Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭judestynes

tretorn wrote: »
    Why is it stupid.

I think its a very good idea.

What is the point in feckless parents having too many children, these children are equally as intellectually slow as their parents and their lives can be quite miserable. They are going to grow up and start breeding at sixteen and on and on this miserable cycle goes.

If people are having children for child benefit purposes they will jump at the chance of twenty thousand in the bank to spend on drink. It will cost the taxpayer multiples of twenty thousand to house the huge families of feckless long term poorly educated parents and thus the housing crisis will never be solved.

Whats wrong with just giving out food stamps instead of cash? I wouldn't advocate sterilization in honesty though I under stand why you'd feel that way

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

judestynes wrote: »
    Whats wrong with just giving out food stamps instead of cash? I wouldn't advocate sterilization in honesty though I under stand why you'd feel that way

Something something dehumanisation blah....

There should be a simple rule - if you do not work, you are not allowed a "living" above basic subsistence levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

There should be a simple rule - if you do not work, you are not allowed a "living" above basic subsistence levels.

That should go down well with a lot of retirees and sick or disabled people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Why is it stupid.

What is the point in feckless parents having too many children, these children are equally as intellectually slow as their parents and their lives can be quite miserable. They are going to grow up and start breeding at sixteen and on and on this miserable cycle goes.

If people are having children for child benefit purposes they will jump at the chance of twenty thousand in the bank to spend on drink. It will cost the taxpayer multiples of twenty thousand to house the huge families of feckless long term poorly educated parents and thus the housing crisis will never be solved.

It doesn’t even get off the starting blocks because you’re suggesting that the State should not only seek to violate human rights law, but that it should offer bribes to 16 year olds to have themselves sterilised, and to have no responsibility towards society, but rather wait for their “pay day” when they turn 16 and get €20k into their hand.

There will of course be some who will jump at the opportunity, but most people won’t, and then where does that leave your idea to solve the housing crisis? Your idea doesn’t even apply to people who need housing who already have children, and people who don’t have children aren’t as high a priority on any housing list as those people who do have children.

That should go down well with a lot of retirees and sick or disabled people.

Get an adult to look up "obfuscation".

I clearly meant the able bodied and of working age.

The disabled, carers of same and pensioners should be supported more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭judestynes

Thats what food stamps are... just substence level. It's a bit harsh cutting out benefits for those who find themselves jobless after working for x amount of years through no fault of their own and are looking for work.

judestynes wrote: »
    Thats what food stamps are... just substence level. It's a bit harsh cutting out benefits for those who find themselves jobless after working for x amount of years through no fault of their own and are looking for work.

I'd go further - are there not many schemes around the world where you get 80% of previous salary for a year and then it reduces ?

Much fairer and does not penalise hard workers falling on difficult times.

Those who have never worked nor intend to do so are the ones who should get the basics and that's it. And not cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,203 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

There is no homeless crisis, I’ve said it for years, there is an entitlement crisis.
    Your spot on there, and what's worse is the media are running with it to attack the government as are SF and others. Just cause you are homeless in Dublin doesn't mean you have to find a home in Dublin, given the amount that is provided by the dole and HAP payments, a lot of so called homeless could get a roof over their head down the country.

I said this on another thread and thought of posting it here:
    Ace2007 wrote: »
    Like I said to another poster, if your kids are on the streets and in emergency accommodation, do you not think that getting a roof over their head would be your number one priority - regardless if that house is in Douglas, Dunsink or Doolin.

There seems to be a sense that certain people are entitled to a house in Dublin, and that it has to be close to the kids school, as if there are no schools in Doolin for instance.

Talk to anyone over the age of 70 and they will describe how they were brought up with 7+ people in a two bedroom house with no central heating or electricity and see how they got on with their life, and help to build Ireland over the last 20/30 years. Instead today we have money grabbers who are bleeding the tax payers of money and we have the media or love this stories as it's an agenda to attack the government.

Get an adult to look up "obfuscation".

There's no need for the insults, you don't clarify your bile filled posts which is why I will move on
    I clearly meant the able bodied and of working age.

The disabled, carers of same and pensioners should be supported more.

So, in your world an able bodied adult, who perhaps finds him or herself out of work, let's say for an extended period of time (10 years enough)? finds themselves suddenly and without warning, though no fault of their own - jobless.

They should be given food stamps, and only allowed a very basic subsistence living allowance?

I see a few extra holes in your master plan.

Some serious flaws in it, and I don't need anyone else (adult or juvenile) to run their eye over it eifher.

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Your spot on there, and what's worse is the media are running with it to attack the government as are SF and others. Just cause you are homeless in Dublin doesn't mean you have to find a home in Dublin, given the amount that is provided by the dole and HAP payments, a lot of so called homeless could get a roof over their head down the country.

I said this on another thread and thought of posting it here:

Worth posting again here - spot on there.

There's no need for the insults, you don't clarify your bile filled posts which is why I will move on

So, in your world an able bodied adult, who perhaps finds him or herself out of work, let's say for an extended period of time (10 years enough)? finds themselves suddenly and without warning, though no fault of their own - jobless.

They should be given food stamps, and only allowed a very basic subsistence living allowance?

I see a few extra holes in your logic.

I see some flaws in it, and I don't need anyone else (adult or juvenile) to run their eye over it eifher.

And back on ignore for the Aldi Cathy Newman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

And back on ignore for the Aldi Cathy Newman.

Perhaps if you spent less time posting bile on the internet, you'd be in a better paid job after all your years experience that you were earlier whinging about, and would enjoy yearly pay increases - not to mention be able to thrash out an informed argument, rather than tell us who you" have or have not placed on ignore".

Next time - post a gif of a little one with their fingers in their ears going "nanana" , that'll take up less time, and maybe further any future arguments you have for a pay increase. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Listening to her speak makes me feel bad tbh.

Her ignorance is breathtaking. We're talking about a person with an IQ in the borderline retardation range.

She's no chance of ever bettering herself or becoming an honorable self sufficient productive member of society.

It's just sad. No chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,048 ✭✭✭.......

Did you deserve it given you are always on Boards?
    Perhaps if you spent less time posting bile on the internet, you'd be in a better paid job...

Not much of an argument to make when you have to resort to making personal insults about the amount of time someone spends on boards.ie.

I may well be wrong but I believe this is a total no no around here.

....... wrote: »
    Not much of an argument to make when you have to resort to making personal insults about the amount of time someone spends on boards.ie.

I may well be wrong but I believe this is a total no no around here.

There was no insult intended, poster repeatedly has informed us of their infrequent pay rises, and pretty low salary for the amount of time in their job - all information offered up voluntarily I assume.

Perhaps if they tried to upskill or retrain it might be time better spent than posting 1000 x bile filled posts (on boards or elsewhere) they might attain a better paid job, it could alleviate their self confessed professional woes, worth a try?

Helpful advice is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Listening to her speak makes me feel bad tbh.

Her ignorance is breathtaking. We're talking about a person with an IQ in the borderline retardation range.

She's no chance of ever bettering herself or becoming an honorable self sufficient productive member of society.

It's just sad. No chance.

That person with an IQ in the borderline retardation range will win out and get a kick-ass house. Wait and see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Melendez

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

I see a few extra holes in your master plan.

Some serious flaws in it, and I don't need anyone else (adult or juvenile) to run their eye over it eifher.

There's close to full employment in the country at the moment. Anyone who is out of work is either incompetent or lazy.

No argument with that, I just don't want to advocate for the introduction of food stamps/minimalist living standard's for anyone not working to be dished out unfettered/carte blanche.

Poster made a fairly sweeping statement, completely devoid of any rational thinking or explanation on how it would or should be rolled out.

Let him argue the flaws within ther own argument rather than running off and hiding behind an ignore function when called out on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

BattleCorp wrote: »
    That person with an IQ in the borderline retardation range will win out and get a kick-ass house. Wait and see.

Of course she will ,your not housed on need but who's makes the loudest noise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

I'd explain the grown up concept of personal time management but as it would be the fifth time and some STILL refuse to get it, I fear not.

And yes, I f**king did.

You are top poster on this thread by a whopping 500 posts and you post throughout the day. I think you should give that payrise back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

The head of the Dublin Region Housing executive had the balls to tell it as it is and the weasly politicans ran for cover.

Conor Skehan spoke about the gaming of the system and the politicans wouldnt back him up either.

There is a whole underclass in this country who wont get up in the morning and work, they wont even get up to make their children a breakfast. Can you believe in this day and age some children are having breakfast cooked in school because their parents wont put cereal in a bowl for them. Their parents are stupid and lazy and all they see is cash in front of them so they have child after child to maximise the handouts. If the Government had any balls they would offer financial incentives to this underclass to stop breeding, a bribe of say twenty thousand euros would do the trick and both woman and man could be permanently sterilised and this would be for the common good, I dont care how un PC it is to say this.

sterilisation isn't going to happen, and paying money to not have children isn't a guarantee that someone won't have children. that's nothing to do with pc. it's to do with practicality and reality.

Why is it stupid.

sometimes what one thinks is a good idea and which actually isn't, and what actually is a good idea in reality, can be 2 very different things. your idea, most certainly falls in to the bad ideas list.

that's exactly what we have. while the amounts given out can be high on the face of it, that is to take account for the high cost of living in this country.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

And when did I make a vile comment about a child ??

Your memory that bad? That's terrible maybe chat to your GP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

iamwhoiam wrote:
    The day may not be .You did ask so I thought you might be interested .

I saw a few of her comments aswell . They were addressed on a different thread and removed. I notice the rhetoric has been dialled back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

008e5bdad17123fa184f319e8c49967f.png

A mere month ago, Ms.Cash was complaining that she had no place to stay and was being assigned housing night-to-night. Now she has a guarantee of a place to stay for free for at least 3 months and now suddenly that's a problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,134 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

What's her issue this time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

ShaneC93 wrote: »

A mere month ago, Ms.Cash was complaining that she had no place to stay and was being assigned housing night-to-night. Now she has a guarantee of a place to stay for free for at least 3 months and now suddenly that's a problem!

Because she's a self entitled, lazy, parasitic ****! It must be terrible hard on her not being handed exactly what she wants at the drop of a hat.

Does she realise it's not 'Owen' Murphy personally thats not giving her what she wants. It's the local council with her buddy Mary Lou's SF as the majority party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    What's her issue this time?

She doesn't like the current free roof over her head , apparently her whole life is on hold ,

Must be waiting for an offer to dance with the stars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,452 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

ShaneC93 wrote: »

I would imagine that the children need to be registered in a school and so knowing where you might be so they can have continuity in education would be benificial ?