The Frederick St protest and reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Easy to hide behind a press release and at best agree with the actions and at worse - and more likely - be behind it.

Did you even read what was posted? "At best agree with the actions" what? Where did they agree with a Garda being doxxed in that statement?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,548 ✭✭✭facehugger99

NIMAN wrote: »
    If the Gov are doing such a terrible job and everyone things this protestors are right, why aren't the Gov getting voted out?

Simple answer, because the housing crisis isn't a crisis to vast majority of the population?

It suits the agenda of the hard left to constantly portray the country as being in a state of 'crisis'. If it's not a housing crisis, it's a health crisis or a criminality crisis or a financial crisis.

It's all bull**** meerly serving a political need to have people whipped into a state of constant outrage.

Of course solving a so-called crisis would be detrimental to the support of the same parties. That's why you'll see the likes of SF blocking housing proposals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Interesting that those politicians who usually have so much to say about Garda related issues are being very quiet in relation to these disgusting threats . Would be interested to hear if the likes of Daly and Wallace condemn those partaking .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Interesting that those politicians who usually have so much to say about Garda related issues are being very quiet in relation to these disgusting threats . Would be interested to hear if the likes of Daly and Wallace condemn those partaking .

Don't know about those two, but Paul Murphy TD said that the Gardai on duty were 'terrorists'.

Shocking thing for a TD to come out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

Phoebas wrote: »
    Don't know about those two, but Paul Murphy TD said that the Gardai on duty were 'terrorists'.

****er should be tried for treason. Article 39 of the constitution is probably broad enough to facilitate charges against him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,103 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

It's a pity they wouldn't terrorise him bit more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I can't see Mick Wallace making any comment on anything property related with his history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Murphy is a vile little man. A professional socialist, he agitates the crowd, then wanders back to leafy south Dublin in the evening to fantasise about how it’s the first step on the road to revolution. He’s a blight on the political landscape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

Murphy is a vile little man. A professional socialist, he agitates the crowd, then wanders back to leafy south Dublin in the evening to fantasise about how it’s the first step on the road to revolution. He’s a blight on the political landscape.

Himself and Brid Smith are nothing more than populists with no underlying principles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

Any link to confirm this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

sexmag wrote: »
    Any link to confirm this?

Google gives me

https://twitter.com/paulmurphy_TD/status/1039595867131527168

"Outrageous terrorism by Gardai and private security in balaclavas against peaceful protesters. Their crime? Occupying an empty building to highlight the housing crisis. The real criminals are the landlords sitting on empty properties while we have 10,000 homeless."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Himself and Brid Smith are nothing more than populists with no underlying principles.

Watched Smith on Claire B. last night and she loved the attention. A stint in power would be the best thing that could happen with this lot. Put SF/PBP and the rest of the hard left in charge for a while. That'd be the death of them all. They'd run scared if push came to shove though. We saw this with SF last time round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

psinno wrote: »
    Google gives me

https://twitter.com/paulmurphy_TD/status/1039595867131527168

"Outrageous terrorism by Gardai and private security in balaclavas against peaceful protesters. Their crime? Occupying an empty building to highlight the housing crisis. The real criminals are the landlords sitting on empty properties while we have 10,000 homeless."

First of all murphy,wikipedia says A landlord is the owner of a house, apartment, condominium, land or real estate which is rented or leased to an individual or business, who is called a tenant (also a lessee or renter). An owner of an unoccupied house does not make them a landlord:rolleyes:

Also is he actually calling them terrorists or can someone organised terrorism without being a terrorist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

sexmag wrote: »

Also is he actually calling them terrorists or can someone organised terrorism without being a terrorist?

It would take a whole lot of linguistic contortion to be able to do that.

Or just plain dishonesty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

This from a man child who thought trapping two women in a car was striking a blow for the cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,279 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

davo10 wrote: »
    This from a man child who thought trapping two women in a car was striking a blow for the cause.

Ah, but it was his democratic right.....................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭knipex

dav3 wrote: »
    Phew, just as well we've had a right-wing government for the past 50 years. Imagine if we'd had a left-wing government with all their fancy "rights".

With the behaviour of the right-wing governments towards the working class, it's no wonder this country has been swinging more and more left over the past half century.

Currently the government are sticking their fingers in their ears with the hope that the housing and health crises will just go away.

We had a right wing government for the last 10 years ???

Have you looked at public sector spending and tax rates over the last 10 years ??

We haven't had a right wing government in Ireland in living memory.. certainly not in the last 25 years..

The PD's (who were apparently so far right that we should have banned them) introduced the minimum wage, were the drivers for the divorce referendum and their leader oversaw a doubling of the healthcare budget as well as dramatic increases in public expenditure across all departments.

FG who are virtually the right wing of the Tory Party oversaw an abortion referendum, a marriage equality referendum, are driving a separation of church and state, and have maintained or increased spending on social protection during a period or rapid growth in the economy and employment..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Likewise for Rich Brat-Boy Barrett

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

fxotoole wrote: »

Ah, old Richie BB isn’t half as bad as Murphy. Like his politics are unworkable nonsense of course, but you get the feeling he actually cares. Murphy is a complete toolbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

knipex wrote: »
    We had a right wing government for the last 10 years ???

Yes.

If you're pining for a far-right government, may I suggest moving to some sh*thole village in Eastern Europe or the American Deep South.

fxotoole wrote: »

i think he believes in his politics. I think the other tow believe in themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,427 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Ah, old Richie BB isn’t half as bad as Murphy. Like his politics are unworkable nonsense of course, but you get the feeling he actually cares. Murphy is a complete toolbox.

Very astute and genuine observation there John, you should go into politics yourself as you seem to have a very genuine insight into these people.

I wouldn’t totally agree with your opinion of RBB,though, I think he looks like a lad who can’t believe he got elected on his nonsense politics and is putting on an act of caring and showing ‘concern’ by bullschitting at every possible opportunity.

Like who believes that everything should be free!!!

He can’t believe he is trousering a huge wedge of taxpayers dohhlahs for spouting that rubbish.

But there ya go.

Yes.

If you're pining for a far-right government, may I suggest moving to some sh*thole village in Eastern Europe or the American Deep South.

Ohhhh what an argument, what a critical and demonstrative point..

When did I say I was asking for a far right government ??

I was merely pointing out that by any rational measurement that the current government, nor indeed any government for the last 25+ years could not be described as right wing. They are at a push centrist.

And if you actually went beyond the hyperbole and nonsense and looked at what I actually said I called the hard right
    an even more evil manifestation)

But why let facts get in the way of misguided opinion.

Or have you an actual counter point to anything I said ??

Edit

Oh and seeing as you brought it up.. You might be interested in a trip yourself.. I hear Venezuela and Cuba have cheap property right now, especially if you have those nasty right wing Euro's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,738 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Berserker wrote: »
    Watched Smith on Claire B. last night and she loved the attention. A stint in power would be the best thing that could happen with this lot. Put SF/PBP and the rest of the hard left in charge for a while. That'd be the death of them all. They'd run scared if push came to shove though. We saw this with SF last time round.

She and a lot of the loony left have an awful habit of shifting goalposts to a garden variety sanctimony when their views are challenged or their questions answered.

She did it last night. Brought up a constitutional point and then when the guy was answering she switched to the bog standard "but....but...people are annoyed....".

Pfft. Do nothing losers.

BTW we've never had a right wing government in this country. Nowhere even close. We've an almost marxist constitution preventing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,427 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I was merely pointing out that by any rational measurement that the current government, nor indeed any government for the last 25+ years could not be described as right wing. They are at a push centrist.

And if you actually went beyond the hyperbole and nonsense and looked at what I actually said I called the hard right .

Edit

Oh and seeing as you brought it up.. You might be interested in a trip yourself.. I hear Venezuela and Cuba have cheap property right now, especially if you have those nasty right wing Euro's.

Terrific for birdwatching I’m reliably informed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

And if you actually went beyond the hyperbole and nonsense and looked at what I actually said I called the hard right .

Edit

I'm not sure what I can say to you. If you subject yourself to far-right propaganda day in day out, I can see why some people may think Fine Gael are left-wing or even liberal.

I can only give you one piece of advice. If you try to refer to Fine Gael as left-wing in Ireland, nobody will take you seriously. They certainly don't refer to themselves as left-wing and you'd be hard pushed to find any that refer to themselves as liberals . They despise them.

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/minister-says-rt%C3%A9-coverage-is-biased-towards-liberal-and-centre-left-parties-1.480177
    A SENIOR Fine Gael Minister has claimed that RTÉ has a bias towards political parties that are centre-left and have liberal views.

Minister for Transport Leo Varadkar said the national broadcaster's tendency to favour such parties might be innocent and unintentional but it was there nonetheless.

Mr Varadkar told The Irish Times this bias was most obvious in the station's coverage of American politics. I do not carry any candle for the Republican Party and will not be supporting them. But with RTÉ, this is when it is most obvious. Republicans are bad and Democrats are good.

"It is also there in its domestic coverage. There is a bias towards centre-left parties and liberal views."

http://www.thejournal.ie/paschal-donohoe-glenties-left-wing-politics-3503087-Jul2017/
    Minister Paschal Donohoe, who spoke tonight about topics ranging from his love of U2 (in the context of Brexit, of course) to his disdain for left-wing politics.

In a speech, the Fine Gael minister strongly criticised left-wing politics, which, he said, would "break this country".

Or you could always pretend that those direct quotes from the now Taoiseach and Minister for Finance never happened. Two of the most powerful positions in the country.

Whether you like it or not, and it appears not. Every issue you have with housing, with homelessness, with health, with taxation throughout your life, have been brought about by decisions made by consecutive right-wing governments.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Whether you like it or not, and it appears not. Every issue you have with housing, with homelessness, with health, with taxation throughout your life, have been brought about by decisions made by consecutive right-wing governments.
    How many of those right wing governments reduced social welfare payments or expenditure on other areas of social support?
    How many of them increased it?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

So we have a right wing

Healthcare system ?
    Social welfare system ?
    Taxation policy ?

And I have been brainwashed by hard right propaganda ?

You need to get out more..

FG are a centrist party, at worst. FF are probably slightly more left, labor slightly more. Sinn Fein are a weird brand of revolutionary populist socialism but certainly further left and then you have the Trotskyites and nutjobs..(who while screaming for wealth taxes seem to do anything to fight them) Ireland does not have a mainstream right wing party. Renua tried and failed, and the new Ire exit party will (hopefully) go the same way..

We have had government after government that has spent, spent and spent. I hoped FG would show sense but all the talk leads to nothing except the slow erosion of the most efficient tax we had.. USC..

So we have a right wing

Healthcare system ?
    Social welfare system ?
    Taxation policy ?

And I have been brainwashed by hard right propaganda ?

You need to get out more..

FG are a centrist party, at worst. FF are probably slightly more left, labor slightly more. Sinn Fein are a weird brand of revolutionary populist socialism but certainly further left and then you have the Trotskyites and nutjobs..(who while screaming for wealth taxes seem to do anything to fight them) Ireland does not have a mainstream right wing party. Renua tried and failed, and the new Ire exit party will (hopefully) go the same way..

We have had government after government that has spent, spent and spent. I hoped FG would show sense but all the talk leads to nothing except the slow erosion of the most efficient tax we had.. USC..

Are the social welfare and health systems recent additions? I would say expanding the tax base to include lower incomes instead of targeting more towards higher incomes is right wing. As would water charges. And if you are looking at the health system, I'd argue the reduction of benefits and increase in things like the prescription charge and drugs payment scheme cut off points are more right wing in nature, as is the big furore made around fraud in the social welfare system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 57,077 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Any Government that punishes the worker with excessive taxes and then hands it over to the "won't work" shower is failing badly.