Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Icons Issue 1 : Withdrawal Symptoms

• Registered Users Posts: 35,024 ✭✭✭✭Baggly

Plasma Squirrel proceeds to the hole in the security door and peeks through, surveying what is inside....

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭Nebelwerfer

Mr. Heffernan turns back to the assistant manager, only to realize, he is in no way visible anymore. Mr. Heffernan struggles to see more than a foot in front of him.

"Im NEVER going to be able to continue this conversation...!!!" he thinks to himself as his grinding of the teeth gets louder and louder.

No matter how much he squints, he cannot seem to improve his vision.

"What the hell is going on?!" he thinks, as he gets angrier still.

He starts pacing back and forth...

"How the hell am I going to find the managers desk now?!"

Slight rumbles come from Mr. Heffernan's direction, with the fog over his head starting to become thicker and thicker.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,485 ✭✭✭✭Banjo

As the funk takes hold, the fog about a foot over Heffernan's head darkens, and a few seconds later it begins to rain on him. This doesn't have any affect on the fog around him. The rain soaks the advice desk and his loan application, the ink running and the napkin with the cow pictures turning to mush. From under the table there's a slightly choked "what the **** is it now???"

OOC : Just so's your aware, rain doesn't wash fog away - but I don't see anything in Heff's backstory that would suggest he knows that.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Fourier

Banjo wrote: »
    Approaching the bank, Indigo sees the fog billowing out the door and some open windows on the upper floors - but passing through it he senses none of the usual subtle interplay of his molecules with any vapour, and no sooner does the thought pass through the nebulous cloud he calls a mind than the fog is gone, and he's floating in the Foyer of the bank, a number of concious and semiconscious civilians strewn on the ground, a van in the middle and a guy with a frankly awesome quiff and natty waistcoat clawing at his own face with giant tech mittens.
    Indigo assumes the man is a villian from his garish outfit, regular security hopefully don't dress like that.

He tries to solidify behind the man, concentrating the matter in his right hand so as to enhance its clobbering force, and knock him out with a quick blow to the head.

Fourier wrote: »
    Indigo assumes the man is a villian from his garish outfit, regular security hopefully don't dress like that.

He tries to solidify behind the man, concentrating the matter in his right hand so as to enhance its clobbering force, and knock him out with a quick blow to the head.
    he can't react, so it's a guaranteed hit doing 7 damage, so he's out.

Indigo is quite pleased with himself, but soon snaps out of it realising there might be more to deal with.

He tries to check the van door.

The van doors are wide open. Inside is mostly bare; there are a few open, empty cases with moulded inserts clearly designed for oversized gloves and there's a spare gasmask near the back. Much of the inside of the van is dotted with blotches of a yellow, waxy substance.

Indigo decides he can investigate the substance later. He goes to check the main security door seeing it as the obvious target. While doing so he checks have any other hero types shown up.

From under the table there's a slightly choked "what the **** is it now???"

Mr Heffernan turns around and looks at the paperwork. "Ruined..." he thinks, as he feels his anger subside, slipping now back in the usual feeling of desperation.

"Little chance of recovery... Or that loan...

For the moment anyway, foul magic at play... Lets check this out first."

Mr. Heffernan turns to the Assistant Manager, cowering underneath the desk. Kneels down besides him.

He turns to face him and addresses the young man.

"Fear not child..."

Mr. Heffernan lays his hand on the man's shoulder.

"We are a city awakened to danger and called to defend our freedom, our liberties. Our grief and pain, has turned to anger and this anger will turn to resolution.

Whether justice is brought to our enemies or we bring our enemies to justice, Justice will be done.

We should not cower, nor should we fear. Those that intend to strike us down, rob from us and put our lives in danger, daily.

We shall not stand for this any longer, and we HAVE the power to change it!

You... Have... The Power!"

As Mr. Heffernan others the last word, he gives the Assistant Manager a small push of encouragement.

Necrominus wrote: »
    Hugging the wall (well as much as a mouse can), Squiramorph keeps left along the wall and eases forward.

Passing a few prone, trembling customers she reaches a corner There's a door headed south, though from down here she can't tell much about it as it towers off up into the fog, the wall continues north.

Pter wrote: »
    Plasma Squirrel proceeds to the hole in the security door and peeks through, surveying what is inside....

Inside is some twisted wreckage of a door, a security desk with a metal detector and another set of steel security doors leading east. These have also been destroyed.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Banjo wrote:
    Passing a few prone, trembling customers she reaches a corner There's a door headed south, though from down here she can't tell much about it as it towers off up into the fog, the wall continues north.

