The Frederick St protest and reaction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Save like everyone had too you know for generations before.

Except spongers and wasters of course, case in point mrs cash.

Save for a house while also renting? For a lot of people, that might take a while. Might be better to build enough social houses to ensure that working people have not only somewhere to live, but also a decent quality of life. Not everybody needs to own a house.

I’m talking about this year.
    The month is September, the year is not over.

The figure you presented is a projection.

You stated that 4,000 units have been built so far this year.

Can you see your error? Seriously.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭Samsong

It's all on rte one right now

Right so the government have announced billions of tax payers money to be spent housing spongers and wasters over the next decade.

Is that enough for these morons to go way now?

I wish poverty denying opinions such as yours would go away tbh....... You’re the David Irving equivalent of socio-economic commentary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭uptherebels

what was it then, a pub crawl? of course it was an eviction/removal/whatever. they were being removed/evicted from the property they were in (in their case illegally)

using the word eviction is your way of trying to legitamise their presence in the building. They were not tenants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

From a PR point of view...using masked Gardai was a stupid decision by the govt.

this will come back to haunt them big time and plays right into the hands of the protesters.

except we don't know that because they had no identification what so ever. we do know the gardai were there, they had their badges as (i believe) are legally mandated.
    so who were the masked men. private security have attended and been involved in evictions before, so i think it's reasonable to think that these masked men were quite likely private security. they were driving an english registered van, so i think it's reasonable to assume that they may have been from outside the state (northern ireland)
    the protesters are absolutely entitled to know what exact legal capacity these men were operating in, and if actual private security or private bailiffs, which company they were working for.

and if you would be so kind as to provide a source that they were private security

or

if acknowledging that they aren't private security, the relevant legislation where they are compelled to identify themselves to protesters that would be great.
    Also what difference does it make if they work for a company in the north? does that prevent them being hired to carry out court orders?

From a PR point of view...using masked Gardai was a stupid decision by the govt.

this will come back to haunt them big time and plays right into the hands of the protesters.

did the government tell them to use hoods?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

I wish poverty denying opinions such as yours would go away tbh....... You’re the David Irving equivalent of socio-economic commentary.

Who’s in poverty in this country.

Go on, I’m all ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭stateofflux

did the government tell them to use hoods?

Without a doubt a call would have been made on how to deal with this given the PR sensitivity of the protests in relation to the governments housing strategy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Samsong wrote: »
    It's all on rte one right now

This is like a big crusading vibrator for Miriam O Gallaghan.I can still see her big stupid mug when they gave that bint Cash her Forever Home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭rosser44

Without a doubt a call would have been made on how to deal with this given the PR sensitivity of the protests in relation to the governments housing strategy

I'd say the guards were given the option and gladly took it in order to protect themselves, their homes and families from intimidation.

They're just doing their job, although I'm sure there's several posters here that would class them as terrorists, oh the ironing.......

But one man's terrorist is another's freedom fighter, right lads?

rosser44 wrote: »
    I'd say the guards were given the option and gladly took it in order to protect themselves, their homes and families from intimidation.
    Lets just be clear here.

Of all of the undoubtedly brave work that Gardaí do, night in, night out -- including engaging with violent, armed thugs -- are you trying to tell us that they found this 'bunch of crusties' especially frightening?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭Samsong

They're just doing their job, although I'm sure there's several posters here that would class them as terrorists, oh the ironing.......

But one man's terrorist is another's freedom fighter, right lads?

The SS we're only following orders. They didn't hide behind balaclavas though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,016 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

i already told you we haven't a clue who they are because they weren't carying identification. so hhow do you expect me to know what the hell they are, given that is what i and others here are actually trying to find out? also, what's unreasonable about making the assumption given that factor, and the fact that private security have been involved in evictions, that these masked men may themselves are private security. as i asked earlier, if one of these men had for example asalted one of the protesters, then how could any prosecution be brought against them, given they had nothing to identify what they are?
    companies shouldn't be used in this capacity anyway. it should be a state agency, but that's for another thread.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Samsong wrote: »
    The SS we're only following orders. They didn't hide behind balaclavas though

That's pathethic

Lets just be clear here.

