Cafe Owner Tells Customer to Drop Dead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

She should have replied a la Arnie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Seems the outrage has arrived on he's TripAdvisor page aswell, the Witch hunt has begun!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭mikemac2

aluminium wrote: »
    Best radio in a long time.

I wonder will it be played back on Sat. morning

Meh, it doesn’t compare to the wedding planner who got a deserved bollocking from the parish priest last week

Now that was liveline gold :D

Disclaimer: your eardrums may burst from her shrill voice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

I remember year's ago there was a garden centre, won't say where..

The owner was a right bollox, he was one of the most obnoxious guys I ever came across.

Anyhow his business was booming because people just loved going in there for the experience and see what he comes up with...

I loved the windup I think he did too.

I suppose the old snowflakes and lefties are up in arms and their getting offended cloaking device is down...

Some people can see the funny side of these situations.

That's probably more than likely the people who were brought up with Monty python Eddie Murphy delerious etc

Nothing funnier and satirical than getting bad service and having the banter...

If you are easily offended it's time to see a psychotherapist because its curable seriously.

Ohhhh the snowflake brigade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭ArrBee

Funny!

"I can't control the price because the till decides based on ingredients", followed by "I always change the price for regulars"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,452 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

So people are ok with a €2 price increase for no good reason then ? Seems to me that if the owner is " hilarious " he can charge what he likes ? Or am I missing something ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Greyfox

doolox wrote: »

I have witnessed junior catering staff, usually from politer and more pleasant parts of the world being hectored and bullied by Irish customers in cafes, bars and restaurants..

What jars with me is the way some people can switch persona in mid flight, being aggressive and bullying with junior staff and then all oily politeness and charm with more senior or socially upward and more powerful people. It should be possible to treat everyone the same way but this is too hard for some people.

True we seem happy to just allow customers to abuse junior staff and when a more senior member takes over then they think it was the junior staff member that couldn't handle the situation when really the customer changed there tune. It's very unfair that this is allowed on liveline as even though the customers likely telling the truth we don't have any proof. I get threatened with "I'm going to liveline" a few times a week myself.. luckily foe me Joe is not allowed deal with complaints about telecom companies on his show as it's unfair on the company which could be innocent

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

"Ah Judith, you're a pain in the ar$e"

I love him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,978 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    So people are ok with a €2 price increase for no good reason then ? Seems to me that if the owner is " hilarious " he can charge what he likes ? Or am I missing something ?

He can charge what he likes full stop, no hilarity needed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

iamwhoiam wrote:

His business, he can charge what he likes. People have a choice....go somewhere else. I've eaten there, the food is excellent and good value. There is however a fast food chain branch five minutes from Tom's where you can get a crap meal for 8.50.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

"Tom, Tom, why aren't you in work"

I love him even more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,540 ✭✭✭Homer

Yes you are missing something. You obviously didn't bother your hole listening to the whole show. He explained there was a price increase back in May??? Some variations fo the said stir fry could be more expensive depending on what you wanted in it or with it.

Any less offended now?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Am I missing something? She complained that the prices had gone up. Owner rang and lied about it being VAT related and tells her to drop dead. AH supports owner ripping people off and putting the woman in her place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Meh, it doesn’t compare to the wedding planner who got a deserved bollocking from the parish priest last week

Now that was liveline gold :D

Disclaimer: your eardrums may burst from her shrill voice

Nah, Tom beats the Wedding Planner hands down. The Wedding Planner was just a pain in the hole.

The customer in this instance was a right moany smart ass trying to embarrass Tom and could not believe when he was not entertaining her.

I was making dinner and he just comes out with...."you know what you can do with your principals" and I just collapsed laughing. She was like.....what????

When the other 2 busybodies turned up to berete him and he scuttled them too.....it was hilarious...one actually went...."oh my God" "its a disgrace"

And he says....I dont have to bow down and take this....he probably spoke for every staff member who has encountered "I'll go to Joe Duffy".

the woman was a sly whinger. She even contradicted herself. Noodles or no noodles. The price varies depending on what you get in it.

The whole scenario was like something out of Father Ted or Killinascully.

I really haven't laughed like that in ages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

ArrBee wrote: »
    Funny!

"I can't control the price because the till decides based on ingredients", followed by "I always change the price for regulars"
    Neither of that is untrue.
    When you order let’s say a stir fry or a sandwich the front of the till shows you a list of ingredients you can choose from.
    Let’s say for the stir fry I want noodles instead of rice, prawns, as much veg as I want (from about 20 options) and you can add cashew nuts, sesame seeds chilli garlic etc so literally nothing goes into it without your say so and you don’t feel like a knob standing there either.

If Tom himself serves you, (rare) and recognizes you as a regular it’s highly likely he’ll give you a little bit off.

I’m sure if I was putting prawns and chicken and pork into it the till would charge more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    "Tom, Tom, why aren't you in work"

I love him even more

But I'm retired (and now ring in to complain about stir fries)

That was even funnier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,612 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

So people are ok with a €2 price increase for no good reason then ?
    How do you know there is no good reason? What makes you feel entitled to dictate businesses who trade in fairly competitive sector (there is no monopoly or lack of supply) what price they should charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Peatys

He's free to charge what he likes. As much as customers are free to eat elsewhere.

Also, it's not for 'no good reason'. More profit is as good a reason as any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

What is the missing step in the thought process that gets you from

'I think I've been over-charged by €2'

to

'I'm ringing Joe Duffy to complain'?

