Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

ShaneC93 wrote: »
    The head of that traveller group that she's spoken as part of at the past two protests was posting about finding a microphone + speaker and using them to allow Margaret to speak at the protest since the oragnisers of the official event have "blocked" her speaking.

I can see that going incredibly well! Speaking over / annoying even the homeless charities and protesters that are on her side.

Well if you play with fire......

What made them think she was a good candidate to speak at previous protests whenever the shallowest glance into her background would have painted her as a freeloading scumbag, seeking to skip the Q having( because of her appalling behaviour) been evicted from previous properties & involved in the most despicable form of crime.

Ironically if people like her who a clogging up the system were rooted out we may have a system that works. The person who sanctioned her previous appearances at protests is a TWAT and has helped put a nail in their own coffin and diminished its credibility

She my well be fu#kin useless but she is not homeless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Well if you play with fire......

What made them think she was a good candidate to speak at previous protests whenever the shallowest glance into her background would have painted her as a freeloading scumbag, seeking to skip the Q having( because of her appalling behaviour) been evicted from previous properties & involved in the most despicable form of crime.

Ironically if people like her who a clogging up the system were rooted out we may have a system that works. The person who sanctioned her previous appearances at protests is a TWAT and has helped put a nail in their own coffin and diminished its credibility

She my well be fu#kin useless but she is not homeless

I don’t think you understand how a person is assessed for a need for housing. The criteria aren’t based on their morals, or lack thereof; they’re assessed on their need for housing. It’s that simple, and because there is no queue, there is no queue to skip. It’s called a housing list, not a housing queue.

Whether or not she and her family do or do not meet your particular criteria to qualify as homeless is neither here nor there, realistically speaking. She already meets the criteria as set down in Irish legislation, as do many, many people like her in similar circumstances, whatever about their character and whether they’re a likeable person or not, that’s entirely irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I don’t think you understand how a person is assessed for a need for housing. The criteria aren’t based on their morals, or lack thereof; they’re assessed on their need for housing. It’s that simple, and because there is no queue, there is no queue to skip. It’s called a housing list, not a housing queue.

Whether or not she and her family do or do not meet your particular criteria to qualify as homeless is neither here nor there, realistically speaking. She already meets the criteria as set down in Irish legislation, as do many, many people like her in similar circumstances, whatever about their character and whether they’re a likeable person or not, that’s entirely irrelevant.
    Everyone needs housing OEJ. We aren’t superhuman beings that don’t require less shelter than someone else. Why should someone be deemed more important or entitled to free forever housing because of bad decisions she continues to make like they’re a public good?
    Why should responsibility and hard work be punished by high rents and never being eligible for a mortgage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I've rented for 7 years essentially contributing big time for the cash types to live in fancy homes.

Can I get a mortgage no no I can't as was turned down for not enough savings.....

I've been paying huge rents so can't afford to save for an extortionate deposit.

What a piss take of a country we live in.

But but. The “disadvantaged and vulnerable” aren’t looked after by the gubberment.

You should tell him to chuck the building, he clearly has a big future in story telling.

What makes you think he’s lying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

What makes you think he’s lying?

I didn't say lying, I said a great story teller.

However I will concede that this part is a little bit difficult to believe.
    He said even his boss would take a flat-screen TV that would be thrown out. Sure I saw it on the news a few weeks ago, a woman moved into a new house brand new kitchen units, American style fridge etc.

Flatscreens and American fridges? Bit hard to believe that the council provide such luxury items tbh.

So you don’t believe he’s lying?

Hard to believe they used to give money for maternity bags too but there you go

What’s a maternity bag?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

So you don’t believe he’s lying?

What part of my post is unclear?

I find it hard to believe that the council provide such luxury items as gratis flat screen televisions and American fridge freezers.

Perhaps people got grants and misappropriated what the grant was intended for, but that's not the same as a council saying "here's a free 42" plasma an a LG side by side American fridge freezer".

It's scamming and playing the system, no argument there, but I can't believe the council provide such things.

If they do, maybe I should just stop the 10hr days.

Everyone needs housing OEJ. We aren’t superhuman beings that don’t require less shelter than someone else. Why should someone be deemed more important or entitled to free forever housing because of bad decisions she continues to make like they’re a public good?