Squiramorph continues north into the fog feeling her way slowly forward. Also sniffing for crumbs. She's a bit peckish.

Plasma Squirrel proceeds to the inner security doors, making sure to avoid triggering the metal detector as he goes. He peeks through the door.

You... Have... The Power!"

As Mr. Heffernan others the last word, he gives the Assistant Manager a small push of encouragement.

The AM staggers forward, unsure what's going on or what's expected of him. He flails his arms wildly in the fog trying to clear a path, too wildly - first arm one then the other spilts in two, three, four - from the elbows down each arm is a swarming mass of tentacles. Terrified, the AM pushed himself up against the partition wall, edging around it towards the door to the foyer, his tentacles sucking and popping off the wall as he goes. The noise attracts attention. Even as he begins to pound on the door, three blasts of flame jet out of the fog, two striking the door, the third winging the AM. This just makes his pounding more frantic.

"Here they come!" Someone bellows.

In the foyer, Indigo sees the door before him shake - it looks like it's going to give.

Indigo retreats back a few steps and readies himself for whatever is coming. He attempts to lift one of the desks into the air telekinetically, ready to wallop whatever comes through.

Mr Heffernan plonks himself down in the assistant manager's seat.

He scratches his head.

"I must be losing my touch... That did not sound, like it went well...".

Mr. Heffernan makes a mental note; be more specific next time.

Squiramorph continues north into the fog feeling her way slowly forward. Also sniffing for crumbs. She's a bit peckish.

There's not a lot to see when your head is at ground level and the room is filled with fog. After a little scurry, you come upon a heavily brogued foot. You can't see far enough up the leg to see who it belongs to. The foot is pointed towards the wall, if that helps.
    Plasma Squirrel proceeds to the inner security doors, making sure to avoid triggering the metal detector as he goes. He peeks through the door.

This door leads into a short, narrow corridor, about 12 feet of brushed concrete, pretty featureless - apart from the cameras on the roof and the molten wreck of another door at the end of it. There's an odd, distant sound coming from beyond it, like an old bus trying to get up a hill.
    Shelly returns safely to her spot on the ground, finding that through familiarity it's starting to almost feel comfortable.
    Through half-opened eyes, Shelly sees a "sexy young dude" (those are not my words, are they Fourier?) materialise out of thin air behind the remaining guard and clobber him on the head. She also notices that the unconcious body she was lying beside is suddenly breathing quite rapidly - like her, he was faking. But now he's very agitated, his eyes darting from the guard to the exit to the floor down near his waist. Shelly notices that there's a puddle of liquid on the ground and due to a slight slope in the flooring it's beginning to flow towards their heads.
    Fourier wrote: »
    Indigo retreats back a few steps and readies himself for whatever is coming. He attempts to lift one of the desks into the air telekinetically, ready to wallop whatever comes through.

A wooden rack containing credit card and mortgage pamphlets detaches from the wall and takes up a protective position in front of Indigo.

Just to be clear in case it comes up - as it nearly has at least once before - the difference between lifting something and throwing something is a factor of 2 in your strength. E.g. to lift a Motorcycle you need Strength 5, but to throw it you need Strength 7. In that respect the benchmarks for strength represent the upper limits of your dead-lift ability at each level

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

There's not a lot to see when your head is at ground level and the room is filled with fog. After a little scurry, you come upon a heavily brogued foot. You can't see far enough up the leg to see who it belongs to. The foot is pointed towards the wall, if that helps.

Squiramorph sniffs at the foot and lightly climbs aboard. She then stands up on her back paws and tries to climb into their pantsleg.

This door leads into a short, narrow corridor, about 12 feet of brushed concrete, pretty featureless - apart from the cameras on the roof and the molten wreck of another door at the end of it. There's an odd, distant sound coming from beyond it, like an old bus trying to get up a hill.

Plasma Squirrel keeps proceeding quietly towards the direction the noise is coming from.

Squiramorph sniffs at the foot and lightly climbs aboard. She then stands up on her back paws and tries to climb into their pantsleg.

OOC: So i think we need to discuss our partnership if you are gonna use your powers to get up peoples trousers........:D

OOC: There's method to my madness even if I don't know it yet :pac:

Mr Heffernan plonks himself down in the assistant manager's seat.

He scratches his head.

"I must be losing my touch... That did not sound, like it went well...".

Mr. Heffernan makes a mental note; be more specific next time.

