Family of seven sleep in Garda station Mod note post one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

Dannyriver wrote: »
    You re kidding me. :eek:

I think they're trying the old, "if your loosing a debate, try and make the other side look like extremists" tactic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭Dannyriver

I think they're trying the old, "if your loosing a debate, try and make the other side look like extremists" tactic

Unfortunately knowing some of the posters on here I wouldn t doubt that making these kinds of choices for women would be a reasonable solution in their eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,438 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Nah just thinking for those whining it'd solve their problems. BUT no more than the idea of voting for/creating a party to "fix" Ireland they just wanna keep whining.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,498 ✭✭✭Wheety

That s a heart breaking story Bernard and thank you for sharing it.
    Sad story Bernard. Could you send that to a few TDs?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 330 ✭✭All Seeing Eye

In a roundabout way what I am saying is there was no unmarried/single mothers back then with 7 kids pleading homelessness. They’d only have 1 kid and then be locked away in one of those places so it never got to the point where they would have to sleep in a Garda station with 7 kids.

In a roundabout way what I am saying is there was no unmarried mothers back then with 7 kids pleading homelessness. They’d only have 1 kid and then be locked away in one of those places so it never got to the point where they would have to sleep in a Garda station with 7 kids.

If you go further back medical care was so poor women died giving birth so it never got to the point where they would have to sleep in a garda station with 7 kids.... what point are you making?

In a roundabout way what I am saying is there was no unmarried mothers back then with 7 kids pleading homelessness. They’d only have 1 kid and then be locked away in one of those places so it never got to the point where they would have to sleep in a Garda station with 7 kids.

You do realise that Ms Cash isn’t an unmarried mother?

May aswell be with her husband locked up all the time. Let’s say single mother then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Not this lady, were any traveller children or women ever put in these hellholes, I don't think so, they kept it in house and the church probably taught they weren't wort it anyway

All corrected now Mary. Was she married when she had her first kid? Back in the day a woman in her situation with her husband in prison have been put in a home and her kids locked up too.

If you go further back medical care was so poor women died giving birth so it never got to the point where they would have to sleep in a garda station with 7 kids.... what point are you making?

The church were keeping a lid on all this. Helping to make sure there was no homeless crisis.

All corrected now Mary. Was she married when she had her first kid? Back in the day a woman in her situation with her husband in prison have been put in a home and her kids locked up too.

Im still struggling to figure out whether you think that would be a good or a bad thing..or if you are just making a historical observation...apologies if |i'm misreading it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

The church were keeping a lid on all this. Helping to make sure there was no homeless crisis.

I+have+no+idea+what+the+you+just+said+_1dbc1dc8f5e3f4af8cf53d204281ebc1.jpg

I imagine that her family would have rallied round and looked after her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

In a roundabout way what I am saying is there was no unmarried/single mothers back then with 7 kids pleading homelessness. They’d only have 1 kid and then be locked away in one of those places so it never got to the point where they would have to sleep in a Garda station with 7 kids.
    Actually, many of the women who ended up in the Laundries DID have several kids, all of which were taken from them. Part of the reason for being sent to the Laundry was repeated pregnancies, or "not learning their lesson".

I imagine that her family would have rallied round and looked after her.

That’s what they should be doing now instead of us tax payers picking up the tab. Years ago spare kids would be sent off to live with relatives and grand parents.

Actually, many of the women who ended up in the Laundries DID have several kids, all of which were taken from them. Part of the reason for being sent to the Laundry was repeated pregnancies, or "not learning their lesson".

So problem solved then. The tax payer wasn’t expected to fund their lifestyles from cradle to grave.

Turns out they weren't trying out any old anything.

Did Margaret (Loadsa) Cash get into the Aras the other day http://www.thejournal.ie/security-at-aras-an-uachtarain-4249413-Sep2018/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Radio interview from Ms.Cash on Ocean FM yesterday:
    https://www.dropbox.com/s/tr00dvvy645hrha/Margaret%20Cash%20on%20Ocean%20FM.mp3

Strikes me as oddd that the host introduces her immediately as "traveller mother of seven". I thought she had settled years ago and had been commenting bad of anyone who brought up her traveller past. Now suddenly the past few days she takes part in a traveller group protest outside the Dail and is using that as her radio intro? Also I don't see how it was really relevent to the segment.

ShaneC93 wrote: »

Strikes me as oddd that the host introduces her immediately as "traveller mother of seven". I thought she had settled years ago and had been commenting bad of anyone who brought up her traveller past. Now suddenly the past few days she takes part in a traveller group protest outside the Dail and is using that as her radio intro? Also I don't see how it was really relevent to the segment.

Better watch out Cash is about

Shes got previous when it comes to trips to the countryside although she was only sitting in the car with the stolen good your honor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Would have been great if the radio host were to have posed any of the tough questions that no journalist seems to want to ask. Why you'd keep on having kids when you're already homeless / on the housing list. He just let her say her piece without asking any questions at all..

What strikes me as odd is that Ms Cash's detractors on here haven't taken the time to distance themselves from All seeing eye who suggests that a return to magdelene laundries is a reasonable solution. Are we to take it that you all agree with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Would have been great if the radio host were to have posed any of the tough questions that no journalist seems to want to ask. Why you'd keep on having kids when you're already homeless / on the housing list. He just let her say her piece without asking any questions at all..

It took her weeks to declare she's now a traveler woman ,where before she was homeless but not poor ,now she's being held up as some poster child for traveller rights ,

She's a total sham along with her supporters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,008 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

i'd imagine the real reason journalists won't ask such questions isn't because they are afraid to, but because they are irrelevant and there would be no point, because the answers miss cash would give wouldn't be good enough for the people wanting these questions to be asked.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

What strikes me as odd is that Ms Cash's detractors on here haven't taken the time to distance themselves from All seeing eye who suggests that a return to magdelene laundries is a reasonable solution. Are we to take it that you all agree with him.

Maybe because its a barmy idea ( Which is doubtful) and even if its not tongue in cheek its nonsense.

Playing the system ,skipping the Q and bearing no personal responsibility for your actions and expecting everyone else to pay for it has got nothing to do with the idea of Magdalene laundries or the reasons they were used by the Ba*tard church and state for many years. Its just a lazy idea that pretends to be a reasoned argument

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Because she likes it bareback

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,288 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

They know it will be pointless asking and will just get hassle for asking it off people on the internet.
    Some people see's Ms Cash as an innocent and vulnerable woman who has a right to a house. Who just happens to keep on having children but that isn't relevant and making her situation worse.

They know it will be pointless asking and will just get hassle for asking it off people on the internet.
    Some people see's Ms Cash as an innocent and vulnerable woman who has a right to a house. Who just happens to keep on having children but that isn't relevant and making her situation worse.

They might be worried it would descend into a complete car crash and tirade possibly and they would loose control of the interview , so softly softly and they've done their bit

Maybe because its a barmy idea ( Which is doubtful) and even if its not tongue in cheek its nonsense.

Playing the system ,skipping the Q and bearing no personal responsibility for your actions and expecting everyone else to pay for it has got nothing to do with the idea of Magdalene laundries or the reasons they were used by the Ba*tard church and state for many years. Its just a lazy idea that pretends to be a reasoned argument

Just because ideas are barmy doesn t mean they shouldn t be denounced, it's not tongue in cheek I challenged him numerous times to explain himself to which he declined.