The Frederick St protest and reaction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    I have to laugh at this lot.

Was getting keys cut on Nth Frederick Street two weeks ago just as a big occupation 'event' kicked off.

Now it was entertaining enough, and i would say largely non-aggressive, and they actually had some decent singers.

However.......I did note the fact that a significant number of these punters were wearing baseball hats and had bandanas around their faces. In other words they were masked.

But now suddenly they are 'outraged' because a few security guards did likewise?

The only thing that would genuinely outrage this crew if the guards ignored them and the media ignored them, and they got zero attention.

No, a lot of us are wondering why a cordon of baton wielding guards in balaclavas acted as "security" for a masked crew of heavies who evicted the protestors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,996 ✭✭✭blackwhite

seems as though a lot of people on here would have a major bone to pick with the Garda Commissioner, who has said that wearing balaclavas in this instance was 'not correct'.

https://www.newstalk.com/Garda-Commissioner-admits-use-of-balaclavas-at-Dublin-housing-protest-was-not-correct

So their policy is that the balaclava should be worn with a helmet - but he has no issue with them concealing their faces if appropriate?

He also stated that it's a matter for the senior team member on the ground to assess and decide on.

So ultimately, there's no problem with their concealing their faces at all - just so long as they wear the helmet also?

But I could have sworn the crusty whinge was about their faces not being identifiable?

Nice try at misrepresenting what Harris statement actually said though :D

seems as though a lot of people on here would have a major bone to pick with the Garda Commissioner, who has said that wearing balaclavas in this instance was 'not correct'.

https://www.newstalk.com/Garda-Commissioner-admits-use-of-balaclavas-at-Dublin-housing-protest-was-not-correct

BTW - you missed this part of the statement as well

However, he also defended the behaviour of gardaí, saying: "Members of An Garda Síochána showed restraint in the face of physical and verbal abuse from a very small minority and I condemn the racist abuse suffered by an individual member of An Garda Síochána working at the event."

Looks like there were some really classy protesters at the scene alright.

blackwhite wrote: »
    Nice try at misrepresenting what Harris statement actually said though :D
    Not at all, actually.

Maybe he think helmets and riot gear was needed -- he doesn't go into that.

But the fact that he's asking Gardaí to go back and ask themselves 'what do you think can be learned from all of this?' would imply (maybe it's just me and my crusty ways...) that even he thinks they didn't behave proportionately here.

I'm sure you disagree, and feel that full riot gear was needed. plenty of people on this thread have voiced their support for nothing less than blood on the pavements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,366 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Odhinn wrote: »
    No, a lot of us are wondering why a cordon of baton wielding guards in balaclavas acted as "security" for a masked crew of heavies who evicted the protestors.

They were there to maintain public order. It seems they were quite successful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭BarryD2

Single earner supporting a kid on less than the average wage.
    That system would be taken advantage of like HAP is now . No couple would get married then .

The mother can get an affordable home and the father can move in .

Who says a single earner is necessarily a single parent? The definition above could well be a married or co-habitating couple with one main income. Like it used to be.

Not sure about less than average wage though, even in times past people on lower wages would have struggled to buy a house.

Couple and child(ren) on average wage might be a better definition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Odhinn

They were there to maintain public order. It seems they were quite successful.

In balaclavas, for a bunch in a dubiously registerd van in balaclavas......If I wanted to live in Russia I'd move, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

In balaclavas, for a bunch in a dubiously registerd van in balaclavas......If I wanted to live in Russia I'd move, tbh.

Ridiculous exaggeration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

From the whistle blowers being stitched up, including the TUSLA files being compiled on one of them, to the overkill way an opposition TD was arrested, then a collective number of police officers lied in court to try and secure a conviction on the same opposition TD - resulting in the judge instructing that some of their evidence should be disregarded (as video evidence directly contradicted their evidence) and also the Taoiseach having to voice his concerns about how the public need to be able to trust evidence provided by the guards....

Now we have our police force acting as security guards who have been deployed to protect balaclava wearing goons....

There is no denying that policing in this country looks like it's taking a rather sinister turn.

you mean the men there to execute a court order? those guys? You would prefer they were not there?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

BarryD2 wrote: »
    Who says a single earner is necessarily a single parent? The definition above could well be a married or co-habitating couple with one main income. Like it used to be.

Not sure about less than average wage though, even in times past people on lower wages would have struggled to buy a house.

Couple and child(ren) on average wage might be a better definition.

My parents were able to get into a scheme, with a single earner, less then average wage, to buy a house, where the repayment was set to 20% of highest salary (didn't matter if both were earning). That was only 35 years ago. But now, not a hope.

You need 2 high incomes, or 1 very high income to think about being able to get somewhere to live. Regardless of renting or buying.

Anything less then that is "social housing" and mixed in with people who sponge about on social welfare. Those are 2 very separate groupings, but with the same essential needs. The push needs to be on "who is charged with developing affordable housing" because by the looks of things, that may not be profitable. Which also begs the question... why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,956 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Ridiculous exaggeration.
    What ever way you look at it its embarrassing for the Garda and new commissioner, 
    Obviously they knew this was going to take place as they where there to support ,So surely they knew that it would generate public interest by the amount of people involved  on the scene , the way they where dressed and the time of day , 
    So how in gods name did they let a Van with English reg's and no tax be involved, Its very unprofessional of them ,

Public order unit have batons. Obviously.
    And the gardai are present at evictions to maintain public order.
    They are not involved.
    Unless there is a public order issue, which obviously there was.

