Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The channel four program will be interesting to see what elements of this they focus on.
    I remember in the Big Fat Gypsy wedding programs sometimes they used ask about paying for the day/dresses and the answer that was always given. You never ask a traveller about money.
    So, they might ask some questions that people want to know the answers to here but they may not get an answer.

When did you become homeless and why?

The bleeding guberment are robbing us .

What happened to the mobile home you owned ?

Ah sure isn't the guberment robbing us all.

What happened to the ten grand for a car and 160,000 for the house in Wexford?

Me I wouldn't know anything about Wexford are you saying I did something in Wexford like honestly ask me ma I've never been to Wexford

What happened to the house you were offered ?

We'll see that's a complicated answer now but the guberment is to blame

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

ShaneC93 wrote: »
    1ce1c4ba32ea486f1aa995a2dde81a18.png

"My kids come first" *But I'd prefer they slept on benches in a Garda station than to spend the money I've earmarked for a TV, Beer/Vodka, Wedding dress etc. this week on accomodation..

Awww poor Margaret

I can't believe she hasn't got her home forever in Tallaght yet

Stupid government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

They cum 1st......

She said it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I find it hilarious she is being extremely disrespectful to the council and government who have actually gone out of their way to make her lifestyle possible.

She shouldn't be able to afford a car, insurance, tax and nct and don't forget servicing costs as they can be quite high but her husband wouldn't know about that as the state picks up the bill after she gets a service.....

When will this free ride excuse the pun actually come to an end and people be made responsible for their actions and how to actually contribute and not just take, take, take, take and take some more......

I wonder did she sell her caravan yet?

Where is the mobile home she purchased?

Where is her car now that she is going on about public transportation????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Jane98

Why is her daughter never in any of her publicity photos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Ethereal Cereal

taking the individual out of this situation, it cant really be called a publicity stunt. If there was anywhere else to send them, the guards would have.

There is an undeniable shortage of social housing in this country, and an almost complete stand still on new builds, while office blocks spring up all over the city.

Its not just causing homelessness, its causing astronomical rents, horrible living conditions, longer and longer commutes, land hording, profiteering...

Can anyone here tell me they are happy with their current rent, and don't mind the cost etc. Dont get sidetracked by an individual case (I know this thread references the case in its title) its a side effect of a non maintainable difficult scenario we all find ourselves in...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

That bodycam video really shows them up for what they are.

No respect for anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Emme

Jane98 wrote: »

Maybe she is protecting her daughter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I find it hilarious she is being extremely disrespectful to the council and government who have actually gone out of their way to make her lifestyle possible.

Given her current circumstances, and the fact that we can certainly agree the council and successive Governments have indeed gone out of their way to enable her lifestyle, I’d be highly critical of them too in her position.

When will this free ride excuse the pun actually come to an end and people be made responsible for their actions and how to actually contribute and not just take, take, take, take and take some more......

Could you elaborate on this “contribution to society” I keep hearing about, because I’m not sure I understand exactly where you’re coming from, perhaps because we measure a persons contribution to society using different criteria. If it’s based purely on financial terms, then I would fall well short of your contribution to society standards as I have availed of free education provided for by the State for at least half my life, I’ve availed of albeit a number of inefficiently provided public services, which is why where I can I prefer to avail of private services, it’s a choice I make for myself, and my family have all availed of public services and their “contribution to society” in financial terms so far is zero.

So what do you propose should be done with people who make “no contribution to society”? If I’ve “contributed more to society” in financial terms, should that mean I get to lord it over those who haven’t contributed anything, or have contributed less? Because that appears to be what you’re implying, and I don’t want to put words in your mouth, but perhaps a simple explanation of these ill-defined terms like “contribution to society” and “people being made responsible for their actions”, and an outline of the criteria to meet them, would be really helpful for those of us who think you’re just talking shìte.

I wonder did she sell her caravan yet?

Where is the mobile home she purchased?

Where is her car now that she is going on about public transportation????

You from Revenue?