Y’know Sdc I completely get where you’re coming from, and I’m just as frustrated when I see cases like Ms. Cash in the media, when I see people making what I see as little or no effort to better their circumstances, if not for themselves, then for their children. But in a case like Ms. Cash’s, there’s no point in arguing about what she could have done differently ten years ago to change her circumstances so she and her family wouldn’t be in the situation they find themselves in now. There’s no use in arguing what those in charge of her case should’ve, would’ve, could’ve done differently. They have to deal with her and her family’s circumstances as they are now. We don’t, I don’t (and thank fcuk for that because she’d wreck my bulb), but the people who are responsible for her care and have been for the last ten years, are the people who should be held responsible and accountable for their lack of action.

The problem isn’t any one individual, it’s bad policies which have contributed to successive failures of accountability which have led to the point we’re at now where people like Ms. Cash were kept ticking over and literally it was just papering over the cracks and presenting a false image that there were a number of contributing factors were under control. That’s why we find ourselves now in the situation where things have gotten completely out of control and more and more on social media we’re going to see cases where the people who were normally ashamed to be seen in public are only going to become more visible.

It’s not that anyone is entitled to a free forever house or deemed more important than anyone else, it’s that through the power of social media and the media, they now have the opportunity to make themselves heard, and the idea that there are ‘genuine’ cases of homelessness and people who are ‘scamming the system’ is honestly a load of balls. There are no such thing as homeless people who make good PR. That’s why housing organisations prefer that they’d keep shtum, so they aren’t making these charities which receive millions annually in funding look like they might well be just raking in money and 90 cents in every euro going on staff to manage the money, with about 10 cents in every euro going to provide for services for people in need.

Essentially, she didn’t lick her attitude off the stones, someone’s been filling her head full of shìte, and that’s why she feels entitled to have the same social expectations as anyone else, with none of the responsibility. You can’t tackle that with legislation, and it’s likely she’ll get what she wants eventually, if only to shut her up before other people start getting ideas. The housing list will still be based on priority, so families with children will still be prioritised over single men for example with no children who while they may be on the housing list, are generally not a priority.

Why should responsibility and hard work be punished by high rents and never being eligible for a mortgage

As much as I do have a hard on for some public service bashing, neither high rents nor eligibility for a mortgage are things that the responsibility of Government, and I think it would be unfair to point fingers and say “Look at him/her getting all uppity and making demands”, and then making demands that Government should intervene on our behalf because it was our bad decisions which led to us choosing to pay a higher rent and having a nicer place to live than settling for paying a lower rent to live in some hovel, choosing never to better ourselves and working in a dead-end job with no opportunities for promotion and personal development which meant all our income was either going on rent or indeed a mortgage. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again - I wouldn’t encourage anyone to ever be dependent upon the State or Government when it comes to their welfare. They’re bound to be disappointed and feel like they’ve been let down. I’m not going to be the **** that points that out to someone’s face though when they’re in the shìt. Been there myself many, many years ago, and people would wear the tits off you having to listen to their shìt.

What’s a maternity bag?
    Apparently if you’re in receipt of social welfare they give you a grant at 20 weeks pregnant for clothes for you, and then closer to your due date they give you (or did give you) money to put together your hospital bag. Then they give you money towards your buggy and your cot when the baby is born.

Whereas if you’re self employed you’ll be hard pressed to get maternity benefit.

• Site Banned Posts: 386 ✭✭Jimmy.

It’s all for having children so to get a house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,286 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Regarding the American Fridge/freezer I have seen one of these in a council house that was only finished in the last few years. I was under the impression it was a gift or they bought it/paying it off each week.
    Going by this thread tough a fridge/freezer is required. So, they must have either bought the American one and thrown out the standard one that would have come with the house or the American one came with the house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Going by this thread tough a fridge/freezer is required.

It's not required for social housing assigned by a council etc. or I believe CBL but is required for HAP properties. http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/housing/local_authority_and_social_housing/your_rights_as_a_housing_association_tenant.html

As for the american-styles fridges, I can't imagine many councils just throwing them in for the laugh, I could only see it happening from either big complaints from the tenant ("This fridge isn't big enough for a family of 8" etc.) or if the housing is from a development like an apartment block where the developer has paid for all the units to be fitted / furnished to the same standard before the council takes over ownership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Not from the Council. Most would plead their case at the local social welfare office for a discretionary hand out to get furniture and appliances for their free house. They plead poverty based on the fact that they are on welfare it’s easy to do.

The house isnt free.
    and the community welfate officer does not give out tvs!

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,236 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Yep. Might find it in the fiction aisles

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The house isnt free.

