Huddersfield grooming case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Someone, somewhere is counting down those 18 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,280 ✭✭✭✭Sand

I've heard people argue that these kind of people can be rehabilitated and they might be right. But do they deserve to be rehabilitated? Should be thrown in a small cell for the rest of their lives and offered euthanasia.

Simpler just to deport them surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭0cp71eyxkb94qf

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Eh? Didn't you read the Murphy report. We've had plenty of home grown similarly lovely characters.
    Not this moral equivalence, Irish guilt/self hate nonsense again. Jesus.

We have had many issues with child abuse and we have been pretty successful in weeding them out and changing the culture that fostered them. They were for the majority of cases single offenders, though too damned many of them with too damned many blind eyes turned.
    And have exported plenty of them all over the developing world too.
    This is like the go to mantra when it comes to the immigration question coming up: we were immigrants once and so therefore... Ignoring of course the very different times and circumstances.

Never mind that a generation of Irish who "went on the missions" helped whole countries and their peoples. Peoples and countries who recognise and celebrate that.

But let's say "we exported them all over the world"("we" didn't) and saw the damage they did. Do we really need to import the same thing now in the 21st century?
    Sand wrote: »
    Simpler just to deport them surely?
    Legally difficult if they're UK citizens S, which I'm sure many if not most of them are.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Lady Spangles

autumn2018 wrote: »
    we complain in ireland but i feel so sorry for the people over in england
    its sadistic
    close the common travel area before this cancer infects our children's future

and leo the liar and rte and dennis o brien fm can all go to hell

Huh? Ireland had the clergy who abused children with impunity for decades. Worse, the state ignored it. I know not all priests are the same, but it was a real problem.

Meanwhile, there are thousands (if not millions) of law abiding Muslim men in England who would never dream of committing these horrors.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,905 ✭✭✭Stephen15

Giveaway wrote: »
    Where is the outrage amongst the English?

Trust me there is Tommy Robinson has plenty of support from ordinary decent British people but then mainstream media are too afraid to report on it.

Stephen15 wrote: »
    Trust me there is Tommy Robinson has plenty of support from ordinary decent British people but then mainstream media are too afraid to report on it.

Tommy Robinson is a vainglorious thug who almost destroyed this court case by blabbing about it and using it to boost his wretched ego. Not only that, people went ape**** when he was sent to prison for contempt of court. These peadophiles almost walked free because of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭PapaOscar

Apparently he has plenty of suppport here too,serving gardai,fire men and army lads among them.Who'd of thunk it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Aye. It’s almost always vulnerable children with less-than-attentive parents that are targeted. Child molesters are so calculating that it is chilling. They know exactly who to hone in on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Huh? Ireland had the clergy who abused children with impunity for decades. Worse, the state ignored it. I know not all priests are the same, but it was a real problem.

Meanwhile, there are thousands (if not millions) of law abiding Muslim men in England who would never dream of committing these horrors.

I think that goes without saying, and any reasonable critical thinking person would come to that conclusion. But we're not discussing the clergy abusing children in Ireland. I will admit to being a bit perplexed by the rather strange relationship the left seems to have with Islam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Wibbs wrote: »
    Not this moral equivalence, Irish guilt/self hate nonsense again. Jesus.

We have had many issues with child abuse and we have been pretty successful in weeding them out and changing the culture that fostered them. They were for the majority of cases single offenders, though too damned many of them with too damned many blind eyes turned.

This is like the go to mantra when it comes to the immigration question coming up: we were immigrants once and so therefore... Ignoring of course the very different times and circumstances.

Never mind that a generation of Irish who "went on the missions" helped whole countries and their peoples. Peoples and countries who recognise and celebrate that.

But let's say "we exported them all over the world"("we" didn't) and saw the damage they did. Do we really need to import the same thing now in the 21st century?

Legally difficult if they're UK citizens S, which I'm sure many if not most of them are.

It wasn't turning a blind eye, it was covering up by people in power. A lot of whom are still knocking around. And we know that people knew about them. people would talk in private but little to nothing could be done because they were rumours and there was no truth. I'd imagine it's the same with these guys. I have no doubt that people had their suspicions. There were probably plenty of people who told their daughters not to go near them. But did they have proof? was there more they could do? Probably not, the sam as here.

As for importing offenders, no-one is suggesting that. Literally no-one. And the number of people in the muslim community who commit these offences is tiny. It's really small.

There should be questions asked about how grooming gangs appear to be more prevalent in east asian communities. It appears that the method of offending is tied to their communities in some way. But to say that in general a muslim is more likely to be an abuser is wrong. They're not significantly more likely. The number of them per capita is tiny and to infer that because someone is muslim and therefore likely to be a predator is wrong. Just like other religious/ethnic groups, they are incredibly unlikely to be abusers.

