Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The ghost of John Muldoon v the tears of Cian Healy Build up thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

We're looking at Carty as the 3rd choice 10 so he is up against Billy burns or Ross Byrne not Sexton. Tbh back row is so competitive that it's hard to argue for many outside of VDF leavy SOB POM and Stander but I still think our SOB had a good innings. From a connacht POV I think Marmion Carty Dillane Bundee are worth a look and maybe Buckley for the extended squad

Buckley needs injuries to be considered
    Dillane has Beirne Henderson Toner Ryan ahead of him
    Carty isn't in the frame either and is competing with Burns for any sort of inclusion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭MarinersBlues

wp_rathead wrote: »

Id have no issue never seeing McCoy wearing Connacht jersey again, I understand "red mist" excuse at times but stamping on players exposed neck is disgusting

Agree 100%
    wp_rathead wrote: »
    Lacey missed abit and didn't agree with all his calls but some of the comments from the crowd were pretty cringey unfortunately

I thought Lacey missed a maybe two crucial decisions in the first half - Farrell's nonexistant knock-on being probably the most significant one.
    They were at key times for Connacht when we defo had the upper hand.

There were some disgraceful abuse towards Lacey from the mainstand, particularly around the time Niyi was nearly decapitated in the 2nd half.
    Leinster should have been penalised, but some of the stuff said was despicable.

In general I thought our forwards played very well. There were a few times we were too quick to spin the ball out wide in their 22. We seemed to be making ground around the corner.
    Carty had a mighty first half and I do think he has to be considered no.3 for Ireland at the moment.

The difference for me was the back threes.
    Ours always looked to be vunerable defensively.

Munster have the strong team, but Ulster are better coached and play with more pashun.

You heard it here first - the scoreline in Thomond will be closer than the one in the sportsground...

Hmmmmmm

I hope you're not into any spread betting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,545 ✭✭✭swiwi_

Enjoyable game. Leinster defence superb. VDF my pick of the Leinster forwards and Tomane the backs. Thought the Connacht 21 had a good game off the bench. Brain dead red card. Connacht will win more than they lose, just came up against a good Leinster side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

The difference for me was the back threes.
    Ours always looked to be vunerable defensively.

It looked like Leinster were very much targeting it too in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭typhoony

not sure any of the Connacht players got the upper hand on their opposite number, Farrell battled on gamely in midfield, not sure himself and Aki compliment each other, worked well last week but no guile this week and will happen against the best teams. I thought if we had a strong ball carrying dynamic backrow there were definitely holes to be made on the fringe as leinster kept the numbers in midfield and to lesser extent out wide. Boyle showed when he came on with a bit of neat footwork he was making decent yardage around the fringe. top 3 is a realistic aim this season. need to watch the game again but Lacy pretty much ignored players from both teams encroaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

Hope Dom doesn’t pull on the jersey again. I don’t care what Andy says about it being out of character. That was a disgrace today. Doesn’t help the fact that he is hopeless at rugby. Sooner he f**ks off back to NZ the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Wasn't a great game tbh. Connacht defence has improved a lot under Andy Friend. Robin Copeland has been a great acquisition. Dare I whisper it and say he's more athletic than Muldoon? Either way, there's not much in it which is great for Connacht. The other thing that impressed me was Connacht's ability to string 20 phases together without the usual silly errors. And the set piece was solid as well. Very positive stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Leinster in defence didn't have to commit as many numbers to rucks because of their physicality and conditioning. Lowe is a winger built like a flanker so he doesn't need huge numbers to back him up if he's down over a ball. It meant too that when Leinster had the ball they had plenty out wide ready to break away. Their breaking of the gain line was very impressive. They made yards much easier than Connacht.
    Pity for Connacht that Carty missed so many kicks to touch. They never got the physical break from those as well as a chance to fling the ball around. He just seemed to be forcing too many yards out of the kicks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Fair play to Leinster and particularly their defence. I don’t think Connacht played particularly bad, other than falling asleep just after HT, we just came up against a team that had world class players. I’m still very positive about this season, need to go on the road and pick up some wins now.

Felt like a Heineken Cup game that Leinster ground out away from home. Turning point was when Connacht went 20 phases after Ringrose try and were turned over. That b****** in the red cap though, what a nuisance.

Robertson-McCoy was a disgrace and a good 6 month ban is spot on.

• its_phil wrote: »
    Fair play to Leinster and particularly their defence. I don’t think Connacht played particularly bad, other than falling asleep just after HT, we just came up against a team that had world class players. I’m still very positive about this season, need to go on the road and pick up some wins now.

Felt like a Heineken Cup game that Leinster ground out away from home. Turning point was when Connacht went 20 phases after Ringrose try and were turned over. That b****** in the red cap though, what a nuisance.

Robertson-McCoy was a disgrace and a good 6 month ban is spot on.

I think Connacht are in a pretty good place. There's a good squad being built there and when you look how much progress has been made in the past 10 years it's fantastic. Friend seems to have made an impact and has buy-in from the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 rtyped

There were some disgraceful abuse towards Lacey from the mainstand, particularly around the time Niyi was nearly decapitated in the 2nd half.
    Leinster should have been penalised, but some of the stuff said was despicable.