Correct, it’s not free. Us taxpayers pay for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Yep. Might find it in the fiction aisles
    Not to say it's widespread but my brother went out with a woman who lived in a council house that did have an American fridge, a flat screen TV and Sky TV. It was in a small estate with 4 or 5 houses. All tenants in the estate were single mothers.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Correct, it’s not free. Us taxpayers pay for it.

No us taxpayers don’t pay for it. Taxpayers pay taxes whether or not homeless people ever existed, It’s our Government decides where revenue that’s taken in in taxes is distributed for the common good of society’s benefit as they see fit. Your taxes as an individual probably don’t even cover the Dail bar bill.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

The house isnt free.

Oh must we REALLY explain again ????

The house costs money, a vastly discounted sum of course.
    The money to pay for said house is given away free, with no work being required to get it.
    Ergo the house is free.

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Not to say it's widespread but my brother went out with a woman who lived in a council house that did have an American fridge, a flat screen TV and Sky TV. It was in a small estate with 4 or 5 houses. All tenants in the estate were single mothers.

It’s not widespread, I know plenty of families living in council houses, the American fridge isn’t particularly common but they have flat screen TVs (can CRT TVs even be got nowadays?) and Sky tv. Some of them have fcukall else, some of them have cars. I don’t have either a car or an American fridge, because I don’t want them. I don’t begrudge anyone else having them if that’s what they want, but suggesting they are provided by the council is just silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,735 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Yes we must, project 'asset price inflation' has been a flop, it has helped to drive up the price of our most prized asset, I.e. housing, resulting in an overly priced market, of which nobody really knows what to do about it, but we have decided it's best to blame this flawed economic thinking on those that actually can't afford housing in the first place as society isn't exactly socially mobile as some think it is. Thank God we don't blame those weird foreigners for such outcomes as well!

The house costs money, a vastly discounted sum of course.
    The money to pay for said house is given away free, with no work being required to get it.
    Ergo the house is free.

Ergo the house isn’t free because it’s owned by the council, unless the occupants are paying a mortgage on it. Otherwise the occupants do not own the property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

No us taxpayers don’t pay for it. Taxpayers pay taxes whether or not homeless people ever existed, It’s our Government decides where revenue that’s taken in in taxes is distributed for the common good of society’s benefit as they see fit. Your taxes as an individual probably don’t even cover the Dail bar bill.

Taxpayers will pay taxes, but these taxes could be reduced, or diverted to other projects, if we didn’t have to fun the ‘Foreva Home’ wasters.

And you have no idea of how much personal tax I pay, so don’t comment on it, Jack.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Taxpayers will pay taxes, but these taxes could be reduced, or diverted to other projects, if we didn’t have to fun the ‘Foreva Home’ wasters.

‘Foreva home’ wasters aren’t the people who decide how much tax you’ll pay.

And you have no idea of how much personal tax I pay, so don’t comment on it, Jack.

You brought up the fact that you pay tax, of course I’m going to comment on it! :pac:

I don’t actually care how much tax you pay as an individual. Your point was stupid even without knowing how much you as an individual pay in tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Could Maragret become the next Vogue Williams?
    She posts lots of rubbish on social media and if RTE gave her a TV program to show the reality of being a homeless traveller in Ireland. She'd be a reality star.

But then she would have a job and have to pay tax. Lose medical card, social welfare etc.... Can't see that happening!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,051 ✭✭✭Emme

Jimmy. wrote: »
    We leave the kitchen and bathroom once they aren’t wrecked. All white goods are disposed off because if they are left there and they break down it’s the council that has to pay to sort it.
    They get a grand from the government for new goods, carpets etc. white goods 90% of the time are wrecked anyway, fridges rank, washing machine door usually falling off and the dishwasher with an inch of fat in it.

If they had to pay for those out of their own money I guarantee they would be in mint condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Wompa1 wrote: »

Jesus wept, this gets worse. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Just because there's an American fridge and flat screen tv in a house doesn't mean the council provided it.

These things are available in shops you know.

By the way lads and lassies what's the big deal with flat screen TV's. There isn't any other type of TV you can buy nowadays.

Have you all got the big fat tellies with huge backs on them at home?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,484 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Just on the fridge thing.

I have a close relative who is working in housing in Dublin city council and he was in a number of new units and was extremely jealous. He said the finishes are top of the line in them, not a chance he could afford a place like it and the level of spec.