Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 229 Nurmagomedov vs McGregor - Sat Oct 6th **Warning in first post!**

• Registered Users Posts: 12,545 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Easy Rod wrote: »
    What’s the story with eir website, can’t seem to stream using any browsers?

Im streaming boxing at the moment using IE. Takes a few seconds to get going but works fine.

What time should the McGregor fight be starting do ye reckon lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,928 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

McGregor by Sub

Starting now.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Commanchie

McGregor by Sub

Not before 4.45

• Registered Users Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

McGregor by Sub
    I've missed watching Tony Ferguson so much, can't wait for his fight and hope his knee is in the condition it needs to be.
    Had faith dealt him a different hand he could be UFC lightweight champion now, with his mental strength I don't put it past him rectifying that in the future!

Absolutely, he's the rightful LW champ in my mind. I think he would have taken Khabib if it wasn't for that pesky cable.
    The 150k he's getting to fight tonight is an insult imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,843 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

McGregor by Sub
    Absolutely, he's the rightful LW champ in my mind. I think he would have taken Khabib if it wasn't for that pesky cable.

surely he'll get more than that

no doubt in my mind he'll beat khabib, fancy he'd beat conor also
    I love the way that man fights...he has it all

• Registered Users Posts: 3,935 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

The win bonus is more insulting to be honest

• Registered Users Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭tinpib

According to the UFC site the first early prelim is 11:15pm, no sign of it unless I'm missing something?

Nothing on UFC Twitter nor Ariel's Twitter.

Conor/Nate II on Fight Pass now.

McGregor by Sub
    sherdog has it starting at 11.30

McGregor by Sub
    tinpib wrote: »
    According to the UFC site the first early prelim is 11:15pm, no sign of it unless I'm missing something?

Nothing on UFC Twitter nor Ariel's Twitter.

Conor/Nate II on Fight Pass now.

Says 11.30pm on mine

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    Says 11.30pm on mine

That's odd. I'm on the UFC UK one and it's 11:15.

And we are at 11:32pm now and it's only rd 3 of 5 in Conor/Nate II.

I guess they could just cut out of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

Nurmagomedov by Sub
    tinpib wrote: »
    That's odd. I'm on the UFC UK one and it's 11:15.

And we are at 11:32pm now and it's only rd 3 of 5 in Conor/Nate II.

I guess they could just cut out of it.

Maybe its on the facebook page, dont they normally do couple of fights on that.

McGregor by Sub
    la flare is up first to get the juices flowing...usually puts on a show

McGregor by Decision
    Finally its starting. Proper 12 on the octagon :D

Cool, have it now. Somehow I was on the wrong channel. :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

And UFC 3 'Notorious Edition' LOL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

if you want the most accurate available start times check the bookies times where the odds are listed for the fight.

boylesports had it 5 am earlier now adjusted to 5:15.

khabib was 8/15 earlier, now 4/7, figured this was from the home crowd money starts to flow in. but strangely conor was 6/4 now 13/8. so they put both prices out, guess that means that they aren getting much action on the fight either way. probably because most Irish either want to back conor or nothing but don't want to risk much backing a fighter who
    a) is simply not as good as his opponent
    b) lost the plot and has been plagued by legal issues, possibly has mental/drug issues
    c) already has all the money and fame a guy could want and doesn't need the UFC any more.
    d) hasn't fought in the octagon for 2 years

we have a Russian guy at work and muppets have been betting 50s and 20s on Conor at even money all week.

another big difference in this fight is that public opinion, other UFC fighters etc are all against him now, other than people here i guess. of course Conor fanboys will say he will use tha as fuel, the same people will tell you he doesn't care what people thinks or about legal issues. it can't be both.

legal stuff messes up a mans head, dont care how much money you have.

conor's a goner tonight. no doubt in my mind.

if you want the most accurate available start times check the bookies times where the odds are listed for the fight.

Very good advice. Betfair have it 5:10am now.

of course that could change through the card.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭hunter164

Going to be halfway across the Atlantic as this kicks off, I hope the inflight WiFi is decent!

McGregor by Decision

boylesports had it 5 am earlier now adjusted to 5:15.

khabib was 8/15 earlier, now 4/7, figured this was from the home crowd money starts to flow in. but strangely conor was 6/4 now 13/8. so they put both prices out, guess that means that they aren getting much action on the fight either way. probably because most Irish either want to back conor or nothing but don't want to risk much backing a fighter who
    a) is simply not as good as his opponent
    b) lost the plot and has been plagued by legal issues, possibly has mental/drug issues
    c) already has all the money and fame a guy could want and doesn't need the UFC any more.
    d) hasn't fought in the octagon for 2 years

we have a Russian guy at work and muppets have been betting 50s and 20s on Conor at even money all week.

another big difference in this fight is that public opinion, other UFC fighters etc are all against him now, other than people here i guess. of course Conor fanboys will say he will use tha as fuel, the same people will tell you he doesn't care what people thinks or about legal issues. it can't be both.

legal stuff messes up a mans head, dont care how much money you have.

You know what is motivating Conor in my opinion, its the fact that he has to get into the cage with that Russian later on and the cage door is going to be locked. Do you think he wants to take a bad beating in front of millions of people? Feck no he doesn't. Conor is plenty motivated in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 325 ✭✭M.Cribben

I'll be driving while the fights on, any radio stations (Irish or international) covering the fight or even giving updates? Thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 3,663 ✭✭✭JoeyJJ

Decent first fight. Feck all in stadium. Happy out here watching decent seats

• Registered Users Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

M.Cribben wrote: »
    I'll be driving while the fights on, any radio stations (Irish or international) covering the fight or even giving updates? Thanks

BBC radio five live

• Registered Users Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

McGregor by Sub
    Goodnight slackers. See you at 4am. War megregor. G.o.a.t

• Registered Users Posts: 7,005 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Anyone watching this at home and have neighbours think about them if you have a few people around shouting in middle of the night.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭thebull85

Nurmagomedov by Sub
    Jeff2 wrote: »
    Anyone watching this at home and have neighbours think about them if you have a few people around shouting in middle of the night.

Why? its one night.. He hasnt fought in year.

McGregor by Sub
    Jeff2 wrote: »

**** the neighbours, they'll do ****in nuthin.

McGregor by Sub

the fact that he asked for the fight speaks volumes and his hands should be
    even better since the mayweather fight

McGregor by Sub
    maynard need to call it a day

• Registered Users Posts: 17,438 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

0ph0rce0 wrote: »
    **** the neighbours, they'll do ****in nuthin.

This is quality!