100% agree I goto the same spot in the main stand every week but I’m going to have to move somewhere Else. The people around me spent the entire match shouting absolute nonsense and constant abuse at the ref. I’m just sick of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,018 ✭✭✭Bridge93

Hearing Rumours of an ACL for Ronaldson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭KBurke85

Bridge93 wrote: »

Ya thought it looked like a knee injury not a hamstring

rtyped wrote: »
    100% agree I goto the same spot in the main stand every week but I’m going to have to move somewhere Else. The people around me spent the entire match shouting absolute nonsense and constant abuse at the ref. I’m just sick of it.

The Main Stand wasn't always like that.
    That's why I go there.

There were two clowns at it yesterday, but I always found the Clan worse for that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

I was a little surprised (happily) at the relative lack of abuse that Lacey and co got from the clan as they left. There was (relatively speaking) very few mutterings. It normally tends to be worse and more embarrassing during the big games
    Personally I felt that the ARs were very passive yesterday in relation to supporting Lacey, especially in relation to off sides. They called feck all..although in fairness it was the AR that called the stamp
    The red card was a****ing brutal and shocking incident, and I'd be hard pushed to support a player again in the future that was capable of such malice..
    The game itself was probably a pretty acute reflection of the capabilities of the teams. I took a lot of positives from the improvements of Connacht in defence. Carry had a bit of an off day..
    VDF was immense and a joy to watch
    I thought Dillane had his best game in a good few months which was encouraging.
    Overall it was an interesting slugfest with feck all bones of any real contention...
    One think the did surprise me was the lack of traveling fans, seemed well down on previous encounters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,478 ✭✭✭✭prawnsambo

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Pretty much every non-contact knee injury is an ACL. Was pretty sure at the time that that's what it was. Horrible for the chap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Where abouts in the main stand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

One think the did surprise me was the lack of traveling fans, seemed well down on previous encounters...

I think this is possibly the inevitable result of devaluing the interpros. Leinster sent a very strong team, but up until Thursday of last week we all thought it would be a second string. Would you be that bothered going to Galway watching the reserves lose?

Conversely, everyone thought Leinster v Munster would be the full-blooded encounter and sales are gone past 40,000. Now we know there'll be no Sexton, no Ringrose, no Larmour, no POM, no raucous homecoming for Joey Carbery, no Conway, no Beirne... if you'd told everyone that beforehand, would they still have bought their tickets?

And look at the return leg in Thomond, there are an incredible amount of tickets (with a 10% discount) still available on Ticketmaster, for a game that used to be THE main event in Limerick. Is it possible that people just aren't that bothered anymore, knowing Leinster will send the seconds?

I dunno, I understand that squads need to be managed and the national team has to take priority, but we need to be careful about killing the golden goose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,706 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Is it possible that people just aren't that bothered anymore, knowing Leinster will send the seconds?

It's more likely they stay away because they know Munster will get a pasting.

As soon as Irish teams started winning Silverware in Europe the local rivalries were going to suffer. I think you would have to travel far and wide to find a Munster fan who'd opt for a win this weekend over winning the Heineken cup.

It's not weaker teams, it's the nature of there being bigger fish to fry.

Speaking of which.. must be almost time for another build up thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

evil_seed wrote: »
    Where abouts in the main stand?

There was an individual in front of me just the Bohermore side of where you go inside (close to halfway line) who was shouting some outrageous stuff throughout. Felt like giving him a dig in the back at times - very annoying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Padkir wrote: »
    There was an individual in front of me just the Bohermore side of where you go inside (close to halfway line) who was shouting some outrageous stuff throughout. Felt like giving him a dig in the back at times - very annoying!

We were further down but I heard nothing like that thankfully. Did enjoy the ribbing for Healy when Leinster got a kickable penalty.

"Give it to Healy!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭troyzer

tenor.gif
    Zzippy wrote: »
    We were further down but I heard nothing like that thankfully. Did enjoy the ribbing for Healy when Leinster got a kickable penalty.

"Give it to Healy!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Is it F-ing and blinding at the ref or constant criticism? Wherever I go in the Clan stand there's always a cohort near me who call for forward passes constantly by the opposition, it's getting pretty embarrassing when a lot of the time they're flat at best!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

And look at the return leg in Thomond, there are an incredible amount of tickets (with a 10% discount) still available on Ticketmaster, for a game that used to be THE main event in Limerick. Is it possible that people just aren't that bothered anymore, knowing Leinster will send the seconds?

moving the game to Christmas destroyed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

Is it F-ing and blinding at the ref or constant criticism? Wherever I go in the Clan stand there's always a cohort near me who call for forward passes constantly by the opposition, it's getting pretty embarrassing when a lot of the time they're flat at best!

noticeable at Irish games is:

"Offside!!"
    "Offside!!"
    "Offside!!"
    "Offside!!"
    "Offside!!"
    "Offside!!"

etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭evil_seed

You do know what flat at best means right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,654 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

This happens everywhere, people are tinted when it comes to their own team and players. I see and hear it in the RDS all the time when everyone shouts about something and then on the replay it turns out the pass was okay or the tackle wasn't late and a few half wits keep complaining despite what they’ve just seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Speaking of which.. must be almost time for another build up thread!

Have you bumped in PoM or Carbery or JVG yet this week ??????