Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

JP McManus donates €100,000 to every GAA county

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Peter File

914 wrote: »

Always great to see anonymous donations from non publicity seekers

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

Galway County Board have issued a statement saying they are thrilled to have received €25,000 from JP McManus to distribute among clubs in Galway.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Yet more money to Dublin. Disgrace.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Fair deuce to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 517 ✭✭✭benji79

Savage gesture from him. Will be a big boost especially to clubs in smaller counties

• Registered Users Posts: 5,109 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

That'll knock at least tuppence off the price of the pint in my local GAA Centre...

• Registered Users Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

Fair play to him! Fcuk the begrudgers!

You’ll have a few complaints now that it’s not fair on the bigger counties as it’s not enough per club when divided out

Nobody should complain, it’s money for doing nothing that clubs didn’t even know about this time yesterday

• Registered Users Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

How did he make his money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Henryhill2

How did he make his money?

Currency trading

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Henryhill2

Hard to know what to think of this one tbh

He's paid no tax here for over 20 yrs and at the same he's handing out money

• Registered Users Posts: 977 ✭✭✭revelman

Henryhill2 wrote: »

The vast majority of people who have as much money as he does would find ways to pay as little tax as possible - most would probably go non-resident and pay nothing. That doesn't make it morally right but it is a fact. A good question to ask is if you won the euromillions in the morning would you take financial advice to pay as little tax as possible?

There are plenty of Irish millionaires who give absolutely zilch back to the country not in tax nor in charitable donations. I say fair play.

I don’t care he doesn’t pay tax. If he did it would be going into government coffers and you or I wouldn’t see it in our clubs. But by paying money directly like this he’s making sure a juvenile team might see some gear or a club can fix a faulty shower in dressing room

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

He's donated 3.2 million to the GAA, the benefit of which is for GAA clubs. The clubs in Donegal will get 2,500 each which is of enormous benefit to some of them.

If you're starting to whinge about him paying no tax or whatever at you need to have a look at yourself.

We really are a nation of begrudges.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Peter File wrote: »

only took the first reply for someone to have a pop at this somehow!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

Currency trading

where did he get the initial capital for trading? nobody really knows

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Auroras_encore

has put buckets into irish racing as well, any one whinging about this is just a

• Registered Users Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Yet more money to Dublin. Disgrace.

A mere 100,000 smackers?

Shure we spend twice that amount delivering skinny soy lattes and jam donuts to all the Dublin players, their partners, their mammies and their parners grannies for their morning elevenses.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,093 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

where did he get the initial capital for trading? nobody really knows

I don't think you're supposed to ask such questions. Apparently he's the greatest gambler of all time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,293 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

3.2 million.....fair dues. This will certainly benefit clubs and is a fantastic gesture. In smaller counties, with less clubs, this will have an enormous benefit in particular.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭spurshero

Who cares how he made is money as long it was legal . He’s raised millions for charity and now is given couple mill to gaa. Supposedly has invested millions in limerick gaa over the years . Ireland really is getting begrudging towards everything especially it seems good deeds as if there’s hiding agendas behind them

• Registered Users Posts: 127 ✭✭bodyguard1

grbear wrote: »
    Galway County Board have issued a statement saying they are thrilled to have received €25,000 from JP McManus to distribute among clubs in Galway.

"JP Mc Manus donates €100,000 to every GAA County"......... eh Galway County Board WTF were did the other €75,000 go ? :eek: Ye haven't even got the money and already you're swindling the local GAA clubs:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Gorgeousgeorge

Small clubs wont benefit. Money will be swindled by greedy people within the county board. Same old crack personal gain etc

• Registered Users Posts: 21,093 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

spurshero wrote: »
    Who cares how he made is money as long it was legal . He’s raised millions for charity and now is given couple mill to gaa. Supposedly has invested millions in limerick gaa over the years . Ireland really is getting begrudging towards everything especially it seems good deeds as if there’s hiding agendas behind them

It's fantastic that he has given so much back. I'm curious as to how he got his wealth as opposed to begrudging to what he does with it. The gambling story is like a fairytale tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Sure when you hand over 3.2m to some cause you needn't disclose it to anyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭nim1bdeh38l2cw

Isn't his money better in the county boards' pockets rather than the government's to burn paying the Anglo debt?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭marvin80

He's usually very quiet with his donations so wouldn't be surprised if this was leaked by someone in the GAA

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭nim1bdeh38l2cw

Anyone know how to start a GAA club?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Fair deuce to him.

Advantage McManus.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I wish I was a bajillionaire.

So he’s a wanker. Obviously.