If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

omega man wrote: »
    That was a refreshing honest civilised conversation, if somewhat awkward (probably because of the honesty from all except Kiara Kelly).

Fair play to Niamh Horan for her honesty which we’d not have seen pre Casey. It then set the tone for a grown up discussion.

I was very impressed with Martin Ward but let’s face it he’s not representative of the traveller community but he should be.
    Ciara Kelly did not carry off that lie in any way what so ever .

Niamh Horan had credibility with her honesty . Ciara = none .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭hill16bhoy

Rennaws wrote: »
    Is this the latest buzzword because you've all finally had to admit that Peter Casey said nothing racist or prejudicial ?

Either way it's just more lefty meaningless nonsense.

You can keep shouting all you like.

The UN definition of racism proves you categorically wrong.

The extreme irony of a Casey supporter complaining about "buzzwords" is noted.

Casey supporters seem to have a congenital inability to do anything else except shout so called "alt-right" (far right) buzzwords.

Enda Kenny was a moronic idiot. He should never have been allowed near the reins of this country let alone make decisions such as this. The man was utterly unsuitable and incompetent. He carried zero gravitas and could only rule with the whip which is a sign of a weak leader.

We really should declare the ethinicity decision a mistake, reverse it and remove it from the books..
    Yeah, sure reverse voting rights for women too while you're at it, or something.

Most Casey supporters would probably support that, actually. :D

Cries about generalising.

Then generalises.

What a goon.

Page after page, post after post, you resort to personally insulting people and trying to put them down with these one liners.

It's a sign of a weak argument when you have to resort to that.
    On the contrary, I've explained clearly and concisely how Casey and his supporters have engaged in outright racial discrimination, and nit one Casey supporter has been able to rebut the charge, instead resorting to obfuscation, deflection, buzzwords, and the exact sort of abuse you erroneously accuse me of yet are utterly blind to when a Casey supporter engages in it.

Whereas you just called Enda Kenny a "moronic idiot".

Michael D's credibility was significantly damaged in that election and i'm not sure we're done yet. We're still waiting on the expenses. He had his chance to slink off into the sunset but did greed get the better of him ?

Time will tell..
    Michael D. Higgins's credibility hasn't been damaged one iota. He's just romped to a second term as President with an increased mandate - receiving 121,000 more votes than in 2011.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Cries about generalising.

Then generalises.

What a goon.
    You still don't get it, do you?

And you've long since given up debating.

But then again, did you ever even start?

Dr Kelly made some good points
    Held No Credibility when she attempted to lie that she would be happy having Travellers move in beside her . She did not pull off the lie . It was blindingly obviously that she was lying .

Some clown. Not talking about Ciara Kelly, mind you.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

No she didn't.

And we don't call Leo Varadkar Dr Leo, so enough of the Dr Kelly nonsense as if it makes her political opinions more important than the rest of us.

so your'e saying because leo is a man his opinion important is more important than a woman
    The poster is most certainly not saying that ; Obviously .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭jace_da_face

She made no good points. She is a part of the PC brigade and she lied. She is an angry feminist.

so your'e saying because leo is a man his opinion important is more important than a woman

Go away troll. I have no time for Leo I've said so in this thread today multiple times.

she brought down george hook, she knows what way the wind is blowing,
    i'd prefer a ruthless operator than some kowtow
    She came across as totally insincere in a yes / no question . She blew a lot of her credibility . When the Public can see that you are willing to peddle a bare face lie rather than be honest they can be hard to get to trust you again .

She was being Politically correct and was willing to lie to be politically correct .

Not in any way edifying and a poor decision on her behalf .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Kelly was in a good job as a GP, but seems to have abandoned all that to get herself a showbiz career.

She obviously fancies herself as some sort of Irish Carol Vorderman or whatever, now she has the TV, radio and media career, but jez, she is an angry woman.

blinding wrote: »
    The poster is most certainly not saying that ; Obviously .

It doesn't matter to some people on this thread. Some absolute buffoons on here call you a racist if you say there are problems facing the Travelling community or that you don't consider them as just Irish like yourself. You get told that if you voted for Peter Casey, you more or less would be advocating taking the vote off women and that you're on par with holocaust deniers or akin the SS. It's all said very much without the tongue in the cheek. Part of me thinks these fcukheads actually believe what they're saying and the other part of me thinks they're ploughing hours worth of posts into nothing but winding people up... I don't know which is worse or sadder.

How can someone born in Dublin (for example) from white, Irish parents be a different race to another person born in Dublin to white, Irish parents?

NIMAN wrote: »
    Kelly was in a good job as a GP, but seems to have abandoned all that to get herself a showbiz career.

She obviously fancies herself as some sort of Irish Carol Vorderman or whatever, now she has the TV, radio and media career, but jez, she is an angry woman.
    No point being a feminist if your not foaming at the mouth . Its a bit like Rabies !:eek:

How can someone born in Dublin (for example) from white, Irish parents be a different race to another person born in Dublin to white, Irish parents?
    These people are the same race but if that was admitted then there would not be as good a case for one group to be getting extra help . I actually do think that the travellers need some extra help but taking on some responsibilities for that extra help would be helpful .