From the whistle blowers being stitched up, including the TUSLA files being compiled on one of them, to the overkill way an opposition TD was arrested, then a collective number of police officers lied in court to try and secure a conviction on the same opposition TD - resulting in the judge instructing that some of their evidence should be disregarded (as video evidence directly contradicted their evidence) and also the Taoiseach having to voice his concerns about how the public need to be able to trust evidence provided by the guards....

Now we have our police force acting as security guards who have been deployed to protect balaclava wearing goons....

There is no denying that policing in this country looks like it's taking a rather sinister turn.

I think you need to get your facts straight

What ever way you look at it its embarrassing for the Garda and new commissioner, 
    Obviously they knew this was going to take place as they where there to support ,So surely they knew that it would generate public interest by the amount of people involved  on the scene , the way they where dressed and the time of day , 
    So how in gods name did they let a Van with English reg's and no tax be involved, Its very unprofessional of them ,

What is the law in this country that covers foreign registered vehicles being used here?
    Do you know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,240 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Just curious to know your view on this.

As mentioned in an earlier post, I watched the protesters in action for about half an hour recently, while waiting at Central Key.

They were directly across the street, there was much singing, loud speakers, chanting; thats fine.

I noted that many of the protesters had their faces covered, particularly those in the building.

As such, my reaction when I saw the 'outrage' over the balacalava issue was, wow what an incredible double standard.

Am I missing something here - is there any way in which you think it isnt a double standard?

What this guy said.

Whatever about the lads illegal occupation of the premises, how no one had the gumption or foresight to see the optics here were very bad is worrying.

More details and revelations as to who the masked men were hired by will emerge soon, these things always do.

bubblypop wrote: »
    I think you need to get your facts straight

Can you be a bit more specific?

Not at all, actually.

Maybe he think helmets and riot gear was needed -- he doesn't go into that.

But the fact that he's asking Gardaí to go back and ask themselves 'what do you think can be learned from all of this?' would imply (maybe it's just me and my crusty ways...) that even he thinks they didn't behave proportionately here.

I'm sure you disagree, and feel that full riot gear was needed. plenty of people on this thread have voiced their support for nothing less than blood on the pavements.

Funny how you love to build strawmen and put words in other people's mouths. How about responding to what's been said instead of telling people what their opinions are :rolleyes:

I think the POU had more than reasonable justification to want to cover their faces, given the level of intimidation campaigns that we've seen from various groups that share members with those organising the "reclaim the city" protests.
    If their uniform requirements mean that they should also wear helmets if they wish to wear a balaclava, then that's what they should have done.

Trying to extrapolate that into some blood-lust fetish says a hell of a lot more about you than anything else. But I guess it's easier for you to make stuff up to argue against than to address the fact you keep defending scumbags who assaulted and racially abuse Gardaí.

What is the law in this country that covers foreign registered vehicles being used here?  
    Do you know?
    Well to allow an non Taxed one be involved when the Garda there with all the speculation about the new commissioner is very unprofessional , Many many Irish citizen have had cars impounded for such an offence,

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,424 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Do you know?

Why does anybody care about a fúcking van? It doesn't matter what anyone turned up in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Roll on the next eviction. It's great fun.
    Maybe they could sell tickets

Do you know?

Why does anybody care about a fúcking van? It doesn't matter what anyone turned up in.
    The Garda as suppose do things correctly, To be involved in a situation with and untaxed foreign  vehicle is very unprofessional ,Even more so with the links the stories doing the rounds about there new boss being Mi5, 
    Whatever way you want to put it is very very unprofessional

Well to allow an non Taxed one be involved when the Garda there with all the speculation about the new commissioner is very unprofessional , Many many Irish citizen have had cars impounded for such an offence,

Irish citizens driving a foreign registered vehicle, is very different to a non Irish citizen having a foreign registered vehicle here for a short amount of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭DwightSchrute1

It’s been explained repeatedly on these thread that UK reg vehicles don’t need tax disc displayed. Have you proof this van wasn’t taxed.

Thinking that this incident has something to do with the Commissioner and his previous role with the PSNI would be more suited to the Conspiracy Theories forum than AH.

were the people in the van irish citizens? if not then your point is irrelevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,550 ✭✭✭facehugger99

If these Frederick Crusties went out, got jobs and paid a bit of tax into the public coffers rather than wasting State resources with their bullsh;ttery, we'd have a better chance of solving the so called 'housing crisis'.

Bunch of wasters the lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Irish citizens driving a foreign registered vehicle, is very different to a non Irish citizen having a foreign registered vehicle here for a short amount of time.

That's not forgetting that AGS have already clarified that the van was taxed and insured. Crusties seem to be just ignoring that.

It’s been explained repeatedly on these thread that UK reg vehicles don’t need tax disc displayed. Have you proof this van wasn’t taxed.

Thinking that this incident has something to do with the Commissioner and his previous role with the PSNI would be more suited to the Conspiracy Theories forum than AH.

I think even they might balk a bit at that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Awkward. All the cop fetishists and landlord boot-lickers who defended the use of balaclavas will now have to find a way of agreeing with Drew Harris OBE that the Gardai shouldn't have worn balaclavas, whilst somehow insisting that their previous incorrect assertions were equally correct. Nightmare.