Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 70's and 80's in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 5,646 ✭✭✭storker

spurious wrote: »
    Super Ser heaters that would use up all the oxygen in the room, dry your eyeballs out so much they would sting, resulting in you having to open the door or window and 'let all the heat out'.

That reminds me; our local library. A large corrugated iron heap in the main street, with a Super Ser permanently hissing away no matter what time of year it was, and the librarian's labrador asleep on the floor in front of it so you always had to step over him.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,646 ✭✭✭storker

Arkwright-style shops in out of the way places with products in the window whose packaging had yellowed because they'd been there so long.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,873 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Frozen pizzas; ready cut into segments, plastic wrapped with rubbery toppings.

Awful yokes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

brown aromat ( Thinks its knorr-aromat-seasoning-for-meat-85g.jpgbanned now)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Frozen pizzas; ready cut into segments, plastic wrapped with rubbery toppings.

Awful yokes.
    Those disgusting mini pizzas that you heated under a grill. In no way resembled the texture or flavour of pizza. Can't believe I ate the things.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,556 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Crispy Pancakes in particular Dunnes own brand crispy Pancakes are to me at least a food that brings me right back to being piss poor and calling "grabs" when sitting down to dinner.
    So you could get 1st pick at any leftovers!
    I left home at 17 and haven't had a fùcking crispy pancake since!
    Even the thought of them evokes flashbacks of not enough to eat and single glazed windows missing putty with the wind howling and rattling them!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Yellow CIE castoffs that Bus Eireann deemed unfit for fare paying passengers but good enough for school kids

Leaks everywhere, holes in the floor and constant breakdowns. Quite a few times we’d be stranded and head off walking.

Seatbelts? Lol. Sit on the floor if you want or even on the engine bay beside the driver.

If an NCT or DOE or whatever existed back then for school buses every one of them would fail. But sure it was grand and I don’t think anyone complained. Your parents won’t be calling the inspector considering they fit six kids in a fiesta and between the seats, by the back window or any other lethal method was acceptable.

It wasn’t until the 1990’s that the seat belt attitude changed though it was took several years and seeing people belting up desperately as they approached a checkpoint was normal.

462349.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,109 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

jmayo wrote: »
    Ahh the innocence of the 80s.

If it was nowadays, from what I hear, a fair few 14 year old girlfriends would be asking you to poke something bar a crispy pancake.

Have to say you were fierce advanced all the same, organising romantic meals for a girlfriend at 14. :D

I was a hopeless romantic and trying my best, but innocent all the same. She caved in to a more direct lad the following Summer.:(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

banie01 wrote: »
    Crispy Pancakes in particular Dunnes own brand crispy Pancakes are to me at least a food that brings me right back to being piss poor and calling "grabs" when sitting down to dinner.
    Even the thought of them evokes flashbacks of not enough to eat and single glazed windows missing putty with the wind howling and rattling them!
    Your parents let you do that? It seems like sh*t parenting to me. Why not evenly divide the leftovers among all the children?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,298 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Buck Rogers in the 25th Century
    Battlestar Galactica

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Yellow CIE castoffs that Bus Eireann deemed unfit for fare paying passengers but good enough for school kids

Leaks everywhere, holes in the floor and constant breakdowns. Quite a few times we’d be stranded and head off walking.

Seatbelts? Lol. Sit on the floor if you want or even on the engine bay beside the driver.

If an NCT or DOE or whatever existed back then for school buses every one of them would fail. But sure it was grand and I don’t think anyone complained. Your parents won’t be calling the inspector considering they fit six kids in a fiesta and between the seats, by the back window or any other lethal method was acceptable.

It wasn’t until the 1990’s that the seat belt attitude changed though it was took several years and seeing people belting up desperately as they approached a checkpoint was normal.

462349.jpeg

In 2001 my school bus was a 1967 reg

Your parents let you do that? It seems like sh*t parenting to me. Why not evenly divide the leftovers among all the children?
    Have you ever tried to slice a crispy pancake? Don't let the name fool you. They were neither crispy nor a pancake.

Erin_Gray_5.jpg

Sardonicat wrote: »
    Have you ever tried to slice a crispy pancake? Don't let the name fool you. They were neither crispy nor a pancake.
    Scissors do a good job. A better job than letting one greedy little pr*ck have seconds while the other kids go hungry.

Gorgeous

Scissors do a good job.
    You've never seen a Crispy Pancake, have you?

On the subject on Crispy pancakes, I remember the ads for them, involving a young boy writing in his diary about them.

Help me, Obi-Wan Kenobi! You're my only hope!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

• Registered Users Posts: 12,434 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

image.jpg

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,068 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

mikemac2 wrote: »

462349.jpeg
    I have the fear looking at that.
    Five years of torture going to secondary school in one of those contraptions would do that to you.
    Condensation running down the windows and the windows rattling when you'd go over any bump in the road oh and the tippex graffiti on the panels on the back of each seat.