GIF-abandon-abandon-thread-bye-hater-Doc-Brown-GIF.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Jane98 wrote: »

She brought her along to the last protest less than two weeks ago:
    2d177618b8f0e3aa31c5a2a98aab8ccb.png

NIMAN wrote: »

No respect for anything.

Link?

Next family up for a home forever

'We have nowhere to go' - Time ticking for family handed eviction notice from caravan

Time is ticking for John McDonagh who claims he has been told he will be arrested and brought to court if he and his family do not move out of their caravan before Thursday.

John McDonagh, his wife Natasha McGuire and their four children, Missy (5), Maggie (3), Billy (2) and Mary Kate (1), have been sleeping in their four-berth mobile home in a public lay-by on the Cork Road in Fermoy for the last 12 months.

John told Neil Prendeville on Cork's Red FM that the family originally moved into a caravan next to his parents' house after the home they were renting was no longer available.

John and his family rely on benefits as he is not qualified to work in any particular trade.

He feels that some people don't want to hire him because he is a member of the travelling community.

He said that at the time he and his wife had their four children, they were in a house and "didn't think that the house was going to go."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/we-have-nowhere-to-go-time-ticking-for-family-handed-eviction-notice-from-caravan-873015.html

Suppose these have nothing to do with why Mr McDonagh isn't employed

https://www.pressreader.com/ireland/the-corkman/20090219/281951718718553

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/corkman/news/cousins-fined-for-their-part-in-fracas-in-mitchelstown-27080994.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

KrustyUCC wrote: »

'We have nowhere to go' - Time ticking for family handed eviction notice from caravan

Time is ticking for John McDonagh who claims he has been told he will be arrested and brought to court if he and his family do not move out of their caravan before Thursday.

John McDonagh, his wife Natasha McGuire and their four children, Missy (5), Maggie (3), Billy (2) and Mary Kate (1), have been sleeping in their four-berth mobile home in a public lay-by on the Cork Road in Fermoy for the last 12 months.

John told Neil Prendeville on Cork's Red FM that the family originally moved into a caravan next to his parents' house after the home they were renting was no longer available.

John and his family rely on benefits as he is not qualified to work in any particular trade.

He feels that some people don't want to hire him because he is a member of the travelling community.

He said that at the time he and his wife had their four children, they were in a house and "didn't think that the house was going to go."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/we-have-nowhere-to-go-time-ticking-for-family-handed-eviction-notice-from-caravan-873015.html

https://www.independent.ie/regionals/corkman/news/cousins-fined-for-their-part-in-fracas-in-mitchelstown-27080994.html

They don’t have to move *out* of their caravan, they have to *move* their caravan. Shur isn’t that part of their culture.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    They don’t have to move *out* of their caravan, they have to *move* their caravan. Shur isn’t that part of their culture.

Shhhh that upsets people ,

Seriously it does

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭stuff.hunter

...my heart is bleeding ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Gatling wrote: »
    Shhhh that upsets people ,

Seriously it does

He had 7 convictions up to 2010...god knows how many he has now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Realistically speaking tough the only way for the government to raise the money to give her what she wants is to take it off the tax payer in some way.

No not really

Its perfectly possible for the government to come up with 16 billion euros in the upcoming budget to build 80,000 houses and not raise taxes
    There is currently 5 billion in the Irish Strategic investment fund - that can be used
    The government are talking about setting 3 billion aside for a rainy day fund - that can be used
    Based on that they can borrow 8bn from the European Investment Bank and others

So there you have it 16bn which can be used to build 80,000 houses without raising taxes.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,285 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

That family outside Fermoy has being doing the rounds in the local paper/radio station for a good few years now.
    There is another story that pops up from Mitchelstown about a guy needing a house for his family. They were housed in the mid 2000's but the house has fallen into disrepair. They also don't want to be housed in an estate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭facehugger99

No not really

Its perfectly possible for the government to come up with 16 billion euros in the upcoming budget to build 80,000 houses and not raise taxes
    There is currently 5 billion in the Irish Strategic investment fund - that can be used
    The government are talking about setting 3 billion aside for a rainy day fund - that can be used

So there you have it 16bn which can be used to build 80,000 houses without raising taxes.

Fcuk the pensions of tomorrow - give everyone a free house today!

No not really

That's an idea alright. They are lots of areas that the government could look into making cuts/changes.
    Just looking at education alone.
    They could also increase class sizes.
    Cut Special need assistants.
    Cut fiances for funding ipads, laptops, etc.
    Get rid of all rented prefabs on schools grounds.
    It mightn't raise a fortune but every little helps.

There is another story that pops up from Mitchelstown about a guy needing a house for his family. They were housed in the mid 2000's but the house has fallen into disrepair. They also don't want to be housed in an estate.

I take it the house in good condition when they moved in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭Odelay

NIMAN wrote: »

No respect for anything.

What video is that? Do you have a link?

Gatling wrote: »
    I take it the house in good condition when they moved in

When the relief road opened in 2006 the council purchased four houses. Three on one side of the town and one on the other.
    There was halting sites prior to this but due to the development of the road they got housed.
    The houses would have being in good enough condition already but would have being brought up to council standard if required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

That's an idea alright. They are lots of areas that the government could look into making cuts/changes.
    Just looking at education alone.
    They could also increase class sizes.
    Cut Special need assistants.
    Cut fiances for funding ipads, laptops, etc.
    Get rid of all rented prefabs on schools grounds.
    It mightn't raise a fortune but every little helps.

Ye what now. Thats whataboutery. I said they can raise 16bn. I explained how without raising taxes or making other cutbacks.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 330 ✭✭All Seeing Eye

We should try and copy the American benefits model where they limit handouts of cash and use voucher systems for housing and food. Gives people the incentive to work and earn their own money which they free to spend on whatever they want.

Ye what now. Thats whataboutery. I said they can raise 16bn. I explained how without raising taxes or making other cutbacks.

All I did was list more ways the government could find a bit of extra cash to help with providing homes for people similar to Ms Cash.
    They could look at make cutbacks in a lot of sectors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

No not really

By "raising taxes",are we to assume you mean Increasing existing taxes,or do you mean devising New sources of taxation ?

The funding sources you reference,are all indeed legitimate,but inferring that they represent a source of "Free" money is just a tad disingenuous.

Drawing down funding from any,or all,of these sources will require repayment or replenishment at some point,and that funding has to come from someplace too...?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

That's got to be just one of the worst excuses you can make..

Even if you don't want to learn a new career (something like sales, marketing, web design / development etc. can be learned for free, online within a few months), there's a shortage on even call-center and low-level workers right now in cities and you can easily get a customer support rep full-time role paying minimum €22K-24K per year.

Just yet another person with no intention of getting a job, working and contributing to society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Link?
    Odelay wrote: »
    What video is that? Do you have a link?

2 Pages back (pg 580)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

ShaneC93 wrote: »
    That's got to be just one of the worst excuses you can make..

Even if you don't want to learn a new career (something like sales, marketing, web design / development etc. can be learned for free, online within a few months), there's a shortage on even call-center and low-level workers right now in cities and you can easily get a customer support rep full-time role paying minimum €22K-24K per year.

Just yet another person with no intention of getting a job, working and contributing to society.

I’ve heard worse, but I do wonder why you’re only making that point now when throughout this thread we’ve had plenty of posters complaining as though they have no option but to commute to their place of employment, how hard they work, etc and by the way they’re talking it sounds as though they’re going to have plenty of health problems in their near futures before they collect their public pension while they’re not pushing up daisies, and costing “the taxpayer” a fortune over their lifetimes for the consequences of their bad decisions. In effect, they are a net drain on society than someone who is claiming benefits who is likely to pop their clogs a lot quicker and leaves a much smaller carbon footprint on the planet.

If you’re going to measure people’s worth based on their “contribution to society”, then you have to consider all factors, rather than just considering the factors that suit you, and ignoring the factors that don’t suit your argument.