Was great to see Brendan put her in her place though.
    She must have thought she was on her radio show.

blinding wrote: »
    These people are the same race but if that was admitted then there would not be as good a case for one group to be getting extra help . I actually do think that the travellers need some extra help but taking on some responsibilities for that extra help would be helpful .

I would totally agree too.

The Gov can by all means give them extra help, as long as they try to get themselves to integrate into society better inside a generation.
    Time to give up the horses, the slag hooks, the wedding attacks, the raiding of farms, the intimidation of elderly people, the dodgy of school etc.

Was great to see Brendan put her in her place though.
    She must have thought she was on her radio show.
    If looks could kill.....George Hook will have a chuckle if he see that performance .;)

What is the test for a Traveller? There is none. Any white Irish person could claim to be a traveller. Plenty of travellers actually share my surname especially in England, imagine it's the same for a lot of people in this country.

Must .... resist......

don't want a ban

I would totally agree too.

The Gov can by all means give them extra help, as long as they try to get themselves to integrate into society better inside a generation.
    Time to give up the horses, the slag hooks, the wedding attacks, the raiding of farms, the intimidation of elderly people, the dodgy of school etc.
    Don't see it happening. The English have never managed to put manners on the Travellers, even though a lot of their criminal activities takes place in rural England. Rural England is a different to here a lot of rich posh Tories, and they still have to put up with their nonsense.

They are a protected class over there. A quick glance over any Daily Mail comment section shows what the country English think of them. If they can't reign them it won't happen in this country either IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,718 ✭✭✭upandcumming

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    Rural crime was almost unheard of in 1950s Ireland. People left their doors unlocked, in my own area, into the 1980s.

I asked my father if they locked their doors when he was young, and lived on a farm.
    "No, there was nothing to take in the house. And we probably couldn't afford a lock."

Come to think of it. We should all start claiming our traveller heritage. I want my million euro houses, fields for horses and stables. I want a brand new 18 car, jeep and van. Any problems and it's racism.

Beats being a settled working class Irish man by the looks of things. It's absurd the whole thing.

It doesn't matter to some people on this thread. Some absolute buffoons on here call you a racist if you say there are problems facing the Travelling community or that you don't consider them as just Irish like yourself.
    No they don't.

There isn't a person alive in Ireland who doesn't say the Travelling community have massive issues both within and without.

But well done on confusing that with the actual racism that was spewed out by Casey and his supporters for the last fortnight.

Well done also on confusing nationality with ethnicity. Were you playing ignorant or just helplessly ignorant when you did that?

Presumably you also had trouble distinguishing the ethnicity and nationality of the likes of Paul McGrath, Phil Lynott, Jason Sherlock and Sean Og O'hAilpin?

I bet Wexford hurler Lee Chin would really throw you.

I better not even mention the massive Irish diaspora worldwide. Then things could get very confusing indeed for you.
    You get told that if you voted for Peter Casey, you more or less would be advocating taking the vote off women and that you're on par with holocaust deniers or akin the SS.

Who did that?

Again, I have to ask if you're being deliberately ignorant or just helplessly ignorant in saying such?

You do realise that correctly pointing out that Casey and his supporters used the exact same techniques that the Nazis used to vilify the Jews, does not equal calling you a Holocaust denier or akin to the SS?

Have you got anymore hyperbolic nonsense you wish to share with us or perhaps you're all out of imagination for the night?

Oh, and maybe you had your sarcasm detector off with women's voting rights comment? Very touchy, aren't you? Can't you Casey supporters take a joke?

It's all said very much without the tongue in the cheek. Part of me thinks these fcukheads actually believe what they're saying and the other part of me thinks they're ploughing hours worth of posts into nothing but winding people up... I don't know which is worse or sadder.
    Perhaps if you kept your tongue sellotaped to the inside of your cheek you'd be more articulate?

she is being a strong woman
    and a role model
    Ah here, have a day off.

Come to think of it. We should all start claiming our traveller heritage. I want my million euro houses, fields for horses and stables. I want a brand new 18 car, jeep and van. Any problems and it's racism.

Beats being a settled working class Irish man by the looks of things. It's absurd the whole thing.

Basically the point Casey made, and 340,000 people agreed with.

Like the fog on the Tyne was all Gazza's, the absurdity is very much all yours.

"If you're a straight, white Irish male these days, they throw you in jail"."

Or something something.

she is being a strong woman
    and a role model

She was lying.
    There is no way Dr Ciara would like to have travellers at the bottom of her lane. Guaranteed.

She lied, just like 5 presidential candidates did a few weeks ago, cos they wanted to come across as accepting.

I at least admire that Horan girl tonight, she told the truth. Took her a while to blurt it out, but she got there in the end.