rile up some people for votes.

I cant tell which part is the real insane part. Its not really clear can you point it out ?

YOU'RE. For the love of Mary, it's YOU'RE!!!!

It's like reading Facebook at times, please if you're not going to engage in debate can you at least make the posts look decent ?

And the bold part ? Seriously ??? You might want to tell literally every interviewer, because they all use them and they are a good indicator of an opinion.

Im not a moderator , but i would suggest reading the charter.

Clearly you have not.

Hypotheical questions are utterly moronic.

If i said yeah of course id open 'my' pub, Then youd be all like 'your a liar' 'go pull the other one you big liar'

If i said i dont have a pub , then you call me a copout.

So i say, Go back to the school yard because that is the level of debate your bringing.

Maybe you should go back to school because the word you're looking for is "you're". Secondly, how are hypothetical questions utterly moronic? They're used in court rooms, job interviews and ,funnily enough, on discussion forums. Anyway, your dodging and silence says more than any answer would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭P.C.

YOU'RE. For the love of Mary, it's YOU'RE!!!!

It's like reading Facebook at times, please if you're not going to engage in debate can you at least make the posts look decent ?

And the bold part ? Seriously ??? You might want to tell literally every interviewer, because they all use them and they are a good indicator of an opinion.

Go easy.
    I don’t think English is their first language.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Maybe you should go back to school because the word you're looking for is "you're". Secondly, how are hypothetical questions utterly moronic? They're used in court rooms, job interviews and ,funnily enough, on discussion forums. Anyway, your dodging and silence says more than any answer would.

We dont correct spelling around these parts.

I think you know why , you have been here long enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

This is hilarious.

We dont correct spelling around these parts.

I think you know why , you have been here long enough.

We also answer questions usually but I digress

P.C. wrote: »
    Go easy.

You got me,

Ah you got me good.

Is this the level of effort in After hours now,

1- name calling
    2- grammar nazing
    3- asking utterly moronic questions for hypothetical situations that people cant answer because they were never put in.

Tis a quality level of effort you getting at.

P.C. wrote: »
    Go easy.

English is the third language of the majority of my students and they grasp basic grammar, but you know - it's not worth a sanction and ban so I withdraw my comment.