25 years go we'd laugh at the notion of this kind of behavior being tolerated never mind encouraged. Society has become infanatilised and people have been conditioned to view every minor inconvenience as some sort of travesty that needs the spotlight of national attention.

I blame the media for encouraging this bollox and social media for hot-housing these cranks in echo-chambers.

God help us if some real natural disaster befalls the country, we saw what a few inches of snow did to the place earlier in the year. I have no confidence in the current generation to manage their way through an actual crisis.

Fcuking snowflakes!

Yer wan sounded like one of the blitz generation in fairness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭nthclare

If I owned a business I can charge what I like as long as it's not over the price on the box...

If it's selling for 6 euro's and I decide to sell it to Paulette for 3 and Mick for 6 it's my loss...

And Paulette s gain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,498 ✭✭✭Wheety

What reason does he need?

The owner could charge €80 for that stir fry and there's nothing you could do about it. He wouldn't sell many but that's his decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,934 ✭✭✭goat2

Raising the price if a 10 euro meal to 12 euro over night was wrong, and it was only lunch, he said it was because of vat increase, according to her, but vat done increase until January, so it was wrong

goat2 wrote: »
    Raising the price if a 10 euro meal to 12 euro over night was wrong, and it was only lunch, he said it was because of vat increase, according to her, but vat done increase until January, so it was wrong

Yet again another person who hasn't bothered their hole to actually listen to the entirety of the conversation or else you would know that he didn't raise the price by 2 euro overnight. He says it went from 9.99 to 11.99 back in May. She claimed she had a stir fry since may and only paid 9.99 but he says it depends on what she had IN the stir fry.

The argument about him saying it was VAT increase is debatable depending on whos story you believe. She sounded like a complete crank to me but she could still be telling the truth.

What is the missing step in the thought process that gets you from

'I think I've been over-charged by €2'

to

'I'm ringing Joe Duffy to complain'?

25 years go we'd laugh at the notion of this kind of behavior being tolerated never mind encouraged. Society has become infanatilised and people have been conditioned to view every minor inconvenience as some sort of travesty that needs the spotlight of national attention.

I blame the media for encouraging this bollox and social media for hot-housing these cranks in echo-chambers.

God help us if some real natural disaster befalls the country, we saw what a few inches of snow did to the place earlier in the year. I have no confidence in the current generation to manage their way through an actual crisis.

Fcuking snowflakes!

I would not ring Joe Duffy, but go to a larger audience to name and shame the over charger, that being twitter, only a few listen Joe, compared to twitter , world wide

Its a cafe in Tullamore FFS?! Worldwide audience? You sound crazier than her :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Raising prices in itself isn't wrong. Telling people it is because of a VAT increase is. It's bordering on fraudulent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Why was it wrong? Is it wrong that each year insurance goes up, stock goes up, rates in the town goes up? Heat and light goes up. His prices are extremely competitive and I’d go as saying that stir fry was actually underpriced at 9.99

Homer wrote: »
    Yet again another person who hasn't bothered their hole to actually listen to the entirety of the conversation or else you would know that he didn't raise the price by 2 euro overnight. He says it went from 9.99 to 11.99 back in May. She claimed she had a stir fry since may and only paid 9.99 but he says it depends on what she had IN the stir fry.

The argument about him saying it was VAT increase is debatable depending on whos story you believe. She sounded like a complete crank to me but she could still be telling the truth.

this 99 malarkey is only a thing to make us think it is cheaper
    I did know it was 9.99 and 11.99 what was the difference, I don't think she would have gone public if she were not telling the truth, and she was right if that is the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Homer wrote: »

A 4.5% vat increase in a tenner isn't two Euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭ArrBee

Neither of that is untrue.
    When you order let’s say a stir fry or a sandwich the front of the till shows you a list of ingredients you can choose from.
    Let’s say for the stir fry I want noodles instead of rice, prawns, as much veg as I want (from about 20 options) and you can add cashew nuts, sesame seeds chilli garlic etc so literally nothing goes into it without your say so and you don’t feel like a knob standing there either.

If Tom himself serves you, (rare) and recognizes you as a regular it’s highly likely he’ll give you a little bit off.

I’m sure if I was putting prawns and chicken and pork into it the till would charge more.

Oh, I get the varying cost based on ingredients.
    I was laughing at all of the contradictions he rattled out, that being one.
    sure, technically both can be true but he took the position 1st that it's out of his hands so to speak.

The most painful part was listening to him struggle with the point of the complaint. He really didn't get it at all.

Of course he can change prices as and when he sees fit. And 2e is only 2e, and 11.99 is probably decent value, and the VAT increase may or may not be a good idea, and yes not all of the 2e goes into his pocket (whoever the guy supporting him at the end was) but all of that is irrelevant to the point being made.

1. when asked why the price had increased one week to the next, answer given was "VAT". I believe her because he kept on at her during the interview to justify this while still claiming that he didn't say it. no need to justify it if it wasn't true!

2. an open question to find out if this was widespread behavior in the hospitality industry. (ppl putting up prices in advance)

That is it. The value of increase, etc. shouldn't come into it.

He performed a very good attacking defense that was lacking in credibility for me which only makes me think he is full of sh1te.

If he had genuinely put up prices unrelated to VAT increase, that should have been his sole position.
    If he had put up the prices in preparation of the increase, he should accept that and defend that position (as in he is entitled to).

instead he had a foot in each camp and ran himself in circles.

given that I have better coffee at home and the stirfry is better next door I'm glad I don't feel the need to go in there.