The Frederick St protest and reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,427 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

blanch152 wrote: »
    Gene Kerrigan calling Gardai snowflakes for worrying about being abused online. Yeah, Gardai are a free target for abuse online, Gene.

Does he think it ok to racially abuse Gardai as well?

What an idiot he is.

I’m afraid you are correct B,Kerrigan is the worst kind of nult one can have in these situations, constantly criticizing those in authority and with responsibilities and seemingly encouraging unrest and disruption, all from a safe distance where he is well insulated from any violence which usually breaks out.

Of course those in authority need to be criticized and held to account but people like Kerrigan who bang out the same old rhetoric and mantra in a different template week after week, have no credibility,only with those who can see nothing other than ‘What’s in this for me’

Completely irrelevant and past his sell by.

davo10 wrote: »
    Charlie Flanagan made a statement this morning condemning the threats made against a garda and his family after being identified online.
    So did a spokesman for the Frederick St occupation, but I don't expect that to be acknowledged!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

So did a spokesman for the Frederick St occupation, but I don't expect that to be acknowledged!!

I acknowledge it, but the damage is done. The public now understand why they wore balaclavas, and why they were right to do so. When family is threatened, that is a whole other level.

I have absolutely no doubt that the people who made those threats are not in anyway connected to the people who occupied the building, but the threats are a result of gardai doing their job removing the occupants, TBTC courted publicity, this is the downside of that, you don't always get the supporters you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,427 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

It was a very watery ‘condemnation ‘ T if I may say so.

Very unconvincing to this poster anyway.

Not suggesting your good self was convinced by the way.

Didn’t get the lads name but was an Irish language version......hmmmm

Hmmmm.... nothing of course wrong with that, to be welcomed actually,but gets one wondering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I know that the average annual pension levy was 5%, for what would properly be regarded as gold-plated pensions

And that workers in the public service received pay rises at a time when the rest of the country was dealing with major cuts.

All i'm saying is that people who object to water-charge protests might take a moment to consider that some protestors were facing an overnight 3% cut in their income, or higher, during a time of economic recovery.

Of course, there were a large amount of water-charge protestors who would show up to the opening of an envelope if it involved objecting to Denis O'Brien, but I'm thinking specifically of those on social welfare, who would genuinely have been worse-off if water charges had been introduced.

That simply isn't true.

Public servants had very deep pay cuts overnight that haven't yet been restored, that make your 3% like peanuts. They just got on with it, for the sake of the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,165 ✭✭✭Captain Obvious

JMNolan wrote: »

I can't blame them for hiding their identities

r9BuQhM.jpg

SijUl8W.jpg

M6zZ9tj.jpg

GLgXPPD.jpg

Jp0mJnN.jpg

A few choice comments from the posts doxxing this Garda.

IAR09td

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

davo10 wrote: »
    Charlie Flanagan made a statement this morning condemning the threats made against a garda and his family after being identified online.

No need to worry about public outrage anymore when they wear balaclavas to hide their identities.

He also voiced his concerns about the sight of men wearing balaclavas, said it was reminiscent of the dark days pre GFA. Maybe you didn't hear that part, or just selectively quoted him.

I agree with him on both counts.

There should be some kind of legislation introduced to target those that do the doxxing, I don't think anyone would disagree with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,853 ✭✭✭veryangryman

I knew Rosa Parks, you sir are no Rosa Parks!

Erm, what relevance does his likeness to Rosa Parks have to do with his points made in this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Erm, what relevance does his likeness to Rosa Parks have to do with his points made in this thread?

Erm, joke!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,947 ✭✭✭20Cent

r9BuQhM.jpg

SijUl8W.jpg

M6zZ9tj.jpg

GLgXPPD.jpg

Jp0mJnN.jpg

A few choice comments from the posts doxxing this Garda.

IAR09td

Pretty sure they can be tracked easily enough and paid a visit.

20Cent wrote: »

Pretty sure that those who read it and act on it can't be tracked as easily.

The time has come for those politicians who have been leading the politics of protest - Richard Boyd-Barrett, Paul Murphy, Claire Daly, Mick Barry, Pearse Doherty etc. - to show some leadership and to acknowledge that the protests have gone too far and to explicitly condemn the attacks on the Gardai, both physical and online.

