Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Serena's meltdown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,654 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Pero_Bueno wrote: »
    Serena and her sister are two racist vile individuals, always have been and have gotten away with all sorts during the years by playing the "racism" and "Im a woman" card.

Their father is a horrible racist too.

... and we won't mention her TUEs and hiding from drug testing officials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

This is outrageous. What an incredibly sexist bias against men. Some of them are possibly even fathers.

White fathers even!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    White fathers even!

No white fathers don't Matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭JJayoo

I'd say the main issue is that she called him a thief meaning that he was cheating in order to benefit the other player.

She also said he would never umpire another match of hers threatening his career.

serena-williams-racist-cartoon-mark-knight-twitter.jpg?quality=99&strip=all&w=1023&h=699

JJayoo wrote: »
    I'd say the main issue is that she called him a thief meaning that he was cheating in order to benefit the other player.

She also said he would never umpire another match of hers threatening his career.

But surely if the Tennis federation has any cajones it would force Serena to make a full apology to the umpire's integrity and to her opponent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,038 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I see a load of people losing their **** over this "Racist" cartoon

u52yqiwga4bmogibg5fp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Ficheall wrote: »

Agreed. The unwillingness to show Osaka's racial characteristics, depicting her as a generic raceless cartoon is insulting in the extreme.
    I'm outraged anyway. Beside myself with anger.

Ficheall wrote: »

u52yqiwga4bmogibg5fp

skynews-serena-williams-us-open_4415660.jpg?20180909060312

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭JJayoo

But surely if the Tennis federation has any cajones it would force Serena to make a full apology to the umpire's integrity and to her opponent.

They will grovel to her and her army of bellend fans.

I'm just surprised she didn't start shouting about
    Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,110 ✭✭✭selectamatic

JJayoo wrote: »

This.

Fcking and blinding at the umpire in brief moments of rage eg. "are you blind" or "jerk" is quite different to launching into a tirade of abuse questioning the umpires integrity and honesty all while after committing two clear rule breaches beforehand.

To crown it off with a proper threat was even more despicable.

A 17k fine was a slap on the wrist.

I've a feeling that had the resident bad boy Kyrgios done the above verbatim he'd have gotten a much harsher penalty. But thats merely my own speculation. I personally have never seen a player outburst as sustained and as nastily targeted before.

The wta, Katrina Adams and Steve Simon have really shown their true colours in this whole sorry affair too.

They were all geared up for a record breaking love in of epic back slapping proportions until Osaka spoiled the party.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Well at the end of the day she lost the match. Not a good loser it seems. But then again she feels she is entitled to win, or so she thinks.

Moronic egotistical, entitled behaviour. But who cares, she lost the match.

Osaka won. And who wanted to take that away from her? Yup, got it in one.

There is no such thing as bad publicity is there from people like Williams. Not good.

Osaka lost out really even though she won. That is what makes me feel sick about Williams. All rehearsed I guess. She is yesterday's tennis champ. The Osakas of this world are nipping at her heels and she don't like it one bit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Well at the end of the day she lost the match. Not a good loser it seems. But then again she feels she is entitled to win, or so she thinks.

Moronic egotistical, entitled behaviour. But who cares, she lost the match.

Osaka won. And who wanted to take that away from her? Yup, got it in one.

There is no such thing as bad publicity is there from people like Williams. Not good.

Osaka lost out really even though she won. That is what makes me feel sick about Williams. All rehearsed I guess. She is yesterday's tennis champ. The Osakas of this world are nipping at her heels and she don't like it one bit!

I think that she should lodge a complaint, that she is being discriminated against because players like Osaka are coming through and beating her in GSs. But are the young up and comers in the mens game challenging Feds, Djok, and Nadser ? No. Clearly blatant discrimination, and the likes of Osaka should not be allowed beat her until there is a level playing field between mens and ladies dethroning candidates. She must keep fighting for women, to right this wrong.
    I think there is a strong case for the US to be retrospectively given to Serena in the cause of equality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,729 ✭✭✭Dave0301

abbir wrote: »
    Here's an article

http://www.tennisabstract.com/blog/2018/09/10/gender-differences-in-point-penalties/

This table is about point penalties.
     Category        Matches  Penalties     P%   

Women (all)        1895         13  0.69%   

Women (slams)       490          6  1.22%   

Women (finals)      228          2  0.88%    

Men (all)          1689         16  0.95%   

Men (slams)         234          6  2.56%  

Men (finals)        371          5  1.35%

Interesting to see the breakdown of penalties like that. Would love to see that put to Serena Williams, especially seen as Ramos has a track record of penalising male players too.

As for the whole "men have said much worse and got away with it," it wasn't so much the arguing with the umpire, but the implication that he was cheating and a liar.

There is a huge difference between calling a umpire "blind" or "stupid" and outright accusing him of deliberately trying to influence the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Well all I will say is this, three sets for women and five for men is total gender discrimination.

So either the governing bodies agree to an equal amount of sets, or it is all blx.

FFS some of the women in Tennis could haul a tractor. Serena Williams is one of them.

But Osaka did not need to be so muscular or mouthy, she won on merit. She will be back. Every dog has its day.

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Interesting to see the breakdown of penalties like that. Would love to see that put to Serena Williams, especially seen as Ramos has a track record of penalising male players too.

As for the whole "men have said much worse and got away with it," it wasn't so much the arguing with the umpire, but the implication that he was cheating and a liar.

There is a huge difference between calling a umpire "blind" or "stupid" and outright accusing him of deliberately trying to influence the match.

That is the nub of matter imo. She's is castigating his integrity as an umpire. This is why she must apologise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

To play devils advocate here, the number of penalties men receive in isolation isn’t enough. You have to compare it to their number of code violations. It could be that men get fewer penalties as a percentage of their outbursts but stil more than women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

there are truly great champions like Federer’s of this world who go out gracefully when beaten and let others have the limelight and then there is this scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Nice to see that all it takes is a tantrum from a black, female sports star for the undercurrent of racism and misogyny on boards.ie to come to the surface.

I’m more anti yank myself.

Also calling her outburst a tantrum is clearly sexist? Would you use that for a man who defended himself against a racist umpire?

Clearly not. You sicken me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

I’m more anti yank myself.

Also calling her outburst a tantrum is clearly sexist? Would you use that for a man who defended himself against a racist umpire?

Clearly not. You sicken me.
    Yes. Tantrum is a fairly accurate description of her behaviour by all accounts.

It is more so the use of language such as "scum" on this very page and throughout the thread which reveals a lot more about people's beliefs.

Yes. Tantrum is a fairly accurate description of her behaviour by all accounts.

It is more so the use of language such as "scum" on this very page and throughout the thread which reveals a lot more about people's beliefs.

I see scumbag - a generally used Irish expression and also used for Nadal.
    Wouldn’t use it myself but don’t see the problem with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I wonder what the conversation with her coach went like.

I see the Japanophobes are in, justifying the belligerent yanks actions and the feral crowd.

Can’t abide that. I’m out.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Over-entitled and spoiled by her success, Serena has let herself down very badly by this stupid temper tantrum because she didn’t achieve the result she wanted. Could you imagine Navratilova doing such a scene on court? Not a chance...

John McEnroe would be proud of her...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

JupiterKid wrote: »
    Over-entitled and spoiled by her success, Serena has let herself down very badly by this stupid temper tantrum because she didn’t achieve the result she wanted. Could you imagine Navratilova doing such a scene on court? Not a chance...

John McEnroe would be proud of her...

Navratilova believes Serena Williams was wrong in her outburst. Even though she agrees there is a double standard, she does not believe it's a good idea to apply a standard of, 'If men can get away with it, women should be able to, too'. She maintains that the question which players should ask themselves is this: 'What is the right way to behave to honour our sport and to respect our opponents?'

Serena Williams is thirty seven years old, I believe. Her opponent, Naomi Osaka, is only twenty, yet she could teach SW how to behave on the court. Most people I have heard commenting today, felt really aggrieved that Williams spoilt the well deserved victory of Osaka, who was the first ever Japanese winner of the US Grand Slam. I saw a comment of a Japanese official, who remarked that Naomi's win did a lot to raise the hearts of the Japanese people at this very difficult time for the country, when it has just suffered the double whammy of a hurricane and an earthquake.

That is what should be making the headlines, not the strop of an entitled spolit prima donna, whose disgraceful behaviour has been the topic of conversation all over the world. :mad:

I wonder what the conversation with her coach went like.

Called him a sexist because he would have never told the truth about coaching a male tennis player.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,042 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

brooke 2 wrote: »
    Navratilova believes Serena Williams was wrong in her outburst. Even though she agrees there is a double standard, she does not believe it's a good idea to apply a standard of, 'If men can get away with it, women should be able to, too'. She maintains that the question which players should ask themselves is this: 'What is the right way to behave to honour our sport and to respect our opponents?'

Serena Williams is thirty seven years old, I believe. Her opponent, Naomi Osaka, is only twenty, yet she could teach SW how to behave on the court. Most people I have heard commenting today, felt really aggrieved that Williams spoilt the well deserved victory of Osaka, who was the first ever Japanese winner of the US Grand Slam. I saw a comment of a Japanese official, who remarked that Naomi's win did a lot to raise the hearts of the Japanese people at this very difficult time for the country, when it has just suffered the double whammy of a hurricane and an earthquake.

That is what should be making the headlines, not the strop of an entitled spolit prima donna, whose disgraceful behaviour has been the topic of conversation all over the world. :mad:

Hasn't she lived in the US since she was three? Not sure how much Japan can claim her win as theirs. Her own family apparently disowned her for being black.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

To play devils advocate here, the number of penalties men receive in isolation isn’t enough. You have to compare it to their number of code violations. It could be that men get fewer penalties as a percentage of their outbursts but stil more than women.

There where 32 violations during the open all together in the mens & womans competitions . 23 for the men and 9 for the woman. I'm not taking into account what the violations where for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Given to a player

I.e. the player has to receive it.

So if a player throws a swinging right fist and the other player ducks or didn't get hit, then there is no need for a penalty?

hhmmmm