OOC : Don't worry, you were plenty specific - In terms of the Assistant Manager, despite your Braveheart-level speech he still failed a basic willpower test to not chicken out, followed by a number of failed sneak tests. Powers might make you super, but it takes courage to make you a hero....

Heffernan hears a thunk, followed by an "OW!" and a mumbled "Sorry" as a door opens off to his right. He hears a muffled voice declaring "Tal! Menny has secured upstairs, Blis is nearly through the vault, you just need to buy us 2 more minutes! <thunk> ****! Careful! Hey, what's taking SWAT so long?"

"They know wonderboy ain't gonna show, they're too chicken ....to... come in the front door! **** - Get upstairs, tell Menny to check the roof - they're either sneakin' in or waitin' for Planeclothes".

Heffernan overhears the conversation between the goons and decides to check it out.

He makes his way through this fog, in the hopes to see something before it/ they see him.

He holds one hand to his side and the other in front him of to balance himself and gently and carefully moves forward.

There's a vaguely cheesey smell to the foot, but not the good kind of cheesey. She nimbly grabs a shoelace in her teeth and swings herself up to the ankle, her tiny paws grasping clawfulls of sock, and then she's up and away, exploring the hairy-pink-floored cave. She passes an ankle, a freckle patch and what might be a tattoo of an anthropomorphic clock on the shin, it's too dark to tell. Upon reaching the knee she feels the leg twitching - she's been noticed.

OOC : roll co-ordination vs prowess [d6+2]
    BTW, in case it factors into your plan, for the record you're on the left leg - thats the first foot you came to.

Banjo wrote:
    There's a vaguely cheesey smell to the foot, but not the good kind of cheesey. She nimbly grabs a shoelace in her teeth and swings herself up to the ankle, her tiny paws grasping clawfulls of sock, and then she's up and away, exploring the hairy-pink-floored cave. She passes an ankle, a freckle patch and what might be a tattoo of an anthropomorphic clock on the shin, it's too dark to tell. Upon reaching the knee she feels the leg twitching - she's been noticed.

Squiramorph continues upwards.

In the fog, it's difficult to see what's going on.

"AAaargh! there's something crawling up my leg!"
    "It's Doug's ma come back for desert!"
    "**** YOU! TAKE IT BACK"

The cave collapses over Squiramorph's head as she leaps around to the back of the thigh and grabs on tight. He starts stamping.
    OOC : roll Strength vs Difficulty 3 to hang on, if you want to stay up the trouser leg!

"Easy guys!"

*Crash*

"My Arms! My beautiful Arms!"

Kechooo! Kechooo! BANG!

"Finally! Some action!"

___

In the Foyer, Indigo sees the doors burst outwards and a man with tentacle arms goes running out into the street. Behind him he can see 4 Loomies with firing wildly in the general direction of the door, clearly shooting blind. None of the shots come near him. A fifth is over by a window on the left dancing and thumping himself on the leg. At the back of the room on the right is a huge mass of matter rubbing his big melty hands together.

Plasma Squirrel keeps proceeding quietly towards the direction the noise is coming from.

He exits into another guard station. A logo on the wall confirms that this is indeed the bank, as he had suspected. There are stairs to his left going up, another security desk with X-Ray and Metal Detector to his right and beyond that another security door. The noise is louder here, and clearly coming from beyond the security door. Behind the security desk is an unconscious guard.

In the fog, it's difficult to see what's going on.

"AAaargh! there's something crawling up my leg!"
    "It's Doug's ma come back for desert!"
    "**** YOU! TAKE IT BACK"

The cave collapses over Squiramorph's head as she leaps around to the back of the thigh and grabs on tight. He starts stamping.
    OOC : roll Strength vs Difficulty 3 to hang on, if you want to stay up the trouser leg!

"Easy guys!"

*Crash*

"My Arms! My beautiful Arms!"

Kechooo! Kechooo! BANG!

"Finally! Some action!"

Squiramorph darts upwards, heading for the top of the leg before crossing over the front and stopping in the middle for a moment.

Heffernan overhears the conversation between the goons and decides to check it out.

He makes his way through this fog, in the hopes to see something before it/ they see him.

He holds one hand to his side and the other in front him of to balance himself and gently and carefully moves forward.

Are you following the wall to your left, your right or just following the voices? Also - please roll your Co-Ordination vs [d6+2] and also [d6+5]

Necrominus wrote:
    Squiramorph darts upwards, heading for the top of the leg before crossing over the front and stopping in the middle for a moment.

OOC; Jaysus....