Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 835 ✭✭✭Heart Break Kid

had we kept up a social house building program then the chances are this wouldn't be an issue.

or just not sold all the housing stock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

or just not sold all the housing stock

i completely agree.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

it shouldn't as it's nobody's business apart from the council and prospective tenant, and the council already has remedies availible to deal with that issue. even

all of those look to be things that would cause more problems then exist now, and could ever be solved by their implementation.

It absolutely should be especially when social housing is funded by US the tax payers including subsidised rents which councils seem to a a major issue actually collecting.

None of my suggestions would cause more problems if they were implemented at all , most would put personal responsibility in your own hands ,don't pay rent ,your out ,refuse a property without a extenuating circumstances your off the list ,again personal responsibility .

You say no to any plan really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,284 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

it shouldn't as it's nobody's business apart from the council and prospective tenant, and the council already has remedies availible to deal with that issue. even then, this issue is blown out of all proportion because someone else will quite likely take the house that is refused by someone else.

We often hear people giving out about the established parties doing nothing for the homeless and how people keep on voting for them.
    However I know lots of people and the homeless crisis has them really confused. They don't know who to believe. They hear about a sob story in the media and when they reach it they find out there's lots more to it and then they sort of loose interest or feel less sorry.
    Then there's all this confusion about people being hotels, etc.
    If there was a place with hard and detailed facts it would show up the governments mistakes also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Gatling wrote: »
    It absolutely should be especially when social housing is funded by US the tax payers including subsidised rents which councils seem to a a major issue actually collecting.

None of my suggestions would cause more problems if they were implemented at all , most would put personal responsibility in your own hands ,don't pay rent ,your out ,refuse a property without a extenuating circumstances your off the list ,again personal responsibility .

You say no to any plan really

Would you also like to see a list of who has a medical card, and what reason they do hold it?

The judgement list just smacks of wanting to drag people through the streets, hurling rotten fruit at those you deem unworthy.

Would you also like to see a list of who has a medical card, and what reason they do hold it?

The judgement list just smacks of wanting to drag people through the streets, hurling rotten fruit at those you deem unworthy.

It's no judgement involved. , less of the amateur dramatics actually it's childish ,

I seem to remember a public meeting in cork where they actually gave out the reasons for people refusing properties for the silliest of reasons ,
    Don't see why it couldn't happen at every local authoritiy ,it might have the effect of getting people to cop on to themselves and maybe stop the entitlement syndrome ,

I know some people are happy for people to be given everything and anything they want with zero effort or consequence .

But hey what can you do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,284 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Over on the AMA anything thread with the county councillor he said that a reason a house was turned down was because the house was a bungalow and she really wanted a two story house even tough she was on the house list for years!

Wasn't there one 7 minutes walk to the shop was unacceptable and the person refused the property ,
    People living in hotels long term who pay zero contribution to there stays are turning down repeated offers
    ,but that's ok don't you there is a homeless crisis .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Wasn't there one 7 minutes walk to the shop was unacceptable and the person refused the property ,
    People living in hotels long term who pay zero contribution to there stays are turning down repeated offers

There is no homeless crisis, I’ve said it for years, there is an entitlement crisis.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

If you have been renting for ten years the same place I would think you have been a good tenant and this will be your reward. Every time this gombeens suggest a new idea someone gets it in the eye ( except of course nightmare tenants/ Scum who you can't evict only if you spend spent a fu*kin fortune getting shot of them) PRTB is a joke Take back the city is being hijacked and PBP AAA Sinn Fein Labour are a pointless collection of jaded socialists and failed ideologists

+1 to all of that!

After the fire in the tower in London, there was family living in the same hotel in Kensington I stayed in when I saw Clapton at the Albert Hall.

In late 90s it was near 150 quid a night, so God knows the rates 20 years on. One of the residents of the tower (at least he said he was but given the widespread fraud, who knows ?) refused a brand new, all paid for property as "it was too remote".

It was 8 minutes' walk from the Tube and 12 more into the City.

Some people are honest and just want a shelter for their children.

Most a chancers who want everything for nothing. Sadly the AAA/PBP/SF.Workshy Party etc support the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

There is no homeless crisis, I’ve said it for years, there is an entitlement crisis.

You better inform the government of your insight, they believe there is a crisis and are claiming they are tackling it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,946 ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I don't think a list should be published, at all. Like you say it's for naming and shaming, but authorities should have a list of people who have abused the system. The problem with that though is that it's the children that are impacted and you don't get to do-over a sh!t childhood.

Housing lists should be one centralised system so that if you are seeking your long term council house in a certain area it should be by radius to that location and not be affected by a county border. It's chaotic at the moment.

It's natural that parents might want proximity to the school their kid is settled in, it's natural that if you don't have a car/licence/ for whatever reason, that you have proximity to a decent public transport route or to affordable grocery shops. We do have to take those things into account.

But some common sense needs to prevail. I'd love to live near my family home, near parents, but I had to move for work, and now my childhood area went and got notions so even to buy a site there can only be done by massively rich folk. Giving proximity to family as a reason for a council house refusal should only be acceptable if there are genuine reasons - if you are in receipt of carers allowance for that family member or if you can prove you rely on them for childcare while you work in your minimum wage job. Refusing a home because it's too far from your mother's grave (as in MC's situation) is ridiculous and should not have even been entertained as a 'reason'.

