Prime Time - gangs with "lurcher" dogs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Why aren't we going after the judges with such venom? Or the parasitic free legal aid industry?

Law we have 2 sets of parasites laughing at us here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

DChancer wrote: »
    Now
    Don't you be quoting real facts
    Just join the mob and blame everything from the weather to the financial crisis on the Travellers

Oh wow 1 story blaming the foreigners.

Jesus this is laughable beyond belief.

How many of these stories could we dig up about travellers I wonder.

Bloody foreigners robbing our........

Quads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,335 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Another sheltered fur coat snowflake.

How is it he's in Dail Eireann and you're on an internet forum if he's so clueless and you've it all sussed out?

Why are they not calling these out for what they are?

Gangs of travellers threatening, intimidating and assaulting farmers for confronting them for trespassing.

The Gardai do fúck all about them too.

"roving gangs" "people with lurcher dogs"

politically correct nonsense

I can imagine Pavee Point behind the scenes trying to sanitise the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Another sheltered fur coat snowflake.

A come on now. Snowflakes in a fur coat? Sure you'd only end with a puddle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

prime time finally mentioning the travellers, well, a voice over the credits asking if peter casey voters are racist

for fúck sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

I always assumed the media were not "allowed" to report specifically that the people involved in certain stories are travellers? it is always hinted at in articles but never stated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Oh wow 1 story blaming the foreigners.

Jesus this is laughable beyond belief.

How many of tree stories could we dig up about travellers I wonder.

Bloody foreigners robbing our........

Quads

At least travellers don't rob our wimmen in fairness to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

How is it he's in Dail Eireann and you're on an internet forum if he's so clueless and you've it all sussed out?

Oh right.

So the 130 tds in the Dáil have it sussed out but the 4.8 other million people don’t.

Good point....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,905 ✭✭✭Azatadine

Where did the term 'Travellers' come from anyway? It's not what I call them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Oh right.

So the 130 tds in the Dáil have it sussed out but the 4.8 other million people don’t.

Good point....

Our betters are telling us how to think, we'd best listen to them, they are the cultured intelligencia we are the barstoolers on low incomes...we should be grateful to them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

If it wasn't for Peter Casey and the 23% of us who voted for him RTE would not be highlighting this 3 days later. Of course the fact travellers are involved is being hidden but the viewers must know.

RTE are cheap but they are not quick, this will have been in the works for months with some topical VO to take in to account the thoughts of Chairman Casey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,335 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Newsflash. The 158 td's were voted there by the 4.8M.

Then maybe it's time we elected different ones.

Not trump lite gowls who only punch down.

Proper ones who will tackle the parasites in the legal and property sectors as well as the parasites who abuse the social welfare system and terrorise people who are just trying to get by.

If we dont get that let's not forget this state was founded by a revolution, perhaps we might need another one

P_1 wrote:
    If we dont get that let's not forget this state was founded by a revolution, perhaps we might need another one

We already have national, local and European elections at least every 5 years.

We don't need a revolution. We need people to understand that if they are willing to do the work they stand a good chance to get elected.

I wouldn't be too sure of that. History has proven the majority of the irish people will vote for some gombeen who promises them some short term trinket instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

I think and I hope this is a cry for help from the farming community which I hope is acted on before it escalates.

It's like that Fintan O'Toole article about the tallaght housing estate with vigilante gaurds at the entrance of the estate. What must have happened for it to get that far.

Nothing good comes from escalation of violence.

you should see the funding pavee point get tax payers dollars

Surely they get Euro no?

P_1 wrote:
    I wouldn't be too sure of that. History has proven the majority of the irish people will vote for some gombeen who promises them some short term trinket instead

Then we get the government we deserve and by extension should be looking at ourselves instead of giving out about them if we are unhappy?

How many reading this thread would be willing to do that do you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

ANDREWMUFC wrote: »
    The gardai are terrified of travellers as well. They’d rather sit in their warm Garda station
    They're doing their best with poor resources and little chance of justice. Unfair of non guards to blame the guards as if they know what to do differently.
    DChancer wrote: »
    Now
    Don't you be quoting real facts
    Just join the mob and blame everything from the weather to the financial crisis on the Travellers
    The real fact was: a crime was committed by non travellers - who's denying that and how does it change that crime is disproportionately high among travellers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The hardworking farmers of the breadbasket of North Dublin want to take the law into their own hands to protect their livelihoods

Any objections?

Then we get the government we deserve and by extension should be looking at ourselves instead of giving out about them if we are unhappy?

How many reading this thread would be willing to do that do you think?

Not many though I generally despair for humanity, no doubt someone less morose than I will pop by soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭bb12

nobody ever seems to mention that the so-called purpose of bringing these lurchers out is to hunt hares, which are a protected species in ireland. they're breaking national and international protective orders on that point alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

In fairness the 'gentlemen' on horseback who invade farmers land every year aren't any better.
    Lots of altercations between them and rural dwellers as well and damage caused.

And the guards won't touch them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,631 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

Read Des O'Malleys book, the last Irish person to successfully launch a Political Party in this state, at a highly dysfunctional period in our history.

It is extremely difficult to challenge the political establishment, we have just witnessed a brief example, MDHs got elected to a €250,000 job for another 7 years, he achieved this by playing the system and playing the voters.

A week is a long time in politics they say, who do you think protected who during that last week of the campaign.

MDHs voters may well feel confident in their choice of candidate, the media certainly will help you to feel good about it, but the media neglected to ask some very uncomfortable questions to Higgins, not one Higgins supporter has earned the right to feel smug about their choice!

What we need is a completely new constitution.

We urgently need to protect ourselves against unaccountability and abuse of office in our State Institutions.

That would be a start.

Any objections?

Is that a serious question?

How do you think that would work out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

The hardworking farmers of the breadbasket of North Dublin want to take the law into their own hands to protect their livelihoods

Any objections?

Anyone who wants to live in a decent and fair society should be against people taking the lawninto their own hands.

I understand why they are saying this but it's not right.

Especially considering to do it right they will need to organize a bunch of rural folk as 1 farmer versus a group of travellers won't be enough. More than likely it will escalate to a group of vigilantes versus a group on the other side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭PapaOscar

Azatadine wrote: »
    Where did the term 'Travellers' come from anyway? It's not what I call them....

You're not allowed call travellers nackers, but you can call anyone else a nacker. Thats the rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭PapaOscar

Calhoun wrote: »
    Anyone who wants to live in a decent and fair society should be against people taking the lawninto their own hands.

I understand why they are saying this but it's not right.

Especially considering to do it right they will need to organize a bunch of rural folk as 1 farmer versus a group of travellers won't be enough. More than likely it will escalate to a group of vigilantes versus a group on the other side.

Get the Hells Angels, they done a fine job in Tyrrelstown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,308 ✭✭✭artvanderlay

Travellers versus Aliens is on the TV tonight.

Whoever wins, we lose :pac: