Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas Surfing

• Registered Users Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭jay0109

Disability benefit for life too.

This circus can't go on forever folks...the most indebted country in the EU/OECD per head of pop and this type of crap happening every day in the courts/welfare system. When it does blow up, it won't be pretty

• Registered Users Posts: 12,845 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Is she though? Every morning getting up early and squeezing ourselves onto overcrowded public transport, working all day and many times late into the evening saving up so we can afford a tiny house, and if we're lucky, two kids.

She'll be sitting on her fat arse getting a cut of our wages for her entire life. That settlement will get her a nice house next to her mam that she'll probably fill with kids.

She is young and silly, she will blow it all

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

The magnitude of the award is possibly more appropriate to a scenario with a psychopathic tram driver deliberately derailing the tram in order to wipe out a passerby who was minding their own business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

She'll be sitting on her fat arse getting a cut of our wages for her entire life. That settlement will get her a nice house next to her mam that she'll probably fill with kids.

The fat **** will probably get a council flat. God forbid she'd have to pay for it herself

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Of course the judge is going to approve the award. They can't admit liability by agreeing a 550,000 Euro settlement and then go on to win the case after the judge tells them 'I don't approve of this agreement'!

If you plead guilty in a murder trial and admit "Yes, I murdered Joe", the judge can't turn around and insist "No you didn't"

The judge did noting wrong here! Veolia have set a dangerous precedent for themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

Laois_Man wrote: »
    The judge did noting wrong here! Veolia have set a dangerous precedent for themselves!
    Don't you worry, the commuters will pay this up, cent by cent.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Floppybits

The luas will have loads hanging on the sides now looking to get a claim in. Might mean there will be plenty of space inside the luas.

• Registered Users Posts: 664 ✭✭✭starbaby2003

• Registered Users Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

Laois_Man wrote: »
    Of course the judge is going to approve the award.  They can't admit liability by agreeing a 550,000 Euro settlement and then go on to win the case after the judge tells them 'I don't approve of this agreement'!

If you plead guilty in a murder trial and admit "Yes, I murdered Joe", the judge can't turn around and insist "No you didn't"

The judge did noting wrong here!  Veolia have set a dangerous precedent for themselves!

Yes he can actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Boards really is gone to sh1te.
    Have yis all **** all else to be doing. What’s the story like, are yis all subconsciously lashing out at your own short comings or what.
    Are yis all Vegans? Is that it?

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,030 ✭✭✭Minderbinder

She is a stupid person and that child she had will have no chance in life

Is she though? Every morning getting up early and squeezing ourselves onto overcrowded public transport, working all day and many times late into the evening saving up so we can afford a tiny house, and if we're lucky, two kids.

The entire workforce of Ireland should go on strike, preferably on dole day. The workers need to stand up for themselves. Seriously, things are so ridiculous. What is wrong with normal Irish people that they'll eat s**t and pay for it when they're finished?

Boards really is gone to sh1te.
    Have yis all **** all else to be doing. What’s the story like, are yis all subconsciously lashing out at your own short comings or what.
    Are yis all Vegans? Is that it?

Expecting people to take responsibility for their own stupidity is not a novel idea. Why should she be compensated? Genuine question? People are born with much worse illnesses and don’t even get help from the state never mind compensation

• Registered Users Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

May I enquire to the ethnicity of this fine lady?

Expecting people to take responsibility for their own stupidity is not a novel idea. Why should she be compensated? Genuine question? People are born with much worse illnesses and don’t even get help from the state never mind compensation

Agreed. No problem with what you have posted.
    It’s just every thread on this site spirals into a cesspit of insults. It’s disgusting.
    Fat this, whore that, knacker him, tramp her.
    By all means the topic at hand should be discussed but why does it have to turn so nasty.

mad muffin wrote: »
    May I enquire to the ethnicity of this fine lady?

Point proven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 921 ✭✭✭na1

In other countries the person who deliberately obstruct the tram will be dragged to court and pay back the company losses.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

If I lay down in front of a Dublin Bus so that it runs over my legs, can I sue them?

I'm so so sick rewarding the dregs of society when they do stupid sh*t; we were all dummies as teens, but somehow I never put my life at risk like this idiot. Why is society slowing down for these people?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,294 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

This is nothing new, kids used to ride between the carriages on the London Underground over 20 years ago , Dublin is just catching up.

Although if you get injured through your own stupidity, it's your own stupid fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

"He said his client did not want to blame the driver."

Hahhahahaa

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

The Judge can refuse to approve the settlement where it is insufficent. I'm not sure they can refuse to approve a sufficent settlement. The Judge did not make an award here the case was settled.

It’s just every thread on this site spirals into a cesspit of insults. It’s disgusting.
    By all means the topic at hand should be discussed but why does it have to turn so nasty.
    My problem here is with the highly educated judiciary. They shouldn’t be awarding these ridiculous claims. I think all posts on boards descend that way. I have been lambasted on numerous occasions.

My problem here is with the highly educated judiciary. They shouldn’t be awarding these ridiculous claims. I think all posts on boards descend that way. I have been lambasted for asking on numerous occasions.

They didn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Reati

I think all posts on boards descend that way. I have been lambasted on numerous occasions.

Pretty much. Sure isn't there any entire thread about the death of boards.

It's easy to nitpick from behind a keyboard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

It turns nasty because people are sick of leeches on society like her, the scrounging fat ****

• Registered Users Posts: 16,522 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

That should never have came near a court sitting.
    Outrageous to pay her compo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Reati

yabadabado wrote: »

Apperantly those in the legal profession don't agree. Don't we see plenty of cases paid out these days.

yabadabado wrote: »

Who should be making the decision on who gets access to the courts?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,522 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Who should be making the decision on who gets access to the courts?

Peter Casey

They didn't.

They can’t as judges say they are not approving the settlement?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭bri007

Madness, handy money. I was a witness of a poor women in her early 50’s a number of years ago, she was on her way to work on public transport (won’t mention which one) everyone was standing as it was full, then went to a sudden stop and she fell and hit her face of the bar in the middle of the floor.

She had to go to hospital, long story short she broke her nose and fractured her cheek bone. She was out of work unpaid as no sick cover, I exchanged numbers as I was a witness beside her.

My point is she was on her way to work and she had a ice changing and traumatic event and was out of pocket in the end.

Was it down to her stupidity, not at all it was down to her getting up to earn a living and having an accident.

Can’t say the same for this women who made a decision to endanger her life no matter what age she was end of the day why should someone have to pay 500k for that.

Crazy...