Of all of the undoubtedly brave work that Gardaí do, night in, night out -- including engaging with violent, armed thugs -- are you trying to tell us that they found this 'bunch of crusties' especially frightening?

The gardai were not concerned with the trust fund crusties inside the house, rather the crowd outside, of which several engaged in violence leading to arrests. Oh ya, and one of them was carrying a butterfly knife. Are you scared of scumbags with knives? I certainly am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Homer

Are you scared of scumbags with knives? I certainly am

Of course they are not. They are fearless keyboard warriors don't ya know ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,200 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Its on the news now, have to say the Gardai were very restrained with the scumbags shouting in their faces.

The gardai were not concerned with the trust fund crusties inside the house, rather the crowd outside, of which several engaged in violence leading to arrests. Oh ya, and one of them was carrying a butterfly knife. Are you scared of scumbags with knives? I certainly am

I wonder what would happen if a Garda turned up for their shift and refused to leave the station without a balaclava, because there are people with butterfly knives (and far worse) out there.

i already told you we haven't a clue who they are because they weren't carying identification. so hhow do you expect me to know what the hell they are, given that is what i and others here are actually trying to find out? also, what's unreasonable about making the assumption given that factor, and the fact that private security have been involved in evictions, that these masked men may themselves are private security. as i asked earlier, if one of these men had for example asalted one of the protesters, then how could any prosecution be brought against them, given they had nothing to identify what they are?
    companies shouldn't be used in this capacity anyway. it should be a state agency, but that's for another thread.

like has been said to you before , it is ok to say you don't have any sources to support your claims.

Again as this wasn't an eviction, why does it matter if private security are present at them in other places?

There is no point in making loads of assumptions just to try and add credence to your argument/agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

You’re right. It will because the Commisioner indicated today that the Gardai erred in their approach. That’s a big mistake. Backing down from the likes of Coppinger and Murphy will only embolden them. If this lot get their way we are ****ed. They are not reasonable people. While they’re telling us that they want citizens housed they have no cogent, realistic plan to make this happen. They would rather drag hard working people out of prosperity so that we can all have the share the same ****e existence

so your saying that the government did tell them to wear hoods?

I wonder what would happen if a Garda turned up for their shift and refused to leave the station without a balaclava, because there are people with butterfly knives (and far worse) out there.

They probably didn't want some lowlife recording them on a smartphone and posting the footage on social media.

These publicity stunts always attract the dregs of society who mix with ordinary protesters and who are looking to provoke the Guards.

We've seen it all before with the water protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,195 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The government?

What role did they play in the operational decision made on the ground by the commanding officer to use protective equipment?

Seriously, are they to blame for my daughter tripping on the street this afternoon?

blanch152 wrote: »
    The government?

What role did they play in the operational decision made on the ground by the commanding officer to use protective equipment?

Seriously, are they to blame for my daughter tripping on the street this afternoon?

Leo told them to do it along with Denis o brien and da bankers.

Oh and the developers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

I wonder what would happen if a Garda turned up for their shift and refused to leave the station without a balaclava, because there are people with butterfly knives

That's why they wear stab vests

They probably didn't want some lowlife recording them on a smartphone and posting the footage on social media.

They can be recorded any time when they're making an arrest. By this logic, normal Gardai (as opposed to the Public Order Unit) should be allowed to mask their faces too.

They can, but as I said some people intentionally go to these protests to record Gardai who are just standing there keeping an eye on things and they try to provoke them.

And single them out in social media along with their families while they sit at home contributing **** all to society.

Seriously I can’t believe their nonsense is national news and radio shows talking about it.

No other country would this be tolerated.

They broke the law, deal with them accordingly and move on.