To thine own self be true

People were much shorter on average back in the 70s and 80s in Ireland because they ate far less protein per day than they do now. It was second nature for people to consider meat as something that was rationed, limited and which was obviously the nicest part of your dinner, the bit to be savoured. You didn't get meat for your breakfast, eating weetabix or porridge instead. You didn't get meat for your school lunch, eating bread and butter every day instead. The amount of meat eaten per person was far lower than nowadays due to cost and larger families on average. Nowadays people just think of meat as another food item, instead of acknowleding it's place as being different due to it being more energy and time-intensive to produce and it involving the ending of a life. Children get nutritionally adequate amounts of meat in their sandwiches at lunch time and when they go to secondary school and onwards they get more meat than is needed to reach their genetic potential for height (in the form of chicken fillet rolls, whey powder and large quantiites of meat available at home without threat of punishement or an autoinstinctual sense of it being unthinkable to eat so much meat. I read a journal article before (which I can't seem to find on Google) which stated that the average weight of 12 year old boys in Ireland between 1943 and 2002, afair, went from 37kg to 61kgand their height increased by 8 inches - signs that children in the past were severely undernourished, and anyone living back then could attest that protein deficiency, particularly meat, was the cause. Things weren't quite as bad in the 70s and 80s but being even 6 foot (unexceptional nowadays) was the exception back then and being 6'3 plus was decidedly uncommon, and such people nearly always came from the well off.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,139 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Bird's Eye made 'Cod Balls' which were surprisingly tasty, being deep fried and about 95% greasy batter, with a tiny amount of 'cod' hidden in each one. The batter was very like the 'bits' of batter you could get from the chipper if he was feeling generous.

You've never seen a Crispy Pancake, have you?

Yes, I have, though not a Dunnes Stores one, as Dunnes didn't make it to our neck of the woods till well into the 90s. I am not as big a fan as seems to be the norm in AH, but I had them, and did often cut them up using a scissors when they had cooled down a bit.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,733 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Penny sweets actually cost a penny!
    Someone I know found a half penny coin and, as they looked so similar, thought it was an actual penny.

In the money, they skipped off to the local sweet shop to buy a single penny sweet.

Being a vigilant capitalist the lady in the shop took the half penny, bit off half the penny sweet for herself, and handed the confused child the remaining half.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

Growing up mainly in the 89s and early 90s was quite challenging.
    There was an unrelenting feeling of economic gloom in the country. Some ids were hearing about their adults getting laid off or in fear of getting laid off(my father ), many kids parents didn't work.

There was bombing and shooting on the news every night. There was a hard border in NI and it was very visited by us except for Newry for Xmas shopping.

People cars were often rusty and jalopies. At the same time you could cram five kids in the back of a Ford escort not a bother. Kids would pop their heads out of sun roofs or jump on the back of trailers. It was a lot more freestyle . Few wore seatbelts fill the early 90s I think.

There were very few people of colour, even in Dublin. They would get singled out in school and it was tough enough for them and for most of us already in Christian brothers schools. The corpiral punishment was gone but there were still many unfit teachers in classrooms. At least two my teachers were suspected of secual assault and kids even know about this but they were still allowed in classrooms with us. Also some priests too as alluded to be a head altar boy I knew who would let the junior altar boys not their own with him.

The mid 90s saw explosive social and economic change. I remember it well. You could hardly get a job sweeping the floor in the local supermarket. They wouldn't hire part timers in many places (except in some pubs) as they could easily get full time people. Then suddenly around 1995 there was an explosion of part-time job and I finally had a bit of money in my pocket .

It wasn't all bad.
    Kids in the 80s were very dynamic and would organise their own games, leagues, competitions in endless summers. There were also a Lot of community activities, youth clubs, community games.

In North Dublin you would hear the screech of joyriders cars as they headed to Finglas to be driven around fields and burnt out within the hour . There was a lot of car theft, radios and CD players stolen (possibly still is).

There were some massive concert events in the 80s, GnR being the stand out but also U2 tours were pretty awesome. The Trip to Tipp was a coming of age for many of us ..My God that was a rough weekend but a lot of fun.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Someone I know found a half penny coin

It was a ha'penny coin :)

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Count Down

storker wrote: »
    "Where's the bloody honey, mummy?"

hqdefault.jpg
    Ah. Henry McGee "I'm not his mummy!"

• Registered Users Posts: 16,556 ✭✭✭✭banie01

Because the leftovers were taken from each others plates, not the magic pot of extra ;)

When one didn't finish their own dinner, someone else did.

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭Count Down

Because the leftovers were taken from each others plates, not the magic pot of extra ;)

When one didn't finish their own dinner, someone else did.

In our house, Rusty the dog and/or Typhus the cat.