Throughout history there's always been a supposed tie between a persecuted group and sex crimes. Jews, black people, gay people. All have been considered to be a threat based on the flimsiest evidence. I don't see any evidence to suggest that your average muslim is a threat to children.

enricoh wrote: »
    Of course it would, and should. the fact that twenty scumbags were convicted in Huddersfield is pretty eye opening. There will always be child abusers unfortunately, usually operating solo, maybe even as a couple like those two.
    However when 20 people get done, there is serious issues. These scumbags didn't link up over the Internet, they knew each other. How many in the Pakistani community knew about this n said nothing? Hundreds? It only came to light because some of the girls came forward. Not remotely good enough.

There’s been rumours for years of a paedophile ring amongst elites in the British government and high society. These things get hushed up because a lot of people have a lot to lose whether it’s people in high places or an immigrant community. People are likely afraid to forward for a multitude of reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

Grayson wrote: »
    It wasn't turning a blind eye, it was covering up by people in power. A lot of whom are still knocking around. And we know that people knew about them. people would talk in private but little to nothing could be done because they were rumours and there was no truth. I'd imagine it's the same with these guys. I have no doubt that people had their suspicions. There were probably plenty of people who told their daughters not to go near them. But did they have proof? was there more they could do? Probably not, the sam as here.

As for importing offenders, no-one is suggesting that. Literally no-one. And the number of people in the muslim community who commit these offences is tiny. It's really small.

There should be questions asked about how grooming gangs appear to be more prevalent in east asian communities. It appears that the method of offending is tied to their communities in some way. But to say that in general a muslim is more likely to be an abuser is wrong. They're not significantly more likely. The number of them per capita is tiny and to infer that because someone is muslim and therefore likely to be a predator is wrong. Just like other religious/ethnic groups, they are incredibly unlikely to be abusers.

Throughout history there's always been a supposed tie between a persecuted group and sex crimes. Jews, black people, gay people. All have been considered to be a threat based on the flimsiest evidence. I don't see any evidence to suggest that your average muslim is a threat to children.

There was a poster here a few weeks ago who had all the facts and figures about Muslim sex crimes in the UK and according to his statistics they actually were significantly more likely to commit such crimes. And in particular grooming. Hopefully he’s lurking here and could give a synopsis.

Sand wrote: »
    Not similar to homegrown offenders. There's a very distinct character to the offences carried out by 'Asian' men in the UK. 84% of those convicted of Type 2 grooming/sexual abuse of children are 'Asian'.

There is clearly native offenders, but they commit different types of offences: Type 1, motivated by a specific desire to abuse children. Type 2 gangs target their victims based on them being vulnerable.

Gotta stop you there. Targeting vulnerable children is a very common modus operandi for lone wolf paedophiles too. Read about Jerry Sandusky - this was exactly what he did. And unfortunately I know a child abuse victim in real life who was targeted because they were vulnerable with less-than-vigilant parents.

Tommy Robinson is a vainglorious thug who almost destroyed this court case by blabbing about it and using it to boost his wretched ego. Not only that, people went ape**** when he was sent to prison for contempt of court. These peadophiles almost walked free because of him.

He didn't jepordise the court case. If it wasn't for people like Tommy speaking the truth about Islam and Muslim rape gangs the bastards would be walking free.

It's hardly surprising that there are Muslim child rape gangs in the UK and it wouldn't surprise me if they operated here too when Mohammed married Aisha when she was only nine. It's part of the religion and here in the West we pander to them and only the likes of Tommy Robinson speak the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

So what?

It just looks like you are just trying to make excuses for these scum. 84% of those convicted in the UK for sexually grooming are Asian and has been ignored and let continue by for decades is also a real problem.

Why are you trying to deflect that by saying "Yeah but the Priests"?

Pug160 wrote: »
    I think that goes without saying, and any reasonable critical thinking person would come to that conclusion. But we're not discussing the clergy abusing children in Ireland. I will admit to being a bit perplexed by the rather strange relationship the left seems to have with Islam.

Of course, and it's not my intention to derail the thread by bringing it up. However, the post I quoted came from someone saying they felt sorry for the English because of the number of paedophiles roaming around. As if Ireland didn't have any of their own to contend with.

The left's relationship with Islam and those who practise it is really quite straight forward: live and let live. If they don't force it on us, we won't force them to change. All should be free to practise whatever ancient superstition they wish.

He didn't jepordise the court case. If it wasn't for people like Tommy speaking the truth about Islam and Muslim rape gangs the bastards would be walking free.

Really? I didn't realise Tommy Robinson was judge, jury and executioner these days. What a busy boy he is.

Sorry, but back in the real world, he really did jeopardise that entire trial. Had he done so, those paedophiles would be walking free right now. There was a media blackout to ensure a fair trial. People are entitled to a fair trial regardless of the crimes they're accused of.

Here's a link to why TR is a bit of a numpty.

I tell you what else is funny about Tommy Robinson, he wasn't shouting too loud when one of his buddies was arrested for child abuse. Another Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭Pug160

Grayson wrote: »

It seems to be Muslims of Pakistani heritage in particular, although I haven't looked at it extensively. Why that would be the case is anyone's guess at this point. Do bear in mind that a lot of people who use these forums are at least somewhat well read and rational, so no moral lecture is needed. If there is a suggestion that some kind of tax needs to be paid by all of us for past crimes I really do think it's fudging the issue at hand.

Certain subjects are delicate - I get it. But it doesn't mean they can't be tackled in some kind of pragmatic way.

The left's relationship with Islam and those who practise it is really quite straight forward: live and let live. If they don't force it on us, we won't force them to change. All should be free to practise whatever ancient superstition they wish.

That is some scutter. If true, then why do the left target Christians?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭Dunston

he didn't do anything to destroy the court case he was merely raising awareness because these guys were walking free on bail and still in contact with kids and working in businesses with direct access to kids. one of them who got 17 years packed his bags and flew to Pakistan on the same day robinson was thrown in to custody for 2 months. only reason I know this is because of robinson. haven't seen that small fact reported by the media today

That is some scutter. If true, then why do the left target Christians?

I'm loathe to derail this thread, but how do the left target Christians? If you mean the whole "war on Christmas" thing, honestly that's nonsense.

Dunston wrote: »
    he didn't do anything to destroy the court case he was merely raising awareness because these guys were walking free on bail and still in contact with kids and working in businesses with direct access to kids. one of them who got 17 years packed his bags and flew to Pakistan on the same day robinson was thrown in to custody for 2 months. only reason I know this is because of robinson. haven't seen that small fact reported by the media today

And in doing so, he jeopardised the whole case. Don't you understand that? He was in contempt of court. By running off at the mouth, the whole trial could have been thrown out of court and those "men" would still be walking free, contacting vulnerable children right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 608 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Makes you wonder what we are leaving into Ireland with little or no background information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 734 ✭✭✭TCM

Here's another pair of horrors but not nearly the coverage (white)

Both cases are horrible, but you find it necessary to try and balance the scales by introducing the "white" crimes just to prove a point - whatever that might be.

Oh really raping our girls and women, driving over innocent men, women and children, hacking a soldier to death in broad daylight, building imperialist mosques, letting off a nail bomb at a concert the list goes on isin't forcing their backward ideology on us. Guess that's the logic of the left.

And in doing so, he jeopardised the whole case. Don't you understand that? He was in contempt of court. By running off at the mouth, the whole trial could have been thrown out of court and those "men" would still be walking free, contacting vulnerable children right now.

More scutter thrown about by left. How could these men simply walk free by Tommy Robinson being contempt of court?

Oh really raping our girls and women, driving over innocent men, women and children, hacking a soldier to death in broad daylight, building imperialist mosques, letting off a nail bomb at a concert the list goes on isin't forcing their backward ideology on us. Guess that's the logic of the left.

Mosques are perfectly legal, the first one in Britain opening during the reign of Queen Victoria. The men who killed the soldier are in prison and will never be free. The guy who blew up the Ariana Grande concert killed himself; the Muslim council of Britain made a unanimous decision to deny him his burial rites. Meanwhile, Mi5 and GCHQ monitor extremists very closely. They're not just being left to run riot and many plots have been foiled.

Meanwhile, as I stated earlier, there are millions of Muslims living in Britain who have no involvement in terrorism of any kind. Those guys are cool, so let them be. If any turn rogue, go get them. It's quite simple. The same goes for any group of people. The minute violence is used, they're in breach of the law and will be brought to account BY the law. The law, not loud mouthed thugs.

More scutter thrown about by left. How could these men simply walk free by Tommy Robinson being contempt of court?

The laws surrounding fair trials are not merely "scutter thrown around by the left". I have already posted links to articles explaining why Robinson nearly got the case thrown out of court, but it's up to you to read and learn. LINK

A quote from the article:
    A judge paused jury deliberations in the second of three linked trials over fears that the far-right figurehead’s live stream of the case from outside Leeds Crown Court would result in the case collapsing and rapists going free.

The laws surrounding fair trials are not merely "scutter thrown around by the left". I have already posted links to articles explaining why Robinson nearly got the case thrown out of court, but it's up to you to read and learn. LINK

A quote from the article:

Almost all serious crime trials are reported by the media with cameras outside the court. I haven't seen a case collapse over that. Have you?