Protests are fine, most people don't have an issue with protests, but when they step over the line as these ones most clearly have done, somebody leading them has to shout stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

20Cent wrote: »

And if they do their supporters within the political classes will claim that these people are being harassed by the guards.

Berserker wrote: »
    And if they do their supporters within the political classes will claim that these people are being harassed by the guards.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2018/0917/994238-gardai/

It isn't their fault, according to Councillor Christy Burke, it is the fault of those nasty big multinationals.

"Councillor Burke condemned the lack of responsibility by Twitter and Facebook which he said "allow incitement to hatred which puts people's lives in danger.""

No personal responsibility at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

It isn't their fault, according to Councillor Christy Burke, it is the fault of those nasty big multinationals.

"Councillor Burke condemned the lack of responsibility by Twitter and Facebook which he said "allow incitement to hatred which puts people's lives in danger.""

Did you seriously expect anything else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,103 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

Irish people are begrudgers. They support anything that seen as doing down the owner of property whom the class as a landlord. Despite the fact that the owner of the property was not a landlord is there was no tenants in the property.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Pretty sure that those who read it and act on it can't be tracked as easily.

The time has come for those politicians who have been leading the politics of protest - Richard Boyd-Barrett, Paul Murphy, Claire Daly, Mick Barry, Pearse Doherty etc. - to show some leadership and to acknowledge that the protests have gone too far and to explicitly condemn the attacks on the Gardai, both physical and online.

Protests are fine, most people don't have an issue with protests, but when they step over the line as these ones most clearly have done, somebody leading them has to shout stop.

It's ironic the way Mick Wallace et al are so anti establishment and yet will use every 'establishment 'trick in the book to avoid paying their dues.

You must have been reading a different article than the one you linked to, because I didn't read in that article where Burke absolved responsibility from anyone who took part in the doxxing.

He did say (quite rightly)
    Councillor Burke condemned the lack of responsibility by Twitter and Facebook which he said "allow incitement to hatred which puts people's lives in danger."

That the likes of twitter/facebook etc are allowing incitement of hatred - by allowing such posts to remain in place, think of this site, someone posts a scurrilous accusation or doxxes someone, I expect mods or admin to act promptly and remove such posts once reported.

The other councillors (FG included) condemned the use of the balaclavas.
    Fine Gael councillor Ray McAdam said private security staff have no right to have their faces hidden and that such people should be identifiable.

Agenda much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Seriously what is the issue with the Garda wearing balaclavas???

I can’t believe this is still rumbling on.

Just don’t break the law and you won’t have any dealings with gards and balaclavas ffs.

You should email Leo or Charlie and ask them.

Tell them that you and a select few can't understand what their issue is with them.

Maybe cc Josephine too.

Perhaps they'll change their statements, you never know. All campaigns start somehere WB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

But But...how would you be an "activist" if ye did'nt :confused:

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,002 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Tell them that you and a select few can't understand what their issue is with them.

Maybe cc Josephine too.

Perhaps they'll change their statements, you never know. All campaigns start somehere WB.

Good idea...will you add my name to that list ?

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Maybe cc Josephine too.

Oh you suddenly think Leo is right all of a sudden?

There's been plenty of times I thought Leo was right.

You however seem to be veering off script.

I agree wirh Leo. Wheeliebin does not.

Boards might spontaneously combust with such a conundrum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Good idea...will you add my name to that list ?

Mine too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 potatohouse

what's the average age in this thread? hahahaha lay off the rte lads

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 46,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Who was this "spokesman"?

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

Who was this "spokesman"?

yeah i cant find anything online from the offical account saying anything about it and how ridiculous it was and in no way serves their movement

sexmag wrote: »
    yeah i cant find anything online from the offical account saying anything about it and how ridiculous it was and in no way serves their movement

Numerous reports on their condemnation of it.

The Times
    A spokeswoman from Take Back the City said the group condemned the personal attacks on gardan social media.

The posts were from “different groups” who were not connected to the housing activists, and the abusive comments were “not things [WE]would agree with.

“We can’t really control what other groups say online. We do not agree with racial abuse or personal attacks on individual garda she said.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Numerous reports on their condemnation of it.

The Times

Easy to hide behind a press release and at best agree with the actions and at worse - and more likely - be behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,362 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

If the Gov are doing such a terrible job and everyone things this protestors are right, why aren't the Gov getting voted out?

Simple answer, because the housing crisis isn't a crisis to vast majority of the population?