Being on a housing list for the second time, should come under intense scrutiny from the local authorities. If you are in any way culpable for making that first home given to you uninhabitable, or you were thrown out of it, then you should go way back to the end of the queue. I'm not even sure that they deserve to be on the queue a second time but we have a duty to give children a roof over their heads.

I'd love to see a scheme like UK had some years ago where you apply for a council house while working, and they give you a rent/mortgage deal based on your income. Social housing should not just be restricted to those on social welfare - though we do have to sort out that crisis first before we even begin to think about making homes affordable to all our citizens.

Neyite wrote:
    I'd love to see a scheme like UK had some years ago where you apply for a council house while working, and they give you a rent/mortgage deal based on your income. Social housing should not just be restricted to those on social welfare - though we do have to sort out that crisis first before we even begin to think about making homes affordable to all our citizens.

There are plenty of people in Ireland living in social/council housing who work. Council's in Ireland operate a differential rent scheme where your rent is based on a percentage of your income.

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    There are plenty of people in Ireland living in social/council housing who work. Council's in Ireland operate a differential rent scheme where your rent is based on a percentage of your income.

And that "percentage" comes from money you do not earn if you are not working and there is little or no sanction for non payment. Ever.

Blah blah ... anything to actually say except outrage ? Although it's nice to see you are no longing making vile comments about children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,352 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

You better inform the government of your insight, they believe there is a crisis and are claiming they are tackling it.

They aren't allowed to tell it like it is, otherwise they are more or less signing away their majority at the next election. They have to be seen to be sympathetic, even to the likes of Cash, even though they know her and her ilk are ripping the balls out of it.

NIMAN wrote:
    They aren't allowed to tell it like it is, otherwise they are more or less signing away their majority at the next election. They have to be seen to be sympathetic, even to the likes of Cash, even though they know her and her ilk are ripping the balls out of it.

They can of course tell like it is, sure most believe Cash and you put it her "ilk" don't vote and if they do it's for SF or the likes of Murphy.
    The permanently outraged have found someone as a target for their ire but also wish to lump everyone else in with her. Thankfully it's a transparent tactic .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

They can of course tell like it is, sure most believe Cash and you put it her "ilk" don't vote and if they do it's for SF or the likes of Murphy.
    The permanently outraged have found someone as a target for their ire but also wish to lump everyone else in with her. Thankfully it's a transparent tactic .

The permanently outraged?

Who is that?

Surely it’s the opposition aaa, pbp, Sinn Fein who are constantly outraged at everything the government do or suggest...

Blah blah ... anything to actually say except outrage ? Although it's nice to see you are no longing making vile comments about children.

And when did I make a vile comment about a child ??

This should be good. ** report button at ready **

Who is that?

Surely it’s the opposition aaa, pbp, Sinn Fein who ate constantly outraged at everything the government do or suggest...

Apparently that's us - you know the cash cows ?

Just got the first pay rise in 4 years and there is more than half taken in tax, PRSI and USC. Yay for the workers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

The head of the Dublin Region Housing executive had the balls to tell it as it is and the weasly politicans ran for cover.

Conor Skehan spoke about the gaming of the system and the politicans wouldnt back him up either.

There is a whole underclass in this country who wont get up in the morning and work, they wont even get up to make their children a breakfast. Can you believe in this day and age some children are having breakfast cooked in school because their parents wont put cereal in a bowl for them. Their parents are stupid and lazy and all they see is cash in front of them so they have child after child to maximise the handouts. If the Government had any balls they would offer financial incentives to this underclass to stop breeding, a bribe of say twenty thousand euros would do the trick and both woman and man could be permanently sterilised and this would be for the common good, I dont care how un PC it is to say this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,452 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

And when did I make a vile comment about a child ??

This should be good. ** report button at ready **

Yesterday or the day before .One that was removed .

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Yesterday or the day before .One that was removed .

Not true, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,452 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Not true, sorry.

The day may not be .You did ask so I thought you might be interested .

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    The day may not be .You did ask so I thought you might be interested .

In a lie ? Nope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

tretorn wrote: »
    If the Government had any balls they would offer financial incentives to this underclass to stop breeding, a bribe of say twenty thousand euros would do the trick and both woman and man could be permanently sterilised and this would be for the common good, I dont care how un PC it is to say this.

You obviously don’t care about how stupid it sounds either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Sycamore Tree

Who is that?

Surely it’s the opposition aaa, pbp, Sinn Fein who ate constantly outraged at everything the government do or suggest...

Apparently that's us - you know the cash cows ?

Just got the first pay rise in 4 years and there is more than half taken in tax, PRSI and USC. Yay for the workers!
    Did you deserve it given you are always on Boards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭tretorn

Why is it stupid.

I think its a very good idea.

What is the point in feckless parents having too many children, these children are equally as intellectually slow as their parents and their lives can be quite miserable. They are going to grow up and start breeding at sixteen and on and on this miserable cycle goes.

If people are having children for child benefit purposes they will jump at the chance of twenty thousand in the bank to spend on drink. It will cost the taxpayer multiples of twenty thousand to house the huge families of feckless long term poorly educated parents and thus the housing crisis will never be solved.

Did you deserve it given you are always on Boards?

I'd explain the grown up concept of personal time management but as it would be the fifth time and some STILL refuse to get it, I fear not.

And